DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: (1) line 10 contains a period in the middle of the claim, which is not part of an abbreviation. MPEP 608.01(m) notes each “claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. Periods may not be used elsewhere in the claims except for abbreviations.” In order to advance prosecution, the examiner assumes this should be a semi-colon.
(2) Line 14 should end in a semi-colon.
(3) Line 19 states “1240” which is a reference number not enclosed in parentheses. The examiner assumes based on the other amendments this reference number should be deleted.Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 and 11 recited in lines 1-2 “in an electrode array attached to the surface of a subject”. Claims 1 and 11 further establish the electrode array in line 4, where the electrodes are arranged in the electrode array. Thus, these claims include a human within the scope and are non-statutory. The examiner suggests using the phrase "adapted to be located" when referring to the location of the array in relation to the subject.
Similarly, claim 8 requires the electrode array, …, attached to the subject flexibly…; therefore requiring the person and including a human within the scope of the claim. The examiner suggests using the phrase “adapted to be located” when referring to the location of the array in relation to the subject.
Dependent claims inherit the same deficicncies.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7, and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the measurement signal” in lines 16-17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 3, 6, 7 inherit the same deficiency.
Claim 4, lines 16-17, and claim 11, lines 24-25 also recite the measurement signal. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim Dependent claims 5, 12, and 13 inherit the same deficiencies.
Claim 7 requires the digital control unit provides a rate of change of the monitored temperature measurement value; this is unclear because there is no process of determining a rate of change when the data is provided is measured in real time.
Claim 11 in lines 1-2 discloses an electrode array and in line 3 also discloses an electrode array; it is unclear if this is the same electrode array or a different electrode array.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wasserman (US Publication 2021/0196348).
Referring to Claim 1, Wasserman teaches an apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array attached to the surface of a subject for delivering an electric field to the subject comprising: a plurality of electrodes arranged in the electrode array for delivering the electric field to the subject (e.g. Figure 5, electrodes 152 on array structure 159); a plurality of temperature measurement modules for measuring the temperature between the electrodes and the surface of the subject (e.g. Figure 5, thermistors 154); and a digital control unit connected to the plurality of temperature measurement modules, transmitting a digital signal to control each temperature measurement module, and receiving a response signal from each temperature measurement module (e.g. Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0060] and [0087] discloses based on the temperature readings obtained from the thermistors 154 the controller 134 is programmed to control the current to each of the corresponding electrode elements 152).
Referring to Claim 8, Wasserman teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 1, wherein the electrode array is formed of a flexible substrate, and attached to the subject flexibly along a curved surface of the subject (e.g. Figure 5 and Paragraphs [0040] and [0075] discloses a flexible backing).
Referring to Claim 9, Wasserman teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 1, further comprising: a power line communication unit by which the digital control unit transmits digital data received from the temperature measurement module using power line communication (e.g. Figure 6 illustrates the power line being used to collect temperature data).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman (US Publication 2021/0196348) in view of Wasserman et al (US Publication 2018/0050200).
Referring to Claim 2, Wasserman teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 1, wherein the plurality of temperature measurement modules is connected to the digital control unit in cascade (e.g. Figure 5 and Paragraph [0079]), wherein each temperature measurement module comprises: a temperature sensor for measuring temperature (e.g. Figure 5, thermistors 154). However, Wasserman does not disclose a transducer for converting the measured temperature value into digital signals; a receiver for receiving digital signals; a transmitter for transmitting digital signals; and a temperature measurement module control unit for controlling the temperature sensor, the transducer, the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver, and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module. Wasserman et al teaches that it is known to use an analog to digital conversion of the temperature signals (e.g. Figure 1, Element 40 and Paragraph [0039]) which converts the temperature readings (transducer) and then forwards the digitized readings to a hub which accepts the temperature readings (receiver) which then forwards the digitized temperature readings via a serial communication link (transmitter Figure 2, Element 34) which is controlled by the hub controller (Figure 2, controller 32), wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver; and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module as set forth in Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraphs [0039], [0042], [0044] and [0057] to provide a single sequence of temperature measurements taken between delivery of therapy which reduces noise in the temperature measurements and provides information on each electrodes corresponding skin temperature. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with the plurality of temperature measurement modules is connected to the digital control unit in cascade and the temperature measurement module comprises a transducer for converting the measured temperature value into digital signals; a receiver for receiving digital signals; a transmitter for transmitting digital signals; and a temperature measurement module control unit for controlling the temperature sensor, the transducer, the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver, and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module as taught by Wasserman et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a single sequence of temperature measurements taken between delivery of therapy which reduces noise in the temperature measurements and provides information on each electrodes corresponding skin temperature.
Referring to Claim 3, Wasserman in view of Wasserman et al teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 2, wherein the measurement signal received in the temperature measurement module comprises converted temperature value signals from at least one adjacent temperature measurement module in addition to a temperature measurement command (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0039] discloses forwarding the digitized temperature readings via a serial communication link), and wherein the digital control unit and the plurality of temperature measurement modules are connected in cascade to analyze the response signal received by the digital control unit thereby identifying position information and the temperature value of each temperature measurement module (e.g. Figure 5 and Paragraph [0079] and Wasserman et al Paragraph [0039] forwarding the temperature readings so the control unit can adjust the current to the transducer array).
Referring to Claim 4, Wasserman teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 1, comprising a temperature sensor for measuring temperature (e.g. Figure 5, thermistors 154). However, Wasserman does not explicitly disclose wherein the plurality of temperature measurement modules are connected in parallel to the digital control unit, wherein each of the temperature measurement modules comprises: a transducer for converting the measured temperature value into digital signals; a receiver for receiving digital signals; a transmitter for transmitting digital signals; a temperature measurement module control unit for controlling the temperature sensor, the transducer, the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver, and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module.
Wasserman et al teaches that it is known to use the plurality of temperature measurement modules are connected in parallel to the digital control unit and to include an analog to digital conversion of the temperature signals (e.g. Figure 1, Element 40 and Paragraph [0039]) which converts the temperature readings (transducer) and then forwards the digitized readings to a hub which accepts the temperature readings (receiver) which then forwards the digitized temperature readings via a communication link (transmitter Figure 2, Element 34) which is controlled by the hub controller (Figure 2, controller 32), wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver; and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module as set forth in Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraphs [0039], [0042], [0044] and [0057] to provide a single sequence of temperature measurements taken between delivery of therapy which reduces noise in the temperature measurements and provides information on each electrodes corresponding skin temperature. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with wherein the plurality of temperature measurement modules are connected in parallel to the digital control unit, wherein each of the temperature measurement modules comprises: a transducer for converting the measured temperature value into digital signals; a receiver for receiving digital signals; a transmitter for transmitting digital signals; a temperature measurement module control unit for controlling the temperature sensor, the transducer, the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver, and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module as taught by Wasserman et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a single sequence of temperature measurements taken between delivery of therapy which reduces noise in the temperature measurements and provides information on each electrodes corresponding skin temperature.
Referring to Claim 5, Wasserman in view of Wasserman et al teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 4, wherein the digital control unit has a plurality of communication ports, and each of the communication ports represents position information of one temperature measurement module, and the temperature value of each position is identified by analyzing the response signal received by each of the communication ports (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0039] discloses these digitized temperature readings to the field generator 20 via a serial communication link so that the field generator 20 can determine, based on the temperature readings, if the current to the transducer arrays 50 has to be adjusted).
Claim(s) 6-7 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman (US Publication 2021/0196348) in view of Wasserman et al (US Publication 2018/0050200), as applied above, and further in view of Min et al (US Publication 2011/0066028)
Referring to Claim 6, Wasserman in view of Wasserman et al teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 3, wherein the digital control unit sets a temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] “collect” period), monitors the temperature measured by the temperature measurement module in real time according to the temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] obtains the readings), and provides the position information to the outside if the monitored temperature measurement exceeds a predetermined temperature range (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0039] discloses adjusting the current to the array). However, the modified Wasserman does not explicitly disclose providing the position information and the monitored temperature measurement value of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature measurement exceeds a predetermined temperature range
Min et al teaches that it is known to use an external monitor which displays when the temperature exceeds a corresponding threshold and the display indicates the position that exceeded its temperature threshold as set forth in Paragraph [0035] to provide improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with providing the position information and the monitored temperature measurement value of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature measurement exceeds a predetermined temperature range as taught by Min et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions.
Referring to Claim 7, Wasserman in view of Wasserman et al teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 3, wherein the digital control unit sets a temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] “collect” period), monitors the temperature measured by the temperature measurement module in real time according to the temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] obtains the readings), and provides a rate of change of the monitored temperature measurement value, the monitored temperature measurement value and the position information of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the rate of change of the temperature measurement value exceeds a predetermined rate of change range (e.g. Wasserman Paragraph [0022] and claim 23 discloses adjusting is applied to the electrode whose rate of heating exceeds a threshold level). However, the modified Wasserman does not explicitly disclose providing the monitored temperature measurement value and the position information of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature exceeds a threshold.
Min et al teaches that it is known to use an external monitor which displays when the temperature exceeds a corresponding threshold and the display indicates the position that exceeded its temperature threshold as set forth in Paragraph [0035] to provide improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with providing the monitored temperature measurement value and the position information of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature exceeds a threshold as taught by Min et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions.
Referring to Claim 12, Wasserman in view of Wasserman et al teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 5, wherein the digital control unit sets a temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] “collect” period), monitors the temperature measured by the temperature measurement module in real time according to the temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] obtains the readings), and provides the position information to the outside if the monitored temperature measurement exceeds a predetermined temperature range (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0039] discloses adjusting the current to the array). However, the modified Wasserman does not explicitly disclose providing the position information and the monitored temperature measurement value of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature measurement exceeds a predetermined temperature range.
Min et al teaches that it is known to use an external monitor which displays when the temperature exceeds a corresponding threshold and the display indicates the position that exceeded its temperature threshold as set forth in Paragraph [0035] to provide improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with providing the position information and the monitored temperature measurement value of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature measurement exceeds a predetermined temperature range as taught by Min et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions.
Referring to Claim 13, Wasserman in view of Wasserman et al teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 5, wherein the digital control unit sets a temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] “collect” period), monitors the temperature measured by the temperature measurement module in real time according to the temperature measurement cycle (e.g. Wasserman et al Paragraph [0057] obtains the readings), and provides a rate of change of the monitored temperature measurement value, the monitored temperature measurement value and the position information of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the rate of change of the temperature measurement value exceeds a predetermined rate of change range (e.g. Wasserman Paragraph [0022] and claim 23 discloses adjusting is applied to the electrode whose rate of heating exceeds a threshold level). However, the modified Wasserman does not explicitly disclose providing the monitored temperature measurement value and the position information of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature exceeds a threshold.
Min et al teaches that it is known to use an external monitor which displays when the temperature exceeds a corresponding threshold and the display indicates the position that exceeded its temperature threshold as set forth in Paragraph [0035] to provide improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with providing the monitored temperature measurement value and the position information of the temperature measurement module to the outside if the monitored temperature exceeds a threshold as taught by Min et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improved care for the patient by allowing a user to identify that temperatures are becoming unsafe and to enable further corrective actions.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman (US Publication 2021/0196348) in view of Urman et al (US Publication 2021/0162228).
Referring to Claim 10, Wasserman teaches the apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array of claim 1, further comprising: a high-frequency alternating current signal generator generating an alternating current voltage in order to deliver a tumor treating fields (TTfields) to the subject by the plurality of electrodes (e.g. Paragraphs [0002], [0031] and [0073]). However, Wasserman does not explicitly disclose the alternating current voltage of 50~500 kHz in order to deliver an electric field to the subject by the plurality of electrodes.
Urman et al teaches that it is known to use tumor treating fields 50kHz to about 500kHz as set forth in Paragraph [0050] to provide a known treatment beneficial in treating tumors which disrupts cell division through physical interactions with key molecules during mitosis. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with tumor treating fields generated in the range of 50kHz to about 500kHz as taught by Urman et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a known treatment beneficial in treating tumors which disrupts cell division through physical interactions with key molecules during mitosis.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wasserman (US Publication 2021/0196348) in view of Wasserman et al (US Publication 2018/0050200) and Anders et al (US Publication 2019/0174255).
Referring to Claim 11, Wasserman teaches an apparatus for measuring temperature in an electrode array attached to the surface of a subject to deliver an electric field comprising: a plurality of electrodes arranged in the electrode array for delivering the electric field to the subject (e.g. Figure 5, electrodes 152 on array structure 159); a plurality of temperature measurement modules for measuring the temperature between the electrodes and the surface of the subject (e.g. Figure 5, thermistors 154); and a digital control unit connected to the plurality of temperature measurement modules, transmitting a digital signal to control each temperature measurement module, and receiving a response signal from each temperature measurement module (e.g. Figure 6 and Paragraphs [0060] and [0087] discloses based on the temperature readings obtained from the thermistors 154 the controller 134 is programmed to control the current to each of the corresponding electrode elements 152). However, Wasserman does not disclose a transducer for converting the measured temperature value into digital signals; a receiver for receiving digital signals; a transmitter for transmitting digital signals; and a temperature measurement module control unit for controlling the temperature sensor, the transducer, the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the temperature sensor is assigned a unique identifier, wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in response to the measurement signal received by the receiver, and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the unique identifier, the received measurement signal, and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module. Wasserman et al teaches that it is known to use an analog to digital conversion of the temperature signals (e.g. Figure 1, Element 40 and Paragraph [0039]) which converts the temperature readings (transducer) and then forwards the digitized readings to a hub which accepts the temperature readings (receiver) which then forwards the digitized temperature readings via a serial communication link (transmitter Figure 2, Element 34) which is controlled by the hub controller (Figure 2, controller 32), wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver; and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module as set forth in Figures 1 and 2 and Paragraphs [0039], [0042], [0044] and [0057] to provide a single sequence of temperature measurements taken between delivery of therapy which reduces noise in the temperature measurements and provides information on each electrodes corresponding skin temperature. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with the plurality of temperature measurement modules is connected to the digital control unit in cascade and the temperature measurement module comprises a transducer for converting the measured temperature value into digital signals; a receiver for receiving digital signals; a transmitter for transmitting digital signals; and a temperature measurement module control unit for controlling the temperature sensor, the transducer, the receiver and the transmitter, wherein the temperature measurement module control unit measures the temperature by the temperature sensor, converts the measured temperature value into a temperature value signal by the transducer, and provides the converted temperature value signal by the transmitter, in accordance with the measurement signal received by the receiver, and wherein the temperature measurement module control unit combines the received measurement signal and the temperature value signal converted from the measured temperature value to form a single data sequence, and provides the single data sequence outside the temperature measurement module as taught by Wasserman et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a single sequence of temperature measurements taken between delivery of therapy which reduces noise in the temperature measurements and provides information on each electrodes corresponding skin temperature.
Anders et al teaches that it is known to use wherein the temperature sensor is assigned a unique identifier as set forth in Paragraph [0001] to provide additional ability to identify the source of the information to better ensure the corrective actions are enabled properly. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the system as taught by Wasserman, with wherein the temperature sensor is assigned a unique identifier as taught by Anders et al, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of additional ability to identify the source of the information to better ensure the corrective actions are enabled properly.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zhang et al (US Publication 2025/0177765) discloses a TTF which monitors temperature and adjusts the electrical signal to avoid burns.
/William J Levicky/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796