DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “power transmission unit” in claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 12,033,476).
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. When an English language translation of a non-English language foreign application is required, the translation must be that of the certified copy (of the foreign application as filed) submitted together with a statement that the translation of the certified copy is accurate. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a cassette connecting device for an automated teller machine, which is to be installed in a replenishment access section and to which a replenishment cassette is to be connected, the cassette connecting device comprising: a body 110 installed in the replenishment access section and providing a receiving space into which the replenishment cassette 10 is to be inserted; a handle frame 160 rotatably connected to the body to open and close the receiving space; a connection connector 130 installed in the body and electrically connectable with a cassette connector of the replenishment cassette when the replenishment cassette is inserted into the receiving space; and a power transmission unit 180 connecting the handle frame and the connection connector so that the handle frame and the connection connector are interlocked, wherein the power transmission unit rotates the connection connector to a point corresponding to the cassette connector when the handle frame is rotated to open the receiving space. See col. 11, lines 20-41.
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 1, wherein the power transmission unit 180 rotates the connection connector 130 in one direction so that the connection connector is exposed from the body when the handle frame 160 is rotated in a direction to open the receiving space, and rotates the connection connector in the other direction so that the connection connector is not exposed from the body when the handle frame is rotated in a direction to close the receiving space. See col. 12, lines 10-45.
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 2, wherein the power transmission unit 180 includes: a rotating bracket 131 rotatably installed on the body 110, to which the connection connector 130 is mounted; a first gear 184 rotatably installed on the body, which rotates in one direction when pushed by the rotation of the handle frame 160; a second gear 185 rotatably installed on the body to mesh with at least a portion of the first gear, which rotates in the other direction when the first gear is rotated in the one direction; and a third gear 186 rotatably installed on the body to mesh with at least a portion of the second gear, which rotates the rotating bracket in the one direction when the second gear is rotated in the other direction. See col. 12, lines 34-45.
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 3, wherein the power transmission unit 180 further includes a return spring 183 elastically connected between a fixed bracket 181 of the body 110 and the rotating bracket 131 to return the third gear 186 to an initial position thereof when the push of the handle frame 160 against the first gear is released. See col. 11, lines 52-63.
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 1, wherein the body 110 includes: a support frame 110; a rotation shaft 124 provided at a lower portion of the support frame, to which the handle frame 160 is rotatably connected; a moving shaft 121 provided at an upper portion of the support frame to be movable in a front-rear direction of the support frame; and a support plate 120 having a lower portion rotatably connected to the rotation shaft and an upper portion rotatably connected to the moving shaft.
Regarding claim 6, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 5, wherein the body further includes: a guide frame 170 that hinge-connects between both sides of the support plate 120 and both sides of the handle frame 160; and a guide pin 172 that is coupled to both sides of the support plate, and wherein the guide frame includes: a guide rod portion having one end portion hinge-connected to an upper portion of the handle frame; and a guide slit portion formed to extend at the other end portion of the guide rod portion so that the guide pin is guided in a length direction of the guide rod portion. See fig. below.
Regarding claim 7, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 5, wherein the support frame 110 includes: a support frame portion; and a support hole portion formed to extend in the front-rear direction in a sidewall of the support frame portion to provide a movement path of the moving shaft. See fig. below.
Regarding claim 8, Park discloses a cassette connecting device for an automated teller machine, which is to be installed in a replenishment access section and to which a replenishment cassette is to be connected, the cassette connecting device comprising: a body 110 installed in the replenishment access section and providing a receiving space into which the replenishment cassette is to be inserted; and a connection connector 130 movably arranged on the body to be electrically connected to a cassette connector of the replenishment cassette, wherein the connection connector is arranged at a preset first point of the body before the replenishment cassette is inserted into the receiving space, and is arranged at a second point corresponding to the cassette connector when the replenishment cassette is inserted into the receiving space. See col. 11, lines 20-41.
Regarding claim 9, Park discloses the cassette connecting device of claim 8, further comprising: a handle frame 160 rotatably connected to the body to open and close the receiving space; and a power transmission unit 180 configured to move the connection connector in the body in conjunction with the rotation of the handle frame.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Jeong (US 9,499,359) discloses a cassette mounting unit in a cash recycler.
/JEREMY R SEVERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759