DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“elevating portion configured to lower” in claim 4 [corresponding structure is an elevator; see paragraph 0036].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claim 1, the claim states “a base including a ground plane to a floor”, this renders the claim indefinite since it is unclear if the “plane” is intending to set forth a physical element, in which case this is unclear since a plane is abstract and not a physical structure.
There appears to be insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the same height as or above the ground plane”.
With regards to claim 3, the claim states “a steeped portion from a height of the ground plane”, it is unclear if this height is different from the height of the ground plane set forth in claim 1. Clarification and/or correction is required.
With regards to claim 6, the claim states “at least a part of a conveyance path”, this renders the claim indefinite since the conveyance path is not positively recited within the claim. Specifically, the conveyance path is introduced within a wherein clause, however wherein clause are used to further define element previously recited.
With regards to claim 9, the claim states “a laminated body manufacturing method performed using the manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1”, this renders the claim indefinite since it lacks any active steps of how the elements within the apparatus are used to manufacture a laminated body.
With regards to claim 10, the preamble of the claim sets forth the claim is directed to a laminated body manufacturing method, however the only steps provided appear to be directed to a method of conveying a laminated body. It is noted that the limitations “is punched” and “is laminated” in the preamble are not active method steps embodied within the claimed method, it is suggested to amend the claim such that those sets are positively recited within the body of the method.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Futamura et al (US 6,682,625).
In reference to claim 1, Futamura et al discloses a laminated body manufacturing apparatus comprising
a die unit configured to perform punching by an upper die (58) and a lower die (56),
a base (51) including a ground plane to a floor and configured to support the lower die, and
a support portion (72) configured to support a workpiece punched by the upper die and the lower die from below, wherein
a lower end portion(79) of the support portion is disposed at the same height as or above the ground plane of the base and below an upper surface of the lower die [see figure 15; col. 5 line 50-col. 6 line 11].
In reference to claim 2, Futamura et al further discloses a scaffold is provided above the ground plane of the base and below the upper surface of the die, as seen in figure 16.
In reference to claim 4, Futamura et al further discloses an elevating portion (86) configured to lower the punched workpiece to a height above the ground plane and below the scaffold, as seen in figure 16 [see col. 10 lines 46-51].
In reference to claim 5, Futamura et al further discloses at least a part of a side surface of the elevating portion is surrounded by the scaffold, as seen in figure 16.
In reference to claim 6, Futamura et al further discloses at least a part of a conveyance path for conveying the workpiece lowered by the elevating portion is provided below the scaffold, as seen in figure 16 [chute is projected downward away from scaffold].
In reference to claim 8, Futamura et al discloses a motor core manufacturing system comprising
the laminated body manufacturing apparatus according to claim 1, and
a post-punching processing apparatus configured to perform post-punching processing on the laminated body [see col. 12 lines 55-65],
wherein the laminated body manufacturing apparatus and the post-punching processing apparatus are installed on a common floor at the same height.
In reference to claim 9, Futamura et al discloses a laminated body manufacturing method performed using the manufacturing apparats according to claim 1.
In reference to claim 10, Futamura et al discloses a laminated body manufacturing method in which a workpiece is punched into a predetermined shape by a die unit disposed in parallel on a scaffold at a predetermined height from a floor, and the punched workpiece is laminated in a lower die of the die unit to form a laminated body, the method comprising
a lamination step of supporting the laminated body from below by a support portion (72) provided between the floor and the lower die (56),
a discharge step of discharging the laminated body from the lower die [see col. 10 lines 46-51; guide pins are lowered],
a first conveyance step of conveying the discharged laminated body via a first conveyance path at a position higher than the scaffold [see col. 10 lines 49-50; discharge device 85 pushes body off support portion],
a second conveyance step of lowering the laminated body via a second conveyance path connected to the first conveyance path, [see figure 16, col. 10 lines 51-53; chute 86 receives body and moves in a downward direction], and
a third conveyance step of conveying the lowered laminated body via a third conveyance path connected to the second conveyance path and located at a position lower than the scaffold [it is inherent that the body will be removed from the end of the chute and moved to storage or further processing].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Futamura et al in view of Komatsu (JP 05-039796; cited by Applicant).
In reference to claim 7, Futamura et al discloses the invention substantially as claimed except for wherein a soundproof wall is provided.
However, Komatsu teaches of providing a soundproof housing around a press wherein the housing provides an opening to allow the entrance of a workpiece for the purpose of minimizing the nose outputted by the operation of the press.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Futamura et al to include a soundproof housing, as taught by Komatsu, in order to minimize nose produced by the press operation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Debra M Sullivan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725