DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention lacks patentable utility. In regard to claim 17, the claim language “a defect that will self heal” is considered not credible since the defect is not biological. Applicant teaches imaging of tears or abrasions in a product, such as paper tears during gypsum production (0072). Biological organisms can self-heal while non-biological products such as gypsum cannot self-heal. A rejection on the ground of lack of utility is appropriate when an assertion of specific and substantial utility for the invention is not credible. SEE MPEP 2107.02 B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 11, 12, 15, & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087.
With regards to claim 1, Kenzo teaches a system for detecting product tears, the system comprising:
a lighting device (fig 3, 161 & 162) configured to illuminate “illuminator” a portion of a product (fig 3, B3) as it is produced by a forming device (fig 14, 32) on a production line (pg. 12, ¶ 2);
an imaging device (fig 3, 11) configured to capture one or more images “imager” (pg. 12, ¶ 2) of the illuminated portion of the product “image of an upper surface of the patterned” (pg. 12, ¶ 3) as it is produced by the forming device on the production line; and
a control device (fig 2, 100) configured to store (fig 5, 133) one or more thresholds (fig 7, S7) (fig 5. 132) “thresholds may be used”, wherein the control device is configured to receive the one or more captured images (fig 7, S1), and
wherein the control device is configured to analyze the one or more captured images
and (fig 7, S7), send a signal “results of the determining unit 13 are reported by a defective product unit” (pg. 23, ¶ 1) warning “(or warns) the automatic sorter 86 of the conveying apparatus 80 that a defective product is to reach the automatic sorter” (pg. 25, lines 10-15) to production on the production line (fig 2, 60).
Kenzo does not specifically teach if at least a portion of one of the one or more captured images exceeds stored threshold and sends a signal to cease production on the production line.
Sheng-li, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of imaging defects on manufacturing line, teaches capturing a gray scale image of a defect, determining whether the defect exceeds a threshold from the image, and ceasing production of the product on the product line based upon the exceeded threshold (abstract, lines 8-10) (pg. 9, ¶ 3). Sheng-li further teaches a memory, a processor, and a computer program stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor when detecting defects. Therefore, Examiner submits the threshold values would be stored on the processor (claim 9). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Sheng-li’s processor with Kenzo’s control device to control the quality of the product.
With regards to claim 2 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the system wherein the lighting device and the imaging device (fig 14, 10 Kenzo) are aligned such that the one or more images illuminated and captured by the lighting device and the imaging device, respectively, are of the product as it exits the forming device (fig 14, 32 Kenzo) on the production line.
With regards to claim 3 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the system wherein the system further comprises a connecting component (fig 3, 17 Kenzo), the connecting component being operably connected to one or more of the lighting device (fig 3, 161 & 162 Kenzo) and the imaging device, wherein the connecting component is configured to align the lighting device with the imaging device.
With regards to claim 8 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the system wherein the control device is configured to refrain from sending a signal to cease production on the line if the one or more thresholds are not exceeded “grey value greater than a preset threshold” (abstract, lines 8-10 Sheng-li).
With regards to claim 11 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the system of wherein the one or more thresholds are selected from a group consisting of the color of the image “gray values: 255 and 0” (pg. 9, ¶ 3 Sheng-li).
With regards to claim 12 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the system wherein the product comprises one or more gypsum boards (pg. 23, line 14 Kenzo).
With regards to claim 15 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the system wherein the one or more captured images are grayscale “gray values: 255 and 0” (pg. 9, ¶ 3 Sheng-li), so at least when they are analyzed “threshold value” (pg. 9, ¶ 3 Sheng-li) by the control device.
With regards to claim 18 according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to refrain from sending a signal to cease production “grey value greater than a preset threshold…then controlling the production line or station of the steel plate to stop running” (abstract, lines 8-10 Sheng-li), and on the line if the one or more thresholds are not exceeded.
Claim(s) 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Berkle JP 2007527800.
With regards to claim 4 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach a robotic device configured to be operably connected to one or more of the lighting device and the imaging device and to position the one or more of the lighting device and the imaging device.
Berkle, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of imaging workpieces, teaches a robotic device in which a robot arm supporting a camera and a light source are mounted onto a gantry located above a product (pg. 4, ¶ 3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine Berkle’s robotic device and gantry with Kenzo’s lighting device and imaging device to capture an optimal viewing angle of a product without tedious adjustments via human hands.
With regards to claim 5 according to claim 4, the combination teaches the system wherein the robotic device (fig 4 Berkle) is configured to position the one or more of the lighting device and the imaging device above (fig 14, 10 Kenzo) the production line.
With regards to claim 6 according to claim 5, the combination teaches the system wherein the robotic device is configured to align the lighting device and the imaging device (fig 4 Berkle).
With regards to claim 7 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach a gantry configured to be operably connected to one or more of the lighting device and the imaging device and to position the one or more of the lighting device and the imaging device above the production line.
Berkle, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of imaging workpieces, teaches a robotic device in which a robot arm supporting a camera and a light source are mounted onto a gantry located above a product (pg. 4, ¶ 3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine Berkle’s robotic device and gantry with Kenzo’s lighting device and imaging device to capture an optimal viewing angle of a product without tedious adjustments via human hands.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Berkle JP 2007527800 in further view of LITA Palletising Systems “High Speed Gantry Style Robot Palletizer JOLLY”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Xl-_4esd7M , Jun 6, 2015 hereafter LITA.
With regards to claim 8 according to claim 7, the combination teaches repositioning the gantry and the one or more of the lighting device and the imaging device above the production line (pg. 4, ¶ 3 Berkle).
The combination does not teach the gantry is operably connected to a rig disposed above the production line, and wherein the gantry is configured to slide along the rig and thereby.
LITA, in the field of endeavors of gantries, implicitly teaches a rig disposed above a product line, wherein a gantry slides along the rig thereby repositioning the gantry to a desired location (figs 1 & 2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine LITA’s rig with the combination’s gantry to enable the gantry to translate to desired locations.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Norman Lamps, “F18T8/CW/24 Cool-White 4200K”, https://normanlamps.com/f18t8-cw-24.html?srsltid=AfmBOor2VnQ-f0x4gT7_eet5KbTyCKiOlMkw3nhQUR9LjvKKvih5Swkl , October 15, 2017 hereafter Norman.
With regards to claim 9 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the lighting device comprises a width between 24 and 54 inches and a length between half an inch and four inches.
Norman, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of lamps (pg. 13, line 35 Kenzo), teaches a lamp comprising a width of 24 inches and a length of 1in (fig 1, description). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the combination’s lamp for Norman’s lamp to illuminate objects without constantly being changed due to a life span of 10,000 hours.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view Bral CN 109964115.
With regards to claim 10 according to claim 1, the combination teaches the control device is configured to send a signal to cease production on the production line (abstract, lines 8-10 Sheng-li) (pg. 9, ¶ 3 Sheng-li).
The combination does not teach the control device is configured to analyze the one or more captured images and, if at least three of the one or more captured images exceed the one or more stored thresholds.
Bral, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of defect detection via imaging, teaches a control device capturing multiple images of an object (fig 4, F0-F6) (pg. 21, ¶ 5, lines 1-3), wherein the difference of at least three images (fig 4, F2-F1, F3-F1, F3-F0) exceed a threshold so as to determine whether a defect exists on the object (pg. 21, ¶ 1). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Bral’s control device with the combination’s imaging device to accurately determine the existence of a defect without false positives.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Scan Grip, “LINE LIGHT - the unique lighting concept”, https://www.scangrip.com/en-gb/products/line-light-technology , November 28, 2019 hereafter Scan Grip.
With regards to claim 13 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the lighting device comprises a line light.
Scan grip, in the field of endeavor of lighting, teaches a line light is a flexible lighting solution for universal application designed for use anywhere where strong, efficient and concentrated light in a specific working area is needed. Scan grip further teaches line light provides almost double illumination compared to the traditional 36W fluorescent tubes which are commonly used within the industry. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the combination’s light device for a line light to provide sufficient illumination for imaging defects within a product line.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Apalapse, “Camera Basics - Shutter Speed”, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7R9ZTxoTOSk Jul 11, 2017 hereafter Apalapse.
With regards to claim 14 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the imaging device is configured to capture at a speed of less than 100 milliseconds the one or more images of the illuminated portion of the product as it is produced by the forming device on the production line.
Apalapse, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of imaging devices, teaches an imaging device may capture images at a speed of 1/1000 second i.e. 1 millisecond, wherein Apalapse implicitly illustrates capturing clear images of objects in motion at this capturing speed (fig 1). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Apalapse imaging device with combination’s control device to capture images of the combination’s moving product without blurring.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Sasaki WO2000012277.
With regards to claim 16 according to claim 1, the combination does not teach the portion of the one of the one or more captured images comprises a tear in the product.
Sasaki, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of manufacturing gypsum board, teaches defects such as tears may develop on a gypsum board during manufacturing (pg. 2, ¶ 2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to try to image tears within the product via the combination’s imaging device to avoid manufacturing defective products.
Claim(s) 19 & 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KENZO CA 3029218 in view of Berkle JP 2007527800 in further view of Sheng-Ii CN 113808087 in further view of Sasaki WO2000012277.
With regards to claim 19, Kenzo teaches a method for detecting product tears, the method comprising:
aligning (fig 14,10) an imaging device and a lighting device with a forming plate (fig 14 & 15, 31) on a production line;
capturing, by the imaging device, one or more images “imager” (pg. 12, ¶ 2) of a product “image of an upper surface of the patterned” (pg. 12, ¶ 3) formed by the forming plate on the production line;
transmitting, to a control device (fig 2, 100), the one or more images of the product on the production line; analyzing (fig 7, S7) (fig 5, 132), by the control device, the one or more images.
Kenzo does not teach aligning, by a robotic device.
Berkle, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of imaging workpieces, teaches a robotic device in which a robot arm supporting a camera and a light source are mounted onto a gantry located above a product (pg. 4, ¶ 3). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to combine Berkle’s robotic device and gantry with Kenzo’s lighting device and imaging device to capture an optimal viewing angle of a product without tedious adjustments via human hands.
The combination does not teach if a tear has occurred, signaling, by the control device, to halt the production line.
Sheng-li, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of imaging defects on manufacturing line, teaches capturing an image of a defect, determining whether the defect exceeds a threshold from the image, and ceasing production of the product on the product line based upon the exceeded threshold (abstract, lines 8-10) (pg. 9, ¶ 3).
Sheng-li does not teach a tear.
Sasaki, in the same field of endeavor as Kenzo of manufacturing gypsum board, teaches defects such as tears may develop on a gypsum board during manufacturing (pg. 2, ¶ 2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Sheng-li’s processor with Kenzo’s control device to detect defects such as tears for quality control purposes.
With regards to claim 20 according to claim 19, the combination teaches the method further comprising, if a tear (pg. 2, ¶ 2 Sasaki) has not occurred, refraining, by the control device, from signaling to halt the production line “grey value greater than a preset threshold…then controlling the production line or station of the steel plate to stop running” (abstract, lines 8-10 Sheng-li).
Conclusion
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877