DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim (Pub. No.: US 20250166968 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a plasma chamber (FIG. 2, plasma chamber 100) configured to form plasma (FIG. 2, PLASMA), the plasma chamber comprising:
a housing (FIG. 2, a housing 110) configured to have a reaction space (FIG. 2, space in housing 110) therein, in order to etch a wafer through the plasma (paragraph [0048], “The housing 110 has a reaction space therein to etch a wafer 10 with plasma”);
a base plate (FIG. 2, base plate 111) provided inside the housing (paragraph [0049], “The base plate 111 is provided inside the housing 110”) and configured to allow the wafer to be seated thereon (FIG. 2); and
a pressure adjustment unit (FIG. 2, PRESSURE ADJUSTING UNIT 120) configured to adjust a pressure inside the housing (paragraph [0051], “The pressure adjusting unit 120 adjusts a pressure inside the housing 110”),
wherein the pressure adjustment unit is configured to adjust the pressure inside the housing from 50 to 500 mTorr (paragraph [0059], “the pressure inside the housing 110 is adjusted to 50 to 150 mTorr through the pressure adjusting unit 120”, 50-150 mTorr is included in 50-00 mTorr range ).
Regarding claim 2, Kim further teaches a plasma source (FIG. 2, RF power generator 132) provided on an upper part of the housing (FIG. 2) and configured to form the plasma inside the housing (paragraph [0139], “the bias RF source 150 is controlled through the control unit, and thereby conditions in which ions 21 and radicals 22 can be used simultaneously can be formed”), wherein a source power of the plasma source is from 500 to 3000 W (Claim 6, “RF source is in a range of 1000 to 3000 W”).
ASM [Claim 3] The plasma chamber of claim 2, wherein the pressure adjustment unit is configured to adjust the pressure inside the housing to a pressure equal to or greater than a resonance pressure, at which a driving frequency of the plasma source and a collision frequency between particles inside the housing are equalized.
Regarding claim 6, Kim further teaches a bias RF source (FIG. 2, RF bias source 150) connected to the base plate (FIG. 2) and configured to apply a bias to the base plate, wherein a bias power of the bias RF source is from 500 to 5000 W (paragraph [0081], “a bias power of the bias RF source 150 is preferably adjusted to 1000 to 3000 W”, this range is similar).
Regarding claim 7, Kim further teaches the plasma formed in the reaction space of the housing includes ions (FIG. 1, ion 21) and radicals (FIG. 1, radical 22), and wherein the wafer is etched by synergy effect of the ions and the radicals (paragraph [0063], “maintaining a high etch rate through the synergy effect generated by resonance between ions and radicals while using ions and radicals simultaneously”).
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches a wafer etching method using a plasma chamber (FIG. 2, plasma chamber 100), which includes a housing (FIG. 2, a housing 110) configured to have a reaction space therein in order to etch a wafer through plasma (paragraph [0048], “The housing 110 has a reaction space therein to etch a wafer 10 with plasma”), a base plate (FIG. 2 base plate 111) provided inside the housing and configured to allow the wafer to be seated thereon (paragraph [0049], “The base plate 111 is provided inside the housing 110”), a pressure adjustment unit (FIG. 2, PRESSURE ADJUSTING UNIT 120) configured to adjust a pressure inside the housing, and a plasma source provided on an upper part of the housing and configured to form the plasma inside the housing (paragraph [0051], “The pressure adjusting unit 120 adjusts a pressure inside the housing 110”), the method comprising:
a pressure adjustment step of adjusting the pressure inside the housing paragraph [0051], “The pressure adjusting unit 120 adjusts a pressure inside the housing 110”) to be 50 to 500 mTorr though the pressure adjustment unit (paragraph [0059], “the pressure inside the housing 110 is adjusted to 50 to 150 mTorr through the pressure adjusting unit 120”, 50-150 mTorr is included in 50-00 mTorr range ); and
a source power adjustment step of adjusting a source power (FIG. 2, RF power generator 132) of the plasma source to be 500 to 3000 W through the plasma source (Claim 6, “RF source is in a range of 1000 to 3000 W”)..
Regarding claim 12, Kim further teaches a bias RF source (FIG. 2, RF bias source 150) connected to the base plate (FIG. 2) and configured to apply a bias to the base plate, wherein a bias power of the bias RF source is from 500 to 5000 W (paragraph [0081], “a bias power of the bias RF source 150 is preferably adjusted to 1000 to 3000 W”, this range is similar).
Regarding claim 13, Kim further teaches the plasma formed in the reaction space of the housing includes ions (FIG. 1, ion 21) and radicals (FIG. 1, radical 22), and wherein the wafer is etched by synergy effect of the ions and the radicals (paragraph [0063], “maintaining a high etch rate through the synergy effect generated by resonance between ions and radicals while using ions and radicals simultaneously”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (Pub. No.: US 20160013067 A1), hereafter Wang.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose etching gas is supplied inside the housing and the etching gas supplied into the housing is discharged outside the housing after reaction, and wherein a time period for which the etching gas remains inside the housing is from 1 second to 4 seconds.
Wang teaches etching gas is supplied inside the housing and the etching gas supplied into the housing is discharged outside the housing after reaction (paragraph [0079], “vary the gas mixture without completely purging the gas mixture from the plasma chamber 102”), and wherein a time period for which the etching gas remains inside the housing is from 1 second to 4 seconds (paragraph [0079], “purging the gas mixture between the adsorption and desorption may be less than 4 s of continuous vacuum with no gas mixture being flowed into the process chamber 102”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Wang to incorporate the feature of etching gas discharge in which time period of the adsorption and desorption time limit to purge the gas mixture (Wang, paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches limitations of claim 8 but does not disclose etching gas is supplied inside the housing and the etching gas supplied into the housing is discharged outside the housing after reaction, and wherein a time period for which the etching gas remains inside the housing is from 1 second to 4 seconds.
Wang teaches etching gas is supplied inside the housing and the etching gas supplied into the housing is discharged outside the housing after reaction (paragraph [0079], “vary the gas mixture without completely purging the gas mixture from the plasma chamber 102”), and wherein a time period for which the etching gas remains inside the housing is from 1 second to 4 seconds (paragraph [0079], “purging the gas mixture between the adsorption and desorption may be less than 4 s of continuous vacuum with no gas mixture being flowed into the process chamber 102”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Wang to incorporate the feature of etching gas discharge in which time period of the adsorption and desorption time limit to purge the gas mixture (Wang, paragraph [0079]).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim as applied to claims 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Sugawara et al. (Pub. No.: US 20040048452 A1), hereafter Sugawara.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose
a density of the plasma formed in the reaction space of the housing is from 2E11 to 5E11 per cubic centimeter (cm3).
Sugawara teaches a density of the plasma formed in the reaction space of the housing is from 2E11 to 5E11 per cubic centimeter (cm3) (paragraph [0067], “Density: 1E10 to 5E12 cm3
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Sugawara to incorporate a range of high gas density causing plasma damage is light (Sugawara, paragraph [0156]).
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches limitations of claim 1 but does not disclose
a density of the plasma formed in the reaction space of the housing is from 2E11 to 5E11 per cubic centimeter (cm3).
Sugawara teaches a density of the plasma formed in the reaction space of the housing is from 2E11 to 5E11 per cubic centimeter (cm3) (paragraph [0067], “Density: 1E10 to 5E12 cm3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim in view of Sugawara to incorporate a range of high gas density causing plasma damage is light (Sugawara, paragraph [0156]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 3, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the plasma chamber according to Claim 2, comprising “pressure adjustment unit is configured to adjust the pressure inside the housing to a pressure equal to or greater than a resonance pressure, at which a driving frequency of the plasma source and a collision frequency between particles inside the housing are equalized”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 9, prior arts whether stand alone or in combination fail to teach or reasonably suggest the wafer etching method according to Claim 8, comprising “pressure adjustment unit is configured to adjust the pressure inside the housing to a pressure equal to or greater than a resonance pressure, at which a driving frequency of the plasma source and a collision frequency between particles inside the housing are equalized”, as required in combination with the other limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/SYED M KAISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831