Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 10 are amended before first action.
Claims 11 – 20 are new before first action.
Claims 1 – 20 are pending.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Under a broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), words of the claim must be given their plain meaning, unless such meaning is inconsistent with the specification. The plain meaning of a term means the ordinary and customary meaning given to the term by those of ordinary skill in the art at the relevant time. The ordinary and customary meaning of a term may be evidenced by a variety of sources, including the words of the claims themselves, the specification, drawings, and prior art. However, the best source for determining the meaning of a claim term is the specification - the greatest clarity is obtained when the specification serves as a glossary for the claim terms. The words of the claim must be given their plain meaning unless the plain meaning is inconsistent with the specification. 2111.01 (I). See also In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983) ("'[C]laims are not to be read in a vacuum, and limitations therein are to be interpreted in light of the specification in giving them their ‘broadest reasonable interpretation.'"2111.01 (II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “extremely narrow passage,” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “extremely narrow passage,” is not defined by this claim, the specification and dependent claims do provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. But this independent claim is very broad and thus does not effectively show the invention, thus is indefinite. Thus, even with the dependent claims that narrow and clarify the claim 1 statement, it is very unclear what the broad limitations in Claim 1 actually is refereeing to. Moving at least one dependent claim into the independent claim would clarify the invention. Note that the more steps in the independent claim that clarifies and explains the invention in detail are suggested.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-11, 13-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingvalson et al. [US20200267896, now Ingvalson], with K. A. Daltorio et al., "An obstacle-edging reflex for an autonomous lawnmower," IEEE/ION Position, Location and Navigation Symposium, Indian Wells, CA, USA, 2010, pp. 1079-1092 [now Daltorio].
Claim 1
Ingvalson discloses a method for controlling a self-moving device, characterized in that [see at least Ingvalson, Abstract (“directing an autonomous robotic vehicle such as a lawn mower”)], the method comprises following steps:
when the self-moving device operates in an extremely narrow passage, the self-moving device employs a bidirectional edge-following cutting strategy for coverage cutting, when the self-moving device operates in a non-extremely narrow passage, the self-moving device employs a planned coverage cutting strategy for coverage cutting [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 27 (“ autonomous robotic working vehicles and methods of operating the same within a predefined work region to achieve improved vehicle coverage “); 0050 (“narrow turf passages between exclusion zones”) (0051; (discusses containment zone which can be narrow areas for mowing between larger areas); 0065 (indicates a “leading edge” which is similar to edge-following cutting strategy)];
Daltorio teaches specific points of the limitations and is added here to show that this general concept of mower control with narrow edge control using “pre-defined paths and reflexively edge around obstacles before returning to the path” is not a new concept. Thus teaches/supports the concept of the limitations [see at least Abstract and Conclusion].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “Apparatus, systems, and methods for directing an autonomous robotic vehicle such as a lawn mower [abstract]” of Ingvalson, with the explanation of research being done in an autonomous lawnmower Of Daltorio. Providing an effective, efficient and safer technology for autonomously mowing lawns control and other related technology (e.g. vacuum).
Claim 2
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses characterized in that, the method further comprises: obtaining a narrow passage and determining whether the narrow passage is the extremely narrow passage [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0070 (indicates determining an area “becomes too narrow, making mower navigation in the area 357 problematic.”)], which specifically comprises:
when the minimum width Ymin of the narrow passage is less than or equal to [[a]]A*P, then the narrow passage is the extremely narrow passage; when Ymin is greater than [[a]]A *P, then the narrow passage is the non-extremely narrow passage; wherein [[a]]A is a value within a range [0.5-2], wherein P is a body width of the self-moving device [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0057 (discusses zone demarcations and how they are determined)].
Claim 5
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses when the minimum width Ymin of the narrow passage is less than or equal to X, then the narrow passage is the extremely narrow passage; when Ymin is greater than X, then the narrow passage is the non-extremely narrow passage; wherein X is a value within a range of 20cm-150cm [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0049 (“Whether to maintain the position of the travelling containment zone 200 fixed, and how long it remains fixed, may be determined by the controller 120 based upon, e.g., the size of the travelling containment zone,”)].
Claim 6
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses when the self-moving device moves from area A to area B through the extremely narrow passage, the self-moving device travels along a route at a first fixed distance from one edge of the extremely narrow passage to reach area B; and/or when the self-moving device moves from area B to area A through the extremely narrow passage, the self-moving device travels along a route at a second fixed distance from an other edge of the extremely narrow passage to reach area A; wherein area A and area B are connected by a extremely narrow passage [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0013 (discusses “he method may comprise one or more of: defining, with an electronic controller associated with the working vehicle, a travelling containment zone that lies at least partially within the work region, wherein the work region bounds a first plurality of grid cells and the travelling containment zone bounds a lesser second plurality of grid cells; autonomously operating the working vehicle within the travelling containment zone; constraining a position of the working vehicle to be within the travelling containment zone; deciding, with the controller, a direction in which to advance a leading edge of the travelling containment zone; and moving the travelling containment zone across the work region while the working vehicle operates within the travelling containment zone... leading edge into at least a first segment and a second segment upon contact of the leading edge with an exclusion zone contained within the work area. In still another aspect, the method further comprises replacing the leading edge with either the first segment or the second segment. “ ); 0019 (discusses multiple containment zones -with can include and interpreted as narrow passages)].
Claim 7
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses characterized in that, the first fixed distance and the second fixed distance are the same or different, and the first fixed distance and the second fixed distance are values within a range of 10cm-50cm [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0013 (indicates comparing distances)].
Claim 8
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses the self-moving device passes through the extremely narrow passage, a distance of the self-moving device from the edge of the extremely narrow passage is greater than or equal to [[b]]B*P, wherein [[b]]B is a value within a range [0.2-0.6], and P is a body width of the self-moving device [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0012 (“additionally included, in any combination, to produce yet additional embodiments. For example, in one aspect, the controller may maintain an initial position of the travelling containment zone for a period of time before moving the travelling containment zone across the work region. In another aspect, the mower further comprises a positioning system adapted to estimate a position of the mower within the work region, wherein the positioning system is operatively connected to the controller. In yet another aspect, the system further comprises a base station located in or near the work region.”)].
Claim 9
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses comprising a memory, a processor, the memory storing a computer program that can be executed by the processor, characterized in that, when the processor executes the computer program [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0036 (“controller 120 adapted to monitor and control various mower functions. The exemplary controller 120 may include a processor 122 that receives various inputs and executes one or more computer programs or applications stored in memory 124. The memory 124 may include computer-readable instructions or applications that, when executed, e.g., by the processor 122, cause the controller 120 to perform various calculations and/or issue commands. That is to say, the processor 122 and memory 124 may together define a computing apparatus operable to process input data and generate the desired output to one or more components/devices...”)], the self-moving device implements any one of-the control method[[s]] described claim 1.
Claim 10
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses a computer-readable medium, having non-volatile program code executable by a processor, characterized in that, the program code causes the processor to execute the control method[[s]] [see at least Ingvalson, ¶ 0036 (“The memory 124 may include computer-readable instructions or applications that, when executed, e.g., by the processor 122, cause the controller 120 to perform various calculations and/or issue commands. “)] described in claim 1.
Claims 11 and 16
Claims 11 and 16 has similar limitations to claim 2, therefore claims 11 and 16 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 2.
Claims 12 and 17
Claims 12 and 17 has similar limitations to claim 4, therefore claims 12 and 17 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 4.
Claims 13 and 18
Claims 13 and 18 has similar limitations to claim 5, therefore claims 13 and 18 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 5.
Claims 14 and 19
Claims 14 and 19has similar limitations to claim 6, therefore claims 14 and 19 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 6.
Claims 15 and 20
Claims 15 and 20 has similar limitations to claim 8, therefore claims 15 and 20 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 8.
Claims 3, 4, 12, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ingvalson et al. [US20200267896, now Ingvalson], with K. A. Daltorio et al., "An obstacle-edging reflex for an autonomous lawnmower," IEEE/ION Position, Location and Navigation Symposium, Indian Wells, CA, USA, 2010, pp. 1079-1092 [now Daltorio], further with Chung Woo Ram et al.[KR20090017312, now Ram].
Claim 3
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further discloses wherein the planned coverage cutting strategy comprises a zigzag coverage strategy [see at least Ingvalson, Abstract (indicates random pattern which can include a zigzag pattern.
Neither Ingvalson or Daltoria specifically disclose/teach ZigZag pattern but Ram does teach this concept [see at least Ram, ¶ 3-5 (“zigzag”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “Apparatus, systems, and methods for directing an autonomous robotic vehicle such as a lawn mower [abstract]” of Ingvalson, with the explanation of research being done in an autonomous lawnmower Of Daltorio, further with the zigzag patterns shown in Ram. Providing an effective, efficient and safer technology for autonomously mowing lawns and control other related technology (e.g. vacuum).
Claim 4
Ingvalson and Daltorio disclose/teach the limitations of Claim 1.
Ingvalson further teaches when the minimum width Ymin of the narrow passage is less than or equal to min(P,Q), then the narrow passage is the extremely narrow passage; when Ymin is greater than min(P,Q), then the narrow passage is the non-extremely narrow passage, wherein P is a body width of the self-moving device and Q is the width required for zigzag turning [see at least Ingvalson, 0047 (indicates “ the size and speed of the mower”); 0057 (indicates “actual containment zone size”)].
Neither Ingvalson or Daltoria specifically disclose/teach ZigZag pattern but Ram does teach this concept [see at least Ram, ¶ 3-5 (“zigzag”)].
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify/combine, with a reasonable expectation of success, the “Apparatus, systems, and methods for directing an autonomous robotic vehicle such as a lawn mower [abstract]” of Ingvalson, with the explanation of research being done in an autonomous lawnmower Of Daltorio, further with the zigzag patterns shown in Ram. Providing an effective, efficient and safer technology for autonomously mowing lawns and control other related technology (e.g. vacuum).
Claims 12 and 17
Claims 12 and 17 has similar limitations to claim 4, therefore claims 12 and 17 are rejected with the same rationale as claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
P. Guo, C. Sun and Q. Li, "Obstacle Avoidance Path Planning in Unstructured Environment With Narrow Passages," in IEEE Transactions on Intelligent Vehicles, vol. 8, no. 11, pp. 4632-4643, Nov. 2023.
M. Du, J. Chen, P. Zhao, H. Liang, Y. Xin and T. Mei, "An improved RRT-based motion planner for autonomous vehicle in cluttered environments," 2014 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Automation (ICRA), Hong Kong, China, 2014, pp. 4674-4679.
J. Zhong and J. Su, "Narrow passages identification for Probabilistic Roadmap Method," Proceedings of the 30th Chinese Control Conference, Yantai, China, 2011, pp. 3908-3912.
Abstract: With narrow passages in robot working space, the Probabilistic Roadmap Method (PRM) is hard to arrive at an efficient path due to unreasonable milestones in limited space. This paper presents a hybrid sampling strategy in the PRM framework to improve the distributions of road signs. It proposes the Randomized Star Builder (RSB) to identify narrow passages in the workspace, and uses the hybrid strategy to sample road signs in the corresponding configuration space. The
density of points in the roadmap is then increased in the narrow passages. Moreover, global roadmaps using Uniform Sampler are also configured to rationalize the milestone distribution so as to improve the path planning efficiency. A robot system of multiple degree-of-freedoms is exemplified in simulations to show the effectiveness of the proposed algorithm.
/JOAN T GOODBODY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3664
(571) 270-7952