DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Species A in the reply filed on 5/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that:
“In relation to the Groups: the applicant traverses and asserts that the current language of the method claim recites all relevant structures related to the claimed method, which are also present in the system claim. Therefore, the applicant asserts that the unity rejection should be found a priori invalid.
Having said this, and in order to allow for a positive continuation of the prosecution, the applicant has chosen to amend claim 26 to include the language "one
or more transmitters and a controller", which was the reason the examiner triggered the restriction requirement.
In relation to the Species: the applicant traverses. The applicant asserts that the local energy function can incorporate more than one constraint, and that both types of constraints, "relevant mechanical and sensor measurement constraints for said each point" and "constraints related to a sensed magnetic field", can co-exists and possibly neither overlap nor contradict each other. Therefore, the applicant respectfully requests to cancel the restriction of the Species.”
Examiner respectfully agrees with Applicant. The prior Election/Restriction requirement is withdrawn, and non-elected claims of Group II (claims 26-27, 29-30, 34-36, 39, and 44) have been rejoined. Accordingly, claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-12, 19, 24, 26-27, 29-30, 34-36, 39 and 44 are examined on the merits.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-12, 19, 24, 26-27, 29-30, 34-36, 39 and 44 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 26 recite the limitation “and/or”, resulting in the creation of multiple interpretations of this and dependent claims based on the use of “and”, “or”, or both. Furthermore, claims 1 and 26 do not appear to be proper Markush type claims. It is suggested to replace all instances of “and/or” with either “and” alone or “or” alone. For the purposes of examination, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim was implemented.
Claim 5, 7, 11-12, 19, 24, 30, 39 and 44 list steps which reuse characters or numerals recited in the base/independent claims (e.g., claim 26 possesses a method step ‘a.’, and dependent claim 44 possesses a method step ‘a.’). This can generate unintended interpretations of how or when the steps are performed in order. It is suggested to amend the language to eliminate overlapping characters or numerals and delineate the steps being claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 2, 5, 11-12, 19, 27, 36, 39 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 11-12, 36 and 39 are also rejected at least by virtue of dependency upon a rejected base claim.
Claims 2 and 27 recite the limitation “said local energy function incorporates relevant mechanical and sensor measurement constraints […] to said constraints of mechanical properties of said elongated device, with respect to relative locations and orientation of adjacent plurality of the predetermined points” which renders the claims indefinite. The term “’relevant” is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “relevant” is not defined by the claims, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear what constitutes a ‘relevant measurement constraint’ or ‘relative location and orientation’. It is suggested to amend the claim to clearly define what a ‘relevant measurement constraint’ is. Furthermore, the use of “to said constraints of mechanical properties of said elongated device, with respect to relative locations and orientation of adjacent plurality of the predetermined points” is unclear. There is insufficient antecedent basis for “said constraints of mechanical properties”, because it is unclear if this limitation points to the ‘mechanical measurement constraints’ recited earlier in the claims or to new ‘constraints’. Similarly, there is insufficient antecedent basis of “the predetermined points”. For the purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language in view of the instant specification is applied to the limitation(s).
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said sensor elements of said shape sensor are located". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is not certain if the ‘shape sensor’ points to the ‘curve/shape sensor’ recited in claim 1 or is referring to a new ‘shape sensor’.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein said length energy function is characterized by one or more of:". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The ‘length energy function’ is not required based on the ‘one or more of’ language used in claim 11; in an interpretation there may be no ‘length energy function’ positively recited. It is suggested to amend the claims to clarify the conditional relationship between claim limitations.
Claims 19 and 44 recite “wherein said calibration includes one or more of: a. obtaining a plurality of distortion samples; b. finding distortion calibration parameters by reducing a distortion matrix based on said distortion samples; c. using said distortion calibration parameters to adjust said calculated fully localized curve of said tracked portion of said elongated device;” which renders the claims indefinite. The claim uses ‘one or more of:’ language, which in an interpretation means any one of the subsequent list items ‘a.’ through ‘d.’ may satisfy the claim. However, the limitations ‘b.’ and ‘c.’ need elements found in different list items (e.g., ‘said distortion samples’ in ‘b.’, ‘said distortion calibration parameters’ in ‘c.’). For the purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation the calibration may include any one or more of items ‘a.’, ‘b.’, ‘c.’ or ‘d.’.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-12, 19, 24, 26-27, 29-30, 34-36, 39 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Osadchy et al. (US20210345902A1, 2021-11-11; hereinafter “Osadchy”).
Regarding claim 1, Osadchy teaches a system for position and/or curve/shape-tracking of an elongated device (“A system for visualization, […] select a shape based on the cost function; and generate corrected coordinates of the plurality of position transducers of the probe based on the shape.” [clm 11]; “the disclosed subject matter enable a medical professional to more accurately visualize a flexible probe […] in a body of a subject by applying a model of the mechanical properties of the probe to apparent coordinates received from points on the probe” [0013]; [0013-0042], [fig. 1-3]), comprising:
a. a curve/shape sensor comprising a plurality of sensor elements positioned on said elongated device (“a probe comprising a plurality of position transducers and a voltage contact;” [clm 11]; “The term “position transducer” as used herein refers to an element mounted on the probe which causes control unit 18 to receive signals indicative of the coordinates of the element.” [0027]; [0013-0042], [fig. 1-3]); b. one or more transmitters (“a catheter may include several flexible magnetic loop sensors (FLS). A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “Accordingly expected magnetic field received at the catheter (e.g., FLS loop catheter) may be known” [0020]; [0013-0042], [fig. 1-3]);
c. a controller comprising a processor; said processor comprising instructions (“Control unit 18 is a computer system comprising a processor, such as a central processing unit (CPU) 20, which is programmed in software to carry out the functions that are described” [0025]; [0013-0042], [fig. 1-5]) for:
i. obtaining a plurality of points along a tracked portion of said elongated device (“receive an input of a plurality of measured coordinates of a respective plurality of position transducers of a probe inside a body of a subject;” [clm 11]; “A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “The catheter mechanics algorithm may apply the expected magnetic field to calculate the expected voltage measurement from any FLS loop embedded in the catheter, based on the currently estimated catheter shape.” [0020]; “The measured locations of electrodes 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, and 58, based on the signals received by control unit 18, are respectively represented by points m0, m1, m2, m3, m4, m5, m6, m7, and m5.” [0030]; [0013-0042], [fig. 1-5]);
ii. allocating, for each point from said plurality of points, a local energy function dependent on an estimated position and orientation of said tracked portion of said elongated device (“calculating an intrinsic energy representing a deviation of the probe from a free shape of the probe;” [clm 12]; “A first term (location errors) of the cost function may be the difference between the estimated positions and/or orientations of a sensor based on currently estimated shape of the catheter and the actual measurements from those sensors. […] The catheter mechanics algorithm may be used to estimate the shape and position of the catheter in space, such that it defines where each sensor is located in space, based on the parameters of the catheter.” [0017]; “To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the estimated shape of the catheter to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0020]; The controller calculates intrinsic energy (i.e., local energy function) for each location/electrode and an estimated measurement based on estimated shape of catheter [0013-0042], [fig. 1-5]);
iii. generating a resultant unified energy function for a full shape and a position of an entire tracked portion of said elongated device (“determine a cost function based on a model of known mechanical properties of the probe compared to the measured coordinates with respect to shapes that can be assumed by the probe in the body and further based on an expected voltage value compared to the measured voltage measurement;” [clm 11]; “a diagram of a calculated geometrical model 60 of probe 12. The measured locations of electrodes 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, and 58, based on the signals received by control unit 18, are respectively represented by points m0, m1, m2, m3, m4, m5, m6, m7, and m5.” [0030]; “The probe mechanics algorithm uses a cost function, which is a weighted combination of intrinsic energy, position error and orientation error. Intrinsic energy represents the deviation of probe 12 from its free shape.” [0040]; The cost function (i.e., unified energy function) corresponds with the shape of the catheter along the catheter’s length [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5; see fig. 2B reproduced below]);
iv. calculating a fully localized curve along said tracked portion of said elongated device by minimizing said unified energy function (“By minimizing the cost function, the catheter mechanics algorithm may determine the catheter position and shape that has the best match to the position sensors and FLS voltage measurements while considering mechanical properties of the catheter.” [0021]; “a probe model is defined, describing the physical characteristics of probe 12, and CPU 20 applies a probe mechanics algorithm to achieve the best match between the probe model and the measurements. The result is a minimal cost state for probe 12, which describes the location and shape (i.e., an actual shape different from the free shape) of probe 12 and its deflection values (for a deflectable probe).” [0039]; “cost function calculation module 86 feeds the probe state cost to a cost minimization module 94, which applies a minimization algorithm to the cost function in order to find a minimal cost probe state that achieves a minimum value of the cost function (i.e., a best match).” [0051]; “The voltage measurement error score at step 115 may be a factor of the amount that a given loop deviates from its currently estimated shape, as provided by the probe definition module 84.” [0063]; The cost function is minimized to determine the location and shape of the probe [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5; see fig. 2B reproduced below]).
Probe model 60 describing physical characteristics of probe 12, wherein CPU applies probe mechanics algorithm to determine best match between probe model and measurements (Osadchy [fig. 2B])
Regarding claim 2, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said local energy function incorporates relevant mechanical and sensor measurement constraints for said each point (“determine a cost function based on a model of known mechanical properties of the probe compared to the measured coordinates with respect to shapes that can be assumed by the probe in the body” [clm 11]; “A catheter mechanics algorithm may define a catheter's parameters, […] The algorithm combines characteristics known in advance, such as the catheter's shape, its bendability and/or flexibility, the lengths of its various parts, and the like. The catheter's properties can be compared with actual measurements taken based on position and/or orientation of a sensor.” [0016]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and
wherein said unified energy function is constructed based on said allocated local energy functions and segmental energy functions that relate to said constraints of mechanical properties of said elongated device, with respect to relative locations and orientation of adjacent plurality of the predetermined points (“A first term (location errors) of the cost function may be the difference between the estimated positions and/or orientations of a sensor based on currently estimated shape of the catheter and the actual measurements from those sensors. […] The catheter mechanics algorithm may be used to estimate the shape and position of the catheter in space, such that it defines where each sensor is located in space, based on the parameters of the catheter. The cost function is the error between the locations and the actual measurements of those locations.” [0017]; “A cost function in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention is used to find the best match between the point ej and mj. Model 60 comprises straight rigid sections 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, and 69, connected by joints 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, and 77 which allow rotation (bending and twisting).” [0031]; “Since minimizing the cost function in step 118 employs an iterative algorithm (i.e., each iteration of the algorithm improves the estimate of the solution), and the position and shape of probe 12 change slowly between measurements, it may be sufficient to apply only one iteration of the cost function minimization algorithm for each successive measurement.” [0073]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 4, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said fully localized curve is calculated relative to said one or more transmitters (“A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “The difference between the measured voltage (e.g., from a voltage contact) and expected voltages may be added to the first term and second term cost function […] By minimizing the cost function, the catheter mechanics algorithm may determine the catheter position and shape that has the best match to the position sensors and FLS voltage measurements while considering mechanical properties of the catheter.” [0021]; “Alternatively, or additionally, in a magnetic position sensing system, the position transducers may comprise three-axis magnetic sensors (TAS), which provide position and a complete orientation matrix.” [0030]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 5, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said plurality of points are one or more of:
a. a predetermined plurality of points;
b. a sensor point, which is a point in which said sensor elements of said shape sensor are located (“a probe comprising a plurality of position transducers and a voltage contact;” [clm 11]; “A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and
c. a curve point, which is a virtual predetermined point positioned at predetermined intervals between sensor points.
Regarding claim 7, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 5,
Osadchy further teaching wherein there are one or more of:
a. a plurality of sensor points along said tracked portion of said elongated device (“a probe comprising a plurality of position transducers and a voltage contact;” [clm 11]; “A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and
b. one or more curve points between sensor points.
Regarding claim 9, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said local energy function incorporates constraints related to a sensed magnetic field (“calculating a voltage measurement error between the expected voltage value based on a known magnetic field at a probe location and the measured voltage; and” [clm 12]; “To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the estimated shape of the catheter to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0020]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 10, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein the processor further comprises instructions for allocating a weight for each local energy function, based on a certainty value, related to a certainty that a measurement is accurate (“calculating a voltage measurement error between the expected voltage value based on a known magnetic field at a probe location and the measured voltage; and calculating the cost function as a weighted sum of the intrinsic energy and voltage measurement error.” [clm 12]; “further calculating the cost function as a weighted sum of the position error and the orientation error.” [clm 13]; “The measurement can include a position vector (all types of transducers), direction (FLS) and/or full orientation (TAS). In addition, a measurement weight is associated with each measurement, depending on the confidence level of the measurement.” [0044]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 11, Osadchy teaches the system system according to claim 2,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said segmental energy function is characterized by being one or more of:
a. a length energy function, related to known distances along said elongated device between adjacent points from said plurality of points or a known length of said tracked portion of said elongated device (“The algorithm combines characteristics known in advance, such as the catheter's shape, its bendability and/or flexibility, the lengths of its various parts, and the like. The catheter's properties can be compared with actual measurements taken based on position and/or orientation of a sensor. Based on the catheter properties and the actual measurements, a cost function may be created,” [0016]; “This match defines the shape of the probe with the lowest cost according to the model, which in turn gives corrected coordinates of the points along the length/boundary of the probe that correspond to the locations of the position transducers. The probe state describes the location and shape of probe 12 and its deflection values (for a deflectable probe).” [0048]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 2 rejection]);
b. an orientation energy function, related to a limited possible orientation difference between adjacent points from said plurality of points;
c. at least one selected from the group consisting of:
i, at least one energy function corresponding to the tracking approximation of a sensor point;
ii. at least one energy function corresponding to the length approximation between adjacent points;
iii. at least one energy function corresponding to the distortion approximation of a sensor point;
iv. at least one energy function corresponding to the orientation difference between adjacent points; wherein said orientation energy function grows in accordance with said orientation difference between said adjacent points;
v. at least one energy function corresponds to the twist difference between adjacent points;
vi. at least one energy function corresponds to the smoothness/curvature difference between adjacent points; and
vii. wherein at least one energy function corresponds to the motion difference between a point and a motion model of that point;
d. a smoothness energy function configured for minimizing a curvature along a sequence of adjacent points; and
e. a motion energy function configured for minimizing a jitter of said calculated fully localized curve.
Regarding claim 12, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 11, Osadchy further teaching wherein said length energy function is characterized by one or more of:
a. incorporating an approximation of a total curve length between two points, and a known distance along said elongated device between said two points;
b. relating to a length along said elongated device between two adjacent curve points, and is proportional to the squared difference between a known distance and a linearly approximated distance according to momentarily calculated positions (“This match defines the shape of the probe with the lowest cost according to the model, which in turn gives corrected coordinates of the points along the length/boundary of the probe that correspond to the locations of the position transducers. The probe state describes the location and shape of probe 12 and its deflection values (for a deflectable probe).” [0048]; “The voltage error part of the cost function is calculated as sum of squared differences between expected and measured voltages” [0068]; “After each minimization iteration, cost minimization module 94 feeds a probe state to cost function calculation module 86, which may change the adaptive weights of the measurements according to the individual transducer position errors.” [0073]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5]).
Regarding claim 19, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said processor further comprises instructions for calibrating said curve/shape sensor with respect to a magnetic field distortion imposed by a tool inserted into said elongated device (“The magnetic field generated at a given location may be known based on any applicable technique such as via a location pad located below or near the patient's body, by body patches, calibration data, or the like or a combination thereof. […] To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the estimated shape of the catheter to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0020]; “a voltage measurement area 202 may be provided and may indicate the voltage generated by the probe 12 based on a magnetic field 201 that is generated around the probe 12. The voltage measurement area 202 may be a voltage contact such as a conductive pad or a wired connection to,” [0029]; “Alternatively, or additionally, in a magnetic position sensing system, the position transducers may comprise three-axis magnetic sensors (TAS), which provide position and a complete orientation matrix.” [0030]; [fig. 1-5]); and wherein said calibration includes one or more of:
a. obtaining a plurality of distortion samples;
b. finding distortion calibration parameters by reducing a distortion matrix based on said distortion samples;
c. using said distortion calibration parameters to adjust said calculated fully localized curve of said tracked portion of said elongated device;
d. monitoring a location of a tool tip; wherein said monitoring comprises comparing and fitting a theoretical diagram of a distortion distribution to a series of distortion values calculated for a plurality of points along said tracked portion of said elongated device; and wherein said distortion value for a certain sensor element is calculated by a rooted mean square of said reduced distortion matrix (“The position of section 61 is described by position vector x0, and the orientation of section 61 is given by a matrix o0.” [0032]; “A position error calculation module 90 then calculates a position error score at step 112, which represents the position error between the locations of the position transducers given by the probe model and state, and the actual measurements.” [0058]; “The magnetic field generated at a given location may be known based on any applicable technique such as via a location pad located below or near the subject's body, by body patched, calibration data, […] To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the measured shape of the probe 12 to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0062]; “The voltage measurement error score at step 115 may be a factor of the amount that a given loop deviates from its currently estimated shape, as provided by the probe definition module 84.” [0063]; “The voltage error part of the cost function is calculated as sum of squared differences between expected and measured voltages” [0068]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 24, Osadchy teaches the system according to claim 1,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said one or more transmitters are configured for transmitting one or more multi-frequency EM fields comprising one or more harmonies of a base frequency (“A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “a voltage measurement area 202 may be provided and may indicate the voltage generated by the probe 12 based on a magnetic field 201 that is generated around the probe 12.” [0029]; “Induced voltage calculations may be based on the generated magnetic field […] This representation, for example, may take a form of multipole expansion in terms of vector spherical harmonics” [0064]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and wherein said processor comprises further instructions for:
a. analyzing sensed magnetic fields (“The measured locations of electrodes 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, and 58, based on the signals received by control unit 18, are respectively represented by points m0, m1, m2, m3, m4, m5, m6, m7, and m5. Alternatively, or additionally, in a magnetic position sensing system, the position transducers may comprise three-axis magnetic sensors (TAS), which provide position and a complete orientation matrix.” [0030]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]);
b. comparing said sensed magnetic fields with an expected frequency profile (“A voltage measurement error calculation module 93 then calculates a voltage measurement error score at step 115, which represents the voltage measurement error between expected voltage measurement expected at from the probe 12 based on a known magnetic field at the location of the probe 12, and the actual voltage measurements received by data input module 82. The magnetic field generated at a given location may be known based on any applicable technique such as via a location pad located below or near the subject's body, by body patched, calibration data, or the like or a combination thereof. Accordingly expected magnetic field received at the probe 12 may be known.” [0062]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]);
c. extracting a distortion field (“Matrices o0 through o8 describe the actual state (i.e., shape) of the probe, such that external forces cause the probe to deviate from its free state in which no external forces are applied to the probe.” [0032]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and
d. utilizing said distortion field in said calculating (“The voltage error part of the cost function is calculated as sum of squared differences between expected and measured voltages” [0068]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 26, Osadchy teaches a computer implemented method for position and/or curve/shape-tracking of an elongated device (“A method for visualization,” [clm 1]; “the disclosed subject matter enable a medical professional to more accurately visualize a flexible probe […] in a body of a subject by applying a model of the mechanical properties of the probe to apparent coordinates received from points on the probe” [0013]; “Any of the functions and methods described herein can be implemented in a computer program, software, or firmware incorporated in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” [0084]; [0042-0084], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection])
performed by a curve/shape sensor comprising a plurality of sensor elements positioned on said elongated device, one or more transmitters and a controller (“a respective plurality of position transducers of a probe inside a body of a subject;” [clm 1]; “a catheter may include several flexible magnetic loop sensors (FLS). A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “Control unit 18 is a computer system comprising a processor, such as a central processing unit (CPU) 20, which is programmed in software to carry out the functions that are described” [0025]; “The term “position transducer” as used herein refers to an element mounted on the probe which causes control unit 18 to receive signals indicative of the coordinates of the element.” [0027]; [0013-0042], [fig. 1-3], [see claim 1 rejection]), the method comprising:
a. obtaining a plurality of points along a tracked portion of said elongated device; said plurality of points corresponding to readings from said plurality of sensor elements (“receive an input of a plurality of measured coordinates of a respective plurality of position transducers of a probe inside a body of a subject;” [clm 11]; “A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “The catheter mechanics algorithm may apply the expected magnetic field to calculate the expected voltage measurement from any FLS loop embedded in the catheter, based on the currently estimated catheter shape.” [0020]; “The measured locations of electrodes 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, and 58, based on the signals received by control unit 18, are respectively represented by points m0, m1, m2, m3, m4, m5, m6, m7, and m5.” [0030]; [0013-0042], [fig. 4-5]);
b. allocating, for each point from said plurality of points, a local energy function dependent on an estimated position and orientation of said tracked portion of said elongated device (“calculating an intrinsic energy representing a deviation of the probe from a free shape of the probe;” [clm 2]; “A first term (location errors) of the cost function may be the difference between the estimated positions and/or orientations of a sensor based on currently estimated shape of the catheter and the actual measurements from those sensors. […] The catheter mechanics algorithm may be used to estimate the shape and position of the catheter in space, such that it defines where each sensor is located in space, based on the parameters of the catheter.” [0017]; “To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the estimated shape of the catheter to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0020]; “an intrinsic energy calculation module 88 calculates an intrinsic energy score at step 110, which represents the deviation of probe 12 from its free shape (or a family of free shapes parameterized by deflection variables—for deflectable probes).” [0053]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection]);
c. generating a resultant unified energy function for a full shape and a position of an entire tracked portion of said elongated device (“determining a cost function based on a model of known mechanical properties of the probe compared to the measured coordinates with respect to shapes that can be assumed by the probe in the body and further based on an expected voltage value compared to the measured voltage measurement;” [clm 1]; “a diagram of a calculated geometrical model 60 of probe 12. The measured locations of electrodes 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, and 58, based on the signals received by control unit 18, are respectively represented by points m0, m1, m2, m3, m4, m5, m6, m7, and m5.” [0030]; “The probe mechanics algorithm uses a cost function, which is a weighted combination of intrinsic energy, position error and orientation error. Intrinsic energy represents the deviation of probe 12 from its free shape.” [0040]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection]);
d. calculating a fully localized curve along said tracked portion of said elongated device by minimizing said unified energy function (“By minimizing the cost function, the catheter mechanics algorithm may determine the catheter position and shape that has the best match to the position sensors and FLS voltage measurements while considering mechanical properties of the catheter.” [0021]; “a probe model is defined, describing the physical characteristics of probe 12, and CPU 20 applies a probe mechanics algorithm to achieve the best match between the probe model and the measurements. The result is a minimal cost state for probe 12, which describes the location and shape (i.e., an actual shape different from the free shape) of probe 12 and its deflection values (for a deflectable probe).” [0039]; “cost function calculation module 86 feeds the probe state cost to a cost minimization module 94, which applies a minimization algorithm to the cost function in order to find a minimal cost probe state that achieves a minimum value of the cost function (i.e., a best match).” [0051]; “The voltage measurement error score at step 115 may be a factor of the amount that a given loop deviates from its currently estimated shape, as provided by the probe definition module 84.” [0063]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 27, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 26,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said local energy function incorporates relevant mechanical and sensor measurement constraints for said each point (“determining a cost function based on a model of known mechanical properties of the probe compared to the measured coordinates with respect to shapes that can be assumed by the probe in the body” [clm 1]; “A catheter mechanics algorithm may define a catheter's parameters, […] The algorithm combines characteristics known in advance, such as the catheter's shape, its bendability and/or flexibility, the lengths of its various parts, and the like. The catheter's properties can be compared with actual measurements taken based on position and/or orientation of a sensor.” [0016]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and
wherein said unified energy function is constructed based on said allocated local energy functions and segmental energy functions that relate to said constraints of mechanical properties of said elongated device, with respect to relative locations and orientation of adjacent plurality of the predetermined points (“A first term (location errors) of the cost function may be the difference between the estimated positions and/or orientations of a sensor based on currently estimated shape of the catheter and the actual measurements from those sensors. […] The catheter mechanics algorithm may be used to estimate the shape and position of the catheter in space, such that it defines where each sensor is located in space, based on the parameters of the catheter. The cost function is the error between the locations and the actual measurements of those locations.” [0017]; “A cost function in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention is used to find the best match between the point ej and mj. Model 60 comprises straight rigid sections 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, and 69, connected by joints 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, and 77 which allow rotation (bending and twisting).” [0031]; “Since minimizing the cost function in step 118 employs an iterative algorithm (i.e., each iteration of the algorithm improves the estimate of the solution), and the position and shape of probe 12 change slowly between measurements, it may be sufficient to apply only one iteration of the cost function minimization algorithm for each successive measurement.” [0073]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 29, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 26,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said fully localized curve is calculated relative to one or more transmitters (“A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; “The difference between the measured voltage (e.g., from a voltage contact) and expected voltages may be added to the first term and second term cost function […] By minimizing the cost function, the catheter mechanics algorithm may determine the catheter position and shape that has the best match to the position sensors and FLS voltage measurements while considering mechanical properties of the catheter.” [0021]; “Alternatively, or additionally, in a magnetic position sensing system, the position transducers may comprise three-axis magnetic sensors (TAS), which provide position and a complete orientation matrix.” [0030]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection]).
Regarding claim 30, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 26,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said plurality of points are one or more of:
a. a predetermined plurality of points;
b. a sensor point, which is a point in which said sensor elements of said shape sensor are located (“a respective plurality of position transducers of a probe inside a body of a subject;” [clm 1]; “A FLS may sense the field of, for example, 9 transmitters that result in a total of 9 measurements taken at a single point (i.e., 9×1=9) per FLS sensor, while the FLS sensor is inside a patient's body.” [0015]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 1 rejection]); and
c. a curve point, which is a virtual predetermined point positioned at predetermined intervals between sensor points; and wherein there are a plurality of sensor points along said tracked portion of said elongated device; wherein there are one or more curve points between sensor points.
Regarding claim 34, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 26,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said local energy function incorporates constraints related to a sensed magnetic field (“calculating a voltage measurement error between the expected voltage value based on a known magnetic field at a probe location and the measured voltage; and” [clm 2]; “To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the estimated shape of the catheter to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0020]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 9 rejection]).
Regarding claim 35, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 26,
Osadchy further teaching further comprising allocating a weight for each local energy function, based on a certainty value, related to a certainty that a measurement is accurate (“calculating a voltage measurement error between the expected voltage value based on a known magnetic field at a probe location and the measured voltage; and calculating the cost function as a weighted sum of the intrinsic energy and voltage measurement error.” [clm 2]; “further calculating the cost function as a weighted sum of the position error and the orientation error.” [clm 3]; “The measurement can include a position vector (all types of transducers), direction (FLS) and/or full orientation (TAS). In addition, a measurement weight is associated with each measurement, depending on the confidence level of the measurement.” [0044]; [0022-0063], [fig. 1-5], [see claim 10 rejection]).
Regarding claim 36, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 27,
Osadchy further teaching wherein said segmental energy function is a length energy function, related to known distances along said elongated device between adjacent points from said plurality of points or a known length of said tracked portion of said elongated device (“The algorithm combines characteristics known in advance, such as the catheter's shape, its bendability and/or flexibility, the lengths of its various parts, and the like. The catheter's properties can be compared with actual measurements taken based on position and/or orientation of a sensor. Based on the catheter properties and the actual measurements, a cost function may be created,” [0016]; “This match defines the shape of the probe with the lowest cost according to the model, which in turn gives corrected coordinates of the points along the length/boundary of the probe that correspond to the locations of the position transducers. The probe state describes the location and shape of probe 12 and its deflection values (for a deflectable probe).” [0048]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 2 rejection]);
wherein said length energy function incorporates a linear approximation of a total curve length between two points, and a known distance along said elongated device between said two points (“the model of known mechanical properties of the probe comprises: multiple sections of the probe; a length of each of the sections; […] and a location on the probe of each of the plurality of position transducers.” [clm 9]; “This match defines the shape of the probe with the lowest cost according to the model, which in turn gives corrected coordinates of the points along the length/boundary of the probe that correspond to the locations of the position transducers.” [0048]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 2 rejection]);
wherein said length energy function relates to a length along said elongated device between two adjacent curve points, and is proportional to the squared difference between a known distance and a linearly approximated distance according to momentarily calculated positions (“calculating a position error between the model of known mechanical properties of the probe and the input; calculating an orientation error between the model of known mechanical properties of the probe and the input; and” [clm 3]; “intrinsic energy calculation module 88 calculates the intrinsic energy score using the probe model parameters” [0057]; “A position error calculation module 90 then calculates a position error score at step 112, which represents the position error between the locations of the position transducers given by the probe model and state, and the actual measurements” [0058]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5]).
Regarding claim 39, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 27, Osadchy further teaching wherein said segmental energy function is characterized by being one or more of:
a. an orientation energy function, related to a limited possible orientation difference between adjacent points from said plurality of points (“calculating an orientation error between the model of known mechanical properties of the probe and the input; and” [clm 3]; “A first term (location errors) of the cost function may be the difference between the estimated positions and/or orientations of a sensor based on currently estimated shape of the catheter and the actual measurements from those sensors.” [0017]; “Alternatively, or additionally, in a magnetic position sensing system, the position transducers may comprise three-axis magnetic sensors (TAS), which provide position and a complete orientation matrix.” [0030]; “orientation error represents the error in angular orientation coordinates between the position transducer orientations, given by the probe model and state, and the actual orientation measurements.” [0040]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5]);
b. at least one selected from the group consisting of:
i. at least one energy function corresponding to the tracking approximation of a sensor point;
ii. at least one energy function corresponding to the length approximation between adjacent points;
iii. at least one energy function corresponding to the distortion approximation of a sensor point;
iv. at least one energy function corresponding to the orientation difference between adjacent points; wherein said orientation energy function grows in accordance with said orientation difference between said adjacent points;
v. at least one energy function corresponds to the twist difference between adjacent points;
vi. at least one energy function corresponds to the smoothness/curvature difference between adjacent points; and
vii. wherein at least one energy function corresponds to the motion difference between a point and a motion model of that point;
c. a smoothness energy function configured for minimizing a curvature along a sequence of adjacent points; and
d. a motion energy function configured for minimizing a jitter of said calculated fully localized curve.
Regarding claim 44, Osadchy teaches the computer implemented method according to claim 26,
Osadchy further teaching further comprising calibrating said curve/shape sensor with respect to a magnetic field distortion imposed by a tool inserted into said elongated device (“The magnetic field generated at a given location may be known based on any applicable technique such as via a location pad located below or near the patient's body, by body patches, calibration data, or the like or a combination thereof. […] To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the estimated shape of the catheter to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0020]; “a voltage measurement area 202 may be provided and may indicate the voltage generated by the probe 12 based on a magnetic field 201 that is generated around the probe 12. The voltage measurement area 202 may be a voltage contact such as a conductive pad or a wired connection to,” [0029]; “Alternatively, or additionally, in a magnetic position sensing system, the position transducers may comprise three-axis magnetic sensors (TAS), which provide position and a complete orientation matrix.” [0030]; [fig. 4-5], [see claim 19 rejection]); and wherein said calibrating includes one or more of:
a. obtaining a plurality of distortion samples;
b. finding distortion calibration parameters by reducing a distortion matrix based on said distortion samples; wherein said distortion value for a certain sensor element is calculated by a rooted mean square of said reduced distortion matrix; and
c. using said distortion calibration parameters to adjust said calculated fully localized curve of said tracked portion of said elongated device;
d. monitoring a location of a tool tip; wherein said monitoring comprises comparing and fitting a theoretical diagram of a distortion distribution to a series of distortion values calculated for a plurality of points along said tracked portion of said elongated device (“The position of section 61 is described by position vector x0, and the orientation of section 61 is given by a matrix o0.” [0032]; “A position error calculation module 90 then calculates a position error score at step 112, which represents the position error between the locations of the position transducers given by the probe model and state, and the actual measurements.” [0058]; “The magnetic field generated at a given location may be known based on any applicable technique such as via a location pad located below or near the subject's body, by body patched, calibration data, […] To clarify, the known magnetic field generated at the location of the catheter (e.g., as determined by location pad calibration data) may be applied to the measured shape of the probe 12 to determine the expected voltage from a FLS loop of a catheter.” [0062]; “The voltage measurement error score at step 115 may be a factor of the amount that a given loop deviates from its currently estimated shape, as provided by the probe definition module 84.” [0063]; “The voltage error part of the cost function is calculated as sum of squared differences between expected and measured voltages” [0068]; [0022-0063], [fig. 4-5], [see claim 19 rejection]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bar-tal et al. (US20120150022A1, 2012-06-14) teaches position sensing of a probe in a living body using multiple measuring parameters [0001].
Haynor et al. (US5879297A, 1999-03-09) teaches a device to detect the location of a magnet coupled to an indwelling medical device within a patient uses three or more sets of magnetic sensors each having sensor elements arranged in a known fashion [abst].
JAMES FRANKLIN MCDONALD III
Examiner
Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797