DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to Application as filed on April 3, 2025. Claims 1-5 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 3, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of U.S. Patent No. U.S. Patent No. 12,548,465. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are encompassed by the claims of the copending application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Tactile output device with rotational or angular movement driving element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the driving” at line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 2-5 depend from a rejected base claim and therefore are rejected for at least the reasons provided for the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2021/0090411 by Kim et al. (“Kim”).
In re claim 1, Kim discloses an information output device [Figs 1 and 3 show a tactile implementation information output apparatus] comprising one or more information output units [Figs 19A/B,20A/B show an output unit with pin 10 for providing tactile information], wherein each of the one or more information output units includes: a driving source part connected to a power supply and disposed to allow a current to flow [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B shows coil 50, ¶¶8, 11, 80, 83, 124, among others, describe The coil 50 may be electrically connected to the terminals 710 of the control plate 700 (referring to FIG. 3) through terminals 33a located at a bottom of the lower housing 31. When an electric current flows through the coil 50, a magnetic field may be generated around the coil 50 and/or a core 40]; an expression part formed and disposed to be detected by a user [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B show Pin 10 for providing tactile information ¶116 The pin 10 may be moved according to movement of the driving unit 20, that is, may be moved at least in upper and lower directions based on a lengthwise direction thereof]; a base part in which the driving source part and the expression part are accommodated [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B shows housing including lower middle and upper housing ##31,30,32, ¶124 describes The coil 50 may be electrically connected to the terminals 710 of the control plate 700 (referring to FIG. 3) through terminals 33a located at a bottom of the lower housing 31]; a first driving part disposed in the base part and driven by the current flowing in the driving source part [Fig. 19A/B,20A/B shows magnetic core 40 in the lower housing 31, ¶124-127, among others, describe the core 40 may be further provided, and the coil 50 may be wound around the core 40 and penetrate the lower housing 31 and middle housing 30. The core 40 may include a magnetic body, as such, a magnitude of the magnetic field may increase when the magnetic field is generated by the coil 50]; and a second driving part disposed between the first driving part and the expression part, rotatably disposed in the base part, configured to perform an angular movement or a rotational movement in response to the driving of the first driving part to transmit a driving force to the expression part [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B show driving unit 20,¶¶136-162, among others, describe the driving unit 20 may be moved via the electro-magnetic field generated due to the electric current flowing through the coil 50, and a driving force for moving the pin 10 may be provided through the movement of the driving unit 20. The driving unit 20 is arranged adjacent to the coil 50 and is driven by the electric current flowing through the coil 50 to perform an angular movement or a rotational movement. Magnet 20a may be arranged in the driving unit 20, for example, in an internal space of the driving unit 20. For example, the magnet 20a may include a magnetic material, for example, a permanent magnet. The magnet 20a may include a first region (e.g., N-pole or S-pole) and a second region (e.g., S-pole or N-pole) having different polarities from each other, and the first region and the second region having the different polarities from each other may be arranged in a Z-axis direction. The magnet 20a is inclined in a predetermined range, so as to provide the driving unit 20 with a rotation torque. As such, the driving unit 20 is easily rotated if the rotation of the driving unit 20 is started. The driving unit 20 includes the driving surface 20e on at least an outer surface thereof, and the driving surface 20e is formed to support the pin 10 and provides a driving force to the up-and-down movement of the pin 10].
In re claim 2, Kim discloses the base part includes: a first accommodating part in which the driving source part is accommodated [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B show lower housing 31 for coil 50]; a second accommodating part which is disposed to face the first accommodating part and in which the expression part is accommodated [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B show upper housing 32 for pin 10]; and a third accommodating part which connects the first accommodating part to the second accommodating part and in which the second driving part is disposed [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B show middle housing 30 connecting upper 32 and lower 31 housing, driving unit 20 sits in the middle housing 30].
In re claim 3, Kim discloses the first driving part includes a first magnetic force part and is disposed inside the driving source part [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B show core 40 disposed inside coil 50, ¶127, among others, describes core 40 is magnetic and driven by coil 50 to rotate driving member 20].
In re claim 4, Kim discloses wherein the first driving part shares a longitudinal central axis with the driving source part [Figs. 19A/B,20A/B shows core 40 central axis arranged on same longitudinal central axis as coil 50].
In re claim 5, Kim discloses a plurality of information output units, wherein the plurality of information output units are disposed to be spaced apart from each other in one direction or another direction different from the one direction [Figs. 1-3 show a plurality information output units disposed apart from each other in various directions].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
US 20210077337 discloses information output unit includes a coil unit connected to a power source to allow an electric current to flow therethrough and a base unit formed to accommodate the coil unit. The information output unit also includes an expression unit formed and arranged to allow a user to sense the expression unit and a driving unit arranged in the base unit to be separated from the coil unit. The driving unit is adjacent to the coil unit to be driven by the electric current flowing through the coil unit to perform an angular or rotational movement so as to move the expression unit in a first direction towards the coil unit and an opposite direction.
/ANDREW BODENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715