Detailed Action
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14 recites “wherein further comprising: means are provided configured for
automatically taking appropriate action in dependence on the determined subgroup of animals and in function of the predetermined condition and the predetermined relationship.” “In function of” is not entirely clear and it is recommended to amend this language to “based on” or “due to.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 1-3, 5, 13-17, and 20 are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim 1 recites “identification means” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. The specification states that the identification means comprises tags wearable by each animal and a tag reader or image analysis means. The term image analysis means is also being interpreted under 112f, and as discussed below, does not have further detail in the specification. Since this term is not elaborated upon in the specification, the image analysis means will be interpreted as any image analyzing element. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claim 1 recites “tracking means” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. The specification states that the tracking means comprise at least one camera, a processor or a computer processing unit, and image analysis means. The term image analysis means is also being interpreted under 112f, and as discussed below, does not have further detail in the specification. Since this term is not elaborated upon in the specification, the image analysis means will be interpreted as any image analyzing element. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claims 1, 13, 15 and 17 recite “attention means” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. The specification states that the attention means is an attention analysis means, however this is not further elaborated or defined. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claims 2, 5, 16 and 20 recite “image analysis means” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. Since this term is not elaborated upon in the specification, the image analysis means will be interpreted as any image analyzing element. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claim 3 recites “attention analysis means” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. Since this term is not elaborated upon in the specification, the attention analysis means will be interpreted as any analyzing element. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claim 14 recites “means for automatically taking appropriate action ” This limitation meets the three-prong test for 112f due to its use of “means” modified by functional language (configured to) and lack of sufficient structure in the claims or the specification. Since this term is not elaborated upon in the specification, the “means for automatically taking appropriate action” will be interpreted as any element that can automatically cause an action, such as a controller. See also 112(b) rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “attention means" and "attention analysis means” in claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Claims 1, 3, 13, 15, and 17 include either "attention means" or "attention analysis means." Neither of these terms are given structural details in the specification and it is unclear what Applicant intends to claim. Further, the specification discusses generating and identifying “an attention,” without specifying what “an attention” comprises. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim limitations “image analysis means” in claims 2, 5, 16 and 20 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. This term is not given structural details in the specification and it is unclear what Applicant intends to claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Further, claim 1 recites the terms “tracking means” and “identification means,” which in the specification include the term “image analysis means,” which therefore renders these terms indefinite as well. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Claim limitation “means for automatically taking appropriate action” in claim 14 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. This term is not given structural details in the specification and it is unclear what Applicant intends to claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Clarification and correction are required but no new matter may be added.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-9 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rajkondawar (WO 2012125266 A1, as cited by Applicant in IDS dated 04/03/2025)
Regarding claim 1, Rajkondawar discloses an animal husbandry system (see figure 1), wherein a group of animals can move about freely in an area (102), the system comprising:
identification means (identification means 114 device for reading tag on dairy cow 104) configured for determining the identity of each individual animal (see page 2, line 30-page 3, line 3),
tracking means (114, 122, real time location) configured for tracking a position of each individual animal (see page 6, line 6 – page 7, line 4), and
attention means (estrus detection logic 124) configured for identifying an attention animal
having a predetermined condition (see page 12, line 1-page 14, line 31),
wherein the system is configured for automatically determining a subgroup of animals that have
been in a predetermined relationship with the attention animal (see page 15, lines 25-33 and page 16, lines 3-23) (claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the identification means comprise tags wearable by each animal and a tag reader (114 device for reading tag on dairy cow 104, see page 2, line 30-page 3, line 3).
Regarding claim 6, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined condition is a disease or an injury (health monitoring logic 126, see page 5, lines 6-25).
Regarding claim 7, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined condition is estrus or heat (estrus detection see page 2, lines 27-29).
Regarding claim 8, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is a distance below a threshold value (location and predefined distance between cows, see page 16, lines 3-23).
Regarding claim 9, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is a distance below a threshold value during at least a minimum time interval (location and predefined distance between cows for a time period, see page 16, lines 3-23).
Regarding claim 12, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is mounting the attention animal or being mounted by the attention animal (see page 15, lines 25-33 and page 16, lines 1-23).
Regarding claim 13, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the attention means are configured for automatically identifying animals in the determined subgroup as attention animals (see page 2, line 30-page 3, line 3, page 15, lines 25-33 and page 16, lines 3-23, and claim 1).
Regarding claim 14, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein further comprising: means for automatically taking appropriate action in dependence on the determined subgroup of animals and in function of the predetermined condition and the predetermined relationship (controller 116 with instructions based on estrus detection logic, see page 5, lines 6-25, see also 112(b) rejection above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajkondawar (WO 2012125266 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Borchersen (WO 2017001538 A1, as cited by Applicant in IDS dated 04/03/2025).
Regarding claim 2, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1, wherein the tracking means comprise at least one processor (processor for controller 116).
Rajkondawar fails to disclose wherein the tracking means comprise at least one camera, and image analysis means.
Borchersen teaches wherein the tracking means comprise at least one camera, and image analysis means (camera, processing unit, image analysis means, see page 3, see also 112(b) rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the tracking means to include a camera and image analysis as taught by Borchersen with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for more precise tracking and data collection.
Regarding claim 5, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1.
Rajkondawar fails to disclose wherein the identification means comprise image analysis means.
Borchersen teaches wherein the identification means comprise image analysis means (analysis of images to determine cow health/wellness, method for 3D data, see page 7, see also 112(b) rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the tracking means to include a camera and image analysis as taught by Borchersen with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for more precise tracking and data collection to ensure the animals are healthy.
Regarding claim 16, the modified reference teaches the system according to claim 2.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the image analysis means are configured for determining the body orientation of each individual animal.
Borchersen teaches wherein the image analysis means are configured for determining the body orientation of each individual animal (image analysis and anatomical differences between animals, see page 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the tracking means to include the image analysis determining body position as taught by Borchersen with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for increased data regarding animal positioning relative to other animals to better determine animal condition.
Regarding claim 18, the modified reference teaches the system according to claim 2, and Rajkondawar further discloses wherein the identification means comprise tags wearable by each animal and a tag reader (114 device for reading tag on dairy cow 104, see page 2, line 30-page 3, line 3).
Regarding claim 20, the modified reference teaches the system according to claim 2.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the identification means comprise image analysis means.
Borchersen teaches wherein the identification means comprise image analysis means (analysis of images to determine cow health/wellness, method for 3D data, see page 7, see also 112(b) rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the tracking means to include a camera and image analysis as taught by Borchersen with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for more precise tracking and data collection to ensure the animals are healthy.
Claim(s) 3 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajkondawar (WO 2012125266 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van der Berg (US-7370604-B2).
Regarding claim 3, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1.
Rajkondawar fails to disclose wherein the attention means comprise attention analysis means in a milking robot.
Van der Berg teaches wherein the attention means comprise attention analysis means in a milking robot (milk analyzing means for milking robot, see col 45, lines 33-35, see also 112(b) rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the milk analyzing means of Van der Berg with a reasonable expectation of success as this will help ensure quality product and allow for screening of disease or illness in the animals.
Regarding claim 19, the modified reference teaches the system according to claim 3, and Rajkondawar further discloses wherein the identification means comprise tags wearable by each animal and a tag reader (114 device for reading tag on dairy cow 104, see page 2, line 30-page 3, line 3).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajkondawar (WO 2012125266 A1) in view of Borchersen (WO 2017001538 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Van der Berg (US-7370604-B2).
Regarding claim 17, the modified reference teaches the system according to claim 2.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the attention means comprise attention analysis means in a milking robot.
Van der Berg teaches wherein the attention means comprise attention analysis means in a milking robot (milk analyzing means for milking robot, see col 45, lines 33-35, see also 112(b) rejection above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the milk analyzing means of Van der Berg with a reasonable expectation of success as this will help ensure quality product and allow for screening of disease or illness in the animals.
Claim(s) 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajkondawar (WO 2012125266 A1) in view of Borchersen (WO 2017001538 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Vrabete (US-10912283-B2).
Regarding claim 10, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1.
Rajkondawar fails to disclose wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is the use of the same cubicle.
Vrabete teaches wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is the use of the same cubicle (treatment areas/quarantine pen 1704, see col 23, lines 58-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the relationship being use of the same space as taught by Vrabete with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure that if a sick animal uses an area, any other animals using the same area are quarantined to prevent the spread of disease (see col 23, lines 58-67).
Regarding claim 15, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1.
Rajkondawar fails to disclose further comprising: a treatment area and a selection gate for guiding an animal to the treatment area, wherein the attention means is arranged to automatically activate the selection gate in order to guide animals in the determined subgroup of animals to the treatment area.
Vrabete teaches a treatment area (treatment areas/quarantine pen 1704, see col 23, lines 58-67) and a selection gate (selection gates 1706, 1708) for guiding an animal to the treatment area, wherein the attention means is arranged to automatically activate the selection gate in order to guide animals in the determined subgroup of animals to the treatment area (livestock treatment device 120 reads tag & determines if the animal should go in the quarantine pen & if so actuates the gate 1708, see col 23, lines 58-67 and col 24, lines 1-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system treatment area and selection gate as taught by Vrabete with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure that sick animals are quarantined to prevent the spread of disease (see col 23, lines 58-67).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rajkondawar (WO 2012125266 A1) in view of Borchersen (WO 2017001538 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Blanc (US-12048292-B2).
Regarding claim 11, Rajkondawar discloses the animal husbandry system of claim 1.
Rajkondawar fails to disclose wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is the use of the same fodder or water trough.
Blanc teaches wherein the predetermined relationship with the attention animal is the use of the same fodder or water trough (see col 9, lines 11-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the system with the relationship being use of the same food trough as taught by Blanc with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide further data regarding animal feeding and positioning to better monitor animal condition such as illness or estrus.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The art noted in the References Cited document is relevant as it pertains to similar livestock systems. Specifically, Hempstead discloses ear tags for automatic actuation of sorting gates.
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642