DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen (CN 108643712 A)
Regarding claim 15, Chen teaches a handle assembly comprising:
a base structure (2) for fixation to an access member;
a handing element (5,7);
a spring (6); and
a handle (3);
wherein the base structure comprises a first stop (83 upper) arranged to be engaged by the handing element (engaged by 52 which is part of 5) to define a first handing position and a second stop (83 lower) arranged to be engaged by the handing element to define a second handing position (para. 0032);
wherein the handing element is rotatable relative to the base structure about a rotation axis together with the spring and the handle between the first handing position where the handing element engages the first stop and the second handing position where the handing element engages the second stop (para. 0032; screws 10 are removed and the handle and handing element rotate 180 degrees to the opposite handing position); and
wherein the handle is rotatable relative to the handing element about the rotation axis against a deformation of the spring when the handing element is in the first handing position and in the second handing position (spring 6 opposes rotation of the handle in both handed positions).
Regarding claim 16, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the handing element comprises an engaging structure (52) arranged to engage the first stop in the first handing position and to engage the second stop in the second handing position (para. 0032).
Regarding claim 17, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 16, wherein the engaging structure (52) is a protruding structure arranged to engage the first stop and the second stop, respectively (para. 0029).
Regarding claim 18, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the base structure comprises an aperture (2A), and wherein the handing element is seated in the aperture (seats centered in aperture 2A).
Regarding claim 19, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the base structure and the handing element form a sliding contact bearing for supporting the handing element during the rotation relative to the base structure (base structure 2 supports 7 which is in sliding contact with 5 therefore 5 is in sliding contact with 7 and base plate 2).
Regarding claim 20, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the handing element is rotatable at least 150 degrees between the first handing position and the second handing position (the first and second handed positions are 180 degrees apart).
Regarding claim 21, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, further comprising an input member (4) fixed to, or integrally formed with, the handle (45 meshes with handle), wherein the spring encloses the input member (5 surrounds 4), and wherein the handing element encloses the spring (5 and 7 are on both sides of the spring).
Regarding claim 22, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the base structure comprises an escutcheon (1).
Regarding claim 23, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the base structure comprises a cover (8).
Regarding claim 24, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the base structure comprises an escutcheon (1) and a cover (8), wherein the cover is secured to the escutcheon (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 25, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 23, wherein the cover (8) comprises the first stop (83 upper) and the second stop (83 lower).
Regarding claim 26, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, wherein the base structure comprises a primary base hole (2A), and wherein the handing element comprises a first handing hole (both 5 and 7 have concentric central holes) arranged to be aligned with the primary base hole in the first handing position and a second handing hole (same as the first handing holes) arranged to be aligned with the primary base hole in the second handing position.
Regarding claim 27, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 26, wherein the base structure comprises a secondary base hole (2A), wherein the second handing hole is arranged to be aligned with the secondary base hole in the first handing position (aligned with central holes of 5 and 7), and wherein the first handing hole is arranged to be aligned with the secondary base hole in the second handing position (arranged with central holes of 5 and 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN 108643712 A) in view of Dreiss (DE 202004001556 U1).
Regarding claim 28, Chen teaches the handle assembly according to Claim 15, however does not explicitly teach wherein the handing element is arranged to engage the base structure by a snap-fit in each of the first handing position and the second handing position.
Dreiss teaches a similar handle assembly utilizing a snap fit structure to hold the components together (claim 22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the teachings of Chen with those of Dreiss in order to utilize a snap fit structure to hold the assembly together. Utilizing a snap fit structure rather than the screws of Chen allows for simpler assembly and therefore simpler changing of the handing direction. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 29, Chen in view of Dreiss teaches the system comprising a handle assembly according to Claim 15 (Chen assembly) as an inside handle assembly and a handle assembly according to Claim 28 (Dreiss assembly) as an outside handle assembly. (Please note that the assemblies of Chen and Dreiss are capable of being installed on the inside or the outside of the door, therefore the examiner is taking the position that the assembly of Chen is installed on the inside of the door and the assembly of Dreiss is installed on the outside of the door).
Conclusion
/J.E.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675