DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/3/2025 and 7/6/2026 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1: Claim(s) 1-7, 10-13, 17 and 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2022/0116544 A1 Gamadia et al.
2: As for Claim 1, Claim 1 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 20.
3: As for Claim 2, Gamadia et al teaches based on a second comparison of a second PDAF depth estimate and a second ToF depth estimate, determining that a second foreground object in a second zoomed preview of the scene is not in-focus for the ToF based AF mode; (FIG. 15; [0086]: "In 1506, error 1504 is compared to predetermined threshold 1508. If error 1504 is below predetermined threshold 1508 ToF mode selector 1406 is implemented. If error 1504 is above predetermined threshold 1508, then APFL estimator 1306 (and depth-to-position model 704) is not converged in 1512") and based on the determination that the second foreground object in the second zoomed preview of the scene is not in-focus for the ToF based AF mode, maintaining the PDAF mode and not activating the ToF based AF mode, (FIG. 15; [0058]: "PDAF is a default mode operated by device 100 for autofocusing of camera 200 in most scenarios"; [0086]: "If error 1504 is above predetermined threshold 1508, then APFL estimator 1306 (and depth-to-position model 704) is not converged in 1512 and training for the APFL estimator 1306 is implemented in 1404"; [0088]: "In APFL estimator training 1404, APFL estimator 1306 is trained using PDAF PFL data to determine an accurate APFL for depth-to-position model 704 based on the current state of camera 200") and wherein the displaying comprises displaying the second zoomed preview based on the PDAF mode. ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 6; [0057]: "hybrid autofocus processing of camera 200 on device 100.. includes implementing PDAF mode, implementing ToF-AF mode...")
4: As for Claim 3, Gamadia et al teaches wherein the comparison of the PDAF depth estimate and the ToF depth estimate comprises: determining whether a delta depth estimate based on a difference between the PDAF depth estimate and the ToF depth estimate (FIG. 7 (702): "Depth Processing"; FIG. 15; [0085]: "Comparison of the depth determined for PDAF to the depth from depth processing 702 may provide error 1054") exceeds a depth threshold, and wherein the determination that the foreground object in the zoomed preview is in-focus for the ToF based AF mode is based on a determination that the delta depth estimate exceeds the depth threshold. ([0086]: "In 1506, error 1504 is compared to predetermined threshold 1508. If error 1504 is below predetermined threshold 1508.. ToF mode selector 1406 is implemented" - Note: Depending on the sign of the delta depth estimate, positive or negative, the delta difference could be exceeding or below the depth threshold).
5: As for Claim 4, Gamadia et al teaches wherein the receiving of the PDAF depth estimate further comprises: determining whether the PDAF depth estimate exceeds a PDAF confidence threshold, (FIG. 6; [0060]: "PDAF is not confident in determining a focus position for camera 200 (such as when PDAF cannot determine the focus position with confidence above a predetermined level)"; [0060]: "analysis of focus or light conditions in the image may be used to determine the confidence of PDAF in providing autofocusing for camera 200") and wherein the bypassing of the PDAF mode is based on the determination whether the PDAF depth estimate exceeds the PDAF confidence threshold. ([0061]: "ToF-AF, CBAF, or combinations thereof may be implemented to provide autofocus processing for camera 200 when PDAF is not confident").
6: As for Claim 5, Gamadia et al teaches receiving a second PDAF depth estimate based on a second zoomed preview of the scene; ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 7 (705): "Mapping"; [0085]: "depth for an in focus PDAF may be determined using mapping 705") determining that the second PDAF depth estimate does not exceed the PDAF confidence threshold; (FIG. 6; [0060]: "PDAF is not confident in determining a focus position for camera 200 (such as when PDAF cannot determine the focus position with confidence above a predetermined level)"; [0060]: "analysis of focus or light conditions in the image may be used to determine the confidence of PDAF in providing autofocusing for camera 200") and maintaining the PDAF mode and not activating the ToF based AF mode, ([0058]: "PDAF is a default mode operated by device 100 for autofocusing of camera 200 in most scenarios") and wherein the displaying comprises displaying the second zoomed preview based on the PDAF mode. ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 6; [0057]: "hybrid autofocus processing of camera 200 on device 100.. includes implementing PDAF mode, implementing ToF-AF mode...").
7: As for Claim 6, Gamadia et al teaches wherein the receiving of the ToF depth estimate further comprises: determining whether the ToF depth estimate exceeds a ToF confidence threshold, (FIG. 4; [0053]: "the confidence of the time-of-flight measurement of spots 402 is determined"; [0054]: "some spots may be excluded based on their confidence being below a selected level high confidence spots 402 (e.g., spots with confidence above the selected level) may be assessed to determine the target depth in the scene") and wherein the focusing of the camera system in the ToF based AF mode is based on the determination whether the ToF depth estimate exceeds the ToF confidence threshold. ([0053]: "Confidence may be determined to inhibit interpreting noise and artifacts in received by a sensor in depth imaging system 104 as a valid depth reading"; FIG. 6 (see the path from 604 (ToF- AF Mode) to the right (Use ToF-AF for AF Processing) when depth is valid and converged)).
8: As for Claim 7, Gamadia et al teaches determining that the ToF depth estimate exceeds the ToF confidence threshold, (FIG. 4; [0053]: "the confidence of the time-of-flight measurement of spots 402 is determined"; [0054]: "some spots may be excluded based on their confidence being below a selected level. high confidence spots 402 (e.g., spots with confidence above the selected level) may be assessed to determine the target depth in the scene") and wherein the focusing of the camera system in the ToF based AF mode is based on a distance-to-position mapping for the foreground object based on the ToF depth estimate. ([0047]: "focus on a particular object plane. in front of the camera"; [0062]: "depth imaging system may determine a depth of a subject and the depth is translated to a focus position for camera 200 using a depth-to-position model").
9: As for Claim 10, Gamadia et al teaches receiving a second ToF depth estimate based on a second zoomed preview of the scene; ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 7 (702): "Depth Processing"; [0085]: "depth for ToF-AF processing is the output from depth processing 702") determining that the second ToF depth estimate does not exceed a ToF confidence threshold; (FIG. 4; [0053]: "the confidence of the time-of-flight measurement of spots 402 is determined"; [0054]: "some spots may be excluded based on their confidence being below a selected level high confidence spots 402 (e.g., spots with confidence above the selected level) may be assessed to determine the target depth in the scene") and maintaining the PDAF mode and not activating the ToF based AF mode, ([0058]: "PDAF is a default mode operated by device 100 for autofocusing of camera 200 in most scenarios") and wherein the displaying comprises displaying the second zoomed preview based on the PDAF mode. ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 6; [0057]: "hybrid autofocus processing of camera 200 on device 100... includes implementing PDAF mode, implementing ToF-AF mode...").
10: As for Claims 11-13, Gamadia et al teaches determining that the PDAF depth estimate exceeds a PDAF confidence threshold; (FIG. 6; [0060]: "PDAF is not confident in determining a focus position for camera 200 (such as when PDAF cannot determine the focus position with confidence above a predetermined level)"; [0060]: "analysis of focus or light conditions in the image may be used to determine the confidence of PDAF in providing autofocusing for camera 200") determining that the ToF depth estimate exceeds a ToF confidence threshold; (FIG. 4; [0053]: "the confidence of the time-of-flight measurement of spots 402 is determined"; [0054]: "some spots may be excluded based on their confidence being below a selected level high confidence spots 402 (e.g., spots with confidence above the selected level) may be assessed to determine the target depth in the scene") determining, based on the zoomed preview of the scene, whether a brightness intensity of a background exceeds a brightness threshold, ([0060]: "analysis of focus or light conditions in the image may be used to determine the confidence of PDAF in providing autofocusing for camera 200") and wherein the bypassing of the PDAF mode is based on the determination whether the brightness intensity of the background exceeds the brightness threshold. ([0060]: "analysis of focus or light conditions in the image may be used to determine the confidence of PDAF in providing autofocusing for camera 200"; [0058]: "PDAF may be implemented in normal light conditions and bright light conditions"; [0059]: "when measured illuminance values. of the subject fall below a predetermined threshold, PDAF may be considered to be "not confident" in determining autofocus and another AF processing technique may be implemented")"
11: As for Claim 17, Gamadia et al teaches wherein the camera system is configured to provide an ultrawide field of view (FOV), and wherein the other camera system is configured to provide a wide FOV. ([0045]: "one camera may include a wide angle lens for a wide field of view, a second camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view, and/or a third camera may include a super wide angle lens for large fields of view").
12: As for Claim 19, Gamadia et al teaches wherein the camera system is a component of a mobile device. (FIG. 1 (100: mobile device); [0041]; FIG. 19 (2300: Mobile Device); [0111]).
13: As for Claim 20, Gamadia et al teaches A computing device, comprising: a display screen (Element 2312 depicted in Figure 19); a camera system (Figure 1A) configured to operate at a focal length less than a threshold focal length; one or more processors (depicted in Figure 21); and data storage (2302), wherein the data storage (2302) has stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (2304), cause the mobile device to carry out functions comprising: "A computer-implemented method, comprising: ([0002]: "methods for providing autofocus in camera systems"; [0183]: "computer system may implement methods for controlling operations of the camera") displaying, by a display screen of a camera system, a zoomed preview of a scene captured by the camera system; (FIG. 1 (100: "Device"); [0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view") determining a phase-detect autofocus (PDAF) depth estimate (FIG. 7 (705): "Mapping"; [0085]: "depth for an in focus PDAF may be determined using mapping 705") and a time-of-flight (ToF) depth estimate for the scene; (FIG. 7 (702): "Depth Processing"; [0085]: "depth for ToF-AF processing is the output from depth processing 702") based on a comparison of the PDAF depth estimate and the ToF depth estimate, (FIG. 7 (702): "Depth Processing"; FIG. 15; [0085]: "Comparison of the depth determined for PDAF to the depth from depth processing 702 may provide error 1504") determining whether a foreground object in the zoomed preview is in-focus for a ToF based AF mode of the camera system; (FIG. 15; [0047]: "focus on a particular object plane in front of the camera"; [0086]: "In 1506, error 1504 is compared to predetermined threshold 1508. If error 1504 is below predetermined threshold 1508 ToF mode selector 1406 is implemented") based on a determination that the foreground object in the zoomed preview is in-focus for the ToF based AF mode, bypassing a PDAF mode and activating the ToF based AF mode to focus on the foreground object, (FIG. 15; [0086]: "In 1506, error 1504 is compared to predetermined threshold 1508. If error 1504 is below predetermined threshold 1508 ToF mode selector 1406 is implemented"; [0058]: "PDAF is a default mode operated by device 100 for autofocusing of camera 200 in most scenarios"; FIG. 6; [0062]: "In the ToF-AF mode 604, ToF-AF processing (using depth imaging system 104) is directly implemented to provide autofocusing for camera 200") wherein the PDAF mode comprises focusing of the camera system based on the PDAF depth estimate, (FIG. 6 (602): "PDAF mode"; FIG. 7; [0085]: "depth for an in focus PDAF may be determined using mapping 705")) and wherein the ToF based AF mode comprises focusing of the camera system based on the ToF depth estimate; (FIG. 6 (604): "ToF-AF mode"; FIG. 7; [0085]: "depth for ToF-AF processing is the output from depth processing 702") and displaying, by the display screen and based on the ToF based AF mode, the focused foreground object as part of the zoomed preview of the scene." ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 6; [0057]: "hybrid autofocus processing of camera 200 on device 100 includes implementing PDAF mode, implementing ToF-AF mode...").
14: As for Claim 21, Claim 21 is rejected for reasons discussed related to Claim 20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15: Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0116544 A1 Gamadia et al in view of US 2021/0075971 A1 Yildiz et al.
16: As for Claims 8 and 9, Gamadia et al determining that the ToF depth estimate does not exceed the ToF confidence threshold, (FIG. 4; [0053]: "the confidence of the time-of-flight measurement of spots 402 is determined"; [0054]: "some spots may be excluded based on their confidence being below a selected level high confidence spots 402 (e.g., spots with confidence above the selected level) may be assessed to determine the target depth in the scene") and wherein the focusing of the camera system in the ToF based AF mode is based on a contrast detection autofocus (CDAF) search based on the ToF depth estimate. ([0053]: "Confidence may be determined to inhibit interpreting noise and artifacts in received by a sensor in depth imaging system 104 as a valid depth reading"; FIG. 6 (see the path from 604 (ToF- AF Mode) to 608 (Limited CBAF Mode) then to the right (Use Limited CBAF for AF Processing) when the depth is invalid)". However, Gamadia et al does not teach the features pertinent to the contrast based AF method being multi-grid. The technical effect of said features is speeding up contrast AF processing.
Yildiz et al teaches a system where the image is divided into a plurality of grid-like blocks, and where brightness-related information is collected from said blocks in order to perform contrast AF (FIG. 9; [0077]-[0080]) in order to improve image quality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the contrast AF of Gamadia et al by dividing the image into a multi-grid as taught by Yildiz et al in order to improve image quality.
17: Claim(s) 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0116544 A1 Gamadia et al in view of Official Notice.
18: As for Claims 14 and 15, Gamadia et al teaches wherein the displaying comprises displaying a second zoomed preview based on the PDAF mode. ([0042]: "previewing the image on a display of device 100"; [0045]: "camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view"; FIG. 6; [0057]: "hybrid autofocus processing of camera 200 on device 100 includes implementing PDAF mode, implementing ToF-AF mode ")" Gamadia et al does not disclose the features pertinent to receiving, by a user interface of the display screen, an indication to disable the ToF based AF mode, nor the features pertinent to responding to such indication by maintaining the PDAF mode and not activating the ToF based AF mode. The technical effect of said features is providing the user with control on the autofocusing shooting mode to use. However, Gamadia et al does disclose in FIG. 19 and [0112]- [0113] a touch screen displaying a graphics user interface, where the user interface may comprise a menu button to navigate through any application.
Official Notice is taken that it was well known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a user of a camera system with the ability to control which focusing mode to employ depending on the shooting circumstances as the user sees fit, would expose the all possible shooting modes to the user via user in order to improve image quality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Gamadia et al to enable the user of the system the ability to control which focusing mode to employ depending on the shooting circumstances as the user sees fit in order to improve image quality.
19: As for Claim 16, Gamadia et al further teaches wherein the camera system is configured to provide an ultrawide field of view (FOV), and wherein the other camera system is configured to provide a wide FOV. ([0045]: "one camera may include a wide angle lens for a wide field of view, a second camera may include a telephoto lens for a magnified field of view, and/or a third camera may include a super wide angle lens for large fields of view").
20: Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0116544 A1 Gamadia et al in view of US 20220294964 A1 Lou et al.
21: As for Claim 18, Gamadia et al does not disclose the additional features of claim 18, which are pertinent to the focusing of the camera system comprising determining an exposure time for the camera system based on a motion-blur tolerance of the camera system. The technical effect of said features is capturing an image with less motion blur to perform autofocusing properly. However, Gamadia et al does disclose different conditions that affect the accuracy and/or reliability of PDAF in providing autofocus for camera, such as low light conditions ([0059]).
Lou et al teaches a system where the exposure time is determined by evaluating the maximum amount of motion blur that can be tolerated within a frame that is used for autofocus ([0010]; FIG. 7) in order to improve image quality.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the exposure time of Gamadia et al based on a motion blur tolerance as taught by Lou et al in order to improve image quality.
Conclusion
/JAMES M HANNETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2639
JMH
August 17, 2026