NON-FINAL OFFICE ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3 April, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites “the switchable valve…and is configured to be switchable the flow path through which the cooling fluid flows to the first flow path and the second flow path”, which appears to include a grammatical or typographical error. It appears the claim is directed to claiming the switchable valve is configured to be switchable between the first flow path and the second flow path through which the cooling fluid flows. As such, it is being suggested the limitation be amended to recite - - the switchable valve…and is configured to be switchable between the flow path through which the cooling fluid flows to either the first flow path [[and]] or the second flow path. - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by GOTO (US 2019/0242662 A1 – published 8 August, 2019).
As to claim 1, GOTO discloses a cooling system (figure 1) comprising:
a motor (4 with 104; par. 31);
a power converter (5 with 105; par. 32);
a flow path (20, 40, and 50; figure 1; par. 25) through which a cooling fluid flows to the motor and the power converter (par. 24-25); and
a switching valve (51) that switches the flow path through which the cooling fluid flows (par. 35 and 37),
wherein
the flow path includes a first flow path (40; par. 25) and a second flow path (50; par. 25) that are bifurcated and rejoined (figure 1),
the motor is disposed on the first flow path (figure 1),
the power converter is disposed in the second flow path (figure 1), and
the switching valve is disposed at a position where the flow path branches into the first flow path and the second flow path (figure 1), and is configured to be switchable the flow path through which the cooling fluid flows (par. 35 and 37; MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the recitation is a manner of operation the switching valve need only be capable of).
As to claim 2, GOTO discloses further comprising a battery (6 with 106; par. 29) used to drive the motor (par. 29), wherein
the switching valve switches the flow path through which the cooling fluid flows to the first flow path and the second flow path based on a temperature of the battery (par. 35 and 37; MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the recitation is a manner of operation the switching valve need only be capable of).
As to claim 3, GOTO discloses comprising a battery flow path (figure 1) connectable to the flow path in which the first flow path and the second flow path are joined (figure 1), wherein
the battery is connected to the battery flow path (figure 1).
As to claim 4, GOTO discloses wherein the switchable valve switches the flow path through which the cooling fluid flows to the first flow path and the second flow path based on a temperature of the power converter (par. 35 and 37; MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the recitation is a manner of operation the switching valve need only be capable of).
As to claim 5, GOTO discloses wherein the switchable valve is switched so as to allow the cooling fluid to flow only through the first flow path when a temperature of the battery is lower than or equal to a first predetermined temperature and a temperature of the power converter is lower than a second predetermined temperature (par. 35 and 37; MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the recitation is a manner of operation the switching valve need only be capable of; MPEP § 2111.04 – II, wherein the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. ), and the switching valve is switched so as to allows the cooling fluid to flow only through the second flow path when the temperature of the battery is lower or equal to than the first predetermined temperature and the temperature of the power converter exceeds a third predetermined temperature higher than the second predetermined temperature (par. 35 and 37; MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the recitation is a manner of operation the switching valve need only be capable of; MPEP § 2111.04 – II, wherein the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur.)
As to claim 6, GOTO discloses wherein the switching valve is switched so as to allow the cooling fluid to flow through both the first flow path and the second flow path when a temperature of the battery exceeds a first predetermined temperature (par. 35, 37, and 53; figure 6; MPEP § 2114 – II, wherein the recitation is a manner of operation the switching valve need only be capable of; MPEP § 2111.04 – II, wherein the broadest reasonable interpretation of a system (or apparatus or product) claim having structure that performs a function, which only needs to occur if a condition precedent is met, requires structure for performing the function should the condition occur. ).
Conclusion
/JENNA M MARONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763 9/22/2026
JENNA M. MARONEY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3763