DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “reservoir is arranged between a fixed bearing and the brake unit” of claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. Fig. 8a appears to show the fixed bearing is element 12 because there is a fastener and washer holding bearing 12. Fig. 8a shows bearing 11, not bearing 12, is adjacent to the reservoir as recited in claim 15.
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of there appears to missing commas at “one two or three driving zone”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “in each case” in line 6, it is unclear what structure/feature this case is referring to. Other claims, such as claims 2 and 23, have a similar issue.
Claim 6 recites “in question” in line 5, it is unclear what question was asked/raised.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the corresponding housing feedthrough" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “an adjacent bearing”, it is unclear if this is a different bearing or same bearing as the at least two bearings of claim 1 and the bearings of claim 8 line 4.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first axial section" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the other bearing" in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the axial installation direction" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the following features". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 23 recites “at least one of the following features in combination with one another,” it is unclear if the claim requires just at least one or a combination of the features.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the movable bearing" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites “come to bear against an end face of the housing” and then again “come to bear at least against the housing”, it is unclear if these two recitations are meant to be the same or are they modifying different structures.
Claim 24 recites “optionally additionally,” it is unclear if the succeeding limitation is required or merely optional.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-13, 14, 15, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strbuncelj (US 6601828 B2) in view of Pritchard et al. (US 5707157). Strbuncelj discloses a drivetrain arrangement (fig. 4) for a drive unit/belt drive unit of an elevator system (abstract), comprising:
Re claim 1, a shaft (112) mounted in at least two bearings (132,134) in a housing (fig. 6: 130); wherein at least one component (134) of at least one of the bearings is secured in an axially fixed manner on the shaft without a bearing cover (no cover shown in fig. 4 at the axial ends of 134) in a plurality of circumferential positions (a friction fit is exhibited circumferentially surrounding 134 and fixes 134 to 130 and is prevented from moving axially relative to each other).
Re claim 7, wherein in an end-face section of the housing, in which the respective bearing is mounted, the shaft terminates with an end-face end and, together with the respective bearing, seals the corresponding housing feedthrough (fig. 4 shows the feedthroughs 136,138 and the housing are sealed by the bearing and the shaft ends).
Re claim 8, further comprising: a brake unit (114) acting on the shaft, wherein the drivetrain arrangement has a reservoir (fig. 4: reservoir to the immediate left of 134, shown as the circumferential groove recessed radially outward from 134) arranged between the bearings and the brake unit and is configured for receiving bearing grease, wherein the reservoir is arranged and configured such that bearing grease is driven from an adjacent bearing or from the at least two bearings into the reservoir by centrifugal force (the opening space of the reservoir would receive the grease driven out of the bearing 134).
Re claim 9, wherein the reservoir is provided integrally in one piece on the housing (fig. 4).
Re claim 10, wherein the reservoir is designed in a ring-like manner (shown as circumferential groove around the inner surface of housing 130) with circular-segment-shaped or ellipse-segment-shaped cross-sectional geometry (a cross section perpendicular to the axis would yield a circular ring) and is arranged with a radial extent extending radially outward at least beyond the adjacent bearing (fig. 4) in such a way that bearing grease escaping from the at least one bearing is driven radially outward into the reservoir when the shaft rotates (fig. 4: the opening space of the reservoir would receive the grease driven out of the bearing 134).
Re claim 11, wherein the reservoir is arranged on a housing end face (left end of 130), which is provided for the arrangement of a brake disk (disk brake shown keyed to 114a), in the first axial section adjacent to the housing end face (fig. 4).
Re claim 12, wherein the reservoir is arranged between the bearing and the brake unit axially directly next to one of the bearings and axially directly next to the brake unit (fig. 4).
Re claim 14, wherein at least one driving zone (122) for at least one belt of the drive unit is formed on the shaft, wherein the at least one driving zone is arranged between the bearings (fig. 4).
Re claim 15, wherein the reservoir is arranged between a fixed bearing (134) and the brake unit (114) to be axially directly next to the fixed bearing and axially directly next to the brake unit (fig. 4).
Re claim 23, a method for a use of a shaft (112) mounted in at least two bearings (132,134) in a housing (130) for coupling drive components (110) of a drivetrain arrangement of an elevator system (abstract), the method comprising: coupling at least one belt (col 4 ln 1-2) of a drive unit/belt drive unit to at least one component (spec: elevator car) to be driven of the elevator system, wherein at least one component of at least one of the bearings is a fixed bearing (134) secured in an axially fixed manner on the shaft without a bearing cover (no cover shown in fig. 4 at the axial ends of 134) in a plurality of circumferential positions (a friction fit is exhibited circumferentially surrounding 134 and fixes 134 to 130 and is prevented from moving axially relative to each other), wherein the shaft has at least one of the following features in combination with one another: the housing has a reservoir (fig. 4: reservoir to the immediate left of 134, shown as the circumferential groove recessed radially outward from 134) arranged between the bearings and a splined section (112b) of the shaft, which splined section is provided for a brake unit (114), and designed for receiving bearing grease (the opening space of the reservoir would receive the grease driven out of the bearing 134), or wherein an inner diameter of the fixed bearing is smaller or greater than an inner diameter of the movable bearing.
Re claim 24, wherein dimensioning and arranging the shaft and housing is produced in such a way by material-recessing formation of the reservoir receiving bearing grease (shown as circumferential groove around the inner surface of housing 130), come to bear at least against the housing, and optionally additionally also by material-removing machining of a shaft section provided for the bearing with the smaller inner diameter.
Strbuncelj does not disclose the:
Re claims 1, 23, the least one of the bearings is secured by at least one washer interacting with the housing.
Re claim 2, wherein the at least one component of the at least one bearing is secured in the plurality of circumferential positions in each case by fixing the at least one washer to the housing with the respective washer in a radially overlapping arrangement between the housing and an outer ring of the respective bearing.
Re claim 3, wherein the in each case at least one washer in the plurality of circumferential positions comes to bear against the outer ring of the respective bearing.
Re claim 4, wherein each of the at least one washer are uniformly distributed symmetrically over the circumference.
Re claim 5, wherein the at least one washer provided in the respective circumferential position is fixed by a fastener in axial alignment at least approximately parallel to the shaft and on the outside of the housing.
Re claim 13, wherein a lowest point of the reservoir is arranged at least 5% further radially on the outside than the radius of an outer ring at least of the adjacent bearing.
Re claim 24, wherein dimensioning and arranging the shaft and housing is produced in such a way that the washers securing a/the corresponding bearing in an axially fixed manner come to bear against an end face of the housing.
However, Pritchard teaches a bearing retention assembly (fig. 1):
Re claims 1, 23, the least one of the bearings (12) is secured by at least one washer (56, the flat plate-shape of 56 is construed as a washer) interacting with the housing (16).
Re claim 2, wherein the at least one component of the at least one bearing is secured in the plurality of circumferential positions (this disclosed by Strbuncelj) in each case by fixing the at least one washer to the housing with the respective washer in a radially overlapping arrangement between the housing and an outer ring (20) of the respective bearing (fig. 1).
Re claim 3, wherein the in each case at least one washer in the plurality of circumferential positions comes to bear against the outer ring of the respective bearing (fig. 1).
Re claim 5, wherein the at least one washer provided in the respective circumferential position is fixed by a fastener (38) in axial alignment at least approximately parallel to the shaft (14) and on the outside of the housing (fig. 1 and fig. 6).
Re claim 24, wherein dimensioning and arranging the shaft and housing is produced in such a way that the washers securing a/the corresponding bearing in an axially fixed manner come to bear against an end face of the housing (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the bearing via washer, as taught by Anderson, to be able to easily and quickly remove the bearing during maintenance. The washer ensures a positive lock and prevents the bearing from coming loose during operation. While it is believed that Strbuncelj discloses the plurality of retention means via circumferential friction fit, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the bearings in a plurality of circumferential positions for improve security of the bearing to the housing, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. V. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Regarding claim 4, while it is believed that Strbuncelj discloses the circumferential distribution of the retention means via circumferential friction fit, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the washers circumferentially symmetrically for even distribution of the load of securing the bearing, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the claimed range of the reservoir lowest point to ensure sufficient amount of grease is able to be collected, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strbuncelj (US 6601828 B2) in view of Pritchard et al. (US 5707157) and Schoenek et al. (US 7,707,495 B2). Strbuncelj as modified discloses the drivetrain arrangement (as cited above). Strbuncelj does not disclose:
Re claim 6, wherein at least three bores or similar cutouts which are preferably uniformly distributed over the circumference and are configured for receiving the fastener fixing the washers are formed in an end-face section of the housing, in which the bearing in question is mounted.
However, Schoenek teaches a bearing arrangement (fig. 2-6):
Re claim 6, wherein at least three bores (66) or similar cutouts which are preferably uniformly distributed over the circumference (fig. 2) and are configured for receiving the fastener (62) fixing the washers (58) are formed in an end-face section of the housing, in which the bearing in question is mounted (fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to at least three bores, as taught by Schoenek, to provide sufficient support and evenly distribute the load of the securing means.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strbuncelj (US 6601828 B2) in view of Pritchard et al. (US 5707157) and Bentele et al. (US 4576489). Strbuncelj as modified discloses the drivetrain arrangement (as cited above). Strbuncelj does not disclose:
Re claim 16, wherein a felt ring is arranged in an arrangement between the reservoir and a bearing inner ring, so as to fill the axial section in between.
However, Bentele teaches a bearing lubrication arrangement:
Re claim 16, wherein a felt ring (5) is arranged in an arrangement between the reservoir (6) and a bearing inner ring (inner race of 3), so as to fill the axial section in between (see figure).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a felt ring, as taught by Bentele, to effectively retain some lubricant adjacent to the bearing to better reduce friction.
Claim(s) 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strbuncelj (US 6601828 B2) in view of Pritchard et al. (US 5707157) and Vincent et al. (US 2015/0353325 A1). Strbuncelj as modified discloses the drivetrain arrangement (as cited above):
Re claim 17, wherein the drive unit of the elevator system comprises: at least one belt drive (110), wherein at least one driving zone (122) for at least one belt of the drive unit is formed on the shaft between the bearings (fig. 4).
Re claim 21, wherein at least one two or three driving zone for corresponding numbers of belts is formed on the shaft between the bearings (fig. 4 shows at least one two or three zones 122).
Strbuncelj does not disclose:
Re claim 17, wherein an inner diameter of a fixed bearing of the at least two bearings is smaller or greater than an inner diameter of a movable bearing of the at least two bearings and differs from the inner diameter of the other bearing in such a way that, in the axial installation direction, the bearing with the larger inner diameter can be applied without contact, via a shaft section of the shaft provided for the bearing with the smaller inner diameter.
Re claim 18, wherein the inner diameters of the bearings differ from each other in such a way that re- machining of the shaft is minimized/can be minimized.
Re claim 19, wherein the inner diameter of the fixed bearing is smaller than the inner diameter of the movable bearing.
Re claim 20, wherein the smaller bearing is arranged between the driving zone and a brake unit.
However, Vincent teaches a belt drive arrangement:
Re claim 17, wherein an inner diameter of a fixed bearing (51) of the at least two bearings is smaller or greater than an inner diameter of a movable bearing (15) of the at least two bearings (fig. 4 shows diameter of 51 is smaller than diameter of 15) and differs from the inner diameter of the other bearing in such a way that, in the axial installation direction, the bearing with the larger inner diameter can be applied without contact, via a shaft section (section corresponding to 51) of the shaft provided for the bearing with the smaller inner diameter (fig. 4).
Re claim 18, wherein the inner diameters of the bearings differ from each other in such a way that re-machining of the shaft is minimized (fig. 4).
Re claim 19, wherein the inner diameter of the fixed bearing is smaller than the inner diameter of the movable bearing (fig. 4).
Re claim 20, wherein the smaller bearing (51) is arranged between the driving zone (3) and a brake unit (40).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a felt ring, as taught by Bentele, to effectively retain some lubricant adjacent to the bearing to better reduce friction.
Conclusion
The cited prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Minh Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654