DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/03/2025 was filed on or after the mailing date of the application.
The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant' s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FI20226070, filed on 12/01/2022.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore;
Regarding Claim 3, the recitation of “the heat exchanger functioning as a superheater is arranged inside the outer casing diagonally in relation to a horizontal axis of the cross section of the outer casing.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 4, the recitation of “characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater is formed of two parts, which each one of the parts are arranged diagonally downwards from the midpoint of the horizontal cylindrical shell toward the edges of the outer casing.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Regarding Claim 9, the recitation of “plate pack (4) functioning as an evaporator is a semi-circular plate pack.”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 12.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 10.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
The use of “vaporised” is not grammatically consistent with the previously recited “vaporizing”. Please amend the abstract to remove the recitation of ” for clarity.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The application must meet the requirements as to the content and form of the description set forth by at least MPEP 608.01(a) more specifically 37 C.F.R. 1.77.
In at least pg. 1 the specification recites, “vaporised” on at least pg. 2 and “vaporising” on at least pg. 9 this is throughout the specification.
Please amend specification to recite - - “vaporizing” and “vaporized” - - for all references of vaporizing and vaporized respectively, for clarity. Please review and correct this throughout the specification.
In at least pg. 1 the specification recites, “the shell 2” on at least pg. 15 this is throughout the specification.
For consistency, please amend specification to recite - - horizontal cylindrical shell 2- - for all references of vaporizing and vaporized respectively, for clarity. Please review and correct this throughout the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “… characterised.” Claims 2-12 recite “characterized”
In order to conform with spelling conventions please amend the claim to recite - - characterized - - for clarity.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “… for leading a substance to be vaporized.” Claim 1 previously introduces “a substance.”
In order to avoid any antecedent rejections please amend the claim to recite - - for leading the substance to be vaporized - - for clarity.
Regarding claim 1, there are multiple recitations of “a heating substance” please correct bolded individually to – the heating substance --.
- - a heating substance for leading a heating substance into the plate pack functioning as an evaporator- - and - - - a heating substance for leading a heating substance into the heat exchanger (9) functioning as a superheater- - for clarity.
Regarding claims 1 and 5-6, the claims recite “… vaporised.” Previously in claim 1 the claim recites “vaporized.”
For consistency, please amend the claims to recite - - vaporized - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Regarding claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10-12 the claim recites “… heat exchanger (9) functioning as a superheater.” Previously claim 1 introduces “a heat exchanger (9) functioning as a superheater.”
In order to avoid any antecedent rejections please amend the claims to recite - - the heat exchanger (9) functioning as the superheater - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Regarding claims 1, 7, 9 and 11 the claim recites “… plate pack (4) functioning as an evaporator.” Previously claim 1 introduces “a plate pack (4) functioning as an evaporator.”
In order to avoid any antecedent rejections please amend the claims to recite - - the plate pack (4) functioning as the evaporator - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Regarding claims 1 and 4, the claims recite “… a substantially horizontal shell” and “the shell,” in claim 4 the claim recites “the cylindrical shell.”
For consistency, please amend the claims to recite - - the horizontal cylindrical shell - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Regarding claim 2, the claim recites “… has a structure of finned tube heat exchanger.”
In order to conform with grammar conventions please amend the claim to recite - - has a structure of a finned tube heat exchanger - - for clarity.
Regarding claim 3, the claim recites “… or in a diagonally in relation to a horizontal axis.
In order to conform with grammar conventions please amend the claim to recite - - or diagonally in relation to a horizontal axis - - for clarity.
Regarding claim 6, the claim recites “…the outer casing is arranged to an end plate (3a, 3b).” Claim 1 previously introduces “an end plate (3a, 3b).”
In order to avoid any antecedent rejections please amend the claim to recite - - the outer casing is arranged to the end plates (3a, 3b)- - for clarity.
Regarding claim 13, the claim recites “… comprises a device according to claim 1.” This is previously introduced by claim 1.
In order to avoid any antecedent rejections please amend the claims to recite - - comprises the device according to claim 1 - - for clarity. This is throughout the claims.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the
subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the term “substantially” is relative terms which renders the claim indefinite.
The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Therefore “comprises a substantially horizontal shell (2) and substantially vertical first and second end plates (3a, 3b)” is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding Claim 7, the term “substantially” is relative terms which renders the claim indefinite.
The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Therefore “characterized in that the heat exchanger (9) functioning as the superheater has a length that substantially correspond with the length of the plate pack (4) functioning as the evaporator and/or a length of the outer casing of the device” is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding Claim 11, the recitation of “… the heat exchanger (9) functioning as the superheater comprises own heating substance circulation” renders the claim unclear.
It is unclear what “own" is meant to mean.
Therefore, one skilled in the art would not necessarily have the ability to ascertain the metes and bounds of the particular claim limitation.
Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
For examination purposes, the limitation has been interpreted as - - the heat exchanger (9) functioning as the superheater comprises a separate heating substance circulation - - for clarity.
Claims 2-6 and 8-10 and 12-13 are rejected to because of dependency from a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9, 11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord et al. (US20170248354A1) and in view of Sonninen et al. (US20130319039A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lord teaches a device [22] for vaporizing and superheating a substance [0017 “further heated to increase the superheat of the gas and vaporize any residual liquid droplets”], which comprises at least
- an outer casing [134], which comprises a horizontal cylindrical shell [Image I below annotated fig. 3] and vertical first and second end plates [Image I], which are arranged at the ends of the horizontal cylindrical shell [Image I],
- an inlet connection [136] for leading the substance to be vaporized into the outer casing [0021 “refrigerant entering evaporator inlet”],
- an outlet connection [138] for leading the vaporized substance out from the outer casing [0021 “an outlet or suction nozzle”],
- an evaporator [132], which is arranged inside the outer casing [Fig. 3; see also 0022], in its lower part [fig. 3 showing (132) in (134) lower part],
- a inlet connection [141] and an outlet connection [143] for a heating substance [0021; see also 0017 “water (or other fluid)”] for leading the heating substance [water (or other fluid)] into the evaporator and out from it [0021 “fluidly coupled to a fluid inlet 141 (e.g., water inlet) and fluid outlet 143”], which inlet and outlet connections [141 and 143] are arranged at an end plate of the outer casing [image I clearly showing 141 and 134 arranged at the endplate], and characterized in that the device [22] further comprises
- a heat exchanger [118] functioning as a superheater [0024 “added superheat”; 118], which is arranged inside the outer casing [Fig. 3], above the evaporator [132], wherein the vaporized substance flows through the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [118] to an outlet connection [138] for leading the vaporized substance [0021 “refrigerant”] out from the outer casing [0021 “an outlet or suction nozzle”],
- a heat exchanger inlet connection [146] and a heat exchanger outlet connection [148] for the heating substance [water (or other fluid)] for leading the heating substance into the heat exchanger [118] functioning as the superheater and out from it [0022 someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize (146 and 148) would lead the heating substance into and out of (118)], which inlet and outlet connections [146 & 148] are arranged at an end plate of the outer casing [fig. 3 showing (146 & 148) at an endplate of (134)].
Lord does not explicitly teach a plate pack functioning as an evaporator, - a plate pack inlet connection and a plate pack outlet connection for a heating substance for leading the heating substance into the plate pack functioning as the evaporator, out from it and flow guiding plates, which are arranged at least on both sides of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater in a length direction of the heat exchanger and the outer casing of the device, which flow guiding plates close the space between the heat exchanger and the outer casing for preventing a side flow to the outlet connection.
However, Lord teaches another embodiment [Fig. 2] which teaches flow guiding plates [42], which are arranged at least on both sides of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater[fig. 2; where 18 correspond to 118 of Lord] in a length direction of the heat exchanger and the outer casing of the device [0018 “all or a part of the suction gas passing bundle 32 passes over heat exchanger 18”], which flow guiding plates [42] close the space between the heat exchanger and the outer casing for preventing a side flow to the outlet connection [0018 “18 is located inside pressure vessel 34 above tube bundle 32 such as by brackets 42. However, heat exchanger 18 may be secured inside pressure vessel 34 by any suitable means (e.g., a fixing system). Heat exchanger 18 may be oriented in any suitable position relative to tube bundle 32 so that all or a part of the suction gas passing bundle 32 passes over heat exchanger 18”].
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the flow guiding plates, which are arranged at least on both sides of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater in a length direction of the heat exchanger and the outer casing of the device, which flow guiding plates close the space between the heat exchanger and the outer casing for preventing a side flow to the outlet connection of Lord as Lord teaches both embodiments.
The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2143.A.)
i.e. secures a device which the flow guiding plates are arranged at least on both sides of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater in a length direction of the heat exchanger and the outer casing of the device, the flow guiding plates close the space between the heat exchanger and the outer casing for preventing a side flow to the outlet connection which increases efficiency and capacity of the device [Lord; 0012].
Further, Sonninen teaches a plate pack functioning as an evaporator [3 corresponding to 132 of Lord],
- a plate pack inlet connection [10 corresponding to 141 of Lord] and a plate pack outlet connection [11 corresponding to 143 of Lord] for a heating substance [0049 “heating substance” corresponding to water (or other fluid) of Lord] for leading the heating substance into the plate pack functioning as the evaporator, out from it [0049 “A heating substance is brought through the end 9 of the outer casing into the plate pack 3 with the inlet connection 10 and removed from the plate pack through the end 9 of the outer casing with the outlet connection 11”].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Lord teaching with … by combining a plate pack functioning as an evaporator, - a plate pack inlet connection and a plate pack outlet connection for a heating substance for leading the heating substance into the plate pack functioning as the evaporator, out from it where the elements could have been combined by known methods with and a Simple substitution would give the system the necessary plate pack functioning as an evaporator. The simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are yielded,
i.e. secures a device with a plate pack functioning as an evaporator, a plate pack inlet connection and a plate pack outlet connection for a heating substance for leading the heating substance into the plate pack functioning as the evaporator and out from it which makes the evaporation made more efficient [Sonninen; 0024].
(Image I; annotated fig. 3 of Lord)
Regarding Claim 2, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [118] has a structure of a finned tube heat exchanger [150].
Regarding Claim 3, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1, characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [18 corresponding to 118] is arranged inside the outer casing [134] in a horizontal plane [Fig. 3], or diagonally [fig. 2; 0018 “Heat exchanger 18 may be oriented in any suitable position relative to tube bundle 32”] in relation to a horizontal axis [Fig. 3 where the horizontal axis is lengthwise] of the cross section of the outer casing [0018 “Heat exchanger 18 may be oriented in any suitable position relative to tube bundle 32” which would include diagonally in relation to a horizontal axis of the cross section of the outer casing].
Regarding Claim 4, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [18] is formed of two parts [0018 “18 may comprise one or more distinct heat exchangers”], which each one of the parts are arranged diagonally downwards from the midpoint of the horizontal cylindrical shell [34 corresponding to 134] toward the edges of the outer casing [0018 “heat exchanger 18 may be angled relative to tube bundle 32”].
Regarding Claim 5, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [118] is arranged below the outlet connection [138] for leading the vaporized substance [0021 “outlet or suction nozzle 138”] out from the outer casing [Fig. 3].
Regarding Claim 6, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the outlet connection [138] for leading the vaporized substance out from the outer casing [134] is arranged to the end plates [Image I where the arrangement of 138 is to the endplates] of the outer casing [134], wherein the said outlet connection [138] is above the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [Fig. 3].
Regarding Claim 7, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [138] has a length that corresponds with the length of the plate pack functioning as the evaporator [Sonninen; 3] and/or a length of the outer casing of the device [Lord; Fig. 3 where Sonninen’s 3 corresponds to 132 of Lord].
Regarding Claim 8, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [18] has a length that is smaller than a length of the outer casing of the device [Fig. 1 showing (18) has a smaller length than the outer casing], wherein the device [22] comprises flow guiding plates [42] arranged to all sides of the heat exchanger [0018 “18 is located inside pressure vessel 34 above tube bundle 32 such as by brackets 42. However, heat exchanger 18 may be secured inside pressure vessel 34 by any suitable means (e.g., a fixing system)” someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize includes flow guides on all sides], which flow guiding plates [42] close the space between the heat exchanger [32/132] and the outer casing [34/134] for preventing a side flow to the outlet connection [see figs. 2-3 which show that the space is closed between the heat exchanger and the outer casing; further0018 “18 is located inside pressure vessel 34 above tube bundle 32 such as by brackets 42. However, heat exchanger 18 may be secured inside pressure vessel 34 by any suitable means (e.g., a fixing system). Heat exchanger 18 may be oriented in any suitable position relative to tube bundle 32 so that all or a part of the suction gas passing bundle 32 passes over heat exchanger 18”].
Regarding Claim 9, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Sonninen teaches characterized in that plate pack functioning as the evaporator [3] is a circular or semi-circular plate pack [0032 “circular cylinder”].
Regarding Claim 11, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [118] comprises a separate heating substance circulation [0022 “ Heat exchanger 118 generally includes an inlet 146, an outlet 148, and a plurality of finned tubes 150” someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would recognize (118) as having its own heating substance circulation], which is separately from a circulation of the heating substance inside the plate pack [Sonninen: 3 corresponding to 118 of Lord] functioning as the evaporator [fig. 3 showing (118 & 132) having their own inlets and outlets thus having their own heating substance circulation; see also 0021-0022].
Regarding Claim 13, modified Lord teaches a refrigeration [10] system, which comprises a device according to claim 1 [modified Lord].
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord et al. and Sonninen et al. as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Ayub et al (US20120118545A1).
Regarding Claim 10, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the device [22] further comprises a droplet separator [Sonninen; 5] and the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [Lord; 118].
Modified Lord does not explicitly teach the device further comprises a droplet separator, which is arranged underneath heat exchanger functioning as the superheater.
However, Ayub teaches the device [11 corresponding to 22 of Lord] further comprises a droplet separator [47 corresponding to 5 of Sonninen], which is arranged underneath heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [fig. 3; where 15D corresponds to 118 of Lord; further see 0034].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Lord teaching with Ayub by combining the device further comprises a droplet separator, which is arranged underneath heat exchanger functioning as the superheater where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a device where the device further comprises a droplet separator, which is arranged underneath heat exchanger functioning as the superheater which superheats the refrigerant and further ensures no liquid refrigerant is delivered to the compressor [Ayub; 0034].
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lord et al. and Sonninen et al. as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Luan et al (CN206228955U).
Regarding Claim 12, modified Lord teaches the device according to claim 1 and Lord teaches characterized in that the inlet and outlet connections [141 & 143] of the plate pack functioning as the evaporator [Sonninen; 3] and the inlet and outlet connections [Lord; 146 & 148] of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [Lord; 118].
Modified Lord does not explicitly teach the inlet and outlet connections of the plate pack functioning as the evaporator and the inlet and outlet connections of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater are arranged in the same end plate of the outer casing.
However, Luan teaches the inlet and outlet connections [4 & 5 corresponding to 141 & 143 of Lord] of the plate pack functioning as the evaporator [ 8 corresponding to 3 of Sonninen] and the inlet and outlet connections [ 3 & 18 corresponding to 146 & 148 of Lord] of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater [7 corresponding to 118 of Lord] are arranged in the same end plate [20 corresponding to image I of Lord] of the outer casing [see figs. 1 & 4; also the outer casing 10 corresponding to 134 of Lord].
It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the modified Lord teaching with Luan by combining the inlet and outlet connections of the plate pack functioning as the evaporator and the inlet and outlet connections of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater are arranged in the same end plate of the outer casing where the elements could have been combined by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results,
i.e. secures a device where the inlet and outlet connections of the plate pack evaporator and the inlet and outlet connections of the heat exchanger functioning as the superheater are arranged in the same end plate of the outer casing which improves heat exchange efficiency [Luan; 0012].
Conclusion
/ADAM D MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/ELIZABETH J MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763