DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group II in the reply filed on September 22, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1 and 2 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 22, 2026.
Claims 3 and 4 are pending; claim 3 is independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 recites “a donor concentration of the substrate is not less than 80% of a concentration of the donor impurity”, which is indefinite. At plain reading under broadest reasonable interpretation it includes wherein a donor amount in the substrate is at least 80% of the donor amount in the total epitaxial wafer, which is what applicant appears to intend [0036], “activation rate of the donor impurities in the substrate is not less than 80%” (which is not written as a definition). It could alternately be the concentration in the substrate 80% in the substrate compared to initial amounts, or another interpretation. For purposes of examination, a steel sheet meeting any of these options will be considered to meet the claim limitation.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 is rejected for incorporation of the above due to its respective dependencies on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (US 2016/0265137 A1), hereinafter Goto (of record).
Regarding claim 3, Goto teaches a β-Ga2O3 single crystal film of the crystalline layered structure used for the measurement is a film which is grown on the (010)-oriented principal surface of the β-Ga2O3 substrate ([0090]), where the substrate is single crystal ([0045]; [0046]), Si is a dopant that can be included ([0053]), and the amount of this is shown in Fig. 10A in the film and the substrate, and the amount of Si in the substrate is about 1017 for at least 0.7 microns, while its about 5x1016 for the thickness of the film (0.3 micron) (Fig. 10A; [0091]; calculates to ~0.83% of the Si of the multilayer is in the substrate), the Cl concentration of the crystal film does not contain 5x1016 atoms/cm3 or more of Cl ([0093]) and further semiconductor device can be manufactured by using the crystalline layered structure including the β-Ga2O3-based single crystal film in the present embodiment ([0117]; epitaxial wafer).
In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The values disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements(MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Goto does not specifically teach the H concentration of the substrate and epitaxial film is ≤3x1017. However, Goto does teach “If hydrogen is contained in an atmosphere for growing the β-Ga2O3-based single crystal film 12, surface flatness and a driving force for growth of the β-Ga2O3-based single crystal film 12 decrease. Therefore, it is preferable that a Cl2 gas not containing hydrogen be used as the Cl-containing gas” ([0070]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the H concentration to a value overlapping that claimed due to routine optimization (MPEP 2144.05 II). Differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. The parameter of H concentration in the substrate and the epitaxial film is understood to be a results effective variable based on H gas in the growth atmosphere. Goto teaches a desire to minimize this, one of ordinary skill in the art would understand the amount of H concentration to be controlled by the process of Goto to a minimal level.
Regarding claim 4, Goto teaches each limitation of claim 3, as discussed above. Goto further teaches Si is a dopant that can be included ([0053]), and the amount of this is shown in Fig. 10A in the film and the substrate, and the amount of Si in the substrate is varies at less than 10% between minimum and maximum values (Fig. 10A; [0091]). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, (MPEP 2144.05 I). The values disclosed by the prior art overlap applicants claimed proportions and therefore establish a prima facie case of obviousness, where one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would have found it obvious to select from the proportions disclosed by the prior art, including those proportions, which satisfy the presently claimed requirements(MPEP 2144.05 I). As of the writing of this Office Action, no objective evidence of criticality to the claimed ranges has been presented.
Conclusion
/KATHERINE A CHRISTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784