Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 and 11-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Villanueva (US 2022.0301391).
Regarding claim 1, Villanueva disclose:
A topper apparatus for a game machine, which is engaged to the upper portion of a main body of the game machine and operates in conjunction with the game machine, and the topper apparatus for the game machine comprises: a display module; a housing to which the display module is fixed and which includes a second engaging structure capable of being engaged to a first engaging structure on the upper portion of the main body of the game machine; and a non-engaging contact receiving module that is energized by coming into non-engaging contact with a non-engaging contact transmitting module, which is positioned on the upper portion of the main body of the game machine, when the second engaging structure is engaged to the first engaging structure (see Fig. 8, 9A; [0007, 0127-0137]; display panel (module); display assembly housing surrounding display; second engaging structure 953 capable of engaging first engaging structure 919 on main body of gaming machine 916; non-engaging contact receiving member 951 energized (electrically coupled) to non-engaging contact transmitting member 917 position on 916 where 953 and 919 are engaged).
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the non-engaging contact receiving module is located in an inner space formed by the second engaging structure included in the housing (see Fig. 9a)
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 2 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the non-engaging contact transmitting module is located in an inner space formed by the first engaging structure on the upper portion of the main body of the game machine (see Fig. 9a)
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the non-engaging contact receiving module comprises: a plurality of spring pins arranged to be spaced apart from each other, and wherein the non-engaging contact transmitting module comprises: a plurality of electrode terminals arranged to correspond to an arrangement of the plurality of spring pins (see Fig. 9a; [0128, 0131])
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the first engaging structure and the second engaging structure are fixed, the plurality of spring pins are in contact with the plurality of electrode terminals to be energized (see Fig. 9a; [0128-0137])
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the plurality of spring pins comprises: a first spring pin group for receiving power; and a second spring pin group for receiving data, wherein the first spring pin group and the second spring pin group are spatially separated from each other (see [0129])
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the first engaging structure is slidably fixed to the second engaging structure (see [0127]).
Regarding claim 11, Villanueva disclose:
A game machine comprising: a main body of the game machine configured to display a game image through a main body display, and control an operation of a game according to an input of a user to provide the user 21 with the game; and a topper apparatus for a game machine engaged to an upper portion of the main body of the game machine to operate by displaying content data provided from the main body of the game machine, wherein the topper apparatus for a game machine includes a second engaging structure capable of being engaged to a first engaging structure on the upper portion of the main body of the game machine, and when the second engaging structure is engaged to the first engaging structure, the topper apparatus for a game machine is configured to receive at least one of power or the content data by coming into non-engaging contact with a non-engaging contact transmitting module located on the upper portion of the main body of the game machine (see Fig. 8,9a; [0007, 0076, 0127-0137]; game image on display; second engaging structure 953 capable of engaging first engaging structure 919 on main body of gaming machine 916; non-engaging contact receiving member 951 energized (electrically coupled) and data transfer capable to non-engaging contact transmitting member 917).
Regarding claims 12-18, claims 12-18 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 1-7, respectively.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Villanueva.
Regarding claim 8, the rejection of claim 7 is incorporated herein. While [0127] of Villanueva contemplates various ways the engaging structure can be formed to secure the display to the gaming machine, it is not explicit as to the first, second, third, and fourth sides engaging one another. However, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., the first engaging structure comprises: a first surface and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and the second engaging structure comprises: a third surface that slides in contact with the first surface and a fourth surface that slides in contact with the second surface and is opposite to the third surface) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. Villanueva further disclose:
the non-engaging contact receiving module is provided in an inner space divided by the third surface and the fourth surface when the first engaging structure and the second engaging structure are fixed (see Fig. 8a; 951 is between 953a,b, thus in a space between engaged structures)
Regarding claim 10, the rejection of claim 8 is incorporated herein. While [0120] of Villanueva contemplates various materials in which the device can be formed, it is not explicit as to the third surface and the fourth surface are made of a non-metallic material. However, it would have been obvious to try by one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of applicant’s invention, since there are a finite number of identified, predictable potential solutions (e.g., the third surface and the fourth surface are made of a non-metallic material) to be pursued by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 8.
Conclusion
/kenneth bukowski/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621