Status of Claims
Applicant’s submission filed 4/3/25 has been entered. Claims 1-7 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/3/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swiercz et al. (US 20180285808 A1), and in view of Elizondo, II (US 20170286903 A1).
Re-claim 1, Swiercz et al. teach - A system for inventorying objects contained in a closed space delimited by an enclosure, the closed space comprising at least one closed sub-space,
(see e.g. [0067] Frame 710 holds inventory items 40. Frame 710 provides storage space for storing inventory items 40 external or internal to frame 710. The storage space provided by frame 710 may be divided into a plurality of inventory bins 720, each capable of holding inventory items 40.)
wherein the electronic card comprises a plurality of sensors using eddy-current technology, each sensor consisting of an electronic circuit composed of an inductor and a capacitor, and
(see e.g. [0035] FIG. 4 illustrates an example configuration of inventory bins of an associated material holder with corresponding proximity sensors utilized in the inventory bin detection feature, in accordance with at least one embodiment. --- In embodiments, the proximity sensors 408, 414, and 418 may include near field communication (NFC) sensors, radio frequency identification (RFID) sensors, inductive proximity sensors, or capacitive proximity sensors.
[0034] For example, the signal information may include an identifier for each of the one or more proximity sensors 312 and a strength or value that represents the change in capacitance or induction caused by the placement of the inventory item 308 near the one or more proximity sensors 312.
[0063] In embodiments, the algorithm may utilize the strongest signals of interaction or greatest change in capacitance or induction from the various proximity sensors to determine a location of a proximal inventory bin to the interaction.)
Note: Inductive proximity sensors use eddy current technology.
wherein the electronic card is configured for:
--receiving a command from the control device to make measurements, - activating measurements of at least one characteristic of at least one set of electronic circuits composed of an inductor and a capacitor,
(see e.g. [0040] Management module 15 may select components of inventory system 10 to perform these tasks and communicate appropriate commands and/or data to the selected components to facilitate completion of these operations.)
[0025] For example, the one or more proximity sensors 216 may be capacitive proximity sensors that generate an electrostatic field and react to changes in capacitance caused when an object enters the electrostatic field. Corresponding oscillators for the capacitive proximity sensors may provide a range of values or strength of signals from one or more capacitive proximity sensors that have reacted to the change in capacitance caused by the user 208 storing the inventory item 212 within an inventory bin 214 of the inventory holder 204.)
[0028] For example, continuing the capacitive proximity sensor embodiment, the signal information from one or more proximity sensors 216 may include data that identifies various strengths of change in capacitance from the one or more capacitive proximity sensors associated with the inventory holder 204 and/or inventory bin 214. The computer system 218 and management module may determine a relative location of the interaction with the inventory holder 204 by the item 212 or user 208 by determining the location of the interaction based on the signal information 220 provided by the one or more proximity sensors 216 that detected or sensed the interaction by the item 212 or user 208. The signal information 220 may be measured as a strong or weak interaction based at least in part on the number of data points sensed or measured by the proximity sensors.)
-activating a comparison of each measured characteristic with a determined reference characteristic for each electronic circuit composed of an inductor and a capacitor, -activating a determination of the presence of an object according to at least one comparison result,
(see e.g. [0029] some embodiments, the signal information including values or strength of signals provided by proximity sensors which may be associated with each inventory item and particular inventory bin location for subsequent analysis and error detection. In FIG. 2, the data store 224 maintains the signal information 228 identifying the relative strength of the signals provided by the one or more proximity sensors 216 and corresponding reference values for the strength of the interaction by the inventory item 212 and/or user 208 with each detecting or sensing proximity sensor of the inventory holder 204 and/or inventory bin 214. A location of the inventory item may be updated. The location may comprise a particular inventory holder, inventory bin, or other relevant information related to the location of the inventory item.)
- transferring, to the control device, a frame comprising, for each electronic circuit in the set of electronic circuits composed of an inductor and a capacitor, information representing the detection or not of the presence of the small objects.
(see e.g. [0025] The one or more proximity sensors 216 may detect the placement of the inventory item 212 and provide signal information as output to the system for analysis (e.g., using a processor, management module, etc.) and determination of the location of the interaction with which to associate to a particular inventory bin interacted with by the user 208.)
[0027] The one or more proximity sensors 216 may generate signal information, signals, or data points for each object or interaction they detect with the inventory holder 204 or associated inventory bins such as inventory bin 214. The one or more proximity sensors 216 may transmit the signal information, signals, or data to a server computer or computer system 218 that implements the management module and is associated with the inventory management system. The computer system 218 and implemented management module may analyze the signal information to determine the location of the interaction by the inventory item 212 and/or user 208 with the inventory holder 204.)
Although Swiercz et al. anticipate --the at least one closed sub-space comprising an electronic card on which a mount is placed comprising recesses for receiving objects to be inventoried comprising at least one metallic portion, at least some of the recesses being conformed to receive respectively an object,
(see e.g. [0038] As described herein, the proximity sensors 408, 414, and 418 may include an inductive proximity sensor configured to detect ferrous targets that change the reluctance or natural frequency of the magnetic circuit associated with the inductive proximity sensor.)
[0067] Frame 710 holds inventory items 40. Frame 710 provides storage space for storing inventory items 40 external or internal to frame 710. The storage space provided by frame 710 may be divided into a plurality of inventory bins 720, each capable of holding inventory items 40.)
Elizondo, II explicitly teaches the at least one closed sub-space comprising an electronic card on which a mount is placed comprising recesses for receiving objects to be inventoried comprising at least one metallic portion, at least some of the recesses being conformed to receive respectively an object,
(see e.g. [0052] FIG. 18 is a front block diagram of a large PCB having a matrix or array of antennas mounted to a printed circuit board (“PCB”) located below a false bottom in a container with a tray of pockets having medical articles each with an RFID tag resting on top of the false bottom;
[0077] FIG. 43 shows a side cross-section view of the design of a tray having electrically conductive walls that create pockets in the tray to store medical articles, the walls mounted to an RF transparent base such that there is an indentation at the base of every pocket into which an antenna may extend, also showing a false bottom of a container formed to accept tray at the top of the false bottom and accept reader antennas at the bottom of the false bottom, and showing an antenna array printed circuit board located underneath the false bottom with antennas position such that the array provides at least one antenna in each indent under a pocket;
[0036] In this case, the interior includes a recess in which a tray of medical articles may be placed for RFID scanning for the purpose of tracking articles in the tray. The interior of the container has a false bottom under which RFID reader apparatus is located, and the recess of the container above the false bottom has an indentation that is large enough to receive a tray of a predetermined size and accurately position that tray over the RFID reader devices in the false bottom for accurately sensing and locating medical articles in a tray being inventoried;
[0135] FIGS. 43 and 44 illustrate another embodiment of the enclosure with an RF transparent tray 400 having pockets 402 separated by metal or shielded tray dividers 404. The enclosure has an antenna array printed circuit board 406 connected to a reader (not shown), both of which are positioned underneath the false bottom 408 of the enclosure. )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Swiercz et al., and include the steps cited above, as taught by Elizondo, II, in order to track articles and determine more accurately where they are or where they should be in the container (see e.g. [0019]).
Re-claim 2, Swiercz et al. teach – The system according to claim 1, wherein each sensor is respectively disposed on the electronic card at an intersection of a horizontal line and of a vertical line, the vertical and horizontal lines being spaced apart regularly.
(see e.g. [0016] In some examples, a set of sensors can be configured to run in either a vertical or horizontal configuration with respect to a facing of an inventory holder and may provide signal information that includes a value that indicates that an interaction has occurred with the proximity sensor(s).
[0019] In accordance with at least one embodiment, a facing of an inventory holder may include one or more proximity sensors arranged in a vertical configuration with respect to each facing of the inventory holder and one or more proximity sensors arranged in a horizontal configuration with respect to each facing of the inventory holder.)
Re-claim 5, Swiercz et al. teach –The System according claim 1, wherein the control device is connected to a UHF RFID reader disposed on the closed space. wherein the UHF RFID reader is provided with at least one antenna that emits electromagnetic waves intended for RFID tags.
(see e.g. [0038] In some examples where the proximity sensors 408, 414, and 418 includes an RFID sensor, the wearable device 410 may include an RFID tag and antenna that is configured to transmit the signals or signal information 412 via radio waves to the proximity sensors 408, 414, and 418 which can interpret the radio waves or signals 412 to determine an interaction between the inventory item 404 and inventory bins 406, 416, or 420 by the user 402. )
Re-claim 6, Swiercz et al. teach – The system according to claim 1, wherein the characteristic is a parallel impedance and/or a frequency.
(see e.g. [0038] As described herein, the proximity sensors 408, 414, and 418 may include an inductive proximity sensor configured to detect ferrous targets that change the reluctance or natural frequency of the magnetic circuit associated with the inductive proximity sensor.)
Claim 7 recites similar limitations as claim 1 and is therefore rejected under the same arts and rationale.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swiercz et al. (US 20180285808 A1), in view of Elizondo, II (US 20170286903 A1), in further view of RUD et al. (CN 210051455 U).
Re-claim 3, Swiercz et al., in view of Elizondo, II, do not teach the limitations as claimed.
However, RUD et al. teach --The System according to claim 2, wherein the system is configured for:
- measuring the temperature in the closed sub-space, the reference characteristic determined for each electronic circuit composed of an inductor and a capacitor being obtained from a measurement of the characteristic when the mount comprising recesses is empty,
(see e.g. page 5 ---In one example, the measurements are temperature measurements at a location within the housing 210, such as at the junction box
claim 1 ---a sensor container the sensor container is provided with at least one temperature-sensitive element, measuring circuit, the measuring circuit is coupled to the sensor container and configured to detect electric characteristics along with the change of the temperature of the at least one temperature sensitive element and providing a sensor container temperature information;
- storing the temperature measured during the measurement of the characteristic when the mount comprising recesses is empty and during the measurement of the characteristic when the mount comprising recesses is empty.
(see e.g. page 3-- Rpipe is the thermal impedance of the pipeline, and can be manually obtained by obtaining product information, pipe wall thickness information and so on. additionally or alternatively, may during calibration determining parameters associated with the Rpipe and stored for subsequent use.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Swiercz et al., Elizondo, II, and include the steps of measuring a reference temperature and characteristic determined for each electronic circuit composed of an inductor and a capacitor when the recesses are empty, as taught by RUD et al., for subsequent use (see page 3).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Swiercz et al. (US 20180285808 A1), in view of Elizondo, II (US 20170286903 A1), in view of RUD et al. (CN 210051455 U), in further view of Official Notice (as evidenced by RUD et al. (CN 210051455 U) and ZAMBETTI (IT MI20111591 A1)).
Re-claim4, Swiercz et al., in view of Elizondo, II, in further view of RUD et al. do not explicitly teach The system according to claim 3, wherein the temperature of the closed sub-space is measured during the measurement of the characteristic of at least some of the electronic circuits composed of an inductor and a capacitor,
the reference characteristic being determined in accordance with the following formula:
Zcomp = Zref * (1 + (Tact - Tref)* Tcoefft)
where Tcoefft is a previously memorised stored configuration variable,
Zref is the measurement of the characteristic when the mount comprising recesses is empty,
Tref is the temperature measured during the measurement of the characteristic when the mount comprising recesses is empty and
Tact is the temperature measured when the means for measuring the characteristic are activated.
However, Official Notice is taken that it is old and well known in the art to calculate how electrical impedance changes with temperature by first measuring reference temperature and reference characteristics of the electrical elements and using a formula to calculate the impedance at actual temperature. For example,
1). RUD et al. teach--- --transmitter circuitry of the container sensor 206 is electrically connected to the housing 210, the transmitter circuit is configured to obtain one or more temperature measuring value from the sensor container 206, and based on the measured value from the sensor container 206 and reference temperature (such as measured within the housing 210 or otherwise provided to the circuit in the housing 210 temperature) calculation process fluid temperature estimate.
In one example, the basic flow calculation can be simplified as:
Tcorrected=Tskin + (Tskin-Treference) * (Rpipe/Rsensor).
In the equation, Tskin is measuring the temperature of the outer surface of the pipeline. In addition, Treference is the second temperature is obtained with respect to the position of the thermal impedance (Rsensor) of the thermal impedance (Rsensor) measurement from the temperature sensor Tskin. generally by the housing 210 of the special sensor for sensing Treference. H (see e.g. page 3).
2) ZAMBETTI et al. teach --Assuming that the resistance Z.sub.NTC of the thermistor varies with the temperature T of the environment in which the thermistor is immersed according to the following equation:
Z NTC = ZREF '.sup.(1 + .sup.β '^.sup.T TREF )) where Z.sub.REF is the resistance of the thermistor at a reference temperature T.sub.REF and β is a temperature coefficient, and assuming that the mirror ratio of the first current mirror A is equal to 1, then the voltage VTSEN.sub.iNt on the first sensing resistor RTSENSE.sub.iNt And:
Zref -(1 + βΕ - Tref )) • RTSEN.sub.1Nt
(see e.g. page 4).
Conclusion
/LUNA CHAMPAGNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627 September 16, 2026