DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “a plane containing said axis of symmetry of the injection direction of the end portion of the at least one second injection channel forms an angle with respect to said axis of symmetry comprised between 0° and 20°”. This renders the claim indefinite, as “said axis of symmetry of the injection direction of the end portion of the at least one second injection channel” lacks antecedent basis. Furthermore, it is unclear which “axis of symmetry” is being referred to in line 6. It is recommended that the “axis of symmetry of the injection direction of the end portion of the at least one second injection channel” be simplified to: -- an axischannel--, to differentiate from the previously recited “axis of symmetry” associated with the divergent channel in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 10, 11, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Paine (US 3,603,092 A).
Regarding independent claim 1, Paine discloses a thruster 10 (“reaction engine”, Fig. 1) for orbital maneuvers [intended use], comprising:
a divergent channel having an axial axis of symmetry (Fig. 1, the nozzle downstream of throat 24);
a combustion chamber 11 (“thrust chamber”) delimited laterally by a combustion chamber wall (Fig. 1);
a throat 24 interposed between the combustion chamber and the divergent channel to put the combustion chamber in fluid communication with the divergent channel (Fig. 1);
an injection plate 12 (“injection head” with “transverse plate 30” having a back surface/central portion 32) facing the combustion chamber (Fig. 1-3);
a plurality of first injection channels 56 (“fuel injection conduit”) in fluid communication with the combustion chamber (Fig. 2 below, Col. 4, ln. 45-60), configured to inject into the combustion chamber a first combustion component (“fuel”, Id. “Each of the peripheral orifices defines one end of fuel injection conduit 56 and serves to deliver a stream of fuel”), wherein each first injection channel of said plurality of first injection channels comprises an end portion 54 (“the plate 30 is provided with a plurality of peripheral orifices 54”) placed at the injection plate and open in the combustion chamber (Fig. 2, Col. 4, ln. 52-60);
at least one second injection channel 46 (“oxidizer injection conduit”, Col. 4, ln. 8-17) in fluid communication with the combustion chamber 11 (Fig. 2), configured to inject into the combustion chamber a second combustion component (“oxidizer” via orifice 44, Id. “This orifice serves to deliver a stream of oxidizer to be mixed with the stream of fuel for achieving a combustion of the fuel within the chamber 11”), and comprising an end portion 44 (“oxidizer injection orifices 44…Each of the oxidizer orifices is defined by the innermost end of an oxidizer injection conduit 46”, Fig. 2) placed at the injection plate 30 and open in the combustion chamber 11 (Fig. 2);
wherein the end portions 54 of the first injection channels 56 of said plurality of first injection channels 56 are placed substantially adjacent to an edge joint between the injection plate 12 and the combustion chamber wall (Fig. 1 & 2, the first injection channels 54,56 are “peripheral conduits and orifices” furthest towards the outside of the plate 30 and are closest to the wall of the combustion chamber 11 where the plate intersects the wall; the edge joint could also be construed as the corner formed within the concavity of the plate 30, where the central portion 32 having the injection channel end portions meets the walls extending axially into the combustion chamber, Fig. 2 below), in an annular region having a centre crossed by said axis of symmetry, and extend along respective injection directions (Fig. 2 & 3, the orifices 54 are shown to be annularly arranged in an annular region as shown);
wherein the end portion 44 of the at least one second injection channel 46 is placed radially between said axis of symmetry and the end portions 54 of the first injection channels 56 of said plurality of first injection channels (Fig. 2 & 3, the second injection channels are radially between the first injection channels and the center of the injection plate as shown);
wherein the injection direction of the end portion 54 of each first injection channel 56 of said plurality of first injection channels 56 has an axial component directed toward the combustion chamber 11 and a radial component directed toward the axis of symmetry (Fig. 2 & 3, Col. 4, ln. 52-57, “Each of the peripheral orifices defines one end of fuel injection conduit 56 and serves to deliver a stream of fuel along a path extending from the orifices to impinge, at an included angle B, less than angle A, FIG. 8, on the streams of the fuel and oxidizer operatively being delivered from the orifices 34 and 44, respectively”; the end portions are angled towards the central axis of the thruster in order to impinge on the flow from the end portions 44 of the adjacent and radially aligned second injection channel 46; see also Fig. 8 & 9 depicting the angle of the first injection channels).
Regarding claim 4, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein said annular region is delimited by an inner circumference and an outer circumference which are concentric (Fig. 3 below) and the end portion 44 of the at least one second injection channel 46 is placed between the inner circumference and the axis of symmetry (Fig. 3 below).
Regarding claim 5, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein the injection direction of the end portion 54 of each first injection channel 56 does not comprise any component directed along a tangential direction (Fig. 2 & Fig. 3 above, Col. 4, ln. 52-57, the first injection channels are angled at an angle B that is directed radially inward and in an axially downstream direction to allow fuel to impinge on a flow of oxidizer from the radially aligned second injection channels 46, hence they would have no tangential direction component).
Regarding claim 6, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein the end portion 44 of the at least one second injection channel 46 extends along a respective injection direction (Fig. 2, Col. 4, ln. 18-27) and wherein a projection on a plane containing said axis of symmetry of the injection direction of the end portion of the at least one second injection channel forms an angle with respect to said axis of symmetry comprised between 0° and 20° (Id. “The longitudinal axis of each of the conduits 46 extends parallel with the longitudinal axis of the thrust chamber 11”; hence, the injection direction of the second injection channels forms an angle of 0° with the axis of symmetry of the thruster).
Regarding claim 10, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, comprising a plurality of second injection channels 46 (Fig. 3 above, there are a plurality of second injection channels with respective end portions 44 as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein the first injection channels 56 of the plurality of first injection channels 56 are in a number comprised between seven and twenty-eight (Fig. 3 above, there are eight first injection channels 56 with respective end portions 54 shown).
Regarding claim 13, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein said end portions 54 of the first injection channels 56 are straight, without branches, and have a constant cross-section along the injection direction (Fig. 2, Col. 4, ln. 66-73, the first injection channels have a diameter d2 with no branches or changes in cross section as shown).
Regarding claim 16, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein the injection direction of the end portion 44 of the at least one second injection channel 46 does not comprise any components directed along a radial direction (Fig. 2, 8 & 9, Col. 4, ln. 18-27, “The longitudinal axis of each of the conduits 46 extends parallel with the longitudinal axis of the thrust chamber 11”; hence the second injection channels 46 do not have any radial component since they inject oxidizer in a direction parallel with the axis of the thruster).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paine in view of Koppel (US 5,941,062 A).
Regarding claim 2, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the thruster comprising a block of material made as a single piece, said divergent channel, said combustion chamber, said throat, said injection plate, said plurality of first injection channels and said at least one second injection channel being defined in said block.
Koppel teaches a thruster (Fig. 8) comprising a divergent channel 162, throat (Fig. 8), combustion chamber 72 delimited by chamber walls 160, and an injection plate 66 facing into the combustion chamber, the injection plate having injection channels (Fig. 8, passing through the plate 66), and further comprising a block made of a single piece material that has said divergent channel, said combustion chamber, said throat, said injection plate, and said injection channels being defined in said block (Fig. 8, Col. 9, ln. 1-19, “the injector 66 is provided with a piston head 68 which also constitutes an injection wall for the combustion chamber 72 whose chamber body 160 is connected to a thrust nozzle 162”; Fig. 8 depicts the injector 66, chamber wall 160, throat, and nozzle as a single piece).
Furthermore, it is noted that making a part integral, as it is disclosed and claimed in the instant application, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (MPEP 2144.04 V B).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the thruster of Paine such that the thruster comprises a block of material made as a single piece, as taught in Koppel, in order to provide a single piece thruster that can be produced as an integral component without the need for using welding or other coupling methods to attach separate elements together, eliminating seams or joints, which could simplify the manufacturing of the thruster.
Regarding claim 3, Paine in view of Koppel teaches the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 2, and Paine further teaches wherein said annular region is delimited by an inner circumference and an outer circumference which are concentric (see Paine Fig. 2 & 3 above, the injection plate is circular, and its regions are annular), wherein said outer circumference is placed at said edge joint (Fig. 2 & 3 above, the outer circumference is at the corner between the plane of the injection plate containing the injection channels and the start of the axially extending wall of the combustion chamber).
Paine in view of Koppel fails to teach wherein said inner circumference of the annular region has a radius equal to or greater than 75% of the radius of the outer circumference.
Paine does discuss the position of the first injection channels 56 and their end portions 54 are at a periphery of the plate (Fig. 2 & 3 above) and serves to deflect the streams of oxidizer from the second injection channels 46, in order to prevent an oxidizer-rich region from forming at the walls of the combustion/thrust chamber which would lead to elevated combustion gas temperatures at the wall, instead forming a fuel-rich zone by the wall that leads to reduced combustion gas temperature near the walls (Col. 4, ln. 44-Col. 5, ln. 22). Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the annular region’s radius, representing the position of the first injection channel end portions on the injection plate, is recognized is a result-effective variable, since such a value represents where on the periphery of the injection plate the first injection channels are located to inject fuel to impinge on the flow of oxidizer to deflect oxidizer away from the combustion chamber walls.
It has been held that optimizing a result effective variable was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP § 2144.05, II, A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have discovered the optimal “inner circumference” radius of the annular region of the first injection channels, such as equal to or greater than 75% of the outer circumference radius, in the system of Paine in view of Koppel, in order to optimize the deflection of oxidizer from the second injection channels by the fuel discharged from the first injection channels, preventing oxidizer-rich regions from forming near the combustion chamber wall by deflecting and enveloping the radially outer portions of the oxidizer stream away from the wall (Col. 4, ln. 44-Col. 5, ln. 22). The location of the first injection channels, and thus the inner circumference of the annular region, as shown in Paine Fig. 2 & 3 above appears generally near the outer edge of the injection plate section having the injection channels, and hence is generally at a location of >75% of the outer circumference. One skilled in the art would know to select an optimal radius that would provide the desired level of performance.
Claims 7-9, 14, 15, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paine.
Regarding claims 7-9, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, wherein the a projection on a plane containing said axis of symmetry of the injection direction of the end portion of each first injection channel of the plurality of first injection channels forms an angle with respect to said axis of symmetry comprised between 20° and 60°; or between 30° and 60°; or between 35° and 60°.
Pain does teach that the plurality of first injection channels form an angle B with respect to the injection direction of the second injection channels 46, which are oriented parallel with the axis of the thruster (i.e. the axis of symmetry), and that the angle B can be less than another angle A which is “approximately 45°” (Col. 3, ln. 69-71, Col. 4, ln. 52-55, “a plurality of annularly arranged orifices 34 employed to deliver streams of fuel along diverging paths extending into the thrust chamber 11. As shown, each of the orifices 34 is established at one end of a fuel injection conduit 36, the longitudinal axis of which intersects the longitudinal axis of the thrust chamber therewith to define an included angle of approximately 45°… Each of the peripheral orifices defines one end of fuel injection conduit 56 and serves to deliver a stream of fuel along a path extending from the orifices to impinge, at an included angle B, less than angle A”). The angles A & B being selected to impinge the flow of fuel onto the flow of oxidizer from the second injection channels, such that a desired “momentum exchange” between the streams of fuel and oxidizer is achieved, helping to improve oxidation of the fuel with the oxidizer, preventing an oxidizer-rich region from forming near the combustion chamber walls, and improving overall performance (Col. 5, ln. 15-34). Thusly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the angle between the axis of the first injection channels and the axis of symmetry is recognized is a result-effective variable, since such a variable directly affects the performance of the thruster.
It has been held that optimizing a result effective variable was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP § 2144.05, II, A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have discovered the optimal angle between the injection direction of the first injection channels and the axis of symmetry, such as an angle between 20°-60°, or between 30°-60°, or between 35°-60° (such as an angle less than 45° as taught by Paine, which encompasses values in the claimed ranges), in order to optimize the mixing of the fuel and oxidizer within the combustion chamber, achieving a desired momentum exchange between the fuel and oxidizer, preventing an oxidizer-rich region from forming near the chamber walls, and improving overall thruster performance (Col. 3, ln. 69-71, Col. 4, ln. 52-55,Col. 5, ln. 15-34).
Regarding claims 14 & 15, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the injection direction of the end portion of each first injection channel of the plurality of first injection channels forms an angle with respect to a plane orthogonal to the axis of symmetry comprised between 30° and 60°; or between 30° and 55°.
Pain does teach that the plurality of first injection channels form an angle B with respect to the injection direction of the second injection channels 46, which are oriented parallel with the axis of the thruster (i.e. the axis of symmetry), and that the angle B can be less than another angle A which is “approximately 45°” (an angle of 45° with the second injection channel direction will also form a 45° angle with a plane orthogonal to the axis of symmetry, thus an angle between the first injection channels and a plane orthogonal to the axis of symmetry would be greater than 45°, Col. 3, ln. 69-71, Col. 4, ln. 52-55, “a plurality of annularly arranged orifices 34 employed to deliver streams of fuel along diverging paths extending into the thrust chamber 11. As shown, each of the orifices 34 is established at one end of a fuel injection conduit 36, the longitudinal axis of which intersects the longitudinal axis of the thrust chamber therewith to define an included angle of approximately 45°… Each of the peripheral orifices defines one end of fuel injection conduit 56 and serves to deliver a stream of fuel along a path extending from the orifices to impinge, at an included angle B, less than angle A”). The angles A & B of the fuel injection channels being selected to impinge the flow of fuel onto the flow of oxidizer from the second injection channels, such that a desired “momentum exchange” between the streams of fuel and oxidizer is achieved, helping to improve oxidation of the fuel with the oxidizer, preventing an oxidizer-rich region from forming near the combustion chamber walls, and improving overall performance (Col. 5, ln. 15-34). Thusly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the angle between the axis of the first injection channels and a plane orthogonal to the axis of symmetry is recognized is a result-effective variable, since such a variable directly affects the performance of the thruster.
It has been held that optimizing a result effective variable was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP § 2144.05, II, A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have discovered the optimal angle between the injection direction of the first injection channels and the axis of symmetry, such as an angle between 20°-60°, or between 30°-60°, or between 30°-55° (such as an angle greater than 45° as suggested by Paine, which encompasses values in the claimed range), in order to optimize the mixing of the fuel and oxidizer within the combustion chamber, achieving a desired momentum exchange between the fuel and oxidizer, preventing an oxidizer-rich region from forming near the chamber walls, and improving overall thruster performance (Col. 3, ln. 69-71, Col. 4, ln. 52-55,Col. 5, ln. 15-34).
Regarding claim 19, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, and Paine further teaches wherein said annular region is delimited by an inner circumference and an outer circumference which are concentric (see Paine Fig. 2 & 3 above, the injection plate is circular, and its regions are annular), wherein said outer circumference is placed at said edge joint (Fig. 2 & 3 above, the outer circumference is at the corner between the plane of the injection plate containing the injection channels and the start of the axially extending wall of the combustion chamber).
Paine fails to disclose wherein said inner circumference of the annular region has a radius equal to or greater than 75% of the radius of the outer circumference.
Paine does discuss the position of the first injection channels 56 and their end portions 54 are at a periphery of the plate (Fig. 2 & 3 above) and serves to deflect the streams of oxidizer from the second injection channels 46, in order to prevent an oxidizer-rich region from forming at the walls of the combustion/thrust chamber which would lead to elevated combustion gas temperatures at the wall, instead forming a fuel-rich zone by the wall that leads to reduced combustion gas temperature near the walls (Col. 4, ln. 44-Col. 5, ln. 22). Hence, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the annular region’s radius, representing the position of the first injection channel end portions on the injection plate, is recognized is a result-effective variable, since such a value represents where on the periphery of the injection plate the first injection channels are located to inject fuel to impinge on the flow of oxidizer to deflect oxidizer away from the combustion chamber walls.
It has been held that optimizing a result effective variable was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). Furthermore, it has been held that “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP § 2144.05, II, A.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have discovered the optimal “inner circumference” radius of the annular region of the first injection channels, such as equal to or greater than 75% of the outer circumference radius, in the system of Paine, in order to optimize the deflection of oxidizer from the second injection channels by the fuel discharged from the first injection channels, preventing oxidizer-rich regions from forming near the combustion chamber wall by deflecting and enveloping the radially outer portions of the oxidizer stream away from the wall (Col. 4, ln. 44-Col. 5, ln. 22). The location of the first injection channels, and thus the inner circumference of the annular region, as shown in Paine Fig. 2 & 3 above appears generally near the outer edge of the injection plate section having the injection channels, and hence is generally at a location of >75% of the outer circumference. One skilled in the art would know to select an optimal radius that would provide the desired level of performance.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paine in view of Indersie (US 2013/0318943 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, but fails to disclose comprising a spark plug mounted in the injection plate at said axis of symmetry and configured to generate a spark in the combustion chamber.
Indersie teaches a thruster (“rocket motor”) having a combustion chamber 23, an injection plate 20, and a spark plug (ignition rod) mounted to the ignition plate at the axis of symmetry X of the thruster to generate a spark in the combustion chamber (Fig. 1, Para. 0025).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Paine a spark plug mounted in the injection plate at the axis of symmetry, as taught in Indersie, in order to provide an electrical igniter that can be used to ignite the fuel-oxidizer mixture within the combustion chamber (Indersie Para. 0025). Use of spark plugs/ignition devices in a rocket engine is well-known in the art. Paine also teaches an embodiment (Paine Fig. 6, 7, 10) including a non-spark plug ignition device (Col. 6, ln. 6-13) at a center of the ignition plate. One skilled in the art would know to include some form of ignition device such as a spark plug in order to facilitate combustion in the thruster.
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paine in view of Shen (CN 112196695 A, see attached English translation).
Regarding claim 17, Paine discloses a propulsion system 10 for orbital maneuvers [intended use] comprising:
the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1 (Fig. 1);
a first tank 14 containing a first type propellant (“source of liquid fuel”) fluidly coupled to the first injection channels 56 of said plurality of first injection channels (via a coupling 20 and pressure line 60, Fig. 1 & 2, Col. 2, ln. 60-64, Col. 4, ln. 58-65, “a source of liquid fuel 14 and a source of liquid oxidizer 16 are connected to the injection head 12 through a pressurized system including conveniently coupled pressure lines 18 and a convenient coupling 20”);
a second tank 16 containing a second type propellant (“source of oxidizer”, Col. 2, ln. 60-64) fluidly coupled to said at least one second injection channel 46 (via pressure line 50, Fig. 1 & 2, Col. 4, ln. 24-27);
wherein said first combustion component and said second combustion component are pressurized (the fuel is provided via a pressurized fuel feed line 60 to a pressurized chamber 58, Col. 4, ln. 58-65, ln. 72-74, “Since the pressure lines 40 and 60 are coupled to a common fuel source, through the coupling 20, they are similarly pressurized”; the oxidizer is provided via a pressurized oxidizer line 50, Col. 4, ln. 8-28).
Paine fails to explicitly disclose the first combustion component and said second combustion component are of a self-pressurizing type (Paine seems to infer the fuel source and fuel lines 40, 60 are at least pressurized, Col. 4, ln. 73-75, “Since the pressure lines 40 and 60 are coupled to a common fuel source, through the coupling 20, they are similarly pressurized”).
Shen teaches a rocket engine thruster that includes self-pressurizing liquid fuel and oxidizer components with high saturated vapor pressure (Para. 0007, 0027, 0029, 0039, 0060; the fuel can be a liquid oxygen-liquid methane propellant or a liquid oxygen-liquid hydrogen propellant).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated into the system of Paine, the first and second fuel combustion components being self-pressurizing type, as taught by Shen, in order to utilize a fuel that eliminates the need for carrying additional pressurizing gas or other pressurizing components in the system, reducing weight and improving structural efficiency (Shen Para. 0007, 0027, 0029, 0039, 0060). Use of self-pressurizing fuels in rocket thruster propulsion systems is also well-known in the art.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paine in view of Bendel (US 5,941,062 A).
Regarding claim 18, Paine discloses the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1, but fails to disclose an orbital transport vehicle comprising the thruster for orbital maneuvers according to claim 1.
Bendel teaches an orbital transport vehicle (such as orbital and sub-orbital vehicles and satellites, Para. 0005) that includes a thruster (Fig. 1) utilizing first and second fuel combustion components (liquid fuel and liquid oxidizer, Para. 0005, 0029-30).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have incorporated the thruster of Paine as a thruster for an orbital transport vehicle such as a space vehicle or satellite, as taught by Bendel, in order to provide propulsion and/or orbital guidance/correction to vehicles intended for orbit or sub-orbit operations (Bendel Para. 0005, 0029-30). Use of rocket thrusters of various scales in orbital transport vehicles is also very common in the art.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brown (US 2010/0037590 A1, US 9404441 B2), Stechman (US 20030074886 A1, US 6397580 B1, US 6588199 B2) teaches another thruster having an injection plate with first injection channels around a periphery of the plate, and second injection channels radially within the first injection channels.
Herdy Jr. (US 20020092290 A1) teaches a thruster that utilizes self-pressurizing fuel components including Propylene and Nitrous Oxide.
Koppel (US 5797260 A) teaches a rocket thruster similar to Koppel (US 5941062 A) cited above.
Contact Information
/ALAIN CHAU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741