DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites in line 1 that “the first ratio-to-roll is a constant”. However, it is unclear what this “constant” entails. What does it mean for the first ratio-to-roll to be a constant? In relation to what?
Claim 5 recites in line 1 that “the second ratio-to-roll is a constant”. However, it is unclear what this “constant” entails. What does it mean for the second ratio-to-roll to be a constant? In relation to what?
Claim 6 recites that “one of said first ration-of-roll and said second ratio-of-roll is defined as a higher order function”. However, it is unclear how exactly either one of said first ration-of-roll and said second ratio-of-roll, are defined as “higher order functions”. In relation to what?
Claim 13 recites “at least one of a gear member and pinion member of a gear pair”. There is a question as to whether “of a gear pair” applies to both gear member and pinion member, or just to the pinion member. Further clarification is needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Stadtfeld US 5,580,298.
In regards to claim 1, Stadtfeld discloses a method of producing a tooth on a workpiece (Figures 1-9), said tooth having a tooth profile surface comprising a tip portion and a root portion, a toe end, a heel end, and a face width extending between the toe end and the heel end (see Figures 8 and 9), said method comprising: rotating a gear cutting tool (42) about an axis of rotation (WT), engaging said cutting tool and said workpiece (Figures 1-6), rolling said cutting tool with said workpiece together in accordance with a generating roll to generate a profile surface of the tooth (Figures 1-9), wherein said generating roll comprises a first ratio-of roll (Ra) and a second ratio-of-roll (Ra modified as per column 8, lines 13-15) with the first and second ratios-of-roll being different from one another (column 8, lines 13-15) and with one of said first ratio-of-roll and said second ratio-of-roll resulting in a relief section being formed on said tooth profile surface (flank correction as in Figure 9 and column 11, lines 51-58).
If the applicant considers that the interpretation of the claim(s) under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102, i.e., is or may be in dispute under given the current interpretation, the current under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) is appropriate. See MPEP §§ 2111- 2116.01.
If applicant considers that the current interpretation of Stadtfeld fails to explicitly teach that “one of said first ratio-of-roll and said second ratio-of-roll resulting in a relief section being formed on said tooth profile surface”, the Examiner takes official notice on the fact that the term flank correction is well known in the art to mean the inclusion of tip relief, root relief, load modification, end relief and their combinations, to prevent unnecessary interference when meshing occurs and thus provide a smoother tooth meshing especially under load conditions which cause gear and housing deflections. As such, the Examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the time applicant’s invention was filed, to form a relief section at the tip or root portion of the tooth of Stadtfeld, as this concept is well known in the art to prevent unnecessary interference when meshing occurs while ensuring smoother tooth meshing and provide proper functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth.
In regards to claim 2, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that said relief section comprises a relief section at the tip portion of the tooth profile surface (see Figures 8 and 9; flank corrections).
In regards to claim 3, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that said relief section comprises a relief section at the root portion of the tooth profile surface (see Figures 8 and 9; flank corrections).
In regards to claim 4, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that the first ratio-of-roll is a constant (e.g. when the value is obtained).
In regards to claim 5, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that the second ratio-of-roll is a constant (e.g. when the value is obtained).
In regards to claim 6, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that one of said first ratio-of-roll and said second ratio-of-roll is defined as a higher order function (see column 8, lines 1-11 and claim 29).
In regards to claim 7, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that the tooth profile surface is an involute (column 1, line 14, bevel gear).
In regards to claim 8, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that the relief section extends along the entire face width of said tooth.
Stadfeld fails to explicitly disclose that the relief section extends along the entire face width of said tooth. Nevertheless, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that relief sections are well known to provide proper functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teachings of Stadtfeld, would also have recognized the desirability of changing the width extension of the relief section depending on the desired proper functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth while still ensuring smoother tooth meshing. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try having the relief section in Stadtfeld, extend along the entire face width of said tooth in an attempt to provide improved functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth while still ensuring smoother tooth meshing, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp (i.e. other known options such as having the relief section not extend to the entire face width of said tooth).
In regards to claim 9, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that the relief section is larger at the heel end of the tooth than at the toe end of the tooth.
Stadfeld fails to explicitly disclose that the relief section is larger at the heel end of the tooth than at the toe end of the tooth. Nevertheless, a person having ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that relief sections are well known to provide proper functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth. A person of ordinary skill in the art, upon reading the teachings of Stadtfeld, would also have recognized the desirability of changing the extension of the relief section depending on the desired proper functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth while still ensuring smoother tooth meshing. Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to try having the relief section in Stadtfeld, be larger at the heel end of the tooth than at the toe end of the tooth in an attempt to provide improved functioning of the meshing between gears in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth while still ensuring smoother tooth meshing, as a person with ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp (i.e. other known options such as having the relief section be smaller at the heel end of the tooth than at the toe end of the tooth; or be equal at both the heel end of the tooth and the toe end of the tooth).
In regards to claim 10, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that the gear cutting tool comprises a grinding wheel or a plurality of cutting blades (column 1, lines 17-19 and column 12, lines 44-54).
In regards to claim 11, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that said one of said first ratio-of-roll and said second ratio-of-roll resulting in a relief section being formed on said tooth profile surface is further modified by adjustment of machine settings during the generating roll (flank correction as in Figure 9 and column 11, lines 51-58, column 8, lines 41-48).
In regards to claim 12, Stadtfeld the method of claim 11, Stadtfeld also discloses that said machine settings comprise at least one of cutter tilt, cutter swivel and cutter reference height (column 8, lines 41-48).
In regards to claim 13, Stadtfeld the method of claim 1, Stadtfeld also discloses that said workpiece comprises at least one of a gear member and pinion member of a gear pair (column 11, lines 51-55).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Stadtfeld US 2019/0134727 discloses in paragraph [0004] that topland chamfers (relief) or topland corner rounding is desired by many manufacturers of bevel and hypoid gears. This so-called “Topping” provides a smoother tooth meshing especially under load conditions which cause gear and housing deflections and is also beneficial in cases where manufacturing and assembly tolerances add up to large gearset position deviations.
Fan US 2013/0025394 discloses in paragraph [0076] that ease-off topography is used to visualize mismatch of mating tooth surfaces and numerically identify the contact conditions. The effects of using tool Tip Relief and/or Root Relief on the tooth contact conditions and the application of geometric and kinematic flank form modifications or corrections to the tooth surfaces (such as, for example, flank form modifications or corrections defined in accordance with the Universal Motion Concept (UMC) as disclosed in U.S. Pat. No. 5,580,298) can be visualized and numerically adjusted through the ease-off topography.
Bibbens US 3,259,019 discloses in column 1, lines 19-22 and 30-33 that provision of recesses or reliefs in the side or working faces of internal teeth of machine elements to prevent disengagement of such teeth from meshing teeth has been well appreciated in the art; and that configuration of the recess or relief is a factor of prime importance for proper functioning of the meshing members in preventing disengagement of their meshing teeth.
/NICOLE N RAMOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722