DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 22: “an” (between “towards” and “lower”) should be changed to --a--.
Claim 1, line 22: --end-- should be added between “distal” and “to”).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: clamping member in claims 9 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-10 are replete with 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issues. Such issues include:
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the medial humeral epicondyle" in lines 13-14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the ulnar coronoid process" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the length" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the distal and proximal part of the ulna" in line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the polyaxial type" in line 26. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the arrangement" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the axis" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the bridge" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the closure" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the upper part" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the piece" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the piece" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the piece" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the area" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the arrangement" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the axis" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the bridge" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the closure" in lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the piece" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the area" in line 21. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The examiner believes to have pointed out each of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) issue present in the claims. However, applicant is advised to go back and check the claims to make sure no additional issues are still present.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 2, 5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101).
Claim 2 recites “wherein the arrangement of the elongate slot of the hole in which the compression screw is arranged, forms an angle with the axis of the wedge osteotomy.”
Claim 5 recites “wherein the inner ramp on side wall of the hole ends at the upper part of the piece in a semilunate notch in which the compression screw is positioned.”
Claim 7 recites “the intermediate area covering the osteotomy.”
Claim 10 recites “wherein the arrangement of the elongate slot of the hole in which the compression screw is arranged, forms an angle with the axis of the wedge osteotomy.”
Claim 10 recites “wherein the inner ramp on side wall of the hole ends at the upper part of the piece in a semilunate notch in which the compression screw is positioned.”
Claim 10 recites “the intermediate area covering the osteotomy.”
It appears the claims are positively reciting part of the human body as limitations of the claims. It suggested such limitations are amended to be functionally recites, i.e. “configured to cover,” “configured to be positioned,” and “configured to form an angle.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidebotham et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2016/0128745.
Regarding claim 1, a first embodiment of Sidebotham et al. (Fig. 14) discloses a plate for proximal ulnar closing wedge osteotomy for pet animals, which is a surgery to increase a radius of curvature of a semilunate notch of an ulna by peroforming an osteotomy opening outwards and keeping an area in the semilunate notch of the ulna intact, which a plate is secure on top of a bone forming a connecting bridge between two fragments into which the osteotomy has divided the ulna, in order to stabilize said two fragments until said two fragments osseointegration is complete, said plate comprising:
a proximal area (102), which, once secured to the bone, is located corresponding to a proximal fragment of the ulna, which is provided with at least three holes (116, 118, 120) for securing therein securing screws; an intermediate area (134), which one secured is located above the osteotomy, which has an elongate and concave shape (curves making right sidewall concave and concave along bottom 142) on a side facing a medial humeral epicondyle and an ulnar coronoid process; and a distal area (104), which, once secured, is positioned along the ulna, which has an elongate configuration and along a length thereof there are at least three holes (122, 124, 126), in one (122) a compression screw is secured, while securing screws are engaged in the remaining holes (Figs. 14-15 and paragraph [0046]); and wherein the securing screws are of the polyaxial type in order to allow a certain range of angulation with respect to the plate when secured (Figs. 19A-19B and paragraph [0057]).
The embodiment of Fig. 14 of Sidebotham does not disclose the compression screw having a spherical or frustoconical head, while the hole in the plate in which the compression screw is arranged has an elongate slot with an inner ramp starting from an upper face towards a lower face of the plate, from a distal end to a proximal end, such that when the screw is tightened, a compression effect is generated between the bone fragments of a distal and proximal part of the ulna, tending to close the wedge of the osteotomy.
The embodiment of Figs. 13A-13C of Sidebotham discloses a compression screw having a spherical head (94) and an elongate slot (90) with an inner ramp (96) starting from an upper face towards a lower face of plate (88) and from a distal end to a proximal end of the slot (Figs. 13B-13C) as such permits as the screw is tightened and advanced into the bone the plate can cause sections on opposite sides of an osteotomy to be drawn together and compressed, reducing the space between the bone sections (paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the embodiment of Fig. 14 of Sidebotham such that the the compression screw having a spherical or frustoconical head, while the hole in the plate in which the compression screw is arranged has an elongate slot with an inner ramp starting from an upper face towards a lower face of the plate, from a distal end to a proximal end, such that when the screw is tightened, a compression effect is generated between the bone fragments of a distal and proximal part of the ulna, tending to close the wedge of the osteotomy in view of the embodiment of Figs. 13A-13B of Sidebotham to permit as the screw is tightened and advanced into the bone the plate can cause sections on opposite sides of an osteotomy to be drawn together and compressed, reducing the space between the bone sections.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Sidebotham discloses wherein an arrangement of the elongate slot (122) of the hole in which the compression screw is arranged is configured to form an angle with an axis of the wedge osteotomy between 35 and 75 degrees in order to avoid deformation of a bridge in a semilunate notch of the ulna by generating compression between the bone fragements of the distal and proximal part of the ulna, tending to close the wedge of the osteotomy; wherein a length of the elongate slot of the hole in which the compression screw is arranged is such that when compression is applied between the two bone fragments of the distal and proximal part of the ulna, it allow closure of a wedge formed between the fragments into which it is divided in the osteotomy of up to 15 degrees (Fig. 14 and paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Sidebotham discloses wherein the inner ramp (96) in longitudinal walls of the hole in which the compression screw is arranged has an angle of inclination; and wherein the inner ramp on side walls of the hole is configured to end at an upper part of a piece in a semilunate notch in which the compression screw is configured to be positioned before starting the compression of the osteotomy (Figs. 13B-13C) and paragraph [0045]).
Sidebotham does not explicitly disclose the angle of inclination being between 30 degrees and 60 degrees, but does disclose the ramp can have different configurations (paragraph [0045]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the angle of inclination to be between 30 degrees and 60 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 6, Sidebotham discloses wherein a wall of the hole in a part ending in a deepest area, closer to a lower part of a piece has a notch (same as applicant’s notch 142) with an arched shape in accordance with the head (94) of the compression screw (examiner annotated Fig. 13B below).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Sidebotham discloses wherein the hole (hole of elongate slot 122) in which the compression screw is placed is located in the distal area of a piece in an area closest to the intermediate area (134) configured to cover the osteotomy (Fig. 14); and wherein the head (94) of the compression screw has a hemispherical shape (Fig. 13B).
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sidebotham et al., U.S. PG-Pub 2016/0128745 as applied above, and further in view of Wotton, III et al., U.S. Patent 10,864,026.
Regarding claim 9, Sidebotham discloses the invention essentially as claimed except for further comprising at least one hole in the proximal area and at least one hole in the distal area into which a clamping member of the plate is initially inserted prior to securing via the securing screws.
Wotton, III et al. discloses a plate having a hole (43) in a proximal area and a hole (47) in a distal area into which a clamping member is initially inserted prior to securing via securing screw (Fig. 1) as such permits provisionally fixing elements or visualizing a desired trajectory for screws to be inserted through screw holes (Col. 4 lines 14-21 and Col. 5 lines 23-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal and distal areas of the plate of Sidebotham to have at least one hole in the proximal area and at least one hole in the distal area into which a clamping member of the plate is initially inserted prior to securing via the securing screws further in view of Wotton, III et al. to permit provisionally fixing elements or visualizing a desired trajectory for the securing screws.
Regarding claim 10, the limitations of claim 10 appear to be a combination of each of dependent claims 2-9, wherein the embodiment of Fig. 14 of Sidebotham as modified in view of the embodiment of Figs. 13A-13C of Sidebothom disclose the limitations of claims 2-8 (see rejection of claims 2-8 above), but does not disclose further comprising at least one hole in the proximal area and at least one hole in the distal area into which a clamping member of the plate is initially inserted prior to securing via the securing screws.
Wotton, III et al. discloses a plate having a hole (43) in a proximal area and a hole (47) in a distal area into which a clamping member is initially inserted prior to securing via securing screw (Fig. 1) as such permits provisionally fixing elements or visualizing a desired trajectory for screws to be inserted through screw holes (Col. 4 lines 14-21 and Col. 5 lines 23-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the proximal and distal areas of the plate of Sidebotham to have at least one hole in the proximal area and at least one hole in the distal area into which a clamping member of the plate is initially inserted prior to securing via the securing screws further in view of Wotton, III et al. to permit provisionally fixing elements or visualizing a desired trajectory for the securing screws.
Conclusion
/ERIC S GIBSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3775