DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04/04/2025. Claims 15-28 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 1-14 were cancelled.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "device configured to" in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-17, 19-20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias, DE-102015015316-A1, in view of Stiehl et al., US-20240109499-A1, hereinafter referred to as Matthias and Stiehl.
As per claim 15
Matthias discloses [a] device configured to operate functions in a vehicle, the device comprising (control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved in the direction of the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device - Matthias ¶8):
a [display that can be modified into a touchscreen] arranged in the vehicle such that the [display that can be modified into a touchscreen] is locally moveable (control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved in the direction of the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device…The drive unit can be hydraulically or electrically operated, for example, to move the display unit back and forth between the retracted and extended positions - Matthias ¶8);
a drive configured to move the control panel (control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved in the direction of the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device…The drive unit can be hydraulically or electrically operated, for example, to move the display unit back and forth between the retracted and extended positions - Matthias ¶8);
a touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element (detection device 18 can, for example, comprise one or more cameras, one or more infrared sensors or the like, by means of which the approach of a vehicle occupant, in particular a hand of a vehicle occupant, to the display device 14 can be reliably detected…detection device 18 can also include one or more touch sensors arranged on the display device 14, by means of which a touch of the display device 14, for example with a finger, can be detected - Matthias ¶23);
a controller coupled to the drive and to the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element, wherein the controller is configured to (the control device is designed to control the drive device…display device is moved into the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device - Matthias ¶10)
activate the drive when the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is approached or contacted (the control device is designed to control the drive device…display device is moved into the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device - Matthias ¶10),
when a position of the approach or contact changes, to move the [display that can be modified into a touchscreen] analogously to the changes of the position of approach or contact, wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is set apart from the [display that can be modified into a touchscreen] and is arranged in the vehicle such that the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is reachable from any seat position by a user raising their arm (display device includes a control unit designed to control the drive unit depending on the approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device as detected by the detection device…the control device is designed to control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved in the direction of the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device. In the retracted position, the movable display device preferably rests against a control panel of the motor vehicle. The retracted position therefore corresponds to a kind of rigid position of the display device. The drive unit can be hydraulically or electrically operated, for example, to move the display unit back and forth between the retracted and extended positions - Matthias ¶8).
Matthias does not specifically disclose [a control panel such as a moveable touch screen].
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Stiehl teaches [a control panel such as a moveable touch screen] (a display may lie flush with an interior surface of a vehicle. When moved from the stowed position to a deployed position, the display may protrude into an interior portion of the vehicle where the display is accessible to one or more users (vehicle occupants), display 14 may be a touch screen display - Stiehl ¶20 & ¶25).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Stiehl teaches vehicles that have moveable displays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system for vehicles that have moveable displays, as taught by Stiehl, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the display may transition between a stowed position and a deployed position in response to input from a user or in response to conditions that are monitored by sensors in the vehicle, see Stiehl ¶19 for details, and so that the display may be mounted to other locations, such as the door, see Stiehl ¶25 for details, and lastly, the control can be changed such that the display can extend rather than retract when a person’s hand approaches.
As per claim 16
Matthias further discloses wherein the drive is a linear drive configured to move the control panel in a longitudinal direction that is substantially parallel to a direction of travel of the vehicle (display device includes a control unit designed to control the drive unit depending on the approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device as detected by the detection device…the control device is designed to control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved in the direction of the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device. In the retracted position, the movable display device preferably rests against a control panel of the motor vehicle. The retracted position therefore corresponds to a kind of rigid position of the display device. The drive unit can be hydraulically or electrically operated, for example, to move the display unit back and forth between the retracted and extended positions - Matthias ¶8).
As per claim 17
Matthias further discloses wherein the controller is configured to adapt a relationship between the change in the approaching or contacting of the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element and an adjustment path of the control panel based on a specified value (display device includes a control unit designed to control the drive unit depending on the approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device as detected by the detection device…the control device is designed to control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved in the direction of the retracted position if the detection device detects an approach of the vehicle occupant to the display device. In the retracted position, the movable display device preferably rests against a control panel of the motor vehicle. The retracted position therefore corresponds to a kind of rigid position of the display device. The drive unit can be hydraulically or electrically operated, for example, to move the display unit back and forth between the retracted and extended positions - Matthias ¶8).
As per claim 19
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the control panel has a lighting assembly, wherein the controller is configured to activate the lighting of the control panel or to change a type of lighting at least when an actuation of the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has been detected.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Stiehl teaches wherein the control panel has a lighting assembly, wherein the controller is configured to activate the lighting of the control panel or to change a type of lighting at least when an actuation of the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has been detected (a display may lie flush with an interior surface of a vehicle. When moved from the stowed position to a deployed position, display 14 may be a touch screen display, brightness and/or color of the block of pixels used to produce interior illumination 58 may be adjusted in response to user input such as touch sensor input on an edge touch display portion of display 14 – Stiehl ¶20 & ¶25 & ¶34).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Stiehl teaches vehicles that have moveable displays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system for vehicles that have moveable displays, as taught by Stiehl, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the display may transition between a stowed position and a deployed position in response to input from a user or in response to conditions that are monitored by sensors in the vehicle, see Stiehl ¶19 for details, and so that the display may be mounted to other locations, such as the door, see Stiehl ¶25 for details, and lastly, the control can be changed such that the display can extend rather than retract when a person’s hand approaches.
As per claim 20
Matthias further discloses wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has force sensors configured to detect a contact force in event of the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element being contacted, wherein the controller is configured to recognize an actuation as being an actuation only once the contact force is above a specified threshold (control device is designed to control the drive device in such a way that the display device is moved into the retracted position if a predetermined user input has been detected, detection device 18 can, for example, comprise one or more cameras, one or more infrared sensors or the like, by means of which the approach of a vehicle occupant, in particular a hand of a vehicle occupant, to the display device 14 can be reliably detected…detection device 18 can also include one or more touch sensors arranged on the display device 14, by means of which a touch of the display device 14, for example with a finger, can be detected - Matthias ¶12 & ¶23).
As per claim 28
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is shaped so as to be elongated in a direction of a vehicle longitudinal axis, wherein a change in the position of the approach or contact can be determined at any point along the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Stiehl teaches wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is shaped so as to be elongated in a direction of a vehicle longitudinal axis, wherein a change in the position of the approach or contact can be determined at any point along the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element (display 14 may be a touch screen display, Displays may also be mounted in doors (e.g., door handles) and/or other vehicle structures accessible from the interior of vehicle 10 - Stiehl ¶25 & ¶37).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Stiehl teaches vehicles that have moveable displays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system for vehicles that have moveable displays, as taught by Stiehl, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the display may transition between a stowed position and a deployed position in response to input from a user or in response to conditions that are monitored by sensors in the vehicle, see Stiehl ¶19 for details, and so that the display may be mounted to other locations, such as the door, see Stiehl ¶25 for details, and lastly, the control can be changed such that the display can extend rather than retract when a person’s hand approaches.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias and Stiehl, as per claim 15, in view of Komatsu et al., US-20240294115-A1, hereinafter referred to as Komatsu.
As per claim 18
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has a lighting assembly, wherein the controller is configured to light up the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element differently in event of actuation compared to a standby mode.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Komatsu teaches wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has a lighting assembly, wherein the controller is configured to light up the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element differently in event of actuation compared to a standby mode (HMI 31 performs output control that controls generation and output of visual information…tactile information for an occupant…visual information is, for example, information indicated by an image or light of an operation screen, a status display of the vehicle 1, a warning display…tactile information is information given to tactile sensation of the occupant by, for example, force, vibration, movement, a display device constituting the HMI 31 in FIG. 1 is arranged along the loop line L11., a door opener is placed on the loop line L11. For example, as illustrated in FIG. 28, a door opener 661FL is arranged on the loop line L11 near a center in the front-rear direction of the door 611FL on the driver seat 101 side. Similarly, a door opener 661FR is arranged on the loop line L11 near a center in the front-rear direction of the door 611FR on the passenger seat 102 side, arranging devices for various user interfaces, or the like along the loop line L11 - Komatsu ¶189 & ¶383 & ¶412 & ¶413).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Komatsu teaches a display system, a display device, a display method, and a mobile apparatus capable of improving convenience for an occupant of the mobile apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a display system, a display device, a display method, and a mobile apparatus capable of improving convenience for an occupant of the mobile apparatus, as taught by Komatsu, with a reasonable expectation of success to improve convenience for an occupant such as a driver of a vehicle by using AR technology and the like, and to give an impression of watching over the inside of the vehicle 1B. Furthermore, the movement of the line of sight of an occupant such as a driver in the up-down direction is reduced, and the motion sickness of the occupant is suppressed, see Komatsu ¶4 & ¶413 for details.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias and Stiehl, as per claim 15, in view of Talwar, US-20210082416-A1, hereinafter referred to as Talwar.
As per claim 21
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has piezo actuators, wherein the controller is configured to excite the piezo actuators to vibrate to generate haptic feedback in event of a contact-based actuation by changing a friction between a contact point and a finger touching the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Talwar teaches wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element has piezo actuators, wherein the controller is configured to excite the piezo actuators to vibrate to generate haptic feedback in event of a contact-based actuation by changing a friction between a contact point and a finger touching the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element (activating includes a touch by an occupant of the motor vehicle on a haptic screen - Talwar ¶11).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Talwar teaches waking up a virtual assistant for motor vehicles.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system for waking up a virtual assistant for motor vehicles, as taught by Talwar, with a reasonable expectation of success for providing virtual assistance to one or more occupants in a motor vehicle, see Talwar ¶3 for details.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias, Stiehl, and Talwar, as per claim 21, in view of Colgate et al., US-20070236450-A1, hereinafter referred to as Colgate.
As per claim 22
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is furthermore configured to change the friction in such a way that a guide element, a grid, or stops are simulated.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Colgate teaches wherein the controller is furthermore configured to change the friction in such a way that a guide element, a grid, or stops are simulated (touch screen), individual haptic device VFHD can be mounted as tiles in a grid pattern on the mounting block as shown in FIG. 12, embodiments of the invention described herein in a motor vehicle, the interfacing of the haptic device with a touchpad and/or visual display can be placed in a number of places within a vehicle including, but not limited to, seat side, center console - Colgate ¶85 & ¶120).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Colgate teaches haptic devices that provide indirect haptic feedback and texture sensations to a user by modulation of friction of a touch surface of the device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with haptic devices that provide indirect haptic feedback and texture sensations to a user by modulation of friction of a touch surface of the device, as taught by Colgate, with a reasonable expectation of success to provide the advantages of a slimness, high surface friction, inaudiblity and controllable friction, see Colgate ¶65 for details.
Claims 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias and Stiehl, as per claim 15, in view of Rawlinson, US-20160101697-A1, hereinafter referred to as Rawlinson.
As per claim 23
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the controller is configured to preset a position of the control panel and settings of a vehicle seat, to which the control panel is assigned, based on a saved or determined body size of a person using the vehicle seat.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Rawlinson teaches wherein the controller is configured to preset a position of the control panel and settings of a vehicle seat, to which the control panel is assigned, based on a saved or determined body size of a person using the vehicle seat (FIG. 10 illustrates the display system shown in FIG. 9, automatically reconfigured to accommodate a short system user, FIG. 19 illustrates a deployed display configured for a tall system user utilizing an alternate display linkage assembly, adjust and control the viewing position of display 101… to vary the position of display 101 in response to…a change in the size of the user (e.g., changing from a tall user to a short user). - Rawlinson ¶18 & ¶27 & ¶46).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Rawlinson teaches a system that automatically adjusts and optimizes the position of the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system that automatically adjusts and optimizes the position of the display, as taught by Rawlinson, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow a person to comfortably and ergonomically use a display while riding in a vehicle, see Rawlinson ¶3 for details.
Claims 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Matthias, Stiehl, and Rawlinson, as per claim 23, in view of Hélot, US-20170349069-A1, hereinafter referred to as Hélot.
As per claim 24
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein when the vehicle seat is adjusted, the controller is configured to move the control panel assigned to the vehicle seat in accordance with the adjustment.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Hélot teaches wherein when the vehicle seat is adjusted, the controller is configured to move the control panel assigned to the vehicle seat in accordance with the adjustment (a touch-sensitive screen 7, which can easily be reached from the rear seat 3…The adjustment is carried out by a control device which controls the inclination or curvature of the touch-sensitive screen 7 depending on the inclination of the backrest 5 - Hélot ¶27).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Hélot teaches a motor vehicle that includes a seat having a backrest with an adjustable backrest inclination, an interior device, a controllable device, and a touch-sensitive screen for controlling the controllable device that is arranged in or on the interior device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a motor vehicle that includes a seat having a backrest with an adjustable backrest inclination, an interior device, a controllable device, and a touch-sensitive screen for controlling the controllable device that is arranged in or on the interior device, as taught by Hélot, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the user may have improved sight of the touch-sensitive screen 7 as an operating element, see Hélot ¶27 for details.
As per claim 25
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein when the vehicle seat is adjusted, the controller is furthermore configured to determine movement data of a reference area of a backrest of the vehicle seat, wherein the control panel is moved analogously to movement of the reference area.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Hélot teaches wherein when the vehicle seat is adjusted, the controller is furthermore configured to determine movement data of a reference area of a backrest of the vehicle seat, wherein the control panel is moved analogously to movement of the reference area (a touch-sensitive screen 7, which can easily be reached from the rear seat 3…The adjustment is carried out by a control device which controls the inclination or curvature of the touch-sensitive screen 7 depending on the inclination of the backrest 5 - Hélot ¶27).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Hélot teaches a motor vehicle that includes a seat having a backrest with an adjustable backrest inclination, an interior device, a controllable device, and a touch-sensitive screen for controlling the controllable device that is arranged in or on the interior device.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a motor vehicle that includes a seat having a backrest with an adjustable backrest inclination, an interior device, a controllable device, and a touch-sensitive screen for controlling the controllable device that is arranged in or on the interior device, as taught by Hélot, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the user may have improved sight of the touch-sensitive screen 7 as an operating element, see Hélot ¶27 for details.
As per claim 26
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the control panel is arranged in a vehicle door.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Stiehl teaches wherein the control panel is arranged in a vehicle door (display may have a touch sensitive edge portion formed from a strip-shaped pixel array extending along a peripheral display sidewall. A vehicle occupant may supply touch input to the edge portion, Displays may also be mounted in doors (e.g., door handles) and/or other vehicle structures accessible from the interior of vehicle 10 - Stiehl ¶6 & ¶37).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Stiehl teaches vehicles that have moveable displays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system for vehicles that have moveable displays, as taught by Stiehl, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the display may transition between a stowed position and a deployed position in response to input from a user or in response to conditions that are monitored by sensors in the vehicle, see Stiehl ¶19 for details, and so that the display may be mounted to other locations, such as the door, see Stiehl ¶25 for details, and lastly, the control can be changed such that the display can extend rather than retract when a person’s hand approaches.
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the reference area corresponds to an area of the backrest of the vehicle seat that is level in terms of height with the control panel.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Rawlinson teaches wherein the reference area corresponds to an area of the backrest of the vehicle seat that is level in terms of height with the control panel (FIG. 4 illustrates the inclusion of a plurality of pressure sensors 401 incorporated into the seat 403, back 405, headrest 407 and side bolsters 409 of vehicle seat 411. Although sensors 401 are clearly visible in FIG. 4, adjust and control the viewing position of display 101…to vary the position of display 101 in response to…user changing positions (e.g., leaning to one side, slouching down in the seat, etc.) - Rawlinson Fig 3 (101, 301, 305) + ¶40 & ¶46).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Rawlinson teaches a system that automatically adjusts and optimizes the position of the display.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system that automatically adjusts and optimizes the position of the display, as taught by Rawlinson, with a reasonable expectation of success to allow a person to comfortably and ergonomically use a display while riding in a vehicle, see Rawlinson ¶3 for details.
As per claim 27
Matthias does not specifically disclose wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is arranged in a region of a door handle of the vehicle door.
Matthias discloses a moveable display that moves based on an approaching driver’s body part. However, Stiehl teaches wherein the touch- or approach-sensitive adjusting element is arranged in a region of a door handle of the vehicle door (display may have a touch sensitive edge portion formed from a strip-shaped pixel array extending along a peripheral display sidewall. A vehicle occupant may supply touch input to the edge portion, Displays may also be mounted in doors (e.g., door handles) and/or other vehicle structures accessible from the interior of vehicle 10 - Stiehl ¶6 & ¶37).
Matthias discloses a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage. Stiehl teaches vehicles that have moveable displays.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Matthias, a display device for a motor vehicle and a method for operating a display device to protect it from damage, with a system for vehicles that have moveable displays, as taught by Stiehl, with a reasonable expectation of success so that the display may transition between a stowed position and a deployed position in response to input from a user or in response to conditions that are monitored by sensors in the vehicle, see Stiehl ¶19 for details, and so that the display may be mounted to other locations, such as the door, see Stiehl ¶25 for details, and lastly, the control can be changed such that the display can extend rather than retract when a person’s hand approaches.
Conclusion
/F.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3668
/Thomas Ingram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3668