Application Status
Claims 1-15 are pending and have been examined in this application
This communication is the first action on the merits
Claims 1-13, 15 are rejected herein
Claim 14 is objected to
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 4/4/2025 and reviewed by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 7 uses the word "characterized" as opposed to "characterised" which is used in the rest of the claims. Claim 7 may be amended to "characterised" or the rest of the claims may be amended to "characterized" to match the same spelling. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 2, it is unclear whether the “two second sections” are the same as the second section in claim 1. This can be amended to “an additional second section which is spaced apart from the second section.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 recites the limitation "each of the second sections". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 6 depends on claim 5, which depends on claim 4, which depends on claim 1. In this dependency, only one second section is claimed, so “each of the second sections” is unclear. Multiple second sections must be claimed to make this limitation clear.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-13, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rudolf(EP 4083343 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Rudolf teaches a holder for fastening a load to a dry-construction structure, comprising: a connecting body(1) and a bolt(7) ; wherein the connecting body has a first section(5) and a second section(17); wherein the first section forms a connecting section for connecting to a dry-construction stud(5 may be connected to a dry-construction stud with carrier profile 2 and connecting means 10);wherein in the second section a bolt receptacle is provided for the bolt(receptacle 6);and wherein the first section and the second section are arranged at an angle with respect to each other(5 is at an angle relative to 4 and 17).
Regarding claim 2, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 1, characterised in that the connecting body has two second sections which are spaced apart from each other(4 and 17 are spaced apart from one another).
Regarding claim 3, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 2, characterised in that the connecting body comprises a connecting web and two connecting legs, wherein the connecting web forms the first section and the connecting legs form the second sections(5 is a connecting web and 4 and 17 are the connecting legs).
Regarding claim 4, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 1 characterised in that the bolt has a thread(the first connecting means 7 has a thread which nut 16 may be placed on) and is equipped with at least one nut.
Regarding claim 7, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 1 characterized in that the connecting body is made of one piece of sheet metal(fastening element 1 is made of a single piece of sheet metal, in particular steel).
Regarding claim 8, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 1, characterised by a first fastening element for connecting the connecting body to the dry-construction stud(see 10 connecting to 2).
Regarding claim 9, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 8, characterised in that the first section comprises at least one through-opening for the first fastening element. (through opening for 10 to connect to 2)
Regarding claim 10, Rudolf teaches a kit for a dry-construction system, comprising a dry- construction stud, and including a holder according to claim 1(see 2 is a dry construction stud).
Regarding claim 11, Rudolf teaches a dry-construction structure ,comprising at least one dry-construction stud(2) and a planking fastened thereto(18 a and b); wherein the planking has a front side and a rear side(bottom of figure 5 is the front side, above is the rear side); wherein the dry-construction stud is arranged at the rear side of the planking(2 is at the rear side); a holder according to claim 1 which is fastened to the dry-construction stud by a first fastening element(1 is fastened to 2 by 10); and wherein the bolt of the holder extends through the planking from the rear side to the front side(bolt 7 extends from the rear side to the front side).
Regarding claim 12, Rudolf teaches the dry-construction structure according to claim 11, characterised in that the bolt has a section which protrudes by a length from the front side of the planking(there exists a length that the bolt 7 extends through the front side of the planking).
Regarding claim 13, Rudolf teaches the dry-construction structure according to claim 11, characterised in that the planking has a recess, wherein the bolt extends through the recess (bolt 7 extends through a recess in planking 18 a and b).
Regarding claim 15, Rudolf teaches a method of fastening an object to a dry-construction structure, comprising a dry-construction stud and a planking, comprising the steps of:
- fastening of a holder according to claim 1 to the dry- construction stud;
- creating a recess in the planking;and
- arranging the planking on the dry-construction stud;
wherein this is done in such a way that the bolt of the holder extends through the recess of the planking and wherein the object is fastened to the bolt(holder of claim 1 is above, planking with a recess is 18 a and b, 1 may be fastened to dry construction stud 2 via 10, 18a and b are arranged on 2, bolt 7 fits within the recess of planking 18 a and b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rudolf(EP 4083343 A1) in view of DE 1911433 A1.
Regarding claim 5, Rudolf teaches the holder according to claim 4, but it does not teach that the bolt is held with two nuts arranged on opposite sides of the second section, wherein the two nuts are braced against each other so that the second section is clamped between the nuts.
DE 1911433 A teaches a bolt where two nuts(42a and b) are arranged on opposite sides of a section and are braced against each other so the section(39) is clamped between the nuts(see Fig. 9).
Rudolf and DE 1911433 A are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use two nuts braced against each other to clamp the second section 17 of Rudolf. The motivation would have been to ensure the second section was held more securely.
Regarding claim 6, as best understood by the examiner, Rudolf as modified teaches the holder according to claim 5, characterised in that the bolt is connected to each of the second sections via two nuts respectively (42 a and b of DE 1911433 A could be used on 17, see Fig. 9, and a second nut could be placed at “A” below to ensure the bolt is connected to 4, as is taught in DE 1911433 A, while retaining the other nut at the end of 7 so each of the second sections is connected to 7 via two nuts respectively).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 14 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/W.D.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3631
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619