DETAILED ACTION
The present application has been made of the record and currently claims 17-32 are pending while claims 1-16 are cancelled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to claim 26, the term “common” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear to the examiner what would and would not be a “common hose block”. The term “common hose block” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the hose block is not defined due to the what would and would not constitute being a “common” hose block.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20 and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddenino (U.S. Patent No. 5,219,185) in view of Hashimoto (U.S. Patent No. 4,478,436) and in further view of Dick (DE-3346451).
In regards to claim 17, Oddenino discloses:
A quick-release hose coupling (see fig. 4 hereinafter) configured to connect and disconnect at least two line ends of lines for liquid or gaseous media, the quick-release hose coupling comprising:
a first couplable coupling part (14) comprising at least one protruding pipe socket (see 2, 4, 6) as a first one of the at least two line ends; and
a second couplable coupling part (11) configured to be mechanically coupled to the first couplable coupling part,
wherein the second couplable coupling part comprises at least one hose (3, 5, 7) as a second one of the at least two line ends (see end near 20; see 2:59-62, where the hoses 3, 5, and 7 may be directly connected to recess 18 as opposed to with a barbed end as shown in fig. 4 near 20), and
wherein when the first and second couplable coupling parts are coupled, the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part is guided through the second coupling part (ex., see near 18 and 18a),
but does not disclose:
wherein a sealing surface is formed between an outer lateral surface of the at least one pipe protruding socket and an inner surface of the at least one hose
wherein a tubular insert is inserted into the second one of the at least two line ends,
wherein the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part projects beyond the tubular insert in a hose direction of the at least one hose.
In regards to the sealing surface between hose and pipe protruding socket, Hashimoto discloses a similar device comprising two configurations, where:
a first configuration (ex., see figs. 1-2) comprising a hose ends (3) connected to ends of a multi-hose connector (1, fig. 1) and the multi-hose connector is directly connected to a multi-pipe socket body (28, fig. 2; see fig. 2 where multiple male pipes directly connect to the multiple pipe connector), and
a second configuration (see fig. 5) where hose ends (3) are directly connected to the multi-pipe socket body (35) such that the hose ends overlap with the multi-pipe socket body producing a seal therebetween (see near 34; see 2:37-48, which describes how each port is directly inserted into the hose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify each bore and hose of the second coupling part of Oddenino such that each of the entire bores (18 and 18a in fig. 2) is directly connected and occupied by each the respective hoses of Oddenino because Oddenino explicitly discloses that the hose may alternatively be directly connected to the recess (2:59-62, where the hoses 3, 5, and 7 may be directly connected to recess 18) and Hashimoto discloses there are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions of positioning the hose either directly on the end of a multi-hose connector (see figs. 1-2) or directly within the entire bore of a multi-pipe connector such that the end of a protruding pipe socket is directly inserted into the hose end up to the step (ex., as shown in fig. 5 near 36). A person of ordinary skill could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying the hose to be either partially or entirely directly attached to the bore (ex., 18 and 18a) such that the protruding pipe socket is directly inserted into the hose end is within their technical grasp and would produce no new results.
In regards to the tubular insert, Dick discloses a similar multi-hose connector (see fig. 6) comprising a bore (see near 8) comprising ends of hoses (see near 8) crimped by an expanding sleeve (8) to further prevent the hose from being pulled out (see paragraph 0011, lines 1-6 of the translated document provided herein).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify each bore and the end of each of the hoses of Oddenino in view of Hashimoto such that there is a length of saw-tooth grooves in the end of the bore and a clamping sleeve pressed directly against the hose and sawtooth groves to further secure the hose from being pulled out, as taught by Dick (see paragraph 0011, lines 1-6).
In regards to the pipe socket extending beyond the tubular insert, while Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick does not expressly disclose “the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part projects beyond the tubular insert in a hose direction of the at least one hose”, the “length” of the sawtooth grooves/clamping sleeve may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters because Dick explicitly discloses that the length of the sawtooth groove area with a corresponding clamping sleeve is a known parameter (see 3 in fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the length of the sawtooth grooves/clamping sleeve of Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick such that “the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part projects beyond the tubular insert in a hose direction of the at least one hose”, as the “length” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 18, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein an inside diameter of the tubular insert reduces in the hose direction (see near tapered part 9 in fig. 1 of Dick).
In regards to claim 19, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein an external diameter of the tubular insert decreases in the hose direction (see near tapered part 9 in fig. 1 of Dick).
In regards to claim 20, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the tubular insert has an outwardly projecting collar towards an end of the tubular insert pointing against the hose direction (see near tapered part 9 in fig. 1 of Dick).
In regards to claim 22, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the second couplable coupling part has at least one grommet (ex., see near 11 in fig. 2 of Oddenino) configured to receive and position an end of the at least one hose (ex., it is inherent that providing the hose within the bore 18 would meet the limitation of the claim).
In regards to claim 23, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 22, wherein the at least one hose is pressed against an inner wall of the at least one grommet by the tubular insert (see fig. 4, where there are three bores 18 that would meet the limitation of the claim; ex., see fig. 5 of Hashimoto where the step 36 is placed similarly of where the step of the barbed end would be placed in fig. 4 of Oddenino).
In regards to claim 24, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the at least one protruding pipe socket includes at least two protruding pipe sockets (see fig. 4 of Oddenino),
wherein the at least one hose comprises at least two hoses (see fig. 4 of Oddenino),
wherein the tubular insert comprises at least two tubular inserts (see fig. 6 of Dick),
wherein a respective one of the at least two tubular inserts is inserted into a respective one of the at least two hoses (see fig. 6 of Dick), and
wherein a respective one of the at least two protruding pipe sockets is introduced into a respective one of the at least two hoses (see fig. 5 of Hashimoto).
In regards to claim 25, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 24, further comprising:
at least two grommets (ex., see near barbed end 20 where each hose would have a respective grommet/step that prevents the hose from being pulled out; ex., see fig. 5 of Hashimoto where each pipe is pressed against a step),
wherein a respective one of the at least two hoses is inserted into a respective one of the at least two grommets (it is inherent that the pipes would be inserted into the grommets).
In regards to claim 26, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 25, wherein the at least two grommets are formed in a common hose block arranged in a front section of the second couplable coupling part (see fig. 2 of Oddenino).
In regards to claim 27, Oddenino further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the first and second couplable coupling parts each have guide elements (25 and 26 in fig. 1) that guide the first and second couplable coupling parts linearly relative to each other during coupling.
In regards to claim 28, Oddenino further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the first and second couplable coupling part have a co-operating locking mechanism (31 and 23 in fig. 1).
Claim(s) 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick and in further view of Foner (U.S. Patent No. 11,041,584).
In regards to claim 29, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 28,
but does not disclose:
wherein the co-operating locking mechanism has a swivel lever articulated on one of the first and second couplable coupling parts and is an angle lever with a handle part and a locking part,
wherein the locking part is configured to interact with a bolt arranged on the other of the first and second couplable coupling parts.
In regards to the swivel lever, Foner discloses a similar block coupling comprising:
a co-operating locking mechanism (entirety of the swivel mechanism in fig. 1) has a swivel lever (near 48) articulated on one of the first and second couplable coupling parts (42) and is an angle lever with a handle part (48) and a locking part (see near 46),
wherein the locking part is configured to interact with a bolt (60) arranged on the other of the first and second couplable coupling parts,
wherein “The design described in this disclosure allows the user to place the hand in only one position, flip or rotate the operating lever 100 with thumb or finger to move the pin assembly to the desired unlocked position, and then rotate the handle to disconnect the multi-coupling system, all in one position of the hand for an easy one-handed operation” (11:57-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the co-operating locking mechanism of Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick with the entire co-operating locking mechanism of Foner to provide the benefit of an easy one-handed operation because Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Dick discloses a device which differs from the claim device by a replacement one co-operating locking mechanism for the known co-operating locking mechanism of Foner, Foner explicitly discloses that the known co-operating locking mechanism provides the benefit of an easy one-handed operation (11:57-67) and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the one known co-operating locking device for another known co-operating locking device because simply replacing one known locking mechanism for another locking mechanism would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 30, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto, Dick, and Foner further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 29, wherein the locking part has a cam track (see near 54 in fig. 1 of Foner) in which the bolt is guided (see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 31, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto, Dick, and Foner further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 30, wherein the cam track has a recess (see near 64 in fig. 2 of Foner) in which the bolt is located when the first and second couplable coupling parts are coupled (see fig. 3 of Foner).
In regards to claim 32, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto, Dick, and Foner further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 29, wherein the swivel lever is configured to latch or lock in predetermined pivot positions (ex., see lock 62 which engages hole 64 in fig. 2; ex., hole is visible in fig. 2 and is therefore configured to lock in another position).
Claim(s) 17, 19, and 21-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and in further view of Sell (U.S. Patent No. 5,655,794).
In regards to claim 17, Oddenino discloses:
A quick-release hose coupling (see fig. 4 hereinafter) configured to connect and disconnect at least two line ends of lines for liquid or gaseous media, the quick-release hose coupling comprising:
a first couplable coupling part (14) comprising at least one protruding pipe socket (see 2, 4, 6) as a first one of the at least two line ends; and
a second couplable coupling part (11) configured to be mechanically coupled to the first couplable coupling part,
wherein the second couplable coupling part comprises at least one hose (3, 5, 7) as a second one of the at least two line ends (see end near 20; see 2:59-62, where the hoses 3, 5, and 7 may be directly connected to recess 18 as opposed to with a barbed end as shown in fig. 4 near 20), and
wherein when the first and second couplable coupling parts are coupled, the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part is guided through the second coupling part (ex., see near 18 and 18a),
but does not disclose:
wherein a sealing surface is formed between an outer lateral surface of the at least one pipe protruding socket and an inner surface of the at least one hose
wherein a tubular insert is inserted into the second one of the at least two line ends,
wherein the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part projects beyond the tubular insert in a hose direction of the at least one hose.
In regards to the sealing surface between hose and pipe protruding socket, Hashimoto discloses a similar device comprising two configurations, where:
a first configuration (ex., see figs. 1-2) comprising a hose ends (3) connected to ends of a multi-hose connector (1, fig. 1) and the multi-hose connector is directly connected to a multi-pipe socket body (28, fig. 2; see fig. 2 where multiple male pipes directly connect to the multiple pipe connector), and
a second configuration (see fig. 5) where hose ends (3) are directly connected to the multi-pipe socket body (35) such that the hose ends overlap with the multi-pipe socket body producing a seal therebetween (see near 34; see 2:37-48, which describes how each port is directly inserted into the hose).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the bore and hose of the second coupling part of Oddenino such that the entire bore (18 and 18a in fig. 2) is directly connected and occupied by the hose of Oddenino because Oddenino explicitly discloses that the hose may alternatively be directly connected to the recess (2:59-62, where the hoses 3, 5, and 7 may be directly connected to recess 18) and Hashimoto discloses there are a finite number of identified and predictable solutions of positioning the hose either directly on the end of a multi-hose connector (see figs. 1-2) or directly within the entire bore of a multi-pipe connector such that the end of a protruding pipe socket is directly inserted into the hose end up to the step (ex., as shown in fig. 5 near 36). A person of ordinary skill could have pursued the known potential solutions with a reasonable expectation of success because modifying the hose to be either partially or entirely directly attached to the bore (ex., 18 and 18a) such that the protruding pipe socket is directly inserted into the hose end is within their technical grasp and would produce no new results.
In regards to the tubular insert, Sell discloses a similar multi-hose connector body (see fig. 4 hereinafter) comprising a bore (see 11, 12 in fig. 5) comprising ends of hoses (see hose 7) compressed by a sleeve (8) to further prevent the hose from being pulled out (2:51-60).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify the end of the hose of Oddenino in view of Hashimoto with the provision of tubular insert to further prevent pullout of the hose, as taught by Sell (2:51-60).
In regards to the pipe socket extending beyond the tubular insert, while Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell does not expressly disclose “the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part projects beyond the tubular insert in a hose direction of the at least one hose”, the “length” of the sleeve may be determined through the use of routine experimentation during the engineering design process to optimize the functionality of the device, suited to the intended use and desired parameters.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the length of the sawtooth grooves/clamping sleeve of Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell such that “the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part projects beyond the tubular insert in a hose direction of the at least one hose”, as the “length” may be optimized to the desired operational parameters through the use of routine experimentation. A person of ordinary skill in the art undertaking such experimentation would have had a reasonable expectation of success and the results would have been predictable. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
In regards to claim 19, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein an external diameter of the tubular insert decreases in the hose direction (see fig. 5 of Sell).
In regards to claim 21, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein a wall thickness of the tubular insert decreases towards an end of the tubular insert pointing in the hose direction (see fig. 5 of Sell).
In regards to claim 22, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the second couplable coupling part has at least one grommet (ex., see near 11 in fig. 2 of Oddenino) configured to receive and position an end of the at least one hose (ex., it is inherent that providing the hose within the bore 18 would meet the limitation of the claim).
In regards to claim 23, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 22, wherein the at least one hose is pressed against an inner wall of the at least one grommet by the tubular insert (see fig. 4, where there are three bores 18 that would meet the limitation of the claim; ex., see fig. 5 of Hashimoto where the step 36 is placed similarly of where the step of the barbed end would be placed in fig. 4 of Oddenino).
In regards to claim 24, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the at least one protruding pipe socket includes at least two protruding pipe sockets (see fig. 4 of Oddenino),
wherein the at least one hose comprises at least two hoses (see fig. 4 of Oddenino),
wherein the tubular insert comprises at least two tubular inserts (see fig. 5 of Sell),
wherein a respective one of the at least two tubular inserts is inserted into a respective one of the at least two hoses (see fig. 5 of Sell), and
wherein a respective one of the at least two protruding pipe sockets is introduced into a respective one of the at least two hoses (see fig. 5 of Hashimoto).
In regards to claim 25, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 24, further comprising:
at least two grommets (ex., see near barbed end 20 where each hose would have a respective grommet/step that prevents the hose from being pulled out; ex., see fig. 5 of Hashimoto where each pipe is pressed against a step),
wherein a respective one of the at least two hoses is inserted into a respective one of the at least two grommets (it is inherent that the pipes would be inserted into the grommets).
In regards to claim 26, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 25, wherein the at least two grommets are formed in a common hose block arranged in a front section of the second couplable coupling part (see fig. 2 of Oddenino).
In regards to claim 27, Oddenino further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the first and second couplable coupling parts each have guide elements (25 and 26 in fig. 1) that guide the first and second couplable coupling parts linearly relative to each other during coupling.
In regards to claim 28, Oddenino further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 17, wherein the first and second couplable coupling part have a co-operating locking mechanism (31 and 23 in fig. 1).
Claim(s) 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell as applied to claim 28 above and in further view of Foner (U.S. Patent No. 11,041,584).
In regards to claim 29, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 28,
but does not disclose:
wherein the co-operating locking mechanism has a swivel lever articulated on one of the first and second couplable coupling parts and is an angle lever with a handle part and a locking part,
wherein the locking part is configured to interact with a bolt arranged on the other of the first and second couplable coupling parts.
In regards to the swivel lever, Foner discloses a similar block coupling comprising:
a co-operating locking mechanism (entirety of the swivel mechanism in fig. 1) has a swivel lever (near 48) articulated on one of the first and second couplable coupling parts (42) and is an angle lever with a handle part (48) and a locking part (see near 46),
wherein the locking part is configured to interact with a bolt (60) arranged on the other of the first and second couplable coupling parts,
wherein “The design described in this disclosure allows the user to place the hand in only one position, flip or rotate the operating lever 100 with thumb or finger to move the pin assembly to the desired unlocked position, and then rotate the handle to disconnect the multi-coupling system, all in one position of the hand for an easy one-handed operation” (11:57-67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to replace the co-operating locking mechanism of Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell with the entire co-operating locking mechanism of Foner to provide the benefit of an easy one-handed operation because Oddenino in view of Hashimoto and Sell discloses a device which differs from the claim device by a replacement one co-operating locking mechanism for the known co-operating locking mechanism of Foner, Foner explicitly discloses that the known co-operating locking mechanism provides the benefit of an easy one-handed operation (11:57-67) and one of ordinary skill could have substituted the one known co-operating locking device for another known co-operating locking device because simply replacing one known locking mechanism for another locking mechanism would have not produced any new or unexpected results.
In regards to claim 30, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto, Sell, and Foner further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 29, wherein the locking part has a cam track (see near 54 in fig. 1 of Foner) in which the bolt is guided (see fig. 1).
In regards to claim 31, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto, Sell, and Foner further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 30, wherein the cam track has a recess (see near 64 in fig. 2 of Foner) in which the bolt is located when the first and second couplable coupling parts are coupled (see fig. 3 of Foner).
In regards to claim 32, Oddenino in view of Hashimoto, Sell, and Foner further discloses:
The quick-release hose coupling of claim 29, wherein the swivel lever is configured to latch or lock in predetermined pivot positions (ex., see lock 62 which engages hole 64 in fig. 2; ex., hole is visible in fig. 2 and is therefore configured to lock in another position).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mueller (U.S. Patent No. 7,578,451) discloses the second-best reference comprising: a quick-release hose coupling configured to connect and disconnect at least two line ends of lines for liquid or gaseous media, the quick-release hose coupling (see fig. 4 hereinafter) comprising: a first couplable coupling part (6) comprising at least one protruding pipe socket (see pipe in 6) as a first one of the at least two line ends; and a second couplable coupling part (10) configured to be mechanically coupled to the first couplable coupling part, wherein the second couplable coupling part comprises at least one hose (1011) as second one of the at least two line ends (see fig. 4), and wherein when the first and second couplable coupling parts are coupled, the at least one protruding pipe socket of the first couplable coupling part is guided through the tubular insert of the second couplable coupling part (ex., via 12” in fig. 3a), wherein a sealing surface is formed between an outer lateral surface of the at least one pipe protruding socket and an inner surface of the at least one hose (see fig. 4, where both form a sealing surface when coupled).
McGovern (U.S. Patent No. 624,367) discloses a similar ferrule of the present invention.
Nelson (U.S. Patent No. 2,798,745) discloses a similar ferrule of the present invention.
Souvatzidis et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,609,732) discloses a similar device to the present invention.
/A.T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/Matthew Troutman/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3679