DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/4/25 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
This office is in response to preliminary amendment filed on 4/4/25. Regarding the amendment, claims 1-20 are present for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 9, and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 4, the phase “insulating coating can escape on both sides” is indefinite because the term "can” creates doubts as to whether the insulating coating is in fact escape on both sides and therefore is unclear. “Can” and “capable” are not equivalents. For examination purpose, it is understood as the insulating coating escaped on both sides.
Regarding claim 9, the phase “at least one width of the sleeve can be combined with at least one width of the recess of the first end face” indefinite because the term "can” creates doubts as to whether the at least one width of the sleeve is in fact combined with at least one width of the recess of the first end face and therefore is unclear. “Can” and “capable” are not equivalents. For examination purpose, it is understood as at least one width of the sleeve combined with at least one width of the recess of the first end face.
Claim 9, line 9 recites the term “preferably” and “more preferably”. The term “preferably”, “more preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 15, the phase “the stranded wire ends are arranged over a circumferential section of at most 180º” is indefinite because it is unclear over a circumferential second of at most 180º of what? For examination purpose, it is understood at -- the stranded wire ends are arranged over a circumferential section of at most 180º of the stranded wire winding--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10, 12-16, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (US 2020/0227969 A1) in view of Hao (CN 216562571 U).
Regarding claim 1, Xu teaches a method for connecting a winding (stator winding module 20) with a carrier plate (32, 50, 52), wherein the winding (20) has a first axial end and an opposing second axial end (fig1-2), and wherein the winding (20) comprises at least two stranded wire ends (24) for electrical connection to the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) (fig 2, para [0043]) and wherein the stranded wire ends (24) protrude beyond an axial end of the winding (20, fig 1-2), are aligned substantially parallel to the axis of the winding (fig 1-2) and are distributed over at least a partial circumference of the winding (fig 1-2), and wherein the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) has a first end face facing the stranded wire ends (24) and a second end face facing away from the stranded wire ends (24) as well as a lateral surface, and wherein the first end face has recesses for receiving the stranded wire ends (24, 26, fig 5 -6), comprising the following method steps:
- combining the stranded wire end (26) and a sleeve (24) so that the sleeve (24) surrounds the stranded wire end (26) over at least part of its length, at least in sections, (fig 3, para [0045]-[0046]),
- electrically connecting the stranded wire end (26) with the sleeve (24, para [0046]),
- inserting the stranded wire end (26) fitted with the sleeve (24) into the recess in the carrier plate (32, 50, 52), wherein the winding (20) is a Litz wire (para [0045]) and the stranded wire ends (26) have individual wires (fig 3-4) and wherein after inserting the stranded wire end (26) fitted with the sleeve (24) into the recess of the carrier plate (32, 50, 52), the stranded wire ends (26) remain substantially aligned parallel to the axis of the winding (20, fig 5-6) and the sleeve (24) and the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) are electrically contacted with one another (fig 5-6 and para [0051]-[0052]).
However, Xu does not teach the insulation comprises a high-temperature-resistant coating.
Hao teaches a double flame retardant waterproof cable having a wire core conductor (1) with an insulation layer (6) wherein the insulation having a high temperature resistant coating (abstract) to ensure the high flame retardance and water resistance (abstract).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu’s method with the insulation comprises a high-temperature-resistant coating as taught by Hao. Doing so would ensure the high flame retardance and water resistance (abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches the sleeve (24) is designed as a closed sleeve (fig 2-5) and, in order to combine the sleeve (24) and the stranded wire end (26), the sleeve (24) is pushed over the stranded wire end (26) and the stranded wire end (26) is completely radially enclosed over at least part of its length (fig 3-4).
Regarding claim 3, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches the sleeve (24) is designed as a sleeve blank when combined with the stranded wire end (26), which is re-shaped into the form of a sleeve, and thus completely radially encloses the stranded wire end (26) over at least part of its length (fig 4, para [0046]).
Regarding claim 5, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches the sleeve (24) is contacted by crimping with the individual wires of the stranded wire end lying on the inner circumference ( para [0046]).
Regarding claim 6, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 16, except for an added limitation of for hot crimping the area of the stranded wire end enclosed by the sleeve is heated to 500°C to 900°C whereby the insulating coating of the individual wires of the stranded wire end is melted away.
Xu further teaches the insulating varnish of the individual wires is melted off during thermal crimping (para [0046]). However, Xu does not explicitly mention the temperatures used to do this. However, it is obvious to a person skilled in the art that the melting temperature of the insulation must be exceeded. An artisan would have ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select an appropriate melting temperature as a matter of routine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu in view of Hao with heating temperature to 500°C to 900°C as recited in the instant claimed invention. Doing so would allow the strand wires to be electrically connected together because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches for contacting, the stranded wire end (26) and the sleeve (24) are immersed in a tin bath until the insulation of the stranded wire end has melted (para [0046]-[0048]).
Regarding claim 10, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches the recesses on the first end face of the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) are designed to be open throughout to the second end face and to the lateral surface, wherein the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) and the stranded wire winding (20) are aligned with one another in such a way that the axis of the stranded wire winding (20) and the longitudinal axis of the carrier plate (32, 50, 52), which runs orthogonally to the first end face of the carrier plate (32, 50, 52), run parallel to one another, and wherein the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) and stranded wire winding (20) are aligned with one another in the axial direction in such a way that the sleeve (24) is introduced into the recess by radially displacing the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) or by radially displacing the stranded wire winding (20) or by radially displacing the sleeve (24).
Regarding claim 12, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches following the insertion of the sleeve (24) into the recess of the carrier plate (32, 50, 52), the sleeve (24) is soldered to the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) for contacting ([para [0041]).
Regarding claim 13, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches a stranded wire winding (20) produced by the method.
Regarding claim 14, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13, Xu further teaches a stranded wire end (26) comprises at least five individual wires (fig 3-4).
Regarding claim 15, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 13, Xu further teaches the stranded wire ends (26) are arranged over a circumferential section of at most 180º (fig 5).
Regarding claim 16, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 5, Xu further teaches the crimping is hot crimping (para [0046]).
Regarding claim 19, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 14, Xu further teaches the stranded wire end (26) comprises at least fifteen individual wires (fig 3-4).
Regarding claim 20, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 15, Xu further teaches the stranded wire ends (26) are arranged over a circumferential section of at most 150º of the stranded wire winding (fig 5).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Hao, further in view of Wright (US 5,517,755).
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the sleeve is open on both sides in the axial direction, so that when the stranded wire end is electrically contacted with the sleeve, insulating coating can escape on both sides.
Wright teaches a litz wire connection (10) having a plurality of individually isolated wire strands, a sleeve (20) is open on both sides in the axial direction, so that when the stranded wire end (12) is electrically contacted with the sleeve (20), insulating coating can escape on both sides (fig 4a-4b) to provide a strong mechanical connection where stress and strain at the connection point is minimized (col 3 ln 35-37).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu in view of Hao’s method with the sleeve is open on both sides in the axial direction, so that when the stranded wire end is electrically contacted with the sleeve, insulating coating can escape on both sides as taught by Wright. Doing so would provide a strong mechanical connection where stress and strain at the connection point is minimized (col 3 ln 35-37).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Hao, further in view of Takeuchi (US 11,063,486 B2).
Regarding claim 7, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, except for the added limitation of the sleeve has a first width and a second width, wherein the first and the second width are aligned orthogonally to the longitudinal axis of the stranded wire end, and wherein, after contacting the sleeve with the stranded wire end, the first width of the sleeve has a spatial extent that is at least twice as large and preferably at least four times as large as the second width of the sleeve.
Takeuchi teaches an electric machine with magnet coils having trapezoidal shape, wherein the coil comprising axial coil ends (215, 216) are received in a carrier plate (150) and are contact-connected there (fig 2A). The shape of a sleeve pressed onto the stranded wire end necessarily arises as a result of a cross-sectional shape of the stranded wire, after contacting the sleeve with the stranded wire end, the first width of the sleeve has a spatial extent that is at least twice as large and preferably at least four times as large as the second width of the sleeve (150) to increase in a coil wire density (col 2 ln 60-65).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu in view of Hao’s method with the sleeve has a first width and a second width, wherein the first and the second width are aligned orthogonally to the longitudinal axis of the stranded wire end, and wherein, after contacting the sleeve with the stranded wire end, the first width of the sleeve has a spatial extent that is at least twice as large and preferably at least four times as large as the second width of the sleeve as taught by Takeuchi. Doing so would increase in a coil wire density (col 2 ln 60-65).
Claim(s) 9 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Hao, further in view of Nakajima (JP 2020025417 A).
Regarding claims 9 and 17, Xu in view of Hao teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1, Xu further teaches the recess of the first end face of the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) has a depth which extends orthogonally from the first end face in the direction of the second end face (26), and in that wherein the recess has a first width and a second width, wherein the first width and the second width are aligned at a right angle to one another, and wherein the sleeve (24) is contacted with the carrier plate (32, 50, 52) in such a way that at least one width of the sleeve can be combined with at least one width of the recess of the first end face. However, Xu does not teach there is a clearance of at least 0.1 mm, preferably of at least 1 mm, and more preferably of at least 2 mm.
Nakajima teaches a motor (1) supplies a drive current to a coil (26) of a stator (23) via a wiring board (8). A winding (261) of the coil (26) is soldered to a land (82) in a state of being locked to a locking portion (81) of the wiring board (8). The locking portion (81) includes a first recess (811) extending from an outer peripheral end of the wiring board (8) toward an inner peripheral side and a second recess (812) connected to an end of an inner peripheral side of the first recess (811) in such a way that there is a clearance formed.
An artisan would have ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sleeve is contacted with the carrier plate in such a way that at least one width of the sleeve combined with at least one width of the recess of the first end face forming a clearance of at least 0.1 mm, preferably of at least 1 mm, and more preferably of at least 2 mm for suitable to the size of the machine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Xu in view of Hao and Nakajima’s method with the sleeve is contacted with the carrier plate in such a way that at least one width of the sleeve combined with at least one width of the recess of the first end face forming a clearance of at least 0.1 mm, preferably of at least 1 mm, and more preferably of at least 2 mm for suitable to the size of the machine because it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the record of prior art by itself or in combination with other references does not show the method wherein the recess is designed as a slot which is open towards the lateral surface of the carrier plate, wherein the alignment of the longitudinal axis of the slot in the radial direction has an angle to the circle center of the end face, wherein this angle is 30°-60° and, wherein the sleeve is inserted into the slot of the carrier plate by radial displacement and the displacement is superimposed by an additional rotary movement about the axis of the stranded wire winding or about the center of the circular end face, as recited in claim 11. Any comments considered necessary by applicant must be submitted no later than the payment of the issue fee and, to avoid processing delays, should preferably accompany the issue fee. Such submissions should be clearly labeled “Comments on Statement of Reasons for Allowance.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Muto et al. (US 2025/0325333 A1) teaches an enamel resin-insulating laminate that has a foamed region including cells and a non-foamed region including no cells on at least one surface of the foamed region, and is shaped into a flat plate form or cylindrical form, wherein the foamed region is configured such that a non-cell layer including no cells has cell layers formed of closed cells on both surface sides of the non-cell layer, a thickness of the non-cell layer is larger than a thickness of a partition wall among the closed cells, and 5 to 60% of a thickness of the foamed region, and at least the cell layer in the foamed region is formed of a thermosetting resin; an inverter surge-resistant insulated wire having a conductor and the enamel resin-insulating laminate; and electric/electronic equipment.
Kim et al. (US 2013/0043743 A1) teaches a stator of an EPS motor, the stator including a stator core including a plurality of teeth protrusively formed toward a center of an inner circumferential surface, a plurality of coils wound on the teeth at a predetermined counts, an insulator coupled to an upper surface and a bottom surface of the stator core to insulate the coil from the stator core, and an insulation tube situated nearest to a coil wound on an adjacent stator core and inserted into a coil wound on an outmost side of the teeth.
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834