DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caplan (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0161587), hereinafter referred to as Caplan.
In regard to claim 1, Caplan teaches an asynchronous system (Caplan paragraph 31 noting a precision guided ordnance system 100; and Caplan paragraph 33 noting the disclosed embodiments provide configurations and methodologies to sense the asynchronous laser pulse while receiving the background scene photons) for designating at least one target (Caplan paragraph 31 noting a seeker guided ordnance (shown as a projectile 102) may engage a target 112 by using a seeker system 104 of the ordnance/projectile 102 to detect and follow energy 106, 107 that has been reflected from the target 112 into the sensor system's field-of-view (FOV)), comprising at least one laser designator (Caplan paragraph 32 noting the target 112 may be illuminated with laser energy 108 from a laser designator 110) associated with at least one designation tracking apparatus (Caplan paragraph 32 noting the seeker system 104 must identify from among the various types of detected energy reflected laser energy 106 having the unique PRF assigned to the projectile 102 and designator 110 pair), the apparatus comprising:
an optronic device (Caplan paragraph 40 noting seeker system 104a corresponds to the seeker system 104 shown in FIG. 1, but shows additional details of how the seeker system 104 may be modified to provide a single imager 214) having:
at least one optical imaging sensor (Caplan paragraph 40 noting that reference number 214 is an imager), and
at least one imaging optic suitable for directing light rays onto a sensitive surface of the sensor ((Caplan paragraph 41 noting the imager 214 includes an optical system 216 having a lens system 215, a readout integrated circuit (ROIC) 220 and control electronics 218; and Caplan Fig. 2 showing lens 215),
a processing unit (Caplan paragraph 41 noting the imager 214 includes an optical system 216 having a lens system 215, a readout integrated circuit (ROIC) 220 and control electronics 218) configured to analyze data transmitted by the sensor in order to determine a position of at least one designation mark generated by a laser designator (Caplan paragraph 32 noting the target 112 may be illuminated with laser energy 108 from a laser designator 110) intended to be associated with the designation tracking apparatus (Caplan paragraph 32 noting the seeker system 104 must identify from among the various types of detected energy reflected laser energy 106 having the unique PRF assigned to the projectile 102 and designator 110 pair),
the sensor being an on-silicon sensor, the apparatus comprising sensor control means capable of modifying at least one parameter of the sensor in order, during operation, to image at least one designation mark generated by the laser designator per predetermined given time interval, said interval being repeated periodically (Caplan paragraph 73 noting the controller 218 controls the integration time of the sensor, the interval is repeated periodically, “Frame rate”; and Caplan paragraph 43 noting the imager 214a is configured and arranged to control the exposure timing of each pixel in the FPA 217a),
the apparatus being asynchronous with the laser designator (Caplan paragraph 33 noting the disclosed embodiments provide configurations and methodologies to sense the asynchronous laser pulse while receiving the background scene photons).
In regard to claim 3, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Caplan teaches comprising at least one spectral filtering device arranged upstream of the sensor and suitable for increasing, during operation, a ratio between radiation intensity received from the laser designator and radiation intensity received from the surrounding environment (Caplan paragraph 78 noting optical system 216 (shown in FIGS. 6a to 6d as reference numbers 216c to 216f) may include two paths for the image energy and the laser pulse energy, as illustrated in FIGS. 6a, 6b, 6c and 6d. The laser path is filtered by a conventional laser line filter (shown as elements 634a to 634d, and element 635) (not an HOE) such that the background scene radiance is reduced. A gradient index (GRIN) lens or fiber optic bundle (FOB) may be provided downstream of the line filter).
In regard to claim 5, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. In addition, Caplan teaches wherein the spectral filtering device is arranged upstream of the imaging optic and/or inside the imaging optic (Caplan paragraph 78 noting optical system 216 (shown in FIGS. 6a to 6d as reference numbers 216c to 216f) may include two paths for the image energy and the laser pulse energy, as illustrated in FIGS. 6a, 6b, 6c and 6d. The laser path is filtered by a conventional laser line filter (shown as elements 634a to 634d, and element 635) (not an HOE) such that the background scene radiance is reduced. A gradient index (GRIN) lens or fiber optic bundle (FOB) may be provided downstream of the line filter).
In regard to claim 6, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Caplan teaches wherein the control means execute at least one servo loop in order to modify the at least one parameter of the sensor on the basis of at least the data transmitted by the sensor (Caplan paragraph 73 noting the integration time is considered to be a parameter of the sensor, and the integration time is proportional and is therefore controlled by the amount of light received by the sensor).
In regard to claim 8, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Caplan teaches wherein the parameter modified by the control means is an integration time of the sensor and/or an image period of the sensor (Caplan paragraph 73 noting the integration time is considered to be a parameter of the sensor, and the integration time is proportional and is therefore controlled by the amount of light received by the sensor).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0161587), hereinafter referred to as Caplan, in view of Dimitrov et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2020/0080889), hereinafter referred to as Dimitrov.
In regard to claim 2, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Caplan does not expressly disclose wherein the sensor is a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, Dimitrov teaches wherein the sensor is a complementary metal-oxide semiconductor sensor (Dimitrov paragraph 27 noting FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an example seeker 200 including a light sensing apparatus with AGC, according to an embodiment of the present disclosure. The circuitry of the seeker 200 (including light sensing apparatus with AGC, ROIC, and processing circuits) can be fabricated, for example, as an integrated circuit (IC) using standard IC fabrication techniques such as photolithography. For example, the circuitry can be fabricated in a semiconductor fabrication technology, such as silicon-based or gallium arsenide (GaAs) based complementary metal-oxide semiconductor (CMOS), p-type MOS (PMOS), or n-type MOS (NMOS), to name a few. In addition, the laser optics can use commercially available components such as receiving optics to focus the reflected laser radiation (or other light source) and filter the desired wavelengths on an array of light sensing pixels).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Caplan with the teachings of Dimitrov because the teachings of Caplan include a seeker system that utilizes one or more forms of energy to detect, locate, and localize a target. The teachings of Dimitrov include systems that are implemented in devices such as seekers for guided smart munitions to laser designated targets. In band energy (e.g., IR laser signals) arrive at a lens and filter optic (e.g., receiving aperture) to focus the radiation of the appropriate wavelength or wavelengths onto a sensor array. Some embodiments use an asynchronous laser pulse detector. The teachings of Dimitrov provide systems to increase accuracy and prevent ghost reflections through appropriate gain control to prevent noise from impacting target designation. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Dimitrov, the teachings of Caplan include all of the limitations presented in claim 2.
Claims 4, 7, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0161587), hereinafter referred to as Caplan, in view of Ell (U.S. Publication No. 2014/0312161), hereinafter referred to as Ell.
In regard to claim 4, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. However, Caplan does not expressly disclose wherein the spectral filtering device is a spectral filtering device having a variable spectral width and/or variable attenuation.
In the same field of endeavor, Ell teaches wherein the spectral filtering device is a spectral filtering device having a variable spectral width and/or variable attenuation (Ell Figs 1-2 and paragraphs 36-37 noting the three optical filters are electrically controllable and have different spectral widths and/or their attenuations are also necessarily different).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Caplan with the teachings of Ell because the teachings of Caplan include a seeker system that utilizes one or more forms of energy to detect, locate, and localize a target. The teachings of Ell also describe dual-mode imaging seeker systems that utilize a laser designation, and provides systems that allow for improved tracking, and a structure that is easy to make and use, and provides solutions to problems in conventional imaging seekers. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Ell, the teachings of Caplan include all of the limitations presented in claim 4.
In regard to claim 7, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. However, Caplan does not expressly disclose wherein the control means also control the spectral filtering device.
In the same field of endeavor, Ell teaches wherein the control means also control the spectral filtering device (Ell Figs 1-2 and paragraphs 36-37 noting the three optical filters are electrically controllable, “switchable filter”).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Caplan with the teachings of Ell for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 4.
In regard to claim 11, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Caplan does not expressly disclose configured to acquire a target image including a designation mark and a scene image and to merge the two images.
In the same field of endeavor, Ell teaches disclose configured to acquire a target image including a designation mark and a scene image and to merge the two images (Ell Fig 4 showing active image with the designation spot, and a scene image “passive image” and to merge the two images, “full image”).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Caplan with the teachings of Ell for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 4.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caplan (U.S. Publication No. 2016/0161587), hereinafter referred to as Caplan, in view of Sherman (U.S. Publication No. 2009/0283598), hereinafter referred to as Sherman.
In regard to claim 9, Caplan teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. However, Caplan does not expressly disclose wherein the sensor comprises a function allowing for a plurality of integration times.
In the same field of endeavor, Sherman teaches wherein the sensor comprises a function allowing for a plurality of integration times (Sherman paragraph 16 noting each image that is taken with a shorter integration time (e.g., about 50 microseconds) is superimposed onto a preceding or proceeding image taken with a longer integration time (e.g., about 10 milliseconds) to form a composite image. The composite image can be used, for example, to align a laser system; and Sherman paragraph 15 noting an integration time is the length of time that an image is exposed (e.g., photons are collected) by the imager for each image. In the present invention, the integration time of the imager is varied).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Caplan with the teachings of Sherman because the teachings of Caplan include a seeker system that utilizes one or more forms of energy to detect, locate, and localize a target, and the teachings of Sherman include a system that uses multiple integration times during an alignment process of an imager for executing a laser alignment process, such as one implemented by a targeting imaging system that uses a laser designation, in order to increase accuracy and prevent misalignments from things such as vibrations, temperature, or environment. As such, modified to incorporate the teachings of Sherman, the teachings of Caplan include all of the limitations presented in claim 9.
In regard to claim 10, Caplan teaches all of the limitations presented in claim 1 as discussed above. However, Caplan does not expressly disclose wherein the laser designator is remote from the tracking apparatus or wherein the tracking apparatus is borne by the same support as the laser designator.
In the same field of endeavor, Sherman teaches wherein the laser designator is remote from the tracking apparatus or wherein the tracking apparatus is borne by the same support as the laser designator (Sherman Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, and Sherman paragraphs 17-18 noting although FIG. 1 illustrates the laser 6 and the imager 8 as separate units, it is to be understood that in alternative embodiments, the laser 6 and the imager 8 could be a single unit).
It would have been obvious, for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Caplan with the teachings of Sherman for the same reasons as discussed above in regard to claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tener et al. -- U.S. Publication No. 2010/0127174
The teachings of Tener include multi-mode detectors and detection methods that detect wavelengths of energy and provide outputs to guidance systems, such as missile guidance systems as described in the teachings of Caplan. The teachings of Tener include that the sensor systems and methods disclosed are meant to ensure accuracy and proper target acquisition, and note precise determination of beam direction. As such, one having ordinary skill in the art would be directed towards Tener to ensure accuracy and precision in target acquisition in a system such as the one disclosed by Caplan.
/TYLER B. EDWARDS/
Examiner
Art Unit 2488
/SATH V PERUNGAVOOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2488