Status of Claims
Receipt is acknowledged of Claim, filed on 04/10/2025, which has been placed of record and entered in the file.
Status of the claims:
Claims 19-37 are pending for examination.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I drawn to claims 19-34 in the reply filed on 04/15/2026 is acknowledged.
However, after further review Election/restriction requirement mailed on 02/25/2026 is withdrawn and claims 35-37 are rejoined. Consequently, Claims 19-37 are currently pending and being examined in this office action.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following features must be shown or the features canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
transverse sealing device (claim 36);
Folding device (claim 36);
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
the “gusset-folding devices” of claim 19 corresponding to the first crank-rocker gusset folding mechanism 220 thus consists of a first crank element 221 which can be rotated through 360° and a rotatable first rocker element 222 which oscillates back and forth between two end positions and the second crank-rocker mechanism 230 thus consists of a rotatable second crank element 231 and a rotatable second rocker element 232 which are connected to one another via a second coupling element or connecting element 233;
the “drive device” of claim 22 corresponding to drive device 226, 236 is provided, for example a servomotor ([0088]);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 19-22, 29-30, 32-33 and 35-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) as described in at least paragraphs [0013], [0016]-[0018, and [0024]-[0026] of the specification, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Applicant Admitted Prior Art (AAPA) in view of Umenaka et al. (US 20230113515 A1).
Note: For convenience of citation of the Applicant admitted prior art, refer to the specification of USPGPUB US 20260116609 A1. Applicant admitted prior art (AAPA) admits that various devices and methods were known for forming gussets in tubular bag packaging units ([0013]). In particular, the specification admits that a parallel-crank gusset folding mechanism 10 was known ([0016]-[0018]) and Figs. 4, 5a-5c) and that a crank-rocker gusset folding mechanism 20 was known ([0024]-[0026] and Fig. 6). The specification further admits that these mechanisms were known with a few drawbacks ([0028-[0029]).
Regarding claim 19, AAPA discloses a folding device (Fig. 4, 5a-5c, and Fig. 6) for folding a packaging film in a region of a transverse sealing seam (Q) to be formed of a packaging unit to be formed in a tubular bag packaging machine, wherein the transverse sealing seam (Q) runs substantially in a conveying plane and perpendicularly to a conveying direction of the tubular bag packaging machine (Figs. 5a-5c),
wherein the packaging unit (V) to be formed has two side surfaces (S) which run substantially in the conveying direction (F) and perpendicularly to the conveying plane of the tubular bag packaging machine (Figs. 5a-5c),
wherein the folding device (Fig. 4, 5a-5c, and Fig. 6) has two gusset-folding devices (10, 20), wherein in each case one gusset-folding device is arranged substantially outside of one side surface of the packaging unit to be formed, in the region of the transverse sealing seam to be formed (AAPA teaches of a mirrored, symmetrical arrangement on both sides of the packaging unit; [0012]),
characterized in that each of the two gusset-folding devices (Fig. 4, 5a-5c, and Fig. 6) comprises:
at least one folding finger (14), which is configured and movable in such a way that, in the region of the transverse sealing seam (Q) to be formed, the at least one folding finger (14) engages laterally from the outside into one of the side surfaces of the packaging unit to be formed, and presses the side surface (S) inwards at least partially, substantially in the direction of the transverse sealing seam (Q) to be formed, perpendicularly to the conveying direction (Figs. 5a-5c); and
at least two coupling mechanisms (11, 12, 21, 22; i.e. coupling elements of 10 and 20), wherein each coupling mechanism comprises: a movable first coupling element (11), a movable second coupling element (12), a connecting element (13), which is configured in such a manner that the connecting element (13) connects the movable first coupling element (11) and the movable second coupling element (12) to one another (Fig. 4),
wherein in each case one folding finger (14) is attached to one of the connecting elements (13) of the at least two coupling mechanisms (11, 12, 21, 22).
Wherein an argument is made that AAPA does not disclose at least two coupling mechanisms for each folding device.
Umenaka in a related invention discloses folding device (80) having two gusset folding device (11, 11, 12; Fig. 13) and comprising at least two coupling mechanisms (85a-85c, 83, 84 on each side of 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention, to modify the device of Applicant admitted prior art reference, to include at least two coupling mechanisms per gusset folding device, as taught by Umenaka, in order to allow for small movable ranges of the side portion folding plates of the folding device, and therefore the side gussets can be reliably formed ([0112]).
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the filing date of the invention to have at least two coupling mechanisms for each folding device, since it has been held that the mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Further, In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
AAPA as modified further teaches (All rejection refers to AAPA unless otherwise stated):
Regarding claim 20, wherein each of the two gusset-folding devices (10, 20) has two folding fingers (14, 14) and two coupling mechanisms (11, 12, 21, 22), wherein in each case one folding finger (14) is attached to the connecting element (13, 23) of each coupling mechanism of each gusset-folding device (Figs. 4 and 6 of AAPA).
Regarding claim 21, wherein at least one coupling mechanism (11, 12, 21, 22 of AAPA) of the at least two coupling mechanisms is configured in such a way that the first coupling element (11) and the second coupling element (12) in each case is a crank element each defining an axis (Fig. 4), wherein each crank element (11, 12) is configured in such a way that each crank element can be rotated about the respective axis through 360 degrees ([0015]), wherein the axes of the first and of the second crank elements run substantially parallel to one another and perpendicularly to the conveying plane and perpendicularly to the conveying direction of the tubular bag packaging machine (Fig. 5a-5c).
Regarding claim 22, wherein each crank element (11, 12) has a drive device, wherein each drive device (drive motor and/or overdrive; [0028] and [0015]-[0016]) is configured to control the rotation of the crank element in phases with a predetermined speed profile to accelerate or brake the crank element or to move the crank element at a constant speed ([0015]-[0016] and [0029]).
Regarding claim 29, wherein at least one coupling mechanism (11, 12, 21, 22) of the at least two coupling mechanisms is configured in such a way that the first coupling element is a crank element (21) having a first axis (Fig. 6), wherein the crank element (21) is configured to rotate about the first axis through 360 degrees ([0024]), and that the second coupling element is a rocker element (22) having a second axis (Fig. 6), wherein the rocker element (22) is configured to rotate about the second axis and oscillate back and forth between two end positions (Fig. 6), wherein the first axis of the crank element and the second axis of the rocker element run substantially parallel to one another and perpendicularly to the conveying plane and perpendicularly to the conveying direction of the tubular bag packaging machine (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 30, wherein each of the two gusset-folding devices (10, 20) has two coupling mechanisms (11, 12, 21, 22), wherein each of the two coupling mechanisms is configured in such a way that a first coupling element is a crank element (21) having a first axis (Fig. 6), wherein the crank element is configured to rotate about the first axis through 360 degrees ([0024]), and that a second coupling element is a rocker element (22) having a second axis (Fig. 6), wherein the rocker element (22) is configured to rotate about the second axis and oscillate back and forth between two end positions (Fig. 6), wherein the first axis of the crank element and the second axis of the rocker element run substantially parallel to one another and perpendicularly to the conveying plane and perpendicularly to the conveying direction of the tubular bag packaging machine (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 32, wherein each of the at least two coupling mechanisms (11, 12, 21, 22) is configured and arranged in such a manner that the first coupling elements (11), the second coupling elements (12) and the connecting elements (13) of the at least two coupling mechanisms (11, 12, 21, 22), or the folding fingers (14), respectively, assigned to the coupling mechanisms do not collide with one another during their movement (Fig. 4 and/or Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 33, wherein the first coupling elements (11), second coupling elements (12), connecting elements (13) and folding fingers (14), respectively, assigned to a first coupling mechanism (mechanism of 10) of the at least two coupling mechanisms are arranged substantially in a plane which is arranged substantially parallel to the conveying plane of the tubular bag packaging machine and which differs from a corresponding plane of a second coupling mechanism (mechanism of 20) of the at least two coupling mechanisms, in relation to the conveying plane of the tubular bag packaging machine (Figs. 4, 5a-5c and 6).
Regarding claim 35, a method for folding a packaging film in the region of a transverse sealing seam of a packaging unit to be formed in a tubular bag packaging machine ([0007]-[0012]), characterized in that the method is carried out with a folding device according to claim 19 (See claim 19 rejection above).
Regarding claim 36, A tubular bag packaging machine (Figs. 5a-5c) for forming a packaging unit containing a product from a packaging film according to claim 19 (See Claim 19 rejection above), characterized by the following features: a transverse sealing device for forming the transverse sealing seam running transversely to the conveying direction of the tubular bag packaging machine on the packaging unit; and a folding device for folding the packaging film in the region of the transverse sealing seam to be formed, wherein the folding device is arranged upstream of the transverse sealing device in the conveying direction of the tubular bag packaging machine (Figs. 1a and 5a-5c and [0007]-[0012]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23-28, 31, 34 and 37 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Notice of References Cited. Those references not relied upon are directed mainly toward the general field of gusset-folding devices. Of the prior art not relied upon, Miyazaki (US 8689531 B2; see element 18a and 18b), Cutler (3353327 A; see element 42, 30; Fig. 1, 3) are deemed to be the most relevant.
/NICHOLAS E IGBOKWE/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/ANDREW M TECCO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731