DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to the claims dated 4/4/2025.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because: figure 33 is too blurry. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
All the occurrences of “display panel” should be changed to “flexible display panel” for consistency.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KANG et al. U.S. Pub. 2017/0347466 (hereinafter D1) in view of KIM et al. U.S. Pub. 2023/0128581 (hereinafter D2).
Regarding claim 1, D1 teaches a display device comprising:
a flexible display panel (110; figure 2);
a bottom cover (120; figures 2 and 11) positioned behind the display panel (110) and to which the display panel (110) is coupled;
a driving module (150; figures 13, 14, 19 and 21) disposed at a rear (see figures 13, 14, 19 and 21) of the bottom cover (120), the driving module including a moving block (150A-B; figures 13, 14, 19 and 21) configured to perform a reciprocating motion (implicitly taught in figures 2 and 14);
a wing bracket (left H1 and right H1; figure 14) adjacent to the driving module (150) and fixed to the rear of the bottom cover (120); and
a wing (162 and 164; figures 14-15) elongated with a first end (see above annotated figure 14) fixed to the moving block (150A-B) and a second end (see above annotated figure 14) coupled to the bottom cover, the wing being pivotably coupled (see figures 14-15) to the wing bracket (left H1 and right H1; figure 14) between the first end and the second end, wherein the bottom cover (120) comprises an inner plate (inner side of 120) facing a rear surface of the display panel (110; figure 20) and to which a lateral side (implicitly taught in figure 20) of the display panel is coupled.
However, D1 does not specifically teach the inner plate comprises:
a plate part facing the rear surface of the display panel and having a long side and a short side; and
a forming part formed by being pressed rearward from the plate part, the forming part being elongated in a longitudinal direction of the short side.
D2, in the same field of endeavor, teaches a display device, having a bottom/rear cover comprising an inner plate (430; figure 4) comprises:
a plate part (120; figure 4) facing the rear surface of the display panel (110; figures 1-2) and having a long side (vertical side of 120; figure 4) and a short side (horizontal side of 120; figure 4); and
a forming part (450; figure 4) formed by being pressed (see par[0146]; “….curtain members 450 may be fixed to the curtain real frame 430…” => involves pressing) rearward from the plate part, the forming part being elongated in a longitudinal direction of the short side.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the inner plate of the display device of D1 with a plate part facing the rear surface of the display panel and having a long side and a short side; and a forming part formed by being pressed rearward from the plate part, the forming part being elongated in a longitudinal direction of the short side, as suggested by D2, for organizing and mounting internal components inside said display device.
Regarding claim 2, the modification of D1/D2 would result in the display device of claim 1, wherein the forming part (450; figure 4 of D2) is provided in plurality (see figure 4 of D2), and wherein the plurality of forming parts are spaced apart (see figure 4 of D2) from each other in a longitudinal direction (see figure 4 of D2) of the long side.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach the plurality of forming parts having different width, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide different widths for said forming parts, for forming internal mounting/organizing components/space, as desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 3, the modification of D1/D2 would result in the display device of claim 1, wherein the inner plate includes:
a first area (see above annotated figure 4 of D2) having a vertical center line of the inner plate;
a second area (see above annotated figure 4 of D2) adjacent to the first area; and
a third area (see above annotated figure 4 of D2) adjacent to the second area and opposite the first area with respect to the second area, and wherein the forming part 450 of D2) comprises:
a first forming part (450 in 1st area; see above annotated figure 4 of D2) positioned in the first area and having a first width;
a second forming part (450 in 2nd area; see above annotated figure 4 of D2) positioned in the second area and having a second width; and
a third forming part (450 in 3rd area; see above annotated figure 4 of D2) positioned in the third area.
Even though, D1/D2 does not teach the 2nd width is less than the first width and the third width less than the second width, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide different widths for said forming parts, for mounting/organizing components/space, as desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 4, D2/D2 teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein: the first forming part (450 in 1st area; figure 4 of D2) has a first depth (implicitly taught) in a thickness direction (see figure 4 of D2) of the inner plate; the second forming part (450 in 2nd area; figure 4 of D2) has a second depth (implicitly taught) in the thickness direction; and the third forming part (450 in 3rd area; figure 4 of D2) has a third depth (implicitly taught) in the thickness direction.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach the 2nd depth is less than the first depth and the 3rd depth is less than the second depth, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide different depths as claimed for mounting/organizing components/space, as desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 5, the modification of D1/D2 would result in the display device of claim 3, wherein the second forming part (450 in 2nd area; figure 4 of D2) is provided in plurality (see figure 4 of D2), wherein the plurality of second forming parts are sequentially arranged (see figure 4 of D2) along a direction from the second area to the third area.
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein the plurality of second forming parts have widths, respectively, that become smaller as the plurality of second forming parts are closer to the third area, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to derive the plurality of second forming parts have widths, respectively, that become smaller as the plurality of second forming parts are closer to the third area, for mounting/organizing components/space, as desired, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 6, the modification of D1/D2 teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the third forming part (450 in 3rd area; figure 4 of D2) is provided in plurality, and wherein the plurality of third forming parts have a same width.
Regarding claim 7, D1/D2 teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the first to third forming parts (450) are each provided in plurality (see above annotated figure 4 of D2).
Even though, D1/D2 does not specifically teach wherein a number of the third forming parts is greater than a number of the second forming parts, and wherein a number of the second forming parts is greater than a number of the first forming parts, however, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to provide the number of the third forming parts being greater than a number of the second forming parts, and wherein the number of the second forming parts being greater than a number of the first forming parts , since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working part of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 8, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose or fairly suggest the display device of claim 1, wherein the forming part comprises: a groove part forming a step with the plate part; and a tapered part connecting the plate part and an edge of the groove part, the tapered part being formed in an inclined manner.
Regarding claim 9, the prior art of record fails to teach, disclose of fairly suggest the display device of claim 3, wherein the inner plate includes: a fourth area adjacent to the first to third areas and to which a first end of the display panel is coupled; a fifth area adjacent to the first to third areas, opposite the fourth area with respect to the first to third areas, and to which a second end of the display panel is coupled; and a plurality of holes formed in the fourth area and spaced apart from each other along a longitudinal direction of the long side.
Claims 10-14 are dependent from claim 9, and therefore, are objected-but-allowable for at least the same reason.
Conclusion
/HUNG Q DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ANTHONY M HAUGHTON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841