DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art on the basis of structural differences. Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (“[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does.”) (emphasis in original). Likewise, the “[i]nclusion of the material or article worked upon by a structure being claimed does not impart patentability to the claims.” In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937 (CCPA 1963).
It is firmly rooted that because an apparatus is a structure, an apparatus must be distinguished from prior art on the basis of its structure, and where a prior art structure is inherently “capable of” performing the claimed function of the apparatus, the burden shifts to the applicant to show that the claimed function patentably distinguishes the claimed structure from the prior art structure. See, In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1478 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Hallman, 655 F.2d 212, 215 (CCPA 1981). A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harale (US 2021/0163832).
With respect to claims 1-4 and 6-15, Harale discloses a method comprising: collecting a hydrogen-rich gas stream generated as a byproduct of a petrochemical operation at a petrochemical plant; purifying the hydrogen-rich gas stream to produce a purified hydrogen gas stream; supplying the purified hydrogen gas stream to a hydrotreatment or hydrocracking unit at a refinery; collecting an ethane-rich gas stream generated as a byproduct of a refinery operation at a refinery; and supplying the ethane-rich gas stream to an ethane steam cracker at the petrochemical plant to produce ethylene (see Harale, Fig. 1; and paragraphs [0025], [0030], [0034], and [0046]). Harale necessarily discloses all of the apparatus components necessary to carry out the disclosed method as just described (see Harale, Fig. 1 and accompanying text). Moreover, with respect to claims 10, 12, 14, and 15, the claims do not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of Harale (see discussion supra at paragraphs 2 and 3). Finally, inasmuch as Harale discloses the same method carried out by the same apparatus components as claimed, then it follows that carrying out of such method by such apparatus components would necessarily (inherently) result in the same recited functional limitations of reduced hydrogen demand load, reduced natural gas consumption, and reduced carbon dioxide emission.
Claims 1-4 and 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Oprins (EP 3110926 B1).
With respect to claims 1-4 and 6-15, Oprins discloses a method comprising: collecting a hydrogen-rich gas stream generated as a byproduct of a petrochemical operation at a petrochemical plant; purifying the hydrogen-rich gas stream to produce a purified hydrogen gas stream; supplying the purified hydrogen gas stream to a hydrotreatment or hydrocracking unit at a refinery; collecting an ethane-rich gas stream generated as a byproduct of a refinery operation at a refinery; and supplying the ethane-rich gas stream to an ethane steam cracker at the petrochemical plant to produce ethylene (see Oprins, Fig. 1; and paragraphs [0034]-[0041]). Oprins necessarily discloses all of the apparatus components necessary to carry out the disclosed method as just described (see Oprins, Fig. 1 and accompanying text). Moreover, with respect to claims 10, 12, 14, and 15, the claims do not structurally distinguish the claimed apparatus from that of Oprins (see discussion supra at paragraphs 2 and 3). Finally, inasmuch as Oprins discloses the same method carried out by the same apparatus components as claimed, then it follows that carrying out of such method by such apparatus components would necessarily (inherently) result in the same recited functional limitations of reduced hydrogen demand load, reduced natural gas consumption, and reduced carbon dioxide emission.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harale (US 2021/0163832).
With respect to claims 3 and 5, see discussion supra at paragraph 6. Harale discloses wherein the hydrogen stream may be a combined hydrogen stream with a purity of 95 vol % or higher (see Harale, paragraphs [0025] and [0026]).
Claims 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oprins (EP 3110926 B1).
With respect to claims 3 and 5, see discussion supra at paragraph 6. Oprins suggests wherein the hydrogen stream may be a combined hydrogen stream with a purity of 99.9% or higher (see Oprins, paragraph [0041]) (noting that a “major portion” of the required hydrogen may be a recycle constituent).
Conclusion
/Randy Boyer/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1771