DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure does not commence on a separate sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.52(b)(4) and 1.72(b). A new abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in para. [0006] line 3, the phrase “wherein the apparatus comprises” should be deleted; and in para. [0066] line 10, “tab 172” should read “tab 172B”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4, 8, and 12-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: in line 14, “the rotor shaft” should be amended to “the rotatable shaft” to maintain consistency with the rest of the claim language
Claim 2: in line 9, “the rotor shaft” should be amended to “the rotatable shaft” to maintain consistency with the rest of the claim language
Claim 3: in lines 12-13, “the rotator shaft” and “each rotator assembly” should be amended to “the rotatable shaft” and “each rotor assembly”, respectively, and in lines 15-16, “the rotator assembly” should be amended to “the rotor assembly” to maintain consistency with the rest of the claim language
Claim 4: “to be covered” should be amended to “is covered” for grammatical correctness
Claim 8: the limitation “wherein the base of the lobe is at the same distance as the chamber walls from the center of the chamber” is redundant as this limitation has already been recited in Claim 1
Claim 12: in line 4, “have with at least one” should be amended to “have
Claim 13: in lines 6-7, “and and at least one fastener” should read “and
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the terms “a shallow slope” and “a sharp slope” in lines 8 and 10, respectively, are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The terms “shallow” and “sharp” are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, these terms will be interpreted as being measured against each other; i.e. the shallow slope of the first side will extend with a shallower angle than the sharp slope of the second side.
Further regarding Claim 1, the limitations “the interior” (line 5), “the chamber walls” (line 7), “the center” (line 7), and “the other side” (line 13) do not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 2, the limitations “the chamber’s interior” (line 5), “the center” (line 7), “the other side” (line 8), and “the edge” (line 12) do not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 3, the term “a first shallow end” in line 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “shallow” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, this limitation will be interpreted as meaning the first end is a lower height, i.e. shallower, than the second relatively higher end.
Further regarding Claim 3, the limitations “the rotor assembly’s direction of rotation” (line 7), “the chamber’s interior” (line 9), “ “the center” (line 10), and “the other side” (line 11) do not have antecedent basis in the claim. Examiner notes that at least one rotor assembly is positively recited in line 12, so for examination purposes, it will be assumed that this is the rotor assembly being referenced in “the rotor assembly’s direction of rotation”.
Regarding Claim 4, the limitations “the start”, “the next lobe’s shallow side”, and “the entire inner circumference” do not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Regarding Claim 7, the scope of the limitation “wherein said first side and said second side of said at least one lobe are symmetrical” is unclear. Claim 1, from which Claim 7 depends, recites that the first side has a shallow slope and the second side has a sharp slope, implying that the slopes of the two sides are not equal, which means that the two sides cannot be symmetrical with each other. Accordingly, Claim 7 is rendered indefinite.
Examiner note: no art has been applied to Claim 7; however, the claim as currently set forth is not deemed allowable and Applicant is required to clarify in compliance with 35 U.S.C. 112 so as to facilitate a clear understanding of the claimed invention and the protection sought.
Regarding Claim 10, the phrase "optionally" in line 8 renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Further regarding Claim 10, the limitations “the same height” and “the adjacent inner chamber wall” (both line 6) do not have antecedent basis in the claim.
Claims 5-6 and 9 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 12, the term “near the outside of the plate” in line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Further regarding Claim 12, the scope of the limitation “wherein said termination further comprises an adjustable or replaceable tip” in line 5 is unclear. Is this meant to be the same as the adjustable or replaceable tip of the vanes as positively recited in Claim 2, or is this a separate, additional tip? For examination purposes the former interpretation will be used.
Finally regarding Claim 12, the limitations “the outside” (line 2), “the rotor plate” (lines 3 and 10), and “the perpendicular vane-walls” (line 10) do not have antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes, “the rotor plate” will be interpreted as the plate positively recited in Claim 2 as being part of the rotor assembly, and “the perpendicular vane-walls” will be interpreted as the perpendicular walls which comprise the termination of the vane.
Regarding Claim 13, the term “near the outside of the plate” in line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Further regarding Claim 13, the scope of the limitation “wherein said termination further comprises an adjustable or replaceable tip” in lines 3-4 is unclear. Is this meant to be the same as the adjustable or replaceable tip of the vanes as positively recited in Claim 2, or is this a separate, additional tip? For examination purposes the former interpretation will be used.
Finally regarding Claim 13, the limitations “the outside” (line 2), “the vane wall or vane walls” (line 5), “the perpendicular vane-walls” (line 8), and “the rotor plate” (line 8) do not have antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes, “the vane wall or vane walls” will be interpreted as the wall or series of adjacent walls which comprise the termination of the vane, and “the rotor plate” will be interpreted as the plate positively recited in Claim 2 as being part of the rotor assembly. It is noted that the wall or series of adjacent walls is not recited as being perpendicular to any given component of the apparatus; nevertheless, based on the rest of the disclosure, for examination purposes “the perpendicular vane-walls” will be interpreted as referring to the wall or series of adjacent walls recited in lines 2-3 of Claim 13.
Regarding Claim 14, the term “near the outside of the plate” in line 2 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “near” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Further regarding Claim 14, the scope of the limitation “wherein said termination further comprises an adjustable or replaceable tip” in line 5 is unclear. Is this meant to be the same as the adjustable or replaceable tip of the vanes as positively recited in Claim 2, or is this a separate, additional tip? For examination purposes the former interpretation will be used.
Finally regarding Claim 14, the limitations “the outside” (line 2), “the height” (line 3), “the tip’s total height and sides” (line 8), “the outer dimensions” (line 9), “the partial vane walls” (line 11), and “the rotor plate” (line 11) do not have antecedent basis in the claim. For examination purposes, “the partial vane walls” will be interpreted as the partial-wall or series of adjacent partial-walls which comprise the termination of the vane, and “the rotor plate” will be interpreted as the plate positively recited in Claim 2 as being part of the rotor assembly.
Claims 11 and 15-16 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon Claim 2, and Claims 17-20 are rejected by virtue of their dependence upon Claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 9, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ebels et al., hereinafter Ebels (US 2017/0252751).
Regarding Claim 1, Ebels discloses (Figures 1-4) an apparatus (apparatus 21) for pulverizing wet or dry material into relatively smaller components, wherein the apparatus comprises: a housing (housing 25) defining an enclosed chamber (chamber 27), wherein the chamber has at least one inlet (inlet 29) through which material may enter the chamber and at least one outlet (outlet 31) through which material may exit the chamber, and wherein the interior of the chamber is circumferentially arrayed with at least one lobe (tabs 65) that extends inwards from the chamber walls (circumferential wall 55) towards the center of the chamber (clearly seen in Figure 3), wherein the at least one lobe has a first side that extends with a shallow slope from a base of the at least one lobe to a top of the at least one lobe, and a second opposite side that extends with a sharp slope down to the base of the at least one lobe (see Annotated Figure 3 below), wherein the base of the at least one lobe is at the same distance as the chamber walls from the center of the chamber (clearly seen in Annotated Figure 3 below); a rotatable shaft (rotatable shaft 33) crossing from one side of the chamber to the other side; at least one rotor assembly coupled to the rotor shaft, wherein each rotor assembly includes a plate or series of plates (frequency turbine plates 35), wherein said plates have a series of vanes (vanes 111) affixed which extend across the plates and terminate in a vane tip (outer edges of vanes 111); and a motor (motor 75) operatively connected to the rotatable shaft and adapted to spin the rotor assembly ([0027] lns 1-5).
Ebels Annotated Figure 3
Regarding Claim 3, Ebels discloses (Figures 1-4) an apparatus (apparatus 21) for pulverizing wet or dry material into relatively smaller components, wherein the apparatus comprises: a housing (housing 25) defining an enclosed chamber (chamber 27), wherein the chamber has at least one inlet (inlet 29) through which material may enter the chamber and at least one outlet (outlet 31) through which material may exit the chamber, and wherein said chamber has a ramp (convex portion 49 of upper surface 45) leading to the inlet ([0022] lns 3-8), wherein the ramp has a first shallow end (outer circumference 47; [0022] lns 3-5: outer circumference 47 is the shallow end of the slope constituting convex portion 49 from the reference point of upper surface 45) pointing opposite to the rotor assembly's direction of rotation (at least part of outer circumference 47 points opposite to direction of rotation of the frequency turbine plates 35), and a second relatively higher end (lower edges 85 on bottom ends 77 of tubes 51; [0022] lns 6-8) pointing in the direction of the rotor assembly's direction of rotation (at least part of bottom ends 77 points in the direction of rotation of the frequency turbine plates 35), and wherein the interior of the chamber is circumferentially arrayed with at least one lobe (tabs 65) that extends inwards from the chamber walls (circumferential wall 55) towards the center of the chamber (clearly seen in Figure 3); a rotatable shaft (rotatable shaft 33) crossing from one side of the chamber to the other side; at least one rotor assembly coupled to the rotator shaft, wherein each rotor assembly includes a plate or series of plates (frequency turbine plates 35), wherein said plates have a series of vanes (vanes 111) affixed which extend across the plates and terminate in a vane tip (outer edges of vanes 111); and a motor (motor 75) operatively connected to the rotatable shaft and adapted to spin the rotator assembly ([0027] lns 1-5).
Regarding Claim 5, Ebels discloses (Figure 3) the chamber (chamber 27) has between seven and twelve wavelike lobes (tabs 65; Figure 3 shows ten tabs 65 of varying embodiments).
Regarding Claim 6, Ebels discloses (Figure 3) the chamber (chamber 27) has a plurality of lobes (tabs 65), and at least one of the lobes is set to a different height relative to the rest of the lobes (clearly seen in Figure 3).
Regarding Claim 9, Ebels discloses (Figures 1-4) the rotor assembly (frequency turbine plates 35) rotates between 2,500 and 10,000 RPM ([0053] lns 11-13).
Regarding Claim 18, Ebels discloses (Figures 1-4) the rotor assembly (frequency turbine plates 35) rotates between 2,500 and 10,000 RPM ([0053] lns 11-13).
Regarding Claim 19, Ebels discloses (Figure 2) the ramp's (convex portion 49) relatively higher end (lower edges 85 on bottom ends 77 of tubes 51) terminates in a curved partial circle shape (clearly seen in Figure 2) that matches a circumference of the chamber's inlet (inlet 29 having tube 51), and wherein the ramp is placed adjacent to the inlet ([0022] lns 5-8).
Regarding Claim 20, Ebels discloses (Figure 2) the ramp's (convex portion 49) relatively higher end (lower edges 85 on bottom ends 77 of tubes 51) terminates in a ring shape portion (bottom ends 77) with walls as high as the ramp's higher end ([0044] ln 7: the walls of the ring shape portion, i.e. bottom ends 77, are as high as the edges 85), and wherein the ring shape portion of the ramp fits over the chamber's inlet (bottom ends 77 are the same shape as the tubes 51 of inlet 29, therefore bottom ends 77 are considered to “fit over” the inlet).
Claims 2, 12-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stelk (US 5,169,077, provided by Applicant).
Regarding Claim 2, Stelk discloses (Figures 1-4) an apparatus for pulverizing wet or dry material into relatively smaller components, wherein the apparatus comprises: a housing defining an enclosed chamber (fragmentizing chamber 10), wherein the chamber has at least one inlet (inlet 34) through which material (material 32) may enter the chamber and at least one outlet (spaces 34 between grate bars 30) through which material may exit the chamber, and wherein the chamber's interior is circumferentially arrayed with at least one lobe (grate bars 30) that extends inwards towards the center of the chamber; a rotatable shaft (drive shaft 16) crossing from one side of the chamber to the other side; at least one rotor assembly (rotary hammer assembly 12) coupled to the rotor shaft, wherein each rotor assembly includes a plate or series of plates (spider assemblies 14), wherein said plates have a series of vanes (arms 15) affixed which extend across the plates, wherein each vane has an adjustable or removable tip (protective cap 22) at the edge of the plate; and a motor operatively connected to the rotatable shaft and adapted to spin the rotor assembly (col. 3 lns 31-33).
Regarding Claim 12, Stelk discloses (Figures 1-4) the vanes (arms 15) in the rotor assembly (rotary hammer assembly 12) terminate near the outside of the plate (spider assembly 14), and said termination comprises of at least two walls (spaced walls on either side of slot 48) placed perpendicular to a circumference of the rotor plate (the walls extend in a direction perpendicular to the circumference of spider assembly 14), wherein said walls have at least one hollow space (slot 48) between them, and wherein said termination further comprises an adjustable or replaceable tip (protective cap 22) which comprises: at least one tab or wall (web 86) sized to fit into the beforementioned space or spaces between the perpendicular walls of the vane's terminating end (col. 4 lns 61-63); and at least one fastener (hammer shaft 20) which extends through the vane-tip and at least one of the list comprising: the perpendicular vane-walls and the rotor plate (col. 4 lns 63-66).
Regarding Claim 13, Stelk discloses (Figures 1-4) the vanes (arms 15) in the rotor assembly (rotary hammer assembly 12) terminate near the outside of the plate (spider assembly 14), and said termination comprises of a wall or series of adjacent walls (spaced walls on either side of slot 48), and wherein said termination further comprises an adjustable or replaceable tip (protective cap 22) which comprises: at least one tab or wall (web 86) sized to fit around or between the vane wall or vane walls (col. 4 lns 61-63); and at least one fastener (hammer shaft 20) which extends through the vane-tip and at least one of the list comprising: the perpendicular vane-walls and the rotor plate (col. 4 lns 63-66).
Regarding Claim 14, Stelk discloses (Figures 1-4) the vanes (arms 15) in the rotor assembly (rotary hammer assembly 12) terminate near the outside of the plate (spider assembly 14), and said termination comprises of a partial-wall or series of adjacent partial-walls (spaced walls on either side of slot 48) that are shorter than the height of the vane (clearly seen in Figure 4), and wherein said termination further comprises an adjustable or replaceable tip (protective cap 22) which comprises: at least one tab or wall (shroud 78 with inside surface configuration 80 and web 86) sized to fit around, between, and on top of the vane's terminating partial walls to cause the tip's total height and sides to match and sit flush with the outside dimensions of the vanes (clearly seen in Figure 3); and at least one fastener (hammer shaft 20) which extends through the vane-tip and at least one of the list comprising: the partial vane walls and the rotor plate (col. 4 lns 63-66).
Regarding Claim 16, Stelk discloses (Figures 1-4) the replaceable or adjustable tips (protective caps 22) are comprised of a substance selected from a wear element or a member of the group consisting of carbide, steel, iron, rubber, aluminum, titanium, and polymer (col. 3 lns 58-60: protective caps 22 are made of wear-resistant steel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 10, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ebels.
Regarding Claim 4, Ebels discloses (Figure 3) that the chamber (chamber 27) has a plurality of lobes (tabs 65) arranged in a series, but does not explicitly disclose that in said series, the base of one lobe is the start of the next lobe’s shallow side, such that the entire inner circumference of the chamber is covered with lobes. However, it is stated that the arrangement of the plurality of lobes can have any spacing, shape, or sizing so long as an asymmetric arrangement is achieved ([0051] lns 1-20), which produces a particular set of vibrational frequencies in the material processing zone of the chamber during operation ([0007] lns 16-20). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the plurality of lobes in the apparatus disclosed by Ebels such that they are arranged in a series wherein the base of one lobe is the start of the next lobe's shallow side, such that the entire inner circumference of the chamber to be covered with lobes, for operations in which this configuration would yield a desirable set of vibrational frequencies.
Regarding Claim 8, Ebels does not explicitly disclose an embodiment of the at least one lobe in which the second opposite side extends down at a ninety-degree angle toward the base of the lobe, but does disclose that the lobes (tabs 65) may assume any of a number of different forms ([0050] lns 1-3). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the at least one lobe in the apparatus disclosed by Ebels such that the second opposite side extends down at a ninety-degree angle toward the base of the lobe, wherein the base of the lobe is at the same distance as the chamber walls from the center of the chamber, for operations in which this lobe shape would yield desirable results in the pulverized material.
Regarding Claim 10, Ebels is silent to the dimensions of the spacing between the top of the at least one lobe and the circumference of the vane tip and between the base of the lobes and the circumference of the vane tips. Examiner notes that the criticality provided by the Applicant for the claimed spacing ranges is that these spacings allow shockwaves to be generated when the rotor assembly is rotated, which pulverizes the material (see para. [0044]-[0047] of the Applicant’s specification), which is the same function performed by the arrangement of lobes and vanes in the apparatus disclosed by Ebels (see para. [0028] and [0055]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus disclosed by Ebels such that the top of the at least one lobe extends towards the center of the chamber at a range of height greater or equal to one-thousandth of an inch, but less than an inch, from a circumference of the vane tip, and wherein the base of the lobes, which are set at the same height as the adjacent inner chamber wall, are each at a range of distance within the range of one-quarter of an inch to five inches from the rotating vane tip's circumference or optionally from the rotating plate's circumference, in order to perform the same function of generating shockwaves to pulverize the material being processed.
Regarding Claim 17, Ebels is silent to the dimensions of the spacing between a top of the at least one lobe and the circumference of the vane tip and between the base of the lobes and the circumference of the vane tips. Examiner notes that the criticality provided by the Applicant for the claimed spacing ranges is that these spacings allow shockwaves to be generated when the rotor assembly is rotated, which pulverizes the material (see para. [0044]-[0047] of the Applicant’s specification), which is the same function performed by the arrangement of lobes and vanes in the apparatus disclosed by Ebels (see para. [0028] and [0055]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus disclosed by Ebels such that the at least one lobe defines a top that extends towards the center of the chamber at a range of height wherein the top of the at least one lobe is greater or equal to one thousandth of an inch, but less than an inch, from a circumference of the vane tip, and wherein the at least one lobe defines a base at a range of distance within the range of one-quarter of an inch to five inches from the circumference of the vane tip, in order to perform the same function of generating shockwaves to pulverize the material being processed.
Claims 11 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stelk.
Regarding Claim 11, Stelk is silent to the dimensions of the spacing between a top of the at least one lobe and the circumference of the vane tip and between the base of the lobes and the circumference of the vane tips. However, one skilled in the art would understand that the desired degree to which the material will be pulverized (i.e. the desired particle size of the end product) will inform the dimensions of the components of the apparatus and the spacings therebetween. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus disclosed by Stelk such that the at least one lobe defines a top that extends towards the center of the chamber at a range of height wherein the top of the at least one lobe is greater or equal to one thousandth of an inch, but less than an inch, from a circumference of the vane tips, and wherein the at least one lobe defines a base at a range of distance within the range of one-quarter of an inch to five inches from the circumference of the vane tips, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine mechanical optimization to achieve the desired particle size and does not in itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering practices.
Regarding Claim 15, Stelk is silent to the speed with which the rotor assembly rotates. However, one skilled in the art would understand that the characteristics of the material being pulverized (e.g. type of material, size of initial pieces, etc.) and operating parameters of the apparatus (e.g. feed speed, desired particle size, etc.) will determine the optimal rotation speed of the rotor assembly. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to design the apparatus disclosed by Stelk such that the rotor assembly rotates between 2,500 and 10,000 RPM, because such selection or determination would be the result of routine mechanical optimization and does not in itself warrant patentability, as one would arrive at such optimization through routine engineering practices.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lecher (US 2,709,552) discloses a pulverizing apparatus comprising all the limitations of Claims 2, 12-13, and 15.
Graham et al. (US 7,429,008) discloses a pulverizing apparatus comprising a rotor assembly having vanes with removable tips.
/TERESA A GUTHRIE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725