DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-10 and 12 remain pending and are ready for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2025, was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 2 recite limitation “the scale category is selected from a group of scale categories, the group of scale categories including:”.
Claims 7 recite limitation “the first scale category and the second scale category are selected from a group of scale categories, the group of scale categories including:”.
The above limitations are Markush grouping that has been incorrectly claimed.
See MPEP 2173.05(h), where a proper Markush-type limitation has the following format: “...alternatives may be set forth as "a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, and C" or "wherein the material is A, B, or C"”. This limitation uses “comprising”, therefore it’s not a proper Markush limitation where you can pick one of the alternatives. According to the same MPEP section, “If a Markush grouping requires a material selected from an open list of alternatives (e.g., selected from the group "comprising" or "consisting essentially of" the recited alternatives), the claim should generally be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite because it is unclear what other alternatives are intended to be encompassed by the claim.
Correction Example:
Claims 2 “the scale category is selected from a group of scale categories, the group of scale categories consisting:”.
Claims 7 “the first scale category and the second scale category are selected from a group of scale categories, the group of scale categories consisting:”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 8 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casavant et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20220199194 A1 (Hereinafter “Casavant”).
Regarding claim 1, Casavant discloses A computing device configured to store one or more multiscale models of chemical kinetics, the computing device comprising:
a processor; a memory; and programming in the memory, wherein execution of the programming by the processor configures the computing device to implement functions (para. [0047, 0092-0093]), including functions to:
receive an input model of chemical kinetics (a cellular metabolic sub-model 210 with any number of sub-models which input and/or output with other sub-models or the cellular metabolic sub-model; the reaction (kinetics) network includes input molecule nodes; para [0026], [0027], [0031], [0034]);
categorize the input model with a scale category (by categorizing molecule nodes according to the number of edges into and out of each node, the reaction network can be condensed and simplified; the reaction classification module classifies a reaction into a category of reactions sharing similar reaction rates; reactions may also be classified in part based on the type of reaction; para [0053], [0073]);
test the input model based on a quality test (the use of the long timescale model for a single "test", also referred to as a single "simulation"; multiple simulations can be run using model 410 in series or in parallel using different sets of initial molecules along with the specification of other simulation parameters; para [0063]);
extract metadata from the input model (the input anchor may contain metadata linking it to the membrane transport pathway, or other cellular mechanism from which it is sourced to the reaction network; para [0041]);
store the input model based on the scale category and results of the quality test (edges 312 and 326 (computing device nodes) may store metadata further specifying the details of the chemical reactions (kinetics) within the reaction network; by categorizing molecule nodes according to the number of edges into and out of each node, the reaction network can be condensed and simplified; the reaction classification module classifies a reaction into a category of reactions sharing similar reaction rates; reactions may also be classified in part based on the type of reaction; para [0047], [0053], [0073]);
receive a request for the one or more multiscale models of chemical kinetics ,including one or more requested metadata (a cellular metabolic sub-model 210 with any number of sub-models which input and/or output with other sub-models or the cellular metabolic sub-model; store metadata further specifying the details of the chemical reactions (kinetics) within the reaction network, and store metadata further specifying the details of the chemical reactions (kinetics) within the reaction network; para [0026], [0047] ); and
transmit the input model or a portion thereof in response to the request, based on a match between the one or more requested metadata and the extracted metadata (edges may store metadata further specifying the details of the chemical reactions within the reaction network; provide the reaction classification module uses the set of reaction rates (metadata) to categorize similar (match) reaction rates (extracted metadata) into one of a number of reaction classes; para [0047], [0076]).
Claims 6 are rejected under the same rationale as claims 2-7. Note that claim 6 contain multi request “first”/”second” which discloses by Casavant.
Regarding claim 8, Casavant further discloses wherein the first input model and the second input model in response to the request are transmitted as a combined multiscale model of chemical kinetics (determining the strain on a cell wall using two models; the use of the long timescale model for a single "test", also referred to as a single "simulation"; multiple simulations can be run using model 410 in series or in parallel using different sets of initial molecules along with the specification of other simulation parameters; Abstract & para [0063]).
Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under the same rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casavant et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20220199194 A1 (Hereinafter “Casavant”) in view of MA et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20210162371 A1 (Hereinafter “MA”).
Regarding claim 2, Casavant fails to explicitly disclose the limitations below.
MA discloses wherein: the scale category is selected from a group of scale categories, the group of scale categories including:
i) an electronic structure calculation category (electronic structure calculations; para [0265]);
ii) multiscale modeling thermochemistry category (model with isotropic thermal parameters: para [0263]); or
iii) a microkinetic modeling category (model with isotropic thermal parameters: electronic structure calculations; para [0263], [0265]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Casavant to include the missing limitations, as taught by MA, for the purpose of providing the development of efficient and effective separation processes.
Claim 7 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casavant et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20220199194 A1 (Hereinafter “Casavant”) in view of Redlich et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20090254572A1 (Hereinafter “Redlich”).
Regarding claim 3, Casavant fails to explicitly disclose the limitations below.
Redlich discloses wherein the input model is stored in an original format (the data stream format is typically preserved intact to allow for workflow processing without abends, interrupts, or crashes; even metadata are typically preserved to retain the original format; para [0702]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Casavant to include the missing limitations, as taught by Redlich, for the purpose of providing the data stream format is typically preserved intact in order to allow for workflow processing without abends, interrupts, or crashes.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casavant et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20220199194 A1 (Hereinafter “Casavant”) in view of Cheatham et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20180254109 (Hereinafter “Cheatham”).
Regarding claim 4, Casavant fails to explicitly disclose the limitations below.
Cheatham discloses wherein testing the input model based on a quality test further comprises:
identifying a calculation type associated with the input model (input models, hierarchical object models that describe hierarchical elements of the reactor core, deterministic models, stochastic (calculation type) models among other types of models that may reflect the operation of the core in multiple dimensions; para [0017]));
running the quality test based on a correspondence to the input model and the identified calculation type (input models, hierarchical object models that describe hierarchical elements of the reactor core, deterministic models, stochastic (calculation type) models among other types of models that may reflect the operation of the core in multiple dimensions; para [0017]); and
reporting an assessment of a result from the quality test (input files, output files, models and reports among other data elements; para [0072]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Casavant to include the missing limitations, as taught by Cheatham, for the purpose of allowing the system to be capable of determining one or more optimal assembly moves.
Claims 5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casavant et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20220199194 A1 (Hereinafter “Casavant”) in view of JANG et al., U.S. Pub No: US 20150142398 (Hereinafter “JANG ”).
Regarding claim 5, Casavant fails to explicitly disclose the limitations below.
JANG discloses wherein:
the one or more multiscale models of chemical kinetics comprise multiscale models of heterogenous catalysis (instructing an energy model for a molecular system; chemically reactive systems and non-adiabatic systems. General areas of application include: heterogenous catalysis; require usage of some input/output device (1130), such as inputting data; para [0020], [0130], [0156]); and the input model of chemical kinetics comprises a model of heterogenous catalysis (Instructing an energy model for a molecular system; chemically reactive systems and non-adiabatic systems; modeling" used herein is a software construct of a molecular system; a model contains numerous variables that characterize the system being studied; general areas of application include: heterogenous catalysis; require usage of some input/output device (1130), such as inputting data; para [0020], [0043], [0130], [0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the system of Casavant to include the missing limitations, as taught by JANG, for the purpose of providing subsystems treated with more computationally costly mean-field methods than the other subsystems in the molecular system.
Claim 9 is rejected under the same rationale as claim 5.
Conclusion
/MAHER N ALGIBHAH/Primary Examiner , Art Unit 2165