DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2026 and 08/04/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: It appears the comma is missing at the end of the preamble. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-10, and 12-21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim is indefinite as it is unclear if the claim is to an intermediate product or meant to be product by process by claiming a slurry is present in the board. Additionally, it is unclear what standard the configured to improve is meant to be measured against, there appears to be an unclaimed comparison, and how a slurry would lead to such improvements.
Claims 2-3, 5-10 and 12-19 are dependent on claim 1 and thus are rejected for the same reasons. Additionally, claims 2-3, 5, 7, 12, 15 and 18 have further limitations to intermediate or product by process limitations that are not clearly claimed as the board is not expected to comprise solutions or slurries in its final form and thus are rejected in addition to the reasons for claim 1.
Regarding claim 3, it is unclear if the ratio is by volume or weight or some other measure.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear if the “%” is by volume or weight or some other measure
Regarding claim 7, it is unclear if the “%” is by volume or weight or some other measure.
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "including" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Additionally, it is unclear if those examples of glass fibers are meant to further limit the general limitation of glass fibers.
Regarding claim 12, it currently depends on claim 11, which is a canceled claim. For the sake of examination, it will be considered to depend on claim 1. Claim 12 recites the limitation "the gypsum core" in the second line of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, it is unclear how the polymeric foam can comprise the hollow glass bubbles or expandable microspheres unless it is a polymeric foam that further comprises hollow glass bubbles or expandable microspheres.
Regarding claim 19, the reference to outer layer is unclear as there is no article and thus it is unclear if the board further comprises an outer layer or if the outer layer is one of the top or bottom layers. Further it is noted the article is missing for glass mat, it appears it should be “a glass mat, …”.
Regarding claim 20, it is unclear what standard the configured to improve is meant to be measured against, there appears to be an unclaimed comparison, and how a slurry would lead to such improvements.
Regarding claim 21, the claim is indefinite as it is unclear if the claim is to an intermediate product or meant to be product by process by claiming a slurry or soap solution is present in the board. Additionally, it is unclear what standard the configured to improve is meant to be measured against, there appears to be an unclaimed comparison, and how a slurry would lead to such improvements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 8 does not further limit claim 7, as claim 7 depends on claim 6 which has same requirement. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9, 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis.
Claims 1-3, 5-10, 12-21 define the product by how the product was made. Thus, claims are product-by-process claims. For purposes of examination, product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulation of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps. See MPEP 2113.
Regarding claim 1, Karakoussis teaches a plasterboard with improved nail pull resistance [Title, Abstract]. The board comprises a stucco layer from a slurry [Pg. 1 lines 12-27, Pg. 3 lines 3-16, Tables 2-3, Pgs. 19-20, samples 6-7]. The stucco layer further comprising a polymer foam [Tables 2-3, Pgs. 19-21, samples 6-7]. The board further comprises fiber mat liners to cover each side of the board [Pg. 19].
Claim 1 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising a polymer foam. The reference suggests such a product.
Regarding claim 2, Karakoussis further teaches a plasterboard comprising a gypsum layer that further comprises a surfactant/soap [Pg. 21, Table 4- sample 10]. Here the combination of layers A+B are considered the gypsum layer.
Claim 2 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising a surfactant. The reference suggests such a product.
Regarding claim 9, Karakoussis further teaches the fibers comprise glass or cellulose [Pg. 7 lines 16-18].
Regarding claim 18, Karakoussis further teaches the gypsum layer comprises polymer foam and thus has a plurality of voids/bubbles [Tables 2-3, Pgs. 19-21, samples 6-7].
Claim 18 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising bubbles or voids. The reference suggests such a product.
Regarding claim 19, Karakoussis further teaches the outer layer is a fiber mat of glass fibers (i.e., a glass mat) [Pg. 7 lines 16-18]
Regarding claim 20, Karakoussis teaches a method of making a gypsum board comprising forming a gypsum layer from a gypsum slurry on a first mat and then positioning a second mat on top of the gypsum layer. The layer is configured to at least improve nail pull resistance [Pgs. 8-9, 18-21, Tables 2-3 samples 5-7].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis.
Regarding claim 21, Karakoussis teaches a plasterboard with improved nail pull resistance [Title, Abstract]. The board comprises a stucco layer from a slurry [Pg. 1 lines 12-27, Pg. 3 lines 3-16, Tables 2-3, Pgs. 19-20, sample 5-7]. The stucco layer further comprises a surfactant [Tables 2-3, Pgs. 19-21, sample 5, Table 4 sample 8]. The board further comprises fiber mat liners to cover each side of the board [Pg. 19]. Karakoussis further teaches that fibers may be added to reinforce the core [Pg. 6 lines 20-28]. The core has increased nail pull resistance [Table 4-5, Pgs. 21-22, 24].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added fibers to the core of Karakoussis. One would have been motivated to do so as Karakoussis teaches the fibers increase the strength of the core.
Claim 21 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum core comprising reinforced fibers and soap/surfactant. The reference suggests such a product.
Claims 3, 5-8, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis, as applied to claim 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, Claim 3 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising polymer and soap/surfactant. The reference suggests such a product.
Karakoussis does not teach the ratio of the soap to polymer. However, the amounts of the polymer and the surfactant effect the physical properties of the layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the ratio of polymer to soap/surfactant for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
It has been held that the discovery of the optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill in the art. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 5, Claim 5 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising polymer and soap/surfactant. The reference suggests such a product.
Karakoussis does not teach the ratio of the soap to polymer. However, the amounts of the polymer and the surfactant effect the physical properties of the layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the ratio of polymer to soap/surfactant for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
It has been held that the discovery of the optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill in the art. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 6, Claim 6 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising polymer foam. The reference suggests such a product.
Karakoussis does not teach the amount of foam polymer in terms of lbs/msf. However, the amount of the polymer foam effect the physical properties of the layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of polymer foam for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
It has been held that the discovery of the optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill in the art. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 7, Claim 7 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising polymer and soap/surfactant. The reference suggests such a product.
Karakoussis does not teach the ratio of the soap to polymer. However, the amounts of the polymer and the surfactant effect the physical properties of the layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the ratio of polymer to soap/surfactant for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
It has been held that the discovery of the optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill in the art. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 8, Claim 8 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer comprising polymer foam. The reference suggests such a product.
Karakoussis does not teach the amount of foam polymer in terms of lbs/msf. However, the amount of the polymer foam effect the physical properties of the layer.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of polymer foam for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
It has been held that the discovery of the optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill in the art. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 12, Claim 12 appears to be a product by process claim. In the present case, the recited steps imply a structure having gypsum layer having fiber mats as cover layers. The reference suggests such a product.
Karakoussis does not teach the amount of fiber mats terms of lbs/msf. However, the amount of the fiber effect the physical properties of the panel.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to adjust the amount of fibers for the intended application, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
A particular parameter can be recognized as a result-effective variable, i.e., a variable which achieves a recognized result, and the determination of the optimum or workable ranges of said variable might be characterized as routine experimentation (see MPEP 2144.05.II.B.).
It has been held that the discovery of the optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill in the art. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Regarding claim 14, Karakoussis further teaches the polymer foam comprises poly-vinyl alcohol [Pg. 4 lines 17-20].
Karakoussis differs from claim 14 by teaching poly-vinyl alcohol in a list of possible protective layers, such that it cannot be said that the poly-vinyl alcohol species is anticipated.
However, it would have been obvious of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have employed any of the polymers taught by Karakoussis, including poly-vinyl alcohol. The motivation for doing so is that the “selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use [supports] a prima facie obviousness determination.” See MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN114380566A), herein Wang.
The Examiner has provided a machine translation of (CN114380566A). The citation of the prior art in this rejection refers to the machine translation.
Regarding claim 10, Karakoussis teaches the fibers may be synthetic fibers in the layer but does not expressly teach they are polypropylene fibers [Pg. 6 lines 26-29, Pg. 7 lines 12-18] .
Wang teaches a gypsum board [lines 18-20]. The board comprises polypropylene or glass fibers [lines 97-98, 192-195].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the polypropylene fibers of Wang as the fibers of Karakoussis. One would have been motivated to do so as Wang teaches the polypropylene fibers are conventionally known for use in gypsum boards and thus one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 15, Karakoussis does not expressly teach that the polymeric foam is a styrene-butadiene co-polymer.
Wang teaches a gypsum board [lines 18-20]. The foamed board comprises polymers such styrene-butadiene or polyvinyl acetate [lines 93-95].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the styrene-butadiene copolymer of Wang as the polymer of Karakoussis. One would have been motivated to do so as Wang teaches the styrene-butadiene copolymers are conventionally known for use in gypsum boards and thus one would have had a reasonable expectation of success
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (CN114380566A), herein Wang and Louzi et al. (Corona treatment applied to synthetic polymeric monofilaments (PP, PET, and PA-6), herein Louzi.
Regarding claim 13, Karakoussis teaches the fibers may be synthetic fibers in the layer but does not expressly teach they are polypropylene fibers that are corona treated [Pg. 6 lines 26-29, Pg. 7 lines 12-18] .
Wang teaches a gypsum board [lines 18-20]. The board comprises polypropylene or glass fibers [lines 97-98, 192-195].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the polypropylene fibers of Wang as the fibers of Karakoussis. One would have been motivated to do so as Wang teaches the polypropylene fibers are conventionally known for use in gypsum boards and thus one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Wang does not teach that the fibers are corona-treated.
Louzi teaches corona-treated polypropylene (PP) fibers [Title]. Louzi teaches the treatment improves the wettability of the fibers [Abstract].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the corona treatment of Louzi on the PP fibers of Karakoussis. One would have been motivated to do so as Louzi teaches the treatment improves the wettability of the fibers.
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KARAKOUSSIS et al. (WO 2022/135734 A1) [IDS dated 08/04/2025], herein Karakoussis, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lu et al. (US 20190062215 A1), herein Lu.
Regarding claims 16-17, Karakoussis does no teach a polymer matrix layer over the top of the gypsum board and between the fiber mat.
Lu teaches a gypsum board with a polymer-based interface/coating layer (18) between the cover sheet and the gypsum core [Abstract, 0019, 0048, 0088-0090, 0182-0184, Fig, 1A]. The polymer is present at 0.1 lbs/MSF to about 35 lbs/MSF [0049, 0090]. This overlaps the claimed range. Lu teaches the coating layer is used to strengthen the board [Abstract, 0189].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have used the strengthening layer of Lu in the panel Karakoussis. One would have been motivated to do so as Lu teaches the interface layer improves the strength of the board.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784