DETAILED ACTION
Claim status
2. Claims 11-28 are currently pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claims 23-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the predetermined time span" in lines 8-9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 24-26 depend on claim 23. Claims 24-26 are also rejected because they depend on a base claim that is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
7. Claims 11-12, 20, 23, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Semineth et al. (Semineth; US 2022/0325571).
For claim 11, Semineth discloses a method for monitoring a motor vehicle [E.g. 0022-0024], comprising:
detecting hail using at least in part a sensor system of the motor vehicle [E.g. 0022: at least one acceleration sensor is adapted to detect knocking against a component of the vehicle, and that the at least one measurement signal is representative of detected knocking …raindrops impinging on a component can easily be distinguished from a hail event or an impact against an outer skin of the vehicle, 0024: determination of possible damages of the vehicle and the automated, electronically controlled provision of damage data therefor for example can include the fact that the damage data are provided for transmission to an application software for a mobile device. Then, for example generated damage data can be provided to a user in an app]], the sensor system comprising at least one acceleration sensor [E.g. 0022: : at least one acceleration sensor is adapted to detect knocking against a component of the vehicle], wherein an occurrence of hail is established based on acceleration pulses that are detected by the at least one acceleration sensor [E.g. 0022: As an example, at least one frequency and/or at least one amplitude of the at least one measurement signal and possibly of a plurality of consecutive measurement signals for the provision of damage data can be determined via the electronic control unit. An evaluation of the frequency and/or amplitude of the at least one measurement signal here for example allows to draw a conclusion about the kind, place and/or severity of a possible damage to the vehicle. For example, raindrops impinging on a component can easily be distinguished from a hail event or an impact against an outer skin of the vehicle, 0023]; and
triggering an execution of one or more predefined actions by the motor vehicle when the occurrence of hail is established [E.g. 0024: automated, electronically controlled provision of damage data therefor for example can include the fact that the damage data are provided for transmission to an application software for a mobile device. Then, for example generated damage data can be provided to a user in an app. For example, this is advantageous for vehicles from a rental car or car sharing provider. When the vehicles of the provider are equipped with an electronics system according to the embodiment explained above, the provider can automatically be informed of possible damage cases which lead to an at least local acceleration on a component of the vehicle and hence are detectable with reference to a measurement signal of an acceleration sensor. Alternatively or additionally, a user can be provided with information on damages that are occurring or have occurred on a rented vehicle, 0028, 0049].
For claim 12, Semineth discloses wherein sensor system comprises a single acceleration sensor [E.g. 0022, Fig. 1: see element 4].
For claim 20, Semineth discloses the one or more predefined actions includes sending a message by the motor vehicle, wherein the message is configured to trigger an output of a warning via a user interface of a terminal assigned to the motor vehicle in order to inform a user of the terminal about the occurrence of the hail [E.g. 0024, 0049].
For claim 23, Semineth discloses wherein triggering the execution of the one or more predefined actions further comprises determining whether a hail characteristic meets predetermined criterion, and wherein the occurrence of the hail is established at least in part responsive to the hail characteristic meeting the predetermined criterion [E.g. 0005-0006, 0022], wherein the hail characteristic comprises at least one of the group consisting of:
a strength of an acceleration of the acceleration pulses [E.g. 0022]; a direction of the acceleration of the acceleration pulses; an average frequency of occurrence of the acceleration pulses within the predetermined time span.
For claim 27, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 11.
For claim 28, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
10. Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semineth in view of Sabrina et al. (Sabrina; DE 102020007447; provided in the IDS and machine translation is used).
For claim 13, Semineth fails to expressly disclose wherein the single acceleration sensor is installed in a roof of the motor vehicle.
However, as shown by Sabrina, it was well known in the art of vehicles sensors to include a sensor installed in a roof of the motor vehicle that monitor outer skin of the vehicle [E.g. 0015].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Semineth with the teaching of Sabrina in order to provide a more accurate detection of precipitation because the roof is generally more exposed to external condition, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 14, is interpreted and rejected as discussed with respect to claim 13.
11. Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semineth in view of Sabrina and further in view of Bruns (US 2018/0272966).
For claim 15, Semineth in view of Sabrina fails to expressly disclose wherein: the one or more predefined actions includes an optical or acoustic signal recording on the motor vehicle.
However, as shown by Bruns, it was well known in the art of vehicles sensors to include one or more predefined actions includes an optical or acoustic signal recording on the motor vehicle [E.g. 0053-0055, 0005-0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Semineth in view of Sabrina with the teaching of Bruns in order to provide a more accurate picture of the environment outside the vehicle by using different type of sensors, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 16, Bruns further teaches wherein: the one or more predefined actions includes a capture of one or more images on the motor vehicle using one or more cameras of the motor vehicle [E.g. 0053-0055].
12. Claims 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semineth in view of Bruns.
For claim 17, Semineth fails to expressly disclose wherein: the one or more predefined actions includes an optical or acoustic signal recording on the motor vehicle.
However, as shown by Bruns, it was well known in the art of vehicles sensors to include one or more predefined actions includes an optical or acoustic signal recording on the motor vehicle [E.g. 0053-0055, 0005-0012].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Semineth with the teaching of Bruns in order to provide a more accurate picture of the environment outside the vehicle by using different type of sensors, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 18, Bruns further teaches wherein: the one or more predefined actions includes a capture of one or more images on the motor vehicle using one or more cameras of the motor vehicle [E.g. 0053-0055].
For claim 19, Semineth discloses wherein: the one or more predefined actions includes sending a message by the motor vehicle, wherein the message is configured to trigger an output of a warning via a user interface of a terminal assigned to the motor vehicle in order to inform a user of the terminal about the occurrence of the hail [E.g. 0024, 0049].
13. Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semineth in view of Martin et al. (DE 102020215786; provided in the IDS and machine translation is used).
For claim 21, Semineth fails to expressly disclose wherein the one or more predefined actions includes closing of one or more open accesses to an interior of the motor vehicle.
However, as shown by Martin, it was well known in the art of vehicles to include one or more predefined actions includes closing of one or more open accesses to an interior of the motor vehicle [E.g. 0026, 0007, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Semineth with the teaching of Martin in order to prevent any damage that may happen to the vehicle interior and thereby improve the overall system, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
For claim 22, Semineth fails to expressly disclose wherein the one or more predefined actions includes closing of one or more open accesses to a baggage compartment of the motor vehicle.
However, as shown by Martin, it was well known in the art of vehicles to include one or more predefined actions includes closing of one or more open accesses to a baggage compartment of the motor vehicle [E.g. 0026, 0007, 0037].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of vehicles sensors before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Semineth with the teaching of Martin in order to prevent any damage that may happen to the vehicle interior and thereby improve the overall system, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
14. Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Semineth in view of Jeong et al. (Jeong; KR 20110054974A; provided in the IDS).
For claim 26, Semineth fails to expressly disclose wherein the occurrence of hail is established by the sensor system according to the predetermined criterion when the average frequency of the occurrence of the acceleration pulses within the predetermined time span exceeds a predefined frequency threshold value.
However, as shown by Jeong, it was well known in the art of hail sensing to include occurrence of hail is established by a sensor system according to predetermined criterion when average frequency of the occurrence of acceleration pulses within predetermined time span exceeds a predefined frequency threshold value [E.g. 0024, 0035, 0034, 0039].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of hail sensing before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Semineth with the teaching of Jeong in order to provide a more accurate detection of hail by using the average frequency of occurrence with a predetermined time span, also it is merely combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
15. Claims 24-25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
16. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Tofte et al. (US Pat. No. 10,643,285; teaches sensors that observe weather conditions. For example during a hail storm, sensors may measure the size of hail through images and the rate of hail based upon the sound of the hail hitting vehicle and a server that receive sensor data about the hail from multiple vehicles)
Williams et al. (US 2017/0369003; teaches one or more sensors are positioned behind the window within the sensor mounting volume to provide a signal indicative of a characteristic of an environment of the vehicle detected by the one or more sensors through the window)
/MOHAMED BARAKAT/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689