DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 8, 10, 14 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
As to claim 4, the phrase “two to four touch region” in line 2 of the claim should be changed to “two to four touch regions” in order to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 8, the phrase “the previous frame” in line 2 of the claim should be changed to “a previous frame”, since “a previous frame” was not previously recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 8, the phrase “the current frame” in line 3 of the claim should be changed to “a current frame”, since “a current frame” was not previously recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 10, the phrase “to removes” in line 3 of the claim should be changed to “to remove” in order to be grammatically correct. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 14, the phrase “the remaining touch region” in line 3 of the claim should be changed to “a remaining touch region”, since “a remaining touch region” was not previously recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 14, the phrase “the diagonal two touch regions” in line 3 of the claim should be changed to “diagonal two touch regions”, since “diagonal two touch regions” was not previously recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
As to claim 17, the phrase “the remaining touch region” in line 4 of the claim should be changed to “a remaining touch region”, since “a remaining touch region” was not previously recited in the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "The touch microcontroller unit" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the touch reliability calculation circuit" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2020/0210025 A1).
As to claim 1, Kim et al. teaches a touch-sensing circuit, comprising:
a readout circuit ([0089]: touch driving circuit TDC, Fig. 1) configured to acquire a first touch-sensing value from a first touch electrode having a first region ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel; [0089]: detecting touch sensing signal; [0172]: electrode HE connected to touch driving circuit via signal line SL;[0270]) and acquire a second touch-sensing value from second touch electrodes, each of the second touch electrodes having a second region ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel;[0089]: detecting touch sensing signal;[0173]: electrodes VE connected to an identical or same signal line SL;[0270]); and
a touch microcontroller unit ([0089]: touch controller TCTR, Fig. 1) for calculating estimated touch regions based on the first touch-sensing value and the second touch-sensing value ([0033-0035]: obtain a plurality of estimated touch points in the plurality of touch sensor groups based on the touch sensing data on each of the plurality of touch sensor groups; [0172-0173]),
wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to determine some of the estimated touch regions as ghost touches ([0291]: touch controller (TCTR) removes, as invalid sensing values, calculated sensing values for the estimated touch points (G1, G2) recognized as ghosts) and remove the ghost touches ([0291]: touch controller (TCTR) remove ghost touch points (G1, G2)).
As to claim 2, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein a size of the first region is greater than a size of the second region ([0174]: electrode VE smaller than the size of the electrode HE; note: size of electrode HE is greater than electrode VE; Fig. 8A), and
wherein a plurality of touch electrodes are disposed crosswise ([0181-0182]: plurality of horizontal touch electrodes and a plurality of vertical touch electrodes intersect each other; [0196]: electrodes VE arranged in a column forms vertical touch electrode), each having a same size as a size of the first touch electrode ([0181-0182]: horizontal electrode HE) and the second touch electrodes ([0181-0182]: vertical electrodes VE; [0196]).
As to claim 3, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the first touch electrode is electrically connected to a first touch-sensing line ([0172]: electrode HE connected to touch driving circuit via signal line SL), and the second touch electrode is electrically connected to a second touch-sensing line ([0173]: electrode VE connected to signal line SL), and
wherein the second touch electrodes have an electrical connection relationship with other second touch electrodes by the second touch-sensing line ([0173]: electrodes VE connected to an identical or same signal line SL).
As to claim 4, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the estimated touch regions comprises two to four touch region ([0034-0035]: obtain a plurality of estimated touch points in the plurality of touch sensor groups based on the touch sensing data on each of the plurality of touch sensor groups; [0291]: four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2)).
As to claim 5, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to set a test region of a ghost touch and calculate the estimated touch regions based on touch-sensing values within the test region of the ghost touch ([0263-0264]: charges resulted from the first touch T1 and the second touch T2 are transferred through the horizontal touch electrodes and through the vertical touch electrodes in the area of the touch sensor group thus, pseudo touch points (G, false touch points caused by the aforementioned ghost phenomenon) recognized at two points;[0279];[0291]: touch controller (TCTR) removes, as invalid sensing values, calculated sensing values for the estimated touch points (G1, G2) recognized as ghosts from sensing values calculated from the four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2)).
As to claim 9, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to determine two touch regions located in a diagonal direction as actual touches when the estimated touch regions has three regions ([0264-0265];[0291]: estimated touch points (G1, G2) recognized as ghosts from sensing values calculated from the four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2) ( note: T1, T2, G2 are three regions). Calculate touch coordinates accurately for multiple touches (T1, T2). Figs. 13B and 14B show actual touches (T1, T2) are located in a diagonal direction).
As to claim 10, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to adjust each touch reliability value of the estimated touch regions and determine touches in touch regions with a low touch reliability value as ghost touches to removes the ghost touches ([0287];[0290]: For each of the touch sensor groups (TSG #1, TSG #7, TSG #9, TSG #3) located in the corner areas of the four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2), based on group adding values (5, 0, 3, 0) obtained by the adding of all of both the sensing values of horizontal touch electrodes and the sensing values of vertical touch electrodes, the touch controller (TCTR) selects touch sensor groups in which the group adding values (5, 0, 3, 0) become commonly 0 or a setting value corresponding to 0, and removes, as the ghost, touch coordinate points (G1, G2) adjacent to the selected touch sensor groups).
As to claim 11, Kim et al. teaches a touch-sensing method, comprising:
acquiring touch-sensing values from a panel in which touch electrodes of a first pattern and a second pattern are mixed ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel; [0089]: detecting touch sensing signal; [0158]; [0172-0173]: electrode HE connected to touch driving circuit via signal line SL, electrodes VE connected to an identical or same signal line SL; [0270]);
comparing the touch-sensing values with a reference touch-sensing value to set regions having sensing values higher than the reference touch-sensing value as estimated touch regions ([0278];[0279]: derive touch points with sensing values greater than a pre-configured threshold value; [0283];[0287]; [0290-0291]; Fig. 14B);
assigning a touch reliability value to each of the estimated touch regions ([0275]: obtain touch sensing data; [0281-0283]; [0287]; [0289-0290]: adds sensing values of horizontal touch electrodes and sensing values of vertical touch electrodes which are included in each touch sensor group, Fig. 14B); and
determining touch regions in which ghost touches has occurred based on the touch reliability values of the estimated touch regions ([0275]: obtain touch sensing data on each touch sensor group, and remove ghost based on the touch sensing data on each touch sensor group; [0283]; [0287]; [0290-0291]: remove ghost touch points (G1, G2)).
As to claim 12, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing method of claim 11, wherein one touch electrode having the first pattern and a first touch-sensing line are connected in a one-to-one correspondence to acquire a touch-sensing value ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel; [0089]: detecting touch sensing signal; [0172]: electrode HE connected to touch driving circuit via signal line SL;[0270]), and a plurality of touch electrodes having the second pattern are electrically connected with common nodes by the second touch-sensing line to acquire a same touch-sensing value ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel;[0089]: detecting touch sensing signal;[0173]: electrodes VE connected to an identical or same signal line SL;[0270]).
As to claim 13, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing method of claim 11, further comprising setting a test region of ghost touches based on the estimated touch regions ([0263-0264]: charges resulted from the first touch T1 and the second touch T2 are transferred through the horizontal touch electrodes and through the vertical touch electrodes in the area of the touch sensor group thus, pseudo touch points (G, false touch points caused by the aforementioned ghost phenomenon) recognized at two points; [0279];[0281-0283];[0291]: touch controller (TCTR) removes, as invalid sensing values, calculated sensing values for the estimated touch points (G1, G2) recognized as ghosts from sensing values calculated from the four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2)).
As to claim 17, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing method of claim 11, further comprising:
determining upper two touch regions with high touch reliability values in the estimated touch regions as actual touches ([0281-0283]; see Fig. 14B, 1st case high touch reliability values (i.e. sensing data (H_DATA) and (V_DATA) greater than zero in upper touch regions above row 9); and recognizing the remaining touch region as a ghost touch to update the touch-sensing value to 0 ([0283]: derives 0(zero) or a setting value corresponding to 0(zero) as an invalid sensing value from the obtained sensing values of horizontal touch electrodes and vertical touch electrodes, and removes ghost touch).
As to claim 18, Kim et al. teaches a touch microcontroller unit, comprising:
a touch data acquisition circuit configured to acquire touch-sensing values from a panel having a combination of different patterns ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel; [0089]: detecting touch sensing signal; [0158]; [0172-0173]: electrode HE connected to touch driving circuit via signal line SL, electrodes VE connected to an identical or same signal line SL; [0270]);
an estimated touch regions calculation circuit configured to acquire two or more estimated touch regions having a reference touch-sensing value or higher based on the touch- sensing values ([0275]: obtain touch sensing data on each touch sensor group; [0279]: derive touch points with sensing values greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold value);
a touch reliability calculation circuit configured to calculate a touch reliability value for each of the estimated touch regions ([0275]; [0281-0283]; [0287];[0289]: adds sensing values of horizontal touch electrodes and sensing values of vertical touch electrodes which are included in each touch sensor group, Fig. 14B); and
a ghost touch removal circuit configured to determine ghost touches based on the touch reliability values and performs touch-sensing by not recognizing the ghost touches ([0275]: obtain touch sensing data on each of the nine touch sensor groups (TSG #1˜TSG #9), and remove ghost based on the touch sensing data on each of the nine touch sensor groups; [0291]: remove ghost touch points (G1, G2)).
As to claim 19, Kim et al. teaches the touch microcontroller unit of claim 18, wherein the touch reliability calculation circuit is configured to calculate coordinate information of touch regions of a first frame ([0034-0035]: determine touch coordinate;[0291];[0328]: touch driving period) and coordinate information of estimated touch regions of a second frame ([0034-0035]: obtain a plurality of estimated touch points in the plurality of touch sensor groups;[0279]: derive touch points when sensing values greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold value;[0287];[0291-0292]: removes, as invalid sensing values, calculated sensing values for the estimated touch points (G1, G2) recognized as ghosts from sensing values calculated from the four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2);[0328-0329]: touch driving period), and assign high touch reliability values to the coordinates of two estimated touch regions that are closest to the coordinate information of the touch regions of the first frame ([0034-0035];[0281-0283] see Fig. 14B, 1st case high touch reliability values (i.e. sensing data (H_DATA) and (V_DATA) greater than zero;[0328]: touch driving period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0210025 A1) in view of Eunji et al. (KR 20210086243 A, attached English machine translation is used in the rejection).
As to claim 6, Kim et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 1, wherein the readout circuit is configured to receive touch-sensing values of the first touch electrode and the second touch electrodes ([0033-0034]: sensing touch panel; [0089]: detecting touch sensing signal; [0172]: electrode HE connected to touch driving circuit via signal line SL, electrode VE connected to signal line SL;[0270]) and transmit the touch-sensing values to the touch microcontroller unit([0033-0035]: obtain a plurality of estimated touch points in the plurality of touch sensor groups based on the touch sensing data on each of the plurality of touch sensor groups;[0089];[0275]: touch controller (TCTR) obtain touch sensing data from touch driving circuit (TDC)), and wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to remove the ghost touches by using the touch-sensing values acquired ([0275]: obtain touch sensing data on each touch sensor group from touch sensing data supplied by the touch driving circuit (TDC), and remove ghost touches based on the touch sensing data on each of the touch sensor groups;[0287]: removes ghost coordinate points G1, G2), but does not explicitly disclose for each frame.
However, Eunji et al. teaches for each frame ([0084]: display frames, touch interval (Tt) in each frame; [0088]: reading touch sensing signals in touch section (Tt);[0093];[0104];[0108]).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Kim et al. by acquiring touch-sensing values for each frame as taught by Eunji et al. in order to perform touch sensing and determine valid touch input.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0210025 A1) in view of Eunji et al. (KR 20210086243 A, attached English machine translation is used in the rejection) and further in view of Park et al. (US 2010/0020029 A1).
As to claim 7, Kim et al. in view of Eunji et al. teaches the touch-sensing circuit of claim 6, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to compare touch data of touch regions of a previous frame and touch data of the estimated touch regions of a current frame, and determine touches adjacent to the touch regions of the previous frame as actual touch regions.
However, Park et al. teaches wherein the touch microcontroller unit is configured to compare touch data of touch regions of a previous frame and touch data of the estimated touch regions of a current frame, and determine touches adjacent to the touch regions of the previous frame as actual touch regions (Abstract: compares at least two sensing positions of the current frame with touch position of the previous frame, and outputs the sensing position that is closest to the touch position of the previous frame as a touch position of the current frame;[0011-0012];[0074];[0078-0080]: where two or more sensing positions are recognized in each frame, the touch position of the current frame can be determined by comparing distances between each of the respective sensing positions and the touch position of the previous frame).
It would have been obvious to modify the device of Kim et al. in view of Eunji et al. by comparing touch data of touch regions of a previous frame and touch data of the estimated touch regions of a current frame, and determine touches adjacent to the touch regions of the previous frame as actual touch regions as taught by Park et al. in order to provide touch screen display device having improved reliability.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0210025 A1) in view of Seo et al. (KR 20120116097A, attached English machine translation is used in the rejection).
As to claim 20, Kim et al. teaches the touch microcontroller unit of claim 17, wherein the touch reliability calculation circuit is configured to calculate coordinate information of touch regions of a first frame ([0034-0035]: determine touch coordinate;[0291];[0328]: touch driving period) and coordinate information of estimated touch regions of a second frame ([0034-0035]: obtain a plurality of estimated touch points in the plurality of touch sensor groups;[0279]: derive touch points when sensing values greater than or equal to a pre-configured threshold value;[0287];[0291-0292]: removes, as invalid sensing values, calculated sensing values for the estimated touch points (G1, G2) recognized as ghosts from sensing values calculated from the four estimated touch points (T1, T2, G1, G2);[0328-0329]: touch driving period), but does not explicitly disclose calculate a touch movement direction using the coordinate information of the touch regions of the first frame and the coordinate information of the estimated touch regions of the second frame, and assign touch reliability values based on the touch movement direction.
However, Seo et al. teaches calculate a touch movement direction using the coordinate information of the touch regions of the first frame and the coordinate information of the estimated touch regions of the second frame ([0021]: calculate coordinates of touch area; [0040]: determine the direction of the first and second touch areas by determining in the following way which the first and second touch areas in the previous frame have moved in the current frame), and assign touch reliability values based on the touch movement direction ([0030-0031];[0039-0042]: positions of first and second touch areas change over time when user moves fingers in a specific direction. Fig. 7 shows touch reliability values (e.g. difference between the detection data of the previous frame and detection data of the current frame)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Kim et al. by calculating a touch movement direction using the coordinate information of the touch regions of the first frame and the coordinate information of the estimated touch regions of the second frame, and assign touch reliability values based on the touch movement direction as taught by Seo et al. in order to calculate more accurate coordinates of touch area in each frame.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8, and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objection(s) as set forth in the office action, and in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 15-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624