DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/16/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Preliminary Amendment
Preliminary amendment of disclosure filed on 4/7/2025 has been entered. Accordingly, the amended disclosure is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (US 2019/0373991, hereinafter Wei).
In regards to claim 21, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, an umbrella (Fig. 7) comprising: a support extending upwardly (200); and an umbrella canopy assembly coupled to the support (see Fig. 7) and comprising at least one tray (220), a first plurality of ribs (300) extending from the at least one tray (see Fig. 7), and a canopy (500) carried by the first plurality of ribs (Par. [0052], see Fig. 7), each first rib (each instance of 300) comprising a body comprising first and second L- shaped arms (12), a light transparent body aligned with the body (23) and comprising first and second longitudinal arms defining a slot (231), and first and second grooves respectively receiving the first and second L-shaped arms (see Fig. 2) to define a tongue and groove coupling interface (see Fig. 2), the slot being between the first and second grooves (see Fig. 2), and a light source (22) carried within the slot (see Fig. 2) and configured to transit visible radiation through the light transparent body and under the canopy (Par. [0037], Figs 1-2 and 7-8).
In regards to claim 22, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the slot is between the first and second L-shaped arms (see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 23, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises a curved arm (the transition from 23 to 231 is interpreted as curved, there being no structural details of said curve claimed).
In regards to claim 24, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises a straight arm (231 is considered straight, see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 25, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises an L-shaped arm (the transition from 23 to 231 is interpreted as L-shaped).
In regards to claim 26, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the light source (22) comprises a strip of light emitting devices positioned within the slot (see Fig. 1, Par. [0035])
In regards to claim 27, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each first rib comprises first and second end covers (30A, 50A) respectively positioned on first and second ends of a respective rib (Par. [0049]).
In regards to claim 28, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the umbrella canopy assembly comprises a photovoltaic cell (at 240), and a battery (Par. [0041]) coupled to the photovoltaic cell and the light sources of the first plurality of ribs (Par. [0041, 0052]); and wherein the photovoltaic cell is carried by the at least one tray (240 is carried by 220, Par. [0052]).
In regards to claim 29, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the at least one tray (220) comprises a first tray coupled to the first plurality of ribs (see Fig. 7), a second tray (230) below the first tray (see Fig. 7), and a second plurality of ribs (400) coupled between the second tray and the first plurality of ribs (see Fig. 7).
In regards to claim 30, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, an umbrella (Fig. 7) comprising: a support extending upwardly (200); and an umbrella canopy assembly coupled to the support (see Fig. 7) and comprising at least one tray (220), a first plurality of ribs (300) extending from the at least one tray (see Fig. 7), and a canopy (500) carried by the first plurality of ribs (Par. [0052], see Fig. 7), each first rib (each instance of 300) comprising a body comprising first and second L- shaped arms (12), a light transparent body aligned with the body (23) and comprising first and second longitudinal arms defining a slot (231), and first and second grooves respectively receiving the first and second L-shaped arms (see Fig. 2) to define a tongue and groove coupling interface (see Fig. 2), the slot being between the first and second grooves (see Fig. 2), and a strip of light emitting devices (22, see Fig. 1, Par. [0035]) carried within the slot and configured to transit visible radiation through the light transparent body and under the canopy (Par. [0037], Figs 1-2 and 7-8), a photovoltaic cell (at 240), and a battery (Par. [0041]) coupled to the photovoltaic cell and the strips of light emitting devices of the first plurality of ribs (Par. [0041, 0052]).
In regards to claim 31, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the slot is between the first and second L-shaped arms (see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 32, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises a curved arm (the transition from 23 to 231 is interpreted as curved, there being no structural details of said curve claimed).
In regards to claim 33, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises a straight arm (231 is considered straight, see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 34, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises an L-shaped arm (the transition from 23 to 231 is interpreted as L-shaped).
In regards to claim 35, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each first rib comprises first and second end covers (30A, 50A) respectively positioned on first and second ends of a respective rib (Par. [0049]).
In regards to claim 36, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the photovoltaic cell is carried by the at least one tray (240 is carried by 220, Par. [0052]).
In regards to claim 37, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the at least one tray (220) comprises a first tray coupled to the first plurality of ribs (see Fig. 7), a second tray (230) below the first tray (see Fig. 7), and a second plurality of ribs (400) coupled between the second tray and the first plurality of ribs (see Fig. 7).
In regards to claim 38, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, a method of making an umbrella (Abstract, see Fig. 7), the method comprising: forming a support (200) to extend upwardly (Par. [0050], see Fig. 7); and coupling an umbrella canopy assembly to the support (see Fig. 7), the umbrella canopy assembly comprising at least one tray (220), a first plurality of ribs (300) extending from the at least one tray (see Fig. 7), and a canopy (500) carried by the first plurality of ribs (Par. [0052], see Fig. 7), each first rib (each instance of 300) comprising a body comprising first and second L- shaped arms (12), a light transparent body aligned with the body (23) and comprising first and second longitudinal arms defining a slot (231), and first and second grooves respectively receiving the first and second L-shaped arms (see Fig. 2) to define a tongue and groove coupling interface (see Fig. 2), the slot being between the first and second grooves (see Fig. 2), and a light source (22) carried within the slot (see Fig. 2) and configured to transit visible radiation through the light transparent body and under the canopy (Par. [0037], Figs 1-2 and 7-8).
In regards to claim 39, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, the slot is between the first and second L-shaped arms (see Fig. 2).
In regards to claim 40, Wei discloses in Figures 1-2 and 7-8, each of the first and second longitudinal arms comprises one of a curved arm (the transition from 23 to 231 is interpreted as curved, there being no structural details of said curve claimed), a straight arm (231 is considered straight, see Fig. 2), and an L-shaped arm (the transition from 23 to 231 is interpreted as L-shaped).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please review the cited references found on the attached PTO-892, too numerous to list here, which teach either alone or in combination umbrellas with illuminating ribs similar in structure to that which is currently claimed above.
/ALEXANDER K GARLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896