DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-2, 8, 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Following is the analysis under 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (2019 PEG) published on January 7,
Step 1: Claims 1-2, 8, 11-14 are directed to a method (process) or server (apparatus) and thus meets the requirements for step 1 since the claims are directed toward one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, prong one: Independent claim 1 recites the following limitations that when given their broadest reasonable interpretation, fall within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas for the reasons set forth below:
“evaluating a risk of varicose veins based on the digitized capillary exposure” (a human can practically perform this limitation in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper by having information about capillaries in the form of data, digital information, images or statistics).
Step 2A, prong two: Claim 1 recites the following additional elements that when considered individually and as a whole do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application for the reasons set forth below:
“A server” (the server is recited at a high level of generality and is only involved in the insignificant extra-solution activity)
“acquiring varicose veins-related information from a user device” (merely adding insignificant pre-solution activity to the abstract idea- see MPEP 2106.05(g), in this case insignificant extra-solution activity mere Data Gathering of performing clinical tests on individuals to obtain inputs);
“digitizing a capillary exposure based on analysis of the varicose veins-related information” (merely adding insignificant pre-solution activity to the abstract idea- see MPEP 2106.05(g). In this case recording, transmitting, and archiving digital images by using conventional or generic technology)
“transmitting information of varicose veins evaluation results based on the evaluated risk of varicose veins to the user device.” (merely adding insignificant pre-solution activity to the abstract idea- see MPEP 2106.05(g). In this case recording, transmitting, digital images by use of conventional or generic technology)
Step 2B: Claim 1 does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because, when considered separately and as a whole, they do not add an inventive concept for the same reasons set forth above in step 2A, prong two. Additionally, when reconsidering the limitations that were considered insignificant extra-solution activity, the following evidence shows the limitations are well-understood, routine and conventional functions:
The “acquiring” “digitizing” and “transmitting” as noted above (MPEP 2106.05(d) - Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network))
The server is included is involved in the insignificant extra-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality and is only involved in the insignificant extra-solution activity. The claimed server simply receives data, extracts performs digitization, evaluates and transmits data. In other words, the claims invoked the server merely as tools to execute the abstract idea.
Claim 12 recites similar limitations to claim 1 and is rejected for same reasons as above. the additional memory, transceiver and processor are directed to insignificant extra-solution activity and is recited at a high level of generality and is only involved in the insignificant extra-solution activity. The claimed components simply receives data, extracts performs digitization, evaluates and transmits data. In other words, the claim invoked the components merely as tools to execute the abstract idea.
Claim 13 is rejected for same reasons as discussed with respect to claim 1.
Dependent claims 2, 8, 11, 14 are also rejected because they recite additional limitations that when given their broadest reasonable interpretation fall within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. These claims only require type of images being used, or a computer program for the server.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 8-14, 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vladimirovich [RU 2741260 C1, translation used herein] in view of Howlader [Correlation of severity of chronic venous disease with capillary morphology assessed by capillary microscopy, Journal Of Vascular Surgery Volume 43, Number 3, 2006].
As per claim 1, Vladimirovich teaches a method for early diagnosis and management of varicose veins by a server (Vladimirovich Fig 4, ¶0046 “server”), comprising
acquiring varicose veins-related information from a user device (Vladimirovich ¶0046 “user generates at least one image (for example, a photo or video sequence of frames) of the alleged pathology, for example, in the area of the legs. The at least one image is then fed to the technical solution API on the server.”);
digitizing a vascular exposure based on analysis of the varicose veins-related information (In view of applicant spec page 15, examiner interprets an exposure as visibility in the images. Vladimirovich ¶0047 “Images can be presented in the form of an image (jpg, png, tiff and other graphic formats, video (avi, mpg, mov, mkv and other video formats)” ¶0032 “vascular pathological changes visible on the skin based on images” these are digitized formats);
evaluating a risk of varicose veins based on the digitized capillary exposure (Vladimirovich ¶0053 “…choose the most suitable image for diagnosis, and to determine the risk of varicose veins by it”); and
transmitting information of varicose veins evaluation results based on the evaluated risk of varicose veins to the user device (¶0077 “the user receives the original (previously loaded) image and the image with the selected area of the pathology and the classification of this pathology, as shown in FIG. 6 and FIG. 7”, ¶0095-¶0096 “technical solution for recommendations to the user is a web page on which the result is displayed to the user in the form of a comparison of the past history and the result of the operation of artificial neural networks with the classification of pathology, and an image with the boundaries of the alleged pathology marked… Health recommendations can be obtained by the user via e-mail”).
Vladimirovich does not expressly teach using a capillary exposure.
Howlader, in a field of chronic venous disease (CVD), teaches using capillary exposure (Howlader page 564 RHS “We used a CAM1 Capillary Anemometer (KK Technology, Devon, UK) capillary microscope with a high-resolution (752 582 pixel) monochrome charge-coupled-device video camera. …Images were recorded at the time of the investigation… All clearly identifiable capillary loops in a field were considered to be part of the total capillary count for that area. These were considered to be visible capillaries”).
Howlader discloses analyzing capillary visibility to determine shapes and numbers to correlate with CVD including varicose veins. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus in Vladimirovich by correlation of severity of chronic venous disease with capillary morphology, from photographs. This is useful in research projects where the objective assessment of skin changes is required in different patient groups and in response to treatment (Howlader page 568 LHS).
As per claim 2, Vladimirovich in view of Howlader further teaches wherein the varicose veins-related information comprises at least any one of varicose veins-related images, varicose veins-related videos, and additional images (Howlader Fig 1 “and in patients of CEAP clinical stages C1, C2, and C3” C2 is varicose related).
As per claim 8, Vladimirovich in view of Howlader further teaches wherein the varicose veins-related video is a video of a lower body part of a user taken vertically, and the server derives a plurality of varicose veins-related images from the varicose veins-related video (Vladimirovich Fig 1, ¶0047 image shown in a vertical direction. ¶0046 “Server”).
As per claim 9, Vladimirovich in view of Howlader further teaches wherein the server provides guide information for photographing the varicose veins-related video to the user device, and when the varicose veins-related video photographed by the user device based on the guide information is transmitted to the server, the varicose veins-related video is encrypted and transmitted (Vladimirovich ¶0046 “The at least one image is then fed to the technical solution API on the server. The photo must be uploaded using the user's personal mobile communication device (for example, via a mobile application, web application, chat bot, etc.)” This implies some guiding information is required. ¶0050 “The desired image is encoded, for example, in base64”).
As per claim 10, Vladimirovich in view of Howlader further teaches wherein the server acquires user questionnaire information from the user device, and the risk of varicose veins is evaluated by reflecting the user questionnaire information (Vladimirovich ¶0034).
As per claim 11, Vladimirovich in view of Howlader further teaches a computer program stored in a computer readable medium which is combined with hardware to execute the method (Vladimirovich ¶00117).
As per claim 12, item has limitation similar to claim 1 and is rejected for same reasons as above. Vladimirovich in view of Howlader further teaches a server (Vladimirovich ¶0046), a memory storing varicose veins-related information (Vladimirovich ¶0043 “Data can also be stored in special database files, special hard disk partitions,’); a transceiver performing communication with a user device (Vladimirovich Fig 4, communication with backend server implies a transceiver); and a processor controlling the memory and the transceiver (Vladimirovich ¶0029 “command processor”)
As per claim 13-14, 17 have limitations similar to claims 12, 1-2, 10 and are rejected for same reasons as above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7, 15-16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claims 3, 15 requires deriving parameters by pixel unit, identifying capillaries based on standard deviation, and comparing with preset values. The references of record does not discuss anything about correlating pixels with standard deviation and identifying capillaries. Ahn [KR 20200080797 A], provided in IDS is related to the subject matter but does not mention anything about capillary / micro vessels in specific, as required in claim.
Conclusion
/Oommen Jacob/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797