DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/4/26.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“a human interface device operably connected to the a machine learning/artificial intelligence module” should read “a human interface device operably connected to the [[a]] machine learning/artificial intelligence module.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “a machine learning/artificial intelligence module.” It is unclear whether both of the options or only one of these options is required of the claim, thus rendering the claim indefinite. Artificial intelligence is a broad overarching term and machine learning is a subcategory of artificial intelligence. Since machine learning is more narrow than artificial intelligence, it is unclear what exactly the scope of the claim is.
Claim 3 states “wherein the images are still, motion, or a combination thereof.” It is unclear what is meant by “the images are motion” thus rendering the claim indefinite. An image cannot be in motion, or be a video, therefore it is unclear what is structurally required of the claim.
Claims 2 and 4-6 are rejected to as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stanek et al. (WO 2021/067847).
Regarding Claim 1, Stanek discloses a system for growing food (“a crop farm, an orchard, an indoor farm, a hydroponic farm” Paragraph 0003]) comprising:
one or more actuators located on a location for growing a crop (“actuator arrays may consist of vents, heaters, fans, lights, humidifiers, dehumidifiers, other devices, or any combination thereof that can act on the environment or a subset of the environment (e.g. microclimate of a sub-location of the agricultural facility)” Paragraph [0040]);
one or more sensors configured to transmit one or more signals pertaining to a plant condition located on the location for growing the crop (“A series of sensors may be distributed at carefully chosen locations throughout the agricultural facility, collecting ongoing data on temperature, humidity, fertilizer content, fertilizer concentration, nutrient content, nutrient concentration, pH, light levels, light spectrums, air flow, air circulation, or any combination thereof.” Paragraph [0037]; “one or more remote devices 102 are configured to communicate with and/or receive instructions from the digital processing device 101, and may comprise any sensor, actuator, or camera as described herein. For example, in some cases, the remote device 102 is a temperature sensor that is configured to gather temperature data and send the data to the digital processing device 101 for analysis” Page 25; Paragraph [0007]);
a machine learning/artificial intelligence module operably connected to the one or more sensors to receive the one or more transmitted signals pertaining to a plant condition (“processors with built-in machine learning or Artificial Intelligence (AI) can utilize data from one or more sensors of a sensor array” Paragraph [0040]) and wherein the machine learning/artificial intelligence module is operably connected to the one or more actuators to transmit one or more signals to the one or more actuators to take an action to facilitate plant growth (“Processors with built-in machine learning or Artificial Intelligence (AI) can utilize data from one or more sensors of a sensor array and learn best how to use one or more actuators of an array of actuators to achieve an outcome in a specific environment.” Paragraph [0040]); and
a human interface device operably connected to the a machine learning/artificial intelligence module (user input device 145; Figure 1; Page 24 Paragraph [0002]) and configured to provide human on the loop feedback to the machine learning/artificial intelligence module (“A smart recipe may be a combination of an initial recipe provided by a user or database that may be additionally modified or updated by a trained algorithm…A smart recipe may be updated based on a user feedback,” Paragraph [0057]) and wherein the human interface device is operably connected to the one or more actuators and configured for a human operator to transmit one or more signals to the one or more actuators (“The second user portal will permit the agricultural grower to input, review or modify one or more operating parameters, outputs, data, recipes, or any combination thereof.” Paragraph [0166]).
Regarding Claim 2, Stanek discloses the system which further comprises a camera configured to collect images about the plant condition (“Camera arrays can capture data from a portion of a growing area or an entire growing area.” Paragraph [0041]) and transmitting the images to the machine learning/artificial intelligence module (“with cameras biofeedback may be incorporated so that the processor can adjust the operating parameters (such as environmental conditions) based on data (such as leaf orientation, color, reproductive status, plant health or any combination thereof).” Paragraph [0041]).
Regarding Claim 3, Stanek discloses the system of claim 2 wherein the images are still, motion, or a combination thereof (“a camera configured to provide a camera feed or imaging data to the digital processing device 101” Page 25 Paragraph [0007]).
Regarding Claim 4, Stanek discloses the system of claim 1 wherein the one or more sensors configured to transmit one or more signals pertaining to a plant condition are selected from sensors configured to measure temperature, CO2 content, O2 content, pH, nitrogen, phosphorus, potassium, calcium, sulfur, iron, boron, chloride, sodium, or any combination thereof (“A series of sensors may be distributed at carefully chosen locations throughout the agricultural facility, collecting ongoing data on temperature, humidity, fertilizer content, fertilizer concentration, nutrient content, nutrient concentration, pH, light levels, light spectrums, air flow, air circulation, or any combination thereof.” Paragraph [0037]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stanek et al. (WO 2021/067847) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ball et al. (WO 2022/164963).
Regarding Claim 5, Stanek discloses the system of claim 1.
Stanek fails to disclose the system wherein the location for growing a crop comprises a grow tower.
However, Ball teaches a similar growth system (“The cloud-based system 116 may input the captured sensor data 118 into a machine learned model and the model may output adaptations for use in lens, focus, shutters, and the like of the sensors. The cloud-based system 116 may also output settings or adjustable characteristics (such as lighting parameters, humidity or moisture parameters, dynamic sensor settings, and the like) which may be downloaded or applied to one or more of active enclosures 100” Paragraph [0071]) wherein the location for growing a crop comprises a grow tower (planting column 108; Figure 6).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Stanek, to be applied to a grow tower as taught by Ball, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for more customization of the growing environment for a smaller group of plants.
Regarding Claim 6, Stanek as modified teaches the system of claim 5. Stanek further discloses a component operably connected to the one or more actuators wherein the component is a motor, a pump, a waste digester, a water reservoir, a water sprayer, a lighting system, a temperature control system, or any combination thereof (“ An actuator may include a vent, a shutter, a louver, a sprayer, a pump, a valve, a mixer, a heater, a fan, a light, a humidifier, a dehumidifier, an air exchanger, a gas pump, a water source, a wind source, a food source, a fertilizer source, a pest control source, an evaporative cooler, a gas generator (such as a C02 generator) or any combination thereof.” Paragraph [0026]).
Stanek fails to disclose the grow tower comprises a component operably connected to the one or more actuators.
However, Ball teaches wherein the grow tower comprises a component operably connected to the one or more actuators and wherein the component is a motor, a pump, a waste digester, a water reservoir, a water sprayer, a lighting system, a temperature control system, or any combination thereof (“The cloud-based system 116 may also output settings or adjustable characteristics (such as lighting parameters, humidity or moisture parameters, dynamic sensor settings, and the like) which may be downloaded or applied to one or more of active enclosures 100” Paragraph [0071]; Figure 17).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Stanek, to be applied to a grow tower as taught by Ball, with reasonable expectation of success, in order to allow for more customization of the growing environment for a smaller group of plants.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Khwaja et al. (US 2021/0100173), Gionet JR et al. (US 2020/0110933), Humpston et al. (US 2022/0156921), and Pham (US 2022/0156610) are considered relevant prior art as they pertain to similar plant growth systems using machine learning.
/A.K.P./Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA D HUSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642