DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the multiplicity of pressure elements, and a number of plug-in parts must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to because the drawings do not illustrate proper cross hatching, and a bracket ([]) should embrace the illustrations of Figures 2, 3 and 5-7. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 57. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The specification recites, “transmission elements 207 of the second securing element 109 engage into transmission receptacles 209 of the first securing element 107”; however, it is not clear to the Examiner how this is possible.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3, 7-11 and 13-15 recite “its”; however, it is not clear to the Examiner exactly what “its” is referencing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20040189001, Poder.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Poder discloses a connection element (1, figure 1) for fluid-conducting connection to an insertion part (21, figure 1), wherein the connection element (1) comprises: - a main body (1), - a securing system (see parts 5 and 8 in figures 2 to 6), wherein the main body (1) comprises a fluid channel and a receptacle (see figure 1) for receiving the insertion part, wherein the securing system (5, 6) is arranged on the main part and is configured to secure the insertion part in the receptacle in a predefinable position relative to the fluid channel (as shown in figure 1) in order to provide a fluid-conducting connection between the connection clement and the insertion part, wherein the securing system (5, 6) comprises a first securing clement (5) and a second securing element (8), wherein the first securing element (5) can be moved between a lower position (figure 3 shows the lower position of part 5) and an upper position (figure 2 shows the upper position of part 5), wherein the second securing element (8) can be moved between an upper position (figure 4) and a lower position (figure 5), wherein the second securing element (8) is to be reversibly mechanically coupled with the first securing element by way of a number of coupling elements (14) (14 engages in a corresponding recess which is formed in 5), wherein the number of coupling elements can be moved between a coupling position (see figure 4. In this position, the sending-off of part 5 also automatically causes the lowering of part 8. It is thus a coupling position.) and a release position (figure 5 shows a position in which part 8 is free towards the top. It is thus the release position.), wherein the number of coupling elements, in their coupling position, transfer a movement of the first securing element to the second securing element (figure 4) such that the first securing element moves the second securing element in the direction of its lower position if, when the insertion part is moved along a predefined trajectory through the main body, a pressure element of the insertion part moves the first securing element into its lower position, and the number of coupling elements release a movement of the first securing element into its upper position (as shown in figure 5. Here, part 5 snaps upwards without driving part 8) if the pressure element moves along the predefined trajectory through the main body into the second securing element.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Poder discloses the first securing element comprises a number of spring elements (6) which are configured to press the first securing element from its lower position into its upper position.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Poder discloses the second securing element can be moved between its upper position, its lower position and an intermediate position when the plug-in part moves through the main body, wherein the second securing element is situated in its intermediate position between its upper position and its lower position and releases a movement of the plug-in part through the main body.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Poder discloses the main body comprises a securing element receptacle for receiving the first securing element in regions, wherein the first securing element engages in regions into the securing element receptacle in its lower position, in order to release the main body, and overlaps the receptacle in regions in its upper position.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-5 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Poder discloses connection system for conducting fluid, wherein the connection system comprises a number of connection elements as claimed in claim 1.
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220243850, Teasley.
In regards to claim 1, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Teasley discloses a connection element for fluid-conducting connection to an insertion part, wherein the connection element comprises: - a main body (14), - a securing system (16), wherein the main body comprises a fluid channel and a receptacle (22) for receiving the insertion part, wherein the securing system is arranged on the main part and is configured to secure the insertion part in the receptacle in a predefinable position relative to the fluid channel in order to provide a fluid-conducting connection between the connection clement and the insertion part, wherein the securing system comprises a first securing clement (28) and a second securing element (30), wherein the first securing element can be moved between a lower position and an upper position, wherein the second securing element can be moved between an upper position and a lower position, wherein the second securing element is to be reversibly mechanically coupled with the first securing element by way of a number of coupling elements (38), wherein the number of coupling elements can be moved between a coupling position (see figures 2 and 4) and a release position (figures 1 and 3), wherein the number of coupling elements, in their coupling position, transfer a movement of the first securing element to the second securing element (via 40) such that the first securing element moves the second securing element in the direction of its lower position if, when the insertion part is moved along a predefined trajectory through the main body, a pressure element of the insertion part moves the first securing element into its lower position, and the number of coupling elements release a movement of the first securing element into its upper position if the pressure element moves along the predefined trajectory through the main body into the second securing element.
In regards to claim 2, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Teasley discloses the first securing element comprises a number of spring elements (below 36) which are configured to press the first securing element from its lower position into its upper position.
In regards to claim 3, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Teasley discloses the second securing element can be moved between its upper position, its lower position and an intermediate position when the plug-in part moves through the main body, wherein the second securing element is situated in its intermediate position between its upper position and its lower position and releases a movement of the plug-in part through the main body.
In regards to claim 6, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Teasley discloses the main body comprises a securing element receptacle for receiving the first securing element in regions, wherein the first securing element engages in regions into the securing element receptacle in its lower position, in order to release the main body, and overlaps the receptacle in regions in its upper position.
In regards to claim 10, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Teasley discloses the main body are visible when the second securing element is situated in its lower position, and wherein a region, surrounding a respective recess (between 38 and 30), of the second securing element overlaps a respective display region (18) when the second securing element is situated in its upper position.
In regards to claim 12, in Figures 1-6 and paragraphs detailing said figures, Teasley discloses connection system for conducting fluid, wherein the connection system comprises a number of connection elements as claimed in claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7-9, 11 and 13-16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/AARON M DUNWOODY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679