DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: numeral 31 in fig. 1. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-4 and 6-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 should be corrected to “An apparatus for the continuous production of a mattress comprising agglomerated mineral fibres, the apparatus comprising a mineral fibre receiving or forming chamber” (lines 1-3), “[[a]]the mattress comprising the mineral fibres” (line 5), “the mattress comprising the mineral fibres” (line 8).
Claim 2 should be corrected to “in [[the]] a direction of the axis of rotation” (lines 2-3), “the drums, respectively” (line 4), “the drums, respectively” (line 6).
Claim 3 should be corrected to “the respective drums” (line 2), “[[a]] the respective drum” (line 4).
Claim 4 should be corrected to “for adjusting the transitional movement of [[a]] each lower carriage” (line 2), “the advancement of said lower carriage and of the drum integrally connected thereto
Claim 6 should be corrected to “[[the]] a direction of the height” (line 3), “[[the]] a mutual positioning” (line 6)
Claim 7 should be corrected to “along [[the]] a direction of the axis of rotation” (lines 6-7).
Claim 8 should be corrected to “further comprising upper carriages sliding along said axis of rotation [[(X)]] to which the respective half-drums of [[a]] each drum are integrally connected, wherein each upper carriage is slidable along a pair of opposite guides extended along the axis of rotation of the drums and fixed on a respective lower carriage, and further comprising means for adjusting the translational movement the respective half-drum of [[a]] each drum along the axis of rotation” (lines 1-6).
Claim 9 should be corrected to “[[an]] each upper carriage” (line 2), “the advancement of said upper carriage and of the half-drum integrally connected thereto
Claim 10 should be corrected to “[[the]] a width” (line 3), “[[the]] a sum of [[the]] a width of the perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces of the drums and of [[the]] a distance determined by the mutual positioning of the first half-drums and of the second half-drums” (lines 4-6).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“means for adjusting the translational movement along the displacement axis of each lower carriage connected to a respective drum” in claim 3.
“means for adjusting the translational movement of each upper carriage connected to a respective half-drum of a drum” in claim 8
Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claims are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions.
The limitations which are directed to articles or products worked upon by the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2115 and In re Otto, 312 F.2d 937, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963); In re Young, 75 F.2d 996, 25 USPQ 69 (CCPA 1935) for further details.
The limitations which are directed to intended uses or capabilities of the claimed apparatus are only given patentable weight to the extent which effects the structure of the claimed invention. Please see MPEP 2114, Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) and Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987) for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 5-6, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “first vertical walls longitudinally extended in the direction …. and ending each below in a tangential juxtaposition” in lines 2-4. It is unclear where each first vertical wall ends – (1) below which is a tangential juxtaposition (i.e., in a tangential juxtaposition), or (2) below a tangential juxtaposition (i.e., in a position lower than the tangential juxtaposition). It seems that the Applicants intend to mean the former case (see Instant Spec: figs. 1-4), and the latter case cannot be generated as the first vertical walls touch the respective drum surface only at exactly one point (as shown in figure 2-4) without crossing it. For the purpose of examination, the former case would be interpreted as being consistent with to the instant disclosure.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “second vertical walls …. and ending each below in a lateral juxtaposition” in lines 5-6. It is unclear where each second vertical wall ends – (1) below which is a lateral juxtaposition (i.e., in a lateral juxtaposition), or (2) below a lateral juxtaposition (i.e., in a position lower than the lateral juxtaposition, if such position exists). It seems that the Applicants intend to mean the former case (see Instant Spec: figs. 1, 5, 7), and the latter case cannot be generated as there is no specific point (as shown in figs. 5, 7) of a lateral juxtaposition of the second vertical walls with the respective drums. For the purpose of examination, the former case would be interpreted as being consistent with the instant disclosure.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “the distance … is comprised between 10 mm and 400 mm” in lines 2-4. It is unclear whether the distance is limited to the recited range or beyond the range as the verb “being comprised” is an open-ended one. For the purpose of examination, the limitation would be interpreted as “the distance … ranges between 10 mm and 400 mm.”
Claim 6 recites the limitations of “the first vertical walls” (line 2) and “the tangential juxtaposition” (line 4-5). There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim. Such limitations are present in claim 2, but claim 6 does not depend from claim 2. For the purpose of examination, the limitations would be interpreted as “first vertical walls” and “a tangential juxtaposition,” respectively, or claim 6 would be interpreted as being dependent from claim 2.
Claim 6 recites the limitation of “the lower end of the first vertical walls” (line 5). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this underlined limitation in the claim. Also, it is unclear whether (1) there is a singular lower end of a plurality of the first vertical walls, or (2) there is a respective lower end of the plurality of the first vertical walls. For the purpose of examination, either of these interpretations would read on the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation of “the second vertical walls” (line 2). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Such limitation is present in claim 2, but claim 10 does not depend from claim 2. For the purpose of examination, the limitations would be interpreted as “second vertical walls,” or claim 7, which claim 10 depends from, would be dependent from claim 2.
Claim 11 recites the limitations of “a first half-drum” (lines 4-5) and “a second half-drum” (line 5). There are ambiguous antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim. It is unclear whether the limitations mean (1) the same as “a first half-drum” (claim 7 line 2) and “a second half-drum” (claim 7 line 2), respectively, or (2) another new first/second half-drums. For the purpose of examination, either of these interpretations would read on the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the distance … is comprised between 40 mm and 300 mm” in lines 1-3. It is unclear whether the distance is limited to the recited range or beyond the range as the verb “being comprised” is an open-ended one. For the purpose of examination, the limitation would be interpreted as “the distance … ranges between 40 mm and 300 mm.”
Appropriate correction or clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Horres (US 5,246,653).
Regarding claim 1, Horres teaches an apparatus for the continuous production of a mattress comprising agglomerated mineral fibres (figs. 1-3; abstract, claim 1) comprising
a mineral fibre receiving or forming chamber (fig. 1 and col. 3 line 19-25: a box-shaped chute 9),
an accumulator conveyor (accumulating conveyors 10, 11) arranged below the receiving or forming chamber and comprising adjacent drums (10, 11) provided with perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces (a perforated (gas-permeable) rotor 15, 16 forming suction areas 12, 13) for receiving and accumulating the fibres to form a mattress comprising mineral fibres between the drums (fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 19-47: the lower termination of the chute is formed by two accumulating conveyors 10 and 11 in the form of drums, which follow a curved path, feature suction areas signified by 12 and 13 on which the fibres arriving from the fiberisation units 1 to 4 are deposited to form a wool nonwoven 14 from two joined primary nonwovens, and the accumulating conveyors 10 and 11 each feature a rotating perforated (gas-permeable) rotor 15 and 16, each rotor being powered in the direction of the arrows 17 and 18, the conveying direction, by a motor arrangement and gear wheel 33),
a gas extraction device (extraction device) in fluid communication with the perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces of the drums and a lower space (a space including a discharge gap 21) between the drums for unloading the mattress comprising mineral fibres formed between the drums (fig. 1 and col. 3 lines 19-47: arranged inside the accumulating conveyors 10 and 11 is an extraction device, not depicted in any further detail, the suction pressure generated by which is active only in suction chambers 19 and 20 located below the curved suction areas 12 and 13), wherein the drums are movable along a displacement axis (for the direction wherein a width of the discharge gap 21 is adjusted) perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the drums between a first end-stroke position in which the drums are in a position of maximum distance from each other and a second end-stroke position in which the drums are in a position of maximum proximity to each other (figs. 1-2; claim 1: at least one of the accumulating conveyors is swivellable around a pivot which is arranged substantially perpendicular to the flow direction of the mineral wool, whereby a discharge gap between said conveyors can be adjusted to a width in accordance with the thickness of the nonwoven comprising two primary nonwovens; col. 3 lines 48-58).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 5, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Horres (US 5,246,653).
Regarding claim 2, Horres teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the fibre receiving or forming chamber comprises first vertical walls longitudinally extended in the direction of the axis of rotation of the drums and ending each below in a tangential juxtaposition to the perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces of a respective drum (fig. 1; col. 3 line 19-25: a box-shaped chute 9 with two vertical lines of chute walls 24; col. 3 lines 55-58: the pivot 23 in this case lies in the area of that axially parallel generating line of the accumulating conveyor 10 at which the chute wall 24 meets the circumference of the accumulating conveyor 10), and second vertical walls transversally extended with respect to the axis of rotation of the drums and ending each below in a lateral juxtaposition to a respective drum (id.; here, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the box-shaped chute 9 has a cube-shape so that further include two parallel second vertical walls transversally extended to the first vertical walls so as to include raw materials in the box-shaped chute 9).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, although Horres is silent about that the distance between the perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces of the drums between the position of maximum proximity and the position of maximum distance thereof is comprised between 10 mm and 400 mm (claim 5), and between 40 mm and 300 mm (claim 12), Horres teaches that at least one of the accumulating conveyors is swivellable around a pivot which is arranged substantially perpendicular to the flow direction of the mineral wool, whereby a discharge gap between said conveyors can be adjusted to a width in accordance with the thickness of the nonwoven comprising two primary nonwovens (figs. 1-2; claim 1; col. 3 lines 42-58; col. 4 lines 41-47: possible to produce, with ease, a composite felt with different thicknesses, bulk densities, and/or qualities). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the distance between the drum conveyors to be adjusted to a desired width to form so as to obtain a nonwoven with a desired thickness, density, and quality.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 10-11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, 4, and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,584252 B2 in view of Horres (US 5,246,653). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Instant Application merely broadens the scope of claim 1 of Reference by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claim as set forth below:
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of Reference
1. An apparatus for the continuous production of a mattress comprising agglomerated mineral fibres comprising
a mineral fibre receiving or forming chamber,
an accumulator conveyor arranged below the receiving or forming chamber and comprising adjacent drums provided with perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces for receiving and accumulating the fibres to form a mattress comprising mineral fibres between the drums,
a gas extraction device in fluid communication with the perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces of the drums and
a lower space between the drums for unloading the mattress comprising mineral fibres formed between the drums,
wherein the drums are movable along a displacement axis perpendicular to an axis of rotation of the drums between a first end-stroke position in which the drums are in a position of maximum distance from each other and a second end-stroke position in which the drums are in a position of maximum proximity to each other.
1. An apparatus for the continuous production of a mattress comprising agglomerated mineral fibres, the apparatus comprising
a mineral fibre receiving or forming chamber;
an accumulator conveyer arranged below the receiving or forming chamber and comprising adjacent drums provided with perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces for receiving and accumulating the fibres in order to form a mattress comprising mineral fibres between the drums;
a gas extraction device in fluid communication with the perforated or gas-permeable circumferential surfaces of the drums; and
a lower space between the drums for unloading the mattress comprising mineral fibres formed between the drums;
wherein the drums each comprise a first half-drum and a second half-drum telescopically connected with each other,
wherein the first half-drum and the second half-drum are movable along the axis of rotation between a first stroke-end position in which the first half-drum and the second half-drum are juxtaposed or in contact with each other, and a second stroke-end position in which the first half-drum and the second half-drum are spaced apart from each other at a predetermined maximum distance along the direction of the axis of rotation of the drums, and
a gas-permeable or perforated circumferential band being provided, which overlaps at least one of the first half-drum and the second half-drum at opposite end portions of the half-drums.
As presented above, the underlined limitations of Instant Application and Reference are substantially identical. The shaded limitation of Instant Application is taught by Horres (see above, the 102 rejection of claim 1). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing invention to modify the respective drum of Reference to be movable along a displacement axis by a swivel arm as taught by Horres in order to obtain known results or a reasonable expectation of successful results of adjusting the discharge gap between the pair of drums to a desired dimension so as to form a nonwoven product with a desired thickness, density, and quality (Horres: derived from col. 3 lines 42-58; col. 4 lines 41-47). Thus, claim 1 of Instant Application merely broadens the scope of claim 1 of Reference by eliminating the elements and their functions of the claim and some obvious elements and their functions.
Similarly, claims 2, 7, 10, and 11 of Instant Application are not patentably distinct from claims 1, 2, 4, and 11 of Reference in view of Horres as shown below.
Claim 2 of Instant Application
Claim 2 of Reference
Claim 7 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of Reference
Claim 10 of Instant Application
Claim 4 of Reference
Claim 11 of Instant Application
Claim 11 of Reference
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
La Greca (US 20230228015 A1, equivalent to WO 2022074106 A1) teaches an apparatus (20) for the continuous production of a mattress of agglomerated mineral fibres (abstract). However, the Examiner notes that this reference is not qualified for prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) since the 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(1) and 102(b)(2) exceptions apply.
Zyski (DE 102005001687 A1) teaches a method and an apparatus for production of mineral wool fleeces (abstract, fig. 1).
Brutsch (US 5,121,523 A) teaches a metering method or a metering apparatus for dispensing predeterminable quantities of fiber flocks per unit time by two feed rollers (abstract, fig. 2).
Schuett (WO 2013160134 A1) teaches a method for meltblowing, forming and laying finite fibers to form a fiber web ([0002], fig. 2).
/INJA SONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1744