DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-16, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant’s cited Kothadia et al (US 20160153574).
Regarding claim 1, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “A seal adapted to form a sealing contact with a housing (106, 108) and a rotary slide (105), arranged in the housing of a directional control valve for adjusting a flow of a fluid, the seal comprising:
a pressure chamber (282); and
at least one communication channel (262) configured to flood the pressure chamber with the fluid (see FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 2, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the pressure chamber runs around a fluid passage opening of the seal (282 surrounds opening at 106 in FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 3, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the pressure chamber (282) is bounded by an inner limb (right section including right 262, lower nose) facing the fluid passage opening (at lower nose) and an outer limb (left section including 272, left 262) facing away from the fluid passage opening.”
Regarding claim 4, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the at least one communication channel (262) is connected to the pressure chamber (282) via the outer limb (see left 262 in FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 6, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the pressure chamber (282) is configured to taper from a side (right side) of the seal facing the housing to a side (left side) of the seal facing the rotary slide (see tapered shape of 282 from right to left).”
Regarding claim 7, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “further comprising an outer sealing surface (right side below right 262) facing the housing and an inner sealing surface (272) facing the rotary slide to form the sealing contact, which are formed from the same material (paragraphs 80-81).”
Regarding claim 8, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “further comprising a foot (right section of seal comprising right 262) configured to be placed on the housing with an effective surface (left inner surface) facing the rotary slide, via which a fluid pressure presses the foot against the housing in response to the housing being flooded with the fluid (FIG 4b, see arrows to the right of 282), to provide a contact pressure between the foot and the housing counteracting a relative movement between the seal and the housing (forms a brace against pressure at 252 trying to move seal to the right).”
Regarding claim 9, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the at least one communication channel extends between the foot and the housing (via right 262) in an assembled state (FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 11, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the at least one communication channel (262) is configured to fluidically connect the pressure chamber (282) to an intermediate space (volume including 252, 105) between the housing and the rotary slide (see FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 12, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “A directional control valve (21) for adjusting adapted to adjust a flow of a fluid, comprising;
a housing (106, 108) with a fluid passage opening (at 106),
a fluid line (110) connected to the fluid passage opening (see FIGs 2, 4b),
a rotary slide (105) arranged in the housing, and
a seal (20) configured to be in sealing contact with the housing and the rotary slide and surrounding the fluid passage opening (see FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 13, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the seal comprises a support structure (232) arranged in a connection region (region defined by 105, 202 where 20 resides) between the fluid passage opening (at 106) and the fluid line (110), wherein the support structure is configured to counteract a slipping of the seal (via catching on ledge near 106) into the fluid passage opening.”
Regarding claim 14, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the support structure (232) is configured to run around the fluid passage opening to form a collar (232 is an annular section of 20, seen to resemble a “collar”).”
Regarding claim 15, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein an outer support structure (FIG 4b, upper wall that abuts left 262) on which an end (left end) of the seal facing away from the fluid passage opening is supported (see FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 16, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the directional control valve is configured to flood the housing (see FIG 4b), including an intermediate space (region between 105 and middle housing section) between the housing and the directional control valve (see FIG 4b).”
Regarding claim 20, Kothadia (FIGs 2, 4b) discloses “wherein the seal comprises a pressure chamber (282); and at least one communication channel configured to flood the pressure chamber with the fluid (see FIG 4b).”
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 12-15, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Applicant’s cited Hattass (EP 4071389).
Regarding claim 1, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “A seal (117) adapted to form a sealing contact with a housing (115) and a rotary slide (111), arranged in the housing of a directional control valve (FIG 1) for adjusting a flow of a fluid, the seal comprising:
a pressure chamber (161); and
at least one communication channel (159-2) configured to flood the pressure chamber (13,13', 13", 13'") with the fluid.”
Regarding claim 2, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the pressure chamber runs around a fluid passage opening of the seal (inside 131), in particular runs around along the outer contour of the fluid passage opening (see FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 3, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the pressure chamber (161) is bounded by an inner limb (121) facing the fluid passage opening (via inner wall) and an outer limb (131, 135) facing away from the fluid passage opening (via outer wall of 131, 135).”
Regarding claim 5, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the inner limb (121) comprises an outer sealing surface (outermost section) facing the housing (faces radially outward) and an inner sealing surface (right v-shaped tip) facing the rotary slide to form the sealing contact (see FIG 2), wherein the inner sealing surface and/or the outer sealing surface preferably run around the fluid passage opening (see FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 7, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “further comprising an outer sealing surface (outermost section) facing the housing (faces radially outward) and an inner sealing surface (right v-shaped tip) facing the rotary slide to form the sealing contact (see FIG 6), which are formed from the same material (121 seen to be monolithic).”
Regarding claim 12, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “A directional control valve (FIG 2) for adjusting adapted to adjust a flow of a fluid, comprising;
a housing (115) with a fluid passage opening (opening in 155-2, defined further by 119/121),
a fluid line (123, 151) connected to the fluid passage opening,
a rotary slide (111) arranged in the housing (see FIG 2), and
a seal (117, 121) configured to be in sealing contact with the housing (via 101) and the rotary slide (at right end of 121) and surrounding the fluid passage opening (defined by opening in 131).”
Regarding claim 13, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the seal comprises a support structure (1351) arranged in a connection region between the fluid passage opening and the fluid line (see FIG 2), wherein the support structure is configured to counteract a slipping of the seal into the fluid passage opening (by limiting movement in the radial inward direction).”
Regarding claim 14, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the support structure is configured to run around the fluid passage opening to form a collar (131 seen to be a collar).”
Regarding claim 15, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein an outer support structure (135) on which an end of the seal facing away from the fluid passage opening (radially outermost end of 121) is supported (see FIG 6).”
Regarding claim 20, Hattass (FIGs 1-6) discloses “wherein the seal comprises a pressure chamber (161); and at least one communication channel (159-2) configured to flood the pressure chamber with the fluid (communicates with 123 in FIG 2).”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over applicant’s cited Ma (US 20210372531) in view of Kothadia, or Ma in view of Hattass.
Regarding claim 18, Ma (FIGs 3-5) discloses “A motor vehicle fluid flow guiding system (FIG 1), comprising a directional control valve (FIGs 5-6)…”
Ma is silent regarding “a directional control valve according to claim 12”, namely the details of the seal.
However, Kothadia and Hattass respectively teach a rotary valve (analogous to Ma) according to claim 12 (set forth above).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date, to modify the valve of Ma with the pressure-balanced seal feature of Kothadia or Hattass, such that the combination teaches “a directional control valve according to claim 12”, to provide an improved seal that incorporates the system flow to increase sealing force.
Regarding claim 19, Ma (FIGs 3-5) discloses “further comprising a line system (conduits with valve in FIG 1) connected to the directional control valve.”
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10, Kothadia and Hattass are silent regarding “further comprising at least one support rib arranged in the pressure chamber and configured to stabilize the pressure chamber against pressure acting on the pressure chamber from outside the pressure chamber.”
It would not be obvious to modify Kothadia or Hattass to teach this feature without undue hindsight reasoning.
Regarding claim 17, Kothadia and Hattass are silent regarding “wherein the fluid passage opening of the rotary slide is larger than the fluid passage opening of the housing and/or of the seal.”
While possible, it would not be obvious to modify Kothadia or Hattass to teach this feature without undue hindsight reasoning, and the modification could interfere with the interaction between the slide and the seal.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Devices similar to the application are disclosed by Baity (US 2390872) and Konaka et al (US 20180372232).
/PATRICK C WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753