DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-10 have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 10/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Applicant’s remarks filed on 10/8/26, Applicant mainly argues that the prior art of record does not disclose the claims as amended. Specifically, Applicant refers to Figure 7 of the Application to demonstrate that an authentication result obtained after bootup may be used in the future to determine whether the system should be booted up when the same face is again detected based on registration process. However, the examiner disagrees.
It appears that the Applicant is arguing that the registration process of Figure 7 for initial and subsequent authentication is not disclosed by the prior art. However, based on the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the Specification, Sachidanandam discloses initialization of facial-feature library for subsequent authentication (Sachidanandam: [0058]-[0060]: compare with previously stored facial features; [0151]: initialization with the authentication system to create facial-feature library), and Kim discloses conserve power consumption by detecting and authenticating user based on previously-stored facial features prior to supplying more power to the system, i.e. bootup (Kim: Fig. 2; [0103]-[0105]: detecting and authenticating prior to supplying power to more components). Furthermore, initializing or registering user biometrics reasonably corresponds to associating detected face image with authentication result, which is well-known in the art. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive in light of above explanation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sachidanandam et al. U.S. 2021/0342008 (hereinafter Sachidanandam) in view of Kim et al. U.S. 2022/0046181 (hereinafter Kim).
As per claim 1 and 10, Sachidanandam discloses an information processing device for booting a system from a standby state based on a face detection result by face detection (Sachidanandam: Abstract: prevent the system from transitioning from low power state to high power state; Fig. 3: determine intent to engage or unlock mobile device based on facial detection/recognition), comprising:
a memory which temporarily stores a program of the system (Sachidanandam: [0032]: low power sensor processing programs);
a first processor which detects an area of a face image with a face captured therein from a captured image captured by an imaging unit (Sachidanadam: Figs. 2-3; [0070]: face-unlock sensor/first processor senses IR and NIR data to perform facial recognition, the sensor operates in low-power state when not in use);
a second processor which gives an instruction for bootup from the low power state based on a fact that the area of the face image is detected from a first captured image captured by the imaging unit in the low power state (Sachidanandam: Figs. 4-5; [0056]-[0058]: state manager/second processor proactively detect the user’s intent to engage and transition low power to high power state for authentication; [0083]: state manager can alter the power of the authentication system or the display from a low-power state to intermediate-power state);
a third processor which executes the program stored in the memory based on the instruction from the second processor to boot the system, and after bootup of the system, which executes authentication processing to authenticate whether or not the area of the face image corresponds to an authorized user (Sachidanandam: [0058]-[0060]: fully power authentication components in high power state for authentication; [0151]: initialization process with the authentication system to create facial-feature library);
wherein the first processor associates the face image detected from the first captured image in the standby state with the authentication result of the authentication processing (Sachidanandam: [0067]: determine if user is authentic based on comparison with previously-stored facial feature information; [0151]: facial feature library can be created during a facial-feature initialization by the UE with the authentication system, i.e. registration/enrollment process that associates detected image with authentication result).
Sachidanandam does not explicitly disclose when the area of the face image is next detected from the first captured image captured by the imaging unit in the standby state, the second processor decides whether or not to give the instruction for bootup from the standby state based on the associated authentication result. However, Kim discloses controlling power state of device based on facial detection to conserve power, and determine whether face detected using sensor matches with stored face data/previously authenticated data prior to control power supply to other components for other functions (Kim: Fig. 2; [0103]-[0105]). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to determine face detected in low power state matches previously stored user data before supplying more power to other component/waking device from standby mode because Sachidanandam and Kim are in the same field of endeavor. The motivation to combine would be to further improve efficiency of authentication process to prevent unnecessary supply of power unless detected face matches with authenticated user.
As per claim 3, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 2. Sachidanandam as modified further discloses wherein the first processor associates a face image detected from the first captured image captured by the imaging unit from the standby state until the authentication processing, with the authentication result of the authentication processing (Kim: [0103]-[0105]). Same rationale applies here as above in rejecting claim 2.
As per claim 4, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 2. Sachidanandam as modified further discloses wherein in a case where an area of a face image is next detected from the first captured image captured by the imaging unit in the standby state, when an authentication result associated with a face image corresponding to the detected face image is authentication failure, the second processor does not give the instruction for bootup from the standby state (Kim: Fig. 3; [0103]-[0105]: supply power to other component when face detected in low power state matches stored user data, meaning operation aborts if there’s no match). Allowing or denying power supply to other components based on facial recognition is basic access control method.
As per claim 5, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 2. Sachidanandam as modified further discloses wherein in a case where an area of a face image is next detected from the first captured image captured by the imaging unit in the standby state, when an authentication result associated with a face image corresponding to the detected face image is authentication success, the second processor gives the instruction for bootup from the standby state (Kim: Fig. 3; [0103]-[0105]: if face data matches, supply power to other components). Allowing or denying power supply to other components based on facial recognition is basic access control method.
As per claim 6, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 1. Sachidanandam as modified further discloses wherein the third processor executes the authentication processing based on face authentication processing based on a face image detected from a second captured image captured by the imaging unit after bootup of the system (Sachidanandam: [0067]-[0069]).
As per claim 7, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 6. Sachidanandam as modified further discloses wherein the imaging unit includes a first imaging unit for capturing a captured image based on visible light and a second imaging unit for capturing a captured image based on infrared rays, the first captured image is a captured image captured by using the first imaging unit, and the second captured image is a captured image(s) captured by using the second imaging unit, or using both the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit (Sachidanandam: [0067]-[0069]). Furthermore, it would have been an obvious to utilize various imaging units for facial authentication/recognition because those imaging units are known and effective for capturing user’s physical features or gestures.
As per claim 8, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 2. Sachidanandam as modified further discloses wherein when the area of the face image is no longer detected from the first captured image captured by the imaging unit after bootup of the system, the second processor gives an instruction to make a transition to the standby state (Sachidanandam: [0044]: detect user’s intent to disengage and transition back to standby).
As per claim 9, Sachidanandam as modified discloses the information processing device according to Claim 8. Sachidanandam further discloses wherein even in a case where the area of the face image is detected from the first captured image captured by the imaging unit after bootup of the system, when an authentication result associated with a face image corresponding to the detected face image is authentication failure, the second processor gives the instruction to make the transition to the standby state (Sachidanandam: [0185]-[0186]: detect non-user’s intent to engage the device, transition the device back to standby state).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Elizov et al. U.S. 2022/0060623 discloses using an image sensor for always-on application within a mobile device, wherein the sensor hub performs a facial detection algorithm to see if a face has been detected, and provide a status signal to the mobile device indicating it is to exit from the low-power state or sleep state.
Alameh et al. U.S. 2021/0173909 discloses entering low-power or sleep mode by detecting user presence based on facial-recognition, voice recognition, or fingerprint sensor.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHIN-HON (ERIC) CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431