Detailed Action
This is the first action on the merits (FAOM) to this instant application in which claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 16 are independent and claims 2-15 and 17-20 are dependent.
Instant invention according to independent claim 1 is about an AV projection system to be used in an MRI system. AV-projection systems and methods are generally known in prior art. Applicant’s invention according to independent claims 1 and 16 are not narrow enough and hence, easily met by prior reference Lee (US-2014/0125337-A1). Hence, the application is being rejected at this first action on the merits.
It is worth mentioning that a version of Lee was used by the ISA1 to indicate that certain independent claims are potentially rejectable during a national stage prosecution.
It is also worth mentioning that the Application contains allowable subject matter of which the Applicants may take advantage of.
Rejection under 35 USC §102
Claim 1-5, 7-11 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (US-2014/0125337-A1).
Item matching between claim feature and the applied prior art reference are shown in the table below (Table-1).
Table-1
Claim No
Claim feature
Prior art
Lee (US-2014/0125337-A1
Row
No.
1
A system for projecting an image within an MRI bore comprising:
Lee meets this claim feature.
Lee discloses a system for projecting an image within an MRI bore, see Fig. 17-18 in Lee.
1
a projector;
Lee meets this claim feature.
A projector (260), see Fig. 17-18
2
a mirror;
Lee meets this claim feature.
A mirror (270), see Fig. 17-18.
3
a first receiver/transmitter in communication with the projector;
Lee meets this claim feature.
a first receiver/transmitter (150, 250) in communication with the projector (260),
4
a second receiver/transmitter in communication with the first receiver/transmitter; and
Lee meets this claim feature.
Lee discloses a second receiver/transmitter (MRI control system 180, 280) in communication with the first receiver/transmitter (150, 250); and
5
an audio-visual data source in communication with the second receiver/transmitter,
Lee meets this claim feature.
Lee discloses an audio-visual data source (1902).
6
wherein the audio-visual data source produces a signal,
Lee meets this wherein clause.
Lee discloses wherein the audio-visual data source (190) produces a signal3,
7
wherein the signal is communicated from the audio-visual data source to the second receiver/transmitter, from the second receiver/transmitter to the first receiver/transmitter, and from the first receiver/transmitter to the projector,
Lee meets this wherein clause as signal travels from the console 190 to the projector via the MRI control system 180, 280 and the projection detachable module 150, 250.
8
wherein the projector projects a still or video image decoded from the signal, and
Lee meets this claim feature, see Fig. 17 and 18, in Lee, each of which shows still picture or “moving picture” to be projected onto the bore wall.
9
wherein the projection is reflected off of the mirror and onto the inside of an MRI machine bore.
Lee meets this claim feature as it uses mirror 270 to project the image decoded by the projector 160, 260 onto inner surface (110a) of the bore of the housing (110).
10
2
The projection system of claim 1, wherein the projector and mirror are located within the MRI bore.
Lee meets this claim feature as it discusses placing mirror (270) and the projector (260) within the bore when these items are compatible4 with MRI system that produces high magnetic field or outside the bore if these items are not compatible with high magnetic field, see para [0096] and para [0143].
11
3
The projection system of claim 2, wherein the first receiver/transmitter is located inside of an MRI room and the second receiver/transmitter and audio-visual data source are located outside of the MRI room.
Lee meets claim 3 as it places detachable module 150, 250 within the MRI room and MRI control system 180, 280 and console 190 outside the MRI room.
12
4
The projection system of claim 3, further comprising: a printed circuit board (PCB), which receives the signal from the first receiver/transmitter, decodes the signal into a signal output, and transmits the signal output to the projector through wire; and an RF-shielded case comprising an aperture through which the projection is beamed, wherein both the projector and PCB are located within the RF-shielded case.
Lee meets claim 4.
Projector 160, 260 in Lee is capable of decoding [invisible] electronic signals to generate visible image and therefore, implicitly it must have a PCB board.
Projector 160, 260, in Lee can have RF-shielded case, see “electromagnetic field shield” in Lee.
The “electromagnetic field shield” in in Lee must have an aperture to project beam to the inner wall of the housing 110.
13
5
The projection system of claim 4, wherein the PCB comprises a power source and the PCB converts and transfers power from the power source to the projector.
Lee meets claim 5.
See Fig. 2 in Lee that shows power to the projector 160 is supplied. Therefore, there is a power source in Lee. PCB of a projector typically contains circuits that convert and transfer power to different parts of the projector, e.g., light source, image processor, etc.
14
7
The projection system of claim 5, wherein the power source is a wall outlet.
Lee meets claim 5.
Wall outlet is a power source most device including a typical projector.
There are no reasons to believe that for a projector to draw power from a wall outlet would be a [new] invention.
15
8
The projection system of claim 5, wherein the power source is the MRI machine.
Lee meets claim 8, see Fig. 2, for example.
16
9
The projection system of claim 4, wherein the PCB further comprises a radio receiver, a memory component, and a storage component, wherein the memory component temporarily stores the signal while it is being converted to the signal output.
Lee meets claim 9 as a generic projector that can decode an invisible electronic signal into a visible image should have all these claimed parts.
Claim 9 is not new even if Lee explicitly does not list these parts.
17
10
The projection assembly of claim 9, wherein the memory component further comprises non-volatile memory.
Lee meets claim 10 as almost always a non-volatile memory is required for firmware of a projector or any such device that includes a minimum basic operating software that provides instruction for the device to come alive from dead state after power switch is turned ON.
18
11
The projection assembly of claim 10, wherein the PCB further comprises a boost converter.
Boost converters are almost always found on a PCB of a generic modern projector as the lamp circuit of a modern projector requires a large amount of power. It should not be considered an invention over Lee even if Lee lacks a mention of any PCB board. Applicants have not established any special need for boost converter in any exemplary embodiments; and for a reason being that the Applicant believes adding a boost converter to its PCB board over a modern generic projector should be an invention.
19
16
A method for projecting an image and/or video into an MRI bore comprising the steps of:
Lee meets all features of claim 16.
Lee generates an image from an audio-visual signal from an audio-visual source.
20
generating an image, audio, and/or video signal from an audio-visual source;
In Lee, a trained technical staff operates the MRI apparatus (100) placed within the MRI room using a console 190 from outside of the MRI room. In this case, both the audio-visual source (1905) and the transmitter/receiver (190) are located outside the MRI room.
21
in a first transmitting step, transmitting the signal from the audio-visual source to an outside receiver/transmitter located outside an MRI room;
This is the claimed first transmitting step, in Lee, when AV-signal is transmitted to the console 190 from an AV source within itself or from a different AV source located outside the MRI room.
22
in a second transmitting step, transmitting the signal from the outside receiver/transmitter to an inside receiver/transmitter located within the MRI room;
In Lee, claimed second transmitting step is the step when console 190 transmits AV signal to detachable module 150, 250.
23
in a third transmitting step, transmitting the signal from the inside receiver/transmitter to a projector; decoding the signal into a projectable output; and projecting the projectable output onto the inside surface of an MRI machine bore.
In Lee, claimed third transmitting step is performed by the detachable module 150, 250 which transmits the AV signal to the projector (160, 260). Then the projector projects the decoded image onto an inner surface 110a6 of the housing 110.
24
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 12-15 and 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
As to dependent claim 6, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the projection system of claim 5, wherein the power source is a battery.
As to dependent claim 12, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record including the applied reference neither discloser nor reasonably suggests the projection system of claim 5, wherein the RF-shielded case further comprises an electromagnetic radiation limiting device disposed about the aperture.
As to dependent claims 13-15, each of these claims depends from claim 12, and these would be allowable if claim 12 is written in independent form.
As to dependent claim 17, the claim would be allowable if written in independent form because the prior art of the record neither discloses nor reasonably suggests the method of claim 16, wherein the second transmitting step is accomplished wirelessly.
Citation
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brown (US-2017/0235342-A1) discloses a method of transmitting an audio signal from outside of an MRI room to inside using a tablet computer 10, the wireless transmission is like that claimed in instant claim 17. In para [0007] Born discusses potential of projecting an image inside the scan room and it teaches away from this idea. The audio signal is not intended to be projected, nor can it be projected onto the surface of the bore of MRI apparatus. Brown does not render claim 17 unpatentable.
Contact Information
G.M. HYDER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2852
/G.M. A HYDER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852
1 ISA≡ International Search Authority.
2 Examiner Comment: In Lee, suitable contents are described to be selected by the user of the MRI apparatus (100, 200) via the operator console 190, see para [0108]. Contents are audio-visual contents that are displayed to the patient or inspection target and when user selects the audio-visual content via console 190, the console 190 serves as source of the audio-visual source.
3 Examiner comment: Console 190 is understood to produce a signal as claimed for communicating with the MRI control system 180, 280. The signal from console 190 may include audio-visual signal which projector 160, 260 decodes to form a visual image.
4 Examiner comment: Projector 160 260 may include “electromagnetic field shield” to be compatible with the MRI system that applies high magnetic field, for example see para [0096].
5 Examiner comment: Console 190 in Lee gathers audio-visual signal from a file within the console 190 and further, the console may collect AV-signal from a source located outside the console 190 and outside of the MRI room, especially, when the technical staff or user collects “news” stream from broadcasting source.
6 Examiner comment: In lee, inner surface 110a of housing 110 defines a bore of MRI apparatus 100.