DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 13, “An use” should read “A use”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the packaging". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites a use of the device for collecting solid particles contained in a soup of organic matter without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims recite a use of a device for collecting solid particles contained in a soup of organic matter without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced, wherein “use” claims as such do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gomez (US 2020/0298246).
Regarding claim 1, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches a device for collecting solid particles contained in a soup of organic matter (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-5), the device comprising:
a trommel (Fig. 2 #4) provided with openings (Fig. 2 #6) to form a screen that retains solid particles and allows organic matter to pass through (Paragraph 0046 lines 1-8);
a rotary brush (Fig. 2 #7) mounted in the trommel (Fig. 2 #7 mounted in #4) for brushing an inner surface of said trommel (Fig. 2 see #7 brushing inner surface of #4, Paragraph 0035 lines 7-8);
motorised means (Fig. 2 #12, Paragraph 0036 lines 18-20) arranged to drive the trommel and the brush in rotation (Paragraph 0036 lines 18-22);
a rolling cylinder (Fig. 2 #20) mounted in the trommel (Fig. 2 #20 mounted in #4) and arranged so that an outer surface of the rolling cylinder bears against the inner surface of the trommel (Fig. 2 see outer surface of #20 bearing against inner surface of #4) so as to force the organic matter to pass through the openings in the trommel (Paragraph 0037 lines 4-15).
Regarding claim 2, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the brush (Fig. 2 #7) extends along an axis parallel to a longitudinal axis of the trommel (Fig. 2 see axis of #7 extends along axis parallel to axis of #4).
Regarding claim 3, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the rolling cylinder (Fig. 2 #20) extends along an axis parallel to a longitudinal axis of the trommel (Fig. 2 see axis of #20 extends along axis parallel to axis of #4).
Regarding claim 4, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 1, comprising unclogging means (Fig. 2 #60) arranged to at least partially unblock the openings (Fig. 2 #6) in the trommel during the rotation of said trommel (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 5, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 4, wherein the unclogging means (Fig. 2 #60) comprise an unclogging roller (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-4, “wheel”) provided with teeth (Fig. 9 #67) which are intended to engage at least partially in the openings (Fig. 2 #6) of the trommel during the rotation of said trommel (Paragraph 0042 lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 6, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 5, wherein the teeth (Fig. 9 #67) of the unclogging roller (Fig. 2 #60) have a height greater than a thickness of the trommel (Paragraph 0040 lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 7, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 5 or 6, wherein the unclogging roller (Fig. 2 #60) is mounted outside the trommel (Fig. 2 see #60 mounted outside #4).
Regarding claim 8, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 1, comprising means for introducing the soup of organic matter into the trommel (Paragraph 0036 lines 1-6), the introduction means comprising a tube (Fig. 8 see tube formed around #43) having a first end that opens to the outside of the trommel (Fig. 8 see first end of tube formed around #43 opening to #41 “loading opening” outside of #4) and a second end that opens to the inside of the trommel (Fig. 5 see second end of tube formed around #43 that opens to inside of #4).
Regarding claim 9, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches the device according to claim 8, wherein the first end of the tube (Fig. 8 first end of tube formed around #43 in #40) is provided with means for connection to a source of a soup of organic matter (Paragraph 0044 lines 1-7).
Regarding claim 11, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches a method for collecting solid particles contained in an soup of organic matter (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-5), comprising introducing the soup of organic matter into the trommel (Fig. 2 #4, Paragraph 0036 lines 1-6) of the device according to claim 1 (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches a packaging treatment plant (Paragraph 0001 lines 1-5), comprising a device for collecting the organic matter adhering to the packaging in the form of a soup (Paragraph 0006 lines 1-3), and the device according to claim 1 for collecting the solid particles contained in the soup (see claim 1).
Regarding claim 13, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) teaches an use of the device according to claim 1 (see claim 1, Paragraph 0001 lines 1-5) for collecting solid particles contained in an soup of organic matter (Paragraph 0007 lines 1-14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gomez (US 2020/0298246) in view of Grotebevelsborg (US 11033940).
Regarding claim 10, Gomez (US 2020/0298246) lacks teaching the device according to claim 8, wherein the second end of the tube is provided with a deflector arranged to direct the soup of organic matter towards the rolling cylinder.
Grotebevelsborg (US 11033940) teaches device for collecting solid particles contained in a soup of organic matter (Col. 1 lines 14-17) wherein the second end of the tube (Fig. 1 second end of #12) is provided with a deflector (Fig. 1 second end of #12 provided at angle to axis of #1, therefore deflecting the travel of material) arranged to direct the soup of organic matter towards the rolling cylinder (Fig. 1 second end of #12 arranged to direct material toward #6).
Grotebevelsborg (US 11033940) explains that the roller picks up the globs of organic waste as it enters through a feed opening at the first end of the screen and directs the globs outwards against perforated lateral walls of the cylindrical screen (Col. 5 lines 13-17).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gomez (US 2020/0298246) to include wherein the second end of the tube is provided with a deflector arranged to direct the soup of organic matter towards the rolling cylinder as taught by Grotebevelsborg (US 11033940) in order to direct the material towards the trommel screen to undergo separation.
Conclusion
/MOLLY K DEVINE/ Examiner, Art Unit 3653