DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C 103
Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, Applicant argues that Ransom fails to disclose a “quantitative element including a total cost associated with the data set for a particular end user of the one or more end users” where Ransom’s cost is not a quantitative element associated with a data set. That Ransom’s costs are not derived from descriptor categorizations, nor are they generated as a function of the comparison of descriptor categorizations.
Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s argument and respectfully disagrees. In response to the preceding argument examiner respectfully submits that Ransom teaches a quantitative element associated with the data set. Examiner interprets from Ransom (Fig. 2 [0056-0057] A legend 225 may be used to indicate the usage type categories depicted in the chart. The chart area 224 displays a stacked column 220-223, which indicates both what percentage each usage type category contributes to the total cost, and what the actual dollar figure of that cost is) that the total cost is indeed a quantitative element where a quantitative element is simply a numbered attribute of a data field. A quantitative element is a broad limitation that encompasses any value that comprises a number. Second, the usage type category is interpreted as a descriptor categorization. In Ransom ([0058] the energy cost 223 is contributing to over 60% of the total cost), the energy cost is a descriptor categorization where a descriptor categorization is interpreted simply as any type of categorization. The percentage breakdown is also interpreted as a function of comparison of descriptor categorizations as each cost represents a percentage contribution of a categorization against other categories. For example in Ransom the energy cost contributes 60% to the total cost. As both the systems of Murray and Ransom discloses a categorization of data, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray by Ransom to specifically generate a cost function for various data set categories that may now include elements indicative of how much an element may cost a user.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant argues that Newlin does not teach “transport configurations”.
Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s argument and respectfully disagrees. Examiner interprets from Newlin: wherein the one or more data modules comprises at least one transport configuration ([0028] transportation modes). Data modules as claimed in claims 1 and 4 are not strictly defined as anything more than a quantitative element including a total cost associated with a data set for a particular end user. Given such claimed limitations, Newlin discloses a cost of transportation modes.
Regarding claim 8, Applicant argues that Neumann does not teach “data modules or data module training data” where Neumann is silent to a trained machine module configured to output data modules.
Examiner has carefully considered Applicant’s argument and respectfully disagrees. Examiner interprets from Neumann: ([0052] receive training data to generate an algorithm; mathematical expression and/or cost function may be generated using a machine learning to produce cost function) where a trained machine learning model is used to output data modules. Given the above limitations and references, the examiner maintains the rejection in view of Murray, Ransom, Newlin and Neumann.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7, 9-13, 15, 7, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (U.S Pub # 20190102438) in view of Ransom (U.S Pub # 20040225648).
With regards to claim 1, Murray discloses an apparatus for categorization and configuration of data sets, comprising:
a processor; and a memory communicatively connected to the processor, the memory containing instructions configuring the processor to:
receive a data set ([0074] ingest a data set);
categorize the data set into at least one descriptor categorization ([0141] data may be parsed to identify a category);
compare the data set to one or more validity thresholds as a function of the at least one descriptor categorization ([0166] category may be chosen based on a highest similarity metric).
Murray does not disclose however Ransom discloses:
generate one or more data modules as a function of the comparison, wherein generating the one or more data modules comprises selecting one or more end users as a function of the data set, wherein the one or more data modules each comprise a quantitative element including a total cost associated with the data set for a particular end user of the one or more end users ([0053-0054] operational unit of interest [0056-0057] total cost of each category).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray by Ransom to generate a cost function for data set categories.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the cost and quality of the energy product and energy assets that produce, deliver, control and consume it (Ransom [0006]).
Claim 11 corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 2, Murray further discloses:
wherein categorizing the data set into the at least one descriptor categorization comprises classifying the data set using a descriptor classifier ([0141] classify pattern attributes).
Claim 12 corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 3, Murray further discloses:
wherein the descriptor classifier is trained with training data comprising a plurality of data sets correlated to a plurality of descriptor categorizations ([0164] Wird2Vec built using a large text corpus).
Claim 13 corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 5, Murray does not disclose however Ransom discloses:
wherein selecting the one or more end users comprises selecting the one or more end users from a database ([0053-0054] select an operational unit of interest to data from other users).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray by Ransom to generate a cost function for data set categories.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the cost and quality of the energy product and energy assets that produce, deliver, control and consume it (Ransom [0006]).
Claim 15 corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 7, Murray does not disclose however Ransom discloses:
wherein each end user is associated with a user rating ([0043] user may rank modes of transportation).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray by Ransom to generate a cost function for data set categories.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the cost and quality of the energy product and energy assets that produce, deliver, control and consume it (Ransom [0006]).
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 9, Murray does not disclose however Ransom discloses:
create a user interface data structure as a function of the one or more data modules; and
visually present one or more data modules as a function of the user interface data structure through a graphical user interface ([0057] display categories and cost statistics).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray by Ransom to generate a cost function for data set categories.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the cost and quality of the energy product and energy assets that produce, deliver, control and consume it (Ransom [0006]).
Claim 19 corresponds to claim 9 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 10, Murray does not disclose however Ransom discloses:
receive an input of the one or more data modules through the graphical user interface; and
generate a communication datum as a function of the input ([0059] user can make various selections to update the display).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray by Ransom to generate a cost function for data set categories.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage the cost and quality of the energy product and energy assets that produce, deliver, control and consume it (Ransom [0006]).
Claim 20 corresponds to claim 10 and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (U.S Pub # 20190102438) in view of Ransom (U.S Pub # 20040225648) and in further view of Newlin (U.S Pub # 20160298974).
With regards to claim 4, Murray does not disclose however Newlin discloses:
wherein the one or more data modules comprises at least one transport configuration ([0028] transportation modes).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray and Ransom by Newlin to include transportation data.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to generate and display information related to multiple, alternative modes of transportation from an origin to a destination (Newlin [0003]).
Claim 14 corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murray (U.S Pub # 20190102438) in view of Ransom (U.S Pub # 20040225648) and in further view of Neumann (U.S Pub # 20200380039).
With regards to claim 8, Murray does not disclose however Neumann discloses:
receiving data module training data comprising a plurality of data sets correlated to a plurality of data modules ([0052] receive training data);
training a data module machine learning model as a function of the data module training data ([0052] receive training data to generate an algorithm);
generating one or more data modules as a function of the data module machine learning model ([0052] mathematical expression and/or cost function may be generated using a machine learning to produce cost function).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified Murray and Ransom by Neumann to train a model to calculate a total cost function for a data set.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to use a machine learning process to acquire accurate pictures of user preferences (Neumann [0016]).
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected accordingly.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TONY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166