DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information disclosure statement of 04/08/2025 has been received and reviewed.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the two supporting domes of claim 7 and the inner and outer handles being formed as latches or knobs of claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the latching pin interacts with the at least on locking element by moving the polygon in the axial direction”. The latching pin does not move the polygon in the axial direction. The movement of the polygon in the axial direction is what causes the latching pin to interact with the at least one locking element. Examiner will interpret the claim as reciting the latching pin interacts with the at least on locking element when the polygon is moved in the axial direction.
Claim 5 recites the phrase “can”. It is unclear if the limitations following said phrase are required or not.
Claim 11 recites the handles being formed as latches or knobs, but the drawings and specifications show them formed as levers. It is unclear how a handle would be formed as a latch.
Claims 2-4 and 6-10 are rejected due to their dependency on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 1544383 (herein referred to as 383).
Regarding claim 1, 383 discloses:
A door handle set (fig 2) having a first handle (11) formed as an outer handle (fig 2), a base plate (18) connected thereto with at least one locking element (19), and a polygon (17) engageable with the base plate (fig 2) and the outer handle and having at least one latching pin (21), wherein the latching pin interacts with the at least one locking element by moving the polygon in the axial direction in such a way that the outer handle is blocked for movement in a predetermined radial movement direction in a first position (fig 2, 21 is in recess 20 of 19) of the polygon and is released for movement in a predetermined radial movement direction in a second position (fig 3, 21 is released from 19) of the polygon.
Regarding claim 6, 383 discloses:
The door handle set according to claim 1, wherein a blocking element (20) projecting from the base plate is provided, which is arranged in such a way that the movement of the at least one latching pin in the radial direction and against the predetermined radial movement direction is thereby limited (20 limits the movement of 21).
Regarding claim 9, 383 discloses:
The door handle set according to claim 1, wherein the base plate, outer handle and polygon are connected to one another in a form-fitting manner (fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 5, and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1544383 (herein referred to as 383) in view of JP H10184112 (herein referred to as 112).
Regarding claim 2, 383 does not explicitly disclose:
The door handle set according to claim 1, wherein the polygon has two latching pins opposite one another, and wherein two locking elements are provided. 383 only discloses 1 latching pin.
However, 112 teaches that it is well known in the art for a polygon (14) to have tow latching pins (19) opposite one another (see fig 3), and wherein two locking elements are provided (22). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of 112 into 383 at least because doing so would provide additional security by adding redundancy.
Regarding claim 5, 383 does not explicitly disclose:
The door handle set according to claim 1, further having an inner handle which can be brought into engagement with an area of the polygon opposite the outer handle in such a way that it is operatively connected thereto and can actuate the polygon in the radial direction in order to bring the polygon into the first position and into the second position.
However, 112 teaches an inner handle (12) which can be brought into engagement with an area of the polygon opposite the outer handle (right end as seen in gif 3) in such a way that it is operatively connected thereto (fig 2). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of 112 into 383 at least because doing so would provide additional utility by providing an inner and outer handle to actuate the door from both sides. This combination would allow the inner handle to axially actuate the polygon due to the invention of 383.
Regarding claim 10, 383 in view of 112 discloses:
The door handle set according to claim 5, wherein inner handle and outer handle are formed in the same manner (fig 2, they are both formed as handles).
Regarding claim 11, 383 in view of 112 discloses:
The door handle set according to claim 5, wherein inner handle and outer handle are formed as latch, as knob or as fixed or rotatable knob (they are both rotatable knobs).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 1544383 (herein referred to as 383) in view of US 20180209185 (herein referred to as 185).
Regarding claim 8, 383 does not explicitly disclose:
The door handle set according to claim 1, further having at least one locking indicator arranged on a handle, which is visible or not visible depending on the position of the polygon, and which is - either provided between the area of the handle facing a door panel and a rosette and formed as a colored layer, or - provided on a visible side of the handle, wherein the handle has a hole in an area above the polygon, and wherein an indicator element is mounted on the polygon in the area of the hole, which by moving the polygon in the axial direction slides an indicator into the area of the opening of the hole or out of the area of the opening of the hole.
However, 185 teaches that it is well known in the art for at least one locking indicator (38) to be coupled to a door handle set facing a door panel and formed as a colored layer (38a/b). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of 185 into 383 at least because doing so would provide additional utility by providing visual indication of the state of the lock. The lock indicator being incorporated into 383 would move with the polygon and have a hole or opening to show the indication.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 7 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Y.S./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675