DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kinouchi (US 20230000320).
Regarding claim 1, Kinouchi discloses an endoscope device (the first modification of the first embodiment as described at 0078-0084 also with reference to the superseding first embodiment where appropriate; figs 8-11 ) comprising:
a processor unit (processor unit 3) including a power transmitting coil (a power transmitting primary coil 52 ) and a control board (the computational circuitry within processor unit 3) (see figures 1,5, paragraph 0058); and
a scope unit including a power receiving coil and an endoscope (scope unit 8a including a secondary power coils 37 and an endoscope – figures 1, 3, 10, paragraphs 0065-0066, 0078, 0080);
wherein while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other, the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil at least partially overlap each other in an axial direction, and contactless power supply from the power transmitting coil to the power receiving coil is enabled (when connector for endoscope 8A is inserted into the receptacle 40 of the scope processor 3, the primary coil 52 arranged along the inner side surface of the first cylindrical 46 and the secondary coil 37 on the outer side surface of the first cylindrical portion 31 are electromagnetically connected – see include, but are not limited to, figures 1, 10, paragraphs 0072, 0084. As the primary coil 52 on the inner surface of the receptable 40 and the secondary coil 37 arranged along on outer surface of the cylindrical portion 31 of the endoscope faces adjacently to each other when electromagnetically connected to provide power, the primary coil 52 and the secondary coil 37 at least partially overlap each other in an axial direction – see also figure 10).
Regarding claim 2, Kinouchi discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil are wound along a cylindrical surface (the secondary coil 37 are arranged the outer side surface of the first cylindrical portion 31. Examples of the structure of the secondary coil 37 may include a structure including an arc surface and a coil portion wound spirally or helically on the arc surface (see figure 8,10, paragraphs 0080, 0084), the primary coil 52 are arranged on the inner side surface of cylindrical hole 46 and corresponding to the coil 37 (see figure 10, paragraphs 0082, 0084). Thus, primary coil 52 and secondary coil 37 are wound along a cylindrical surface.
Regarding claim 3, Kinouchi discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein one of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a protruding surface having a cylindrical shape (e.g., endoscope 8A includes a protrusion portion with cylindrical portion 31 – see figure 10 3, paragraph 0084
the other of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a recessed surface having a cylindrical shape (the receptacle 40 includes a hole reception hole having a cylindrical shape – see figure 5, paragraphs 0059, 0084),
the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil are both arranged along the protruding surface or the recessed surface, and the protruding surface and the recessed surface are fitted to each other while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other (see figure
Regarding claim 5, Kinouchi discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein one of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a light-emitting element (0058 describes an illumination light source such as a halogen lamp), the other of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a light-receiving element (processor unit comprises light diode/light source and the endoscope has light receiving element through guide light 50 see figures 5-6, paragraph 0063, and
the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element are allowed to transmit and receive an optical signal while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other (see figures 5-6, paragraphs 0063, 0070).
Regarding claim 6, Kinouchi discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein each of the processor unit and the scope unit includes an optical path for illumination light, and
the optical paths of the processor unit and the scope unit are joined while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other (optical path with optical fiber 36a, optical fiber plug 36, optical fiber insertion hole 51, etc. for proving lights when the endoscope and the processor are connected – see figures 5-6, 10, paragraphs 0063-0064, 0070-0071, 0081).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 5-6 are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)as being anticipated by Kato et al. (US 20120088970 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kato discloses an endoscope device (see the first embodiment paragraphs 0033-0103, figures 1-7) comprising:
a processor unit (extracorporeal device 5 and extracorporeal side connector 14 – see figure 2) including a power transmitting coil (primary coil ring 36 – see figure 2) and a control board (a system control device 33– see figure 2, paragraph 0045); and
a scope unit (endoscope scope insertion portion 4 and scope-side connector 13 – see figure 2) including a power receiving coil (secondary coil 35 – see figure 2) and an endoscope (insertion portion 4– see figures 1-2, paragraphs 0043, 0046);
wherein while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other, the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil at least partially overlap each other in an axial direction, and contactless power supply from the power transmitting coil to the power receiving coil is enabled (while the extracorporeal-side connector 14 and the scope side connector 13 are connected together, the primary coil ring 36 of the extracorporeal-side connector 14 and the secondary coil ring 35 of the scope-side connector 13 at least partially overlap each other in an axial direction, and contactless power supply from the primary coil ring 36 to secondary coil ring 37 is enabled – see figure 4, paragraph 0074, 0083, 0091).
Regarding claim 2, Kato discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein the power transmitting coil and the power receiving coil are wound along a cylindrical surface (primary coil ring 36 and secondary coil ring 35 are wound along a cylindrical surface - see for example, figures 4-5, paragraphs 0055, 0062, 0015).
Regarding claim 3, Kato discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein one of the processor unit (extracorporeal 5 and extracorporeal-side connector 14) and the scope unit (insertion portion 4 and scope-side connector 13)includes a protruding surface having a cylindrical shape (the insertion portion 4 and scope-side connector 13 includes a protruding surface of the scope-side connector 13 having a cylindrical shape – see figures 1, 4, paragraphs 0055-0056, 0059), the other of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a recessed surface having a cylindrical shape (
Regarding claim 5, Kato discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein one of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a light-emitting element (extracorporeal device 5 and extracorporeal-side connector 14 includes light emitting device through light guide 58 – see figure 4, paragraphs 0067, 0075), the other of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a light-receiving element (the insertion portion 4 and scope-side connector 13 includes scope-side light guide 53 – figure 4, paragraph 0075), and the light-emitting element and the light-receiving element are allowed to transmit and receive an optical signal while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other (when the scope-side connector 13 and the extracorporeal-side connector 14 are connected together, the end surface of the scope-side light guide 53 and the end surface of the extracorporeal-side light guide 58 are facing each other. As a result, illimitation light is able to be transmitted from the extracorporeal-side light 58 to the scope-side light guide 53 - see figures 4, paragraph 0075).
Regarding claim 6, Kato discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein each of the processor unit and the scope unit includes an optical path for illumination light, and the optical paths of the processor unit and the scope unit are joined while the processor unit and the scope unit are in a joined state to each other (optical paths of the guide lights 53 and 58 are jointed when the processor unit and the scope unit are connected to each other - see figure 4, paragraph 0075).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinouchi as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shimomura (US 20190082930).
Regarding claim 4, Kinouchi discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein the processor unit includes the power transmitting coil (primary coil 52 – see figures 5-6, paragraphs 0065-0066), and the scope unit includes a plurality of the power receiving coils (e.g., two secondary coils 37 are arranged along the outer peripheral surface of the first cylindrical portion 31 – see paragraph 0080).
Kinouchi further discloses the primary coil 52 is disposed in a position corresponding to the secondary coil 37 and in a position along and adjacent to the inner peripheral surface of the first cylindrical hole 46 (paragraph 0082) and two secondary coils 37 arranged along the outer peripheral surface for the first cylindrical portion 31 (paragraph 0080). However, Kinouchi does not explicitly disclose processor unit includes a plurality of power transmitting coils.
Shimomura discloses processor unit includes a plurality of power transmitting coils (processor and navigation device includes plurality of generation coils 39 – see figure 2, paragraphs 0077-0078); and
scope unit includes a plurality of power receiving coils (scope unit includes a plurality of respective detection coils – see figure 2, paragraphs 0057-0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kinouchi with the teaching of processor includes plurality of power transmitting coils as taught by Shimomura in order to yield predictable result of providing more power bandwidth and faster charging.
Claim 4 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato (US 20120088970) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shimomura (US 20190082930).
Regarding claim 4, Kato discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1, wherein the processor unit includes the power transmitting coil (primary coil ring 36 – see figures 2, 4), and the scope unit includes the power receiving coil (secondary coil ring 35 – see figures 2, 4).
However, Kato does not explicitly disclose “wherein the processor unit includes a plurality of power transmitting coils, and the scope unit includes a plurality of power receiving coils”.
Shimomura discloses a processor unit includes a plurality of power transmitting coils (processor and navigation device includes plurality of generation coils 39 – see figure 2, paragraphs 0077-0078); and
scope unit includes a plurality of power receiving coils (scope unit includes a plurality of respective detection coils – see figure 2, paragraphs 0057-0058).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato with the teaching of processor includes plurality of power transmitting coils and scope unit includes a plurality of power receiving coils as taught by Shimomura in order to yield the predictable result of providing more power bandwidth and faster charging.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinouchi as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shimomura et al. (US 20170172400).
Regarding claim 7, Kinouchi discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1. Kinouchi also discloses when the endoscope is inserted or connected with the receptable of the endoscope processor, the light, or power or primary coil and secondary coil are connected (see paragraphs 0072-0074). However, Kinouchi does not explicitly disclose “at least one of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a joint detection switch that detects that the processor unit and the scope unit have been joined to each other”.
Shimomura discloses at least one of processor unit and scope unit includes a joint detection switch that detects that the processor unit and the scope unit have been joined to each other (processor device for endoscope include control section 76 detects whether or not the processor side connector 12 and the scope side connector 18 are connected to each other. For instance, an LG (Light Guide) detection switch can be arranged in the vicinity of the processor side connector 12 of the processor device 11 detects the scope unit and the processor device 11 are connected/jointed to each other – see include, but are not limited to, figure 5, paragraphs 0127, 0129-0130, 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kinouchi with the teaching of at least one of processor unit and scope unit includes a joint detection switch that detects that the processor unit and the scope unit have been joined to each other as taught by Shimomura in order to yield predictable result of providing status information of the connected state to the user.
Claim 7 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 20120088970) as applied to claim 1 above and in view of Shimomura et al. (US 20170172400).
Regarding claim 7, Kato discloses the endoscope device according to claim 1. Kato also discloses when the scope-side connector 13 is connected with the extracorporeal-side connector 14, the light, or power or primary coil and secondary coil are connected (see paragraph 0074-0075). However, Kato does not explicitly disclose at least one of the processor unit and the scope unit includes a joint detection switch that detects that the processor unit and the scope unit have been joined to each other.
Shimomura discloses at least one of processor unit and scope unit includes a joint detection switch that detects that the processor unit and the scope unit have been joined to each other (processor device for endoscope include control section 76 detects whether or not the processor side connector 12 and the scope side connector 18 are connected to each other. For instance, an LG (Light Guide) detection switch can be arranged in the vicinity of the processor side connector 12 of the processor device 11 detects the scope unit and the processor device 11 are connected/jointed to each other – see include, but are not limited to, figure 5, paragraphs 0127, 0129-0130, 0132).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify Kato with the teaching of at least one of processor unit and scope unit includes a joint detection switch that detects that the processor unit and the scope unit have been joined to each other as taught by Shimomura in order to yield predictable result of providing status information of the connected state to the user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shimomura (US 20160220095) discloses processor device for endoscope, endoscope system, and contactless power supply method for endoscope system.
Kato et al. (US 20120088970) discloses endoscope system.
Amling et al. (US 20180296067) discloses method scope device with improved radio frequency data interface.
Uchmura et al. (US 20070060789) discloses endoscope.
/AN SON P HUYNH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426
May 17, 2026