DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s amendment filed 27 January 2026 wherein Claim 1 is amended, no claims are newly added, and no claims are newly cancelled. Therefore Claims 1 – 17 are currently pending.
The Applicant’s amendment to the Drawings dated 27 January 2026 has been fully considered. These amendments overcome the Drawing Objection set forth in the Final Rejection dated 4 December 2025. Therefore each Drawing Objection set forth in the Final Rejection is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 6 – 8, filed 27 January 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 1 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Cisko, JR (US 6,830,565 B2) in view of Murray et al. (US 2021/0370018), Rosati (US 2008/0021373 A1), and Martz (US 5,593,395 A).
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 6 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3 is objected to for reciting “a center of the adhesive.” It is unclear if this center of the adhesive is the same center of adhesive as recited in Claim 1 or a different center of the adhesive.
Claim 6 is objected to for reciting “a center of the adhesive.” It is unclear if this center of the adhesive is the same center of adhesive as recited in Claim 1 or a different center of the adhesive.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 10, 14, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisko, JR (US 6,830,565 B2) (hereinafter referred to as “Cisko”) in view of Murray et al. (US 2021/0370018) (hereinafter referred to as “Murray”), Rosati (US 2008/0021373 A1) as motivated by Martz (US 5,593,395 A).
Cisko, Murray, and Martz are each cited in the Notice of References Cited form dated 27 August 2025.
With regards to claim 1, Cisko discloses (Figs. 1 – 3) an adhesive device (10) (Col. 1, lines 63 – Col. 2, line 10) for attachment to skin (see Col. 3, line 33 – Col. 4, line 3) comprising:
an adhesive (11) (Col. 1, line 63 – Col. 2, line 10) for attachment to skin (see Col. 3, line 33 – Col. 4, line 3); and
a two-piece release liner system (13a, 13b) for protecting and covering the adhesive (see Figs. 1 – 2 and see Col. 2, line 51 – Col. 3, line 4), wherein the two-piece release liner system includes a first release liner (13a) and a second release liner (13b), wherein the first release liner includes a first contact portion (see at 13a in Fig. 2) configured to be attached to the adhesive and a first grasping portion (17) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19).
However, Cisko is silent with regards to the first release liner including a first mid-portion and a first grasping portion including at least one finger hole configured to facilitate removal of the first release liner by a user, wherein the first grasping portion is configured to fold onto the first mid-portion at a first crease and the first mid- portion is configured to fold onto the first contact portion at a second crease, wherein the second crease is positioned toward a center of the adhesive, and wherein when folded and unfolded the two-piece release liner system is configured to protect and fully cover the adhesive.
Nonetheless Murray, which is within the analogous art of medical device packaging (see abstract), teaches a first release liner (142a) (see [0035]) further including a first grasping portion (see at 142a in Fig. 6) including at least one finger hole (144) (see [0035]) configured to facilitate removal of the first release liner by a user (see Fig. 7 and [0035] “The free end portions 142a and 142b may include holes 144 therethrough or cut-outs 146 along the edges that may assist the user in separating and/or grasping the free end portion portions.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the first grasping portion of the first release liner of the adhesive device of Cisko in view of a teaching of Murray such that the first release liner further includes at least one finger hole configured to facilitate removal of the first release liner by a user. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Murray teaches that the holes assist the user in separating and/or grasping the first release liner (see [0035] of Murray). A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that incorporating at least one finger hole helps a user grip the first release liner thereby making it easier to remove the first release liner from the remainder of the adhesive device.
The adhesive device of Cisko modified in view of Murray will hereinafter be referred to as the adhesive device of Cisko and Murray.
However, neither Cisko nor Murray teaches the first release liner including a first mid-portion; and wherein the first grasping portion is configured to fold onto the first mid-portion at a first crease and the first mid-portion is configured to fold onto the first contact portion at a second crease, wherein the second crease is positioned toward a center of the adhesive, and wherein when folded and unfolded the two-piece release liner system is configured to protect and fully cover the adhesive.
Nonetheless Rosati, which is within the analogous art of release liners (see [0044]), teaches (see Fig. 7E) the first release liner (704) (see [0082] and [0089] “multiple folds (FIG. 7E)”) including a first mid-portion (see Examiner annotated Fig. 7E below hereinafter referred to as “Fig. A”); and wherein the first grasping portion (see Fig. A below) is configured to fold onto the first mid-portion at a first crease (see Fig. A below) and the first mid-portion is configured to fold onto the first contact portion at a second crease (see Fig. A below), wherein the second crease is positioned toward a center of the adhesive (see Fig. A below which shows the second crease positioned toward the center of the adhesive), and wherein when folded and unfolded the two-piece release liner system is configured to protect and fully cover the adhesive (see Fig. A which shows the folded position; here the unfolded position would be when the release liner 704 has been unfolded but not removed from the adhesive).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the first release liner of the adhesive device of Cisko and Murray in view of a teaching of Rosati as evidenced and motivated by Martz such that the first release liner including a first mid-portion; and wherein the first grasping portion is configured to fold onto the first mid-portion at a first crease and the first mid- portion is configured to fold onto the first contact portion at a second crease, wherein the second crease is positioned toward a center of the adhesive, and wherein when folded and unfolded the two-piece release liner system is configured to protect and fully cover the adhesive.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in view of Rosati because Martz teaches this multiple fold construction stiffens the dressing when the release sheets are folded for storage of the dressing and for handling of the dressing prior to application of the dressing to a patient (see Col. 14, line 47 – Col. 15, line 2 of Martz). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find that having the two-piece release liner system in a folded configuration is advantageous because it provides structural stiffness for the dressing when being placed in storage. The two-piece release liner system can then easily be removed by the clinician to transition the adhesive device from its storage to use state by unfolding and subsequently removing the two-piece release liner system from the adhesive.
The adhesive device of Cisko and Murray modified in view of a teaching of Rosati as evidenced and motivated by Martz will hereinafter be referred to as the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz.
With regards to claim 2, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Cisko further teaches (Figs. 1 – 3) wherein the adhesive device (10) (Col. 1, lines 63 – Col. 2, line 10) is an ostomy barrier assembly for attaching an ostomy appliance to a peristomal skin surrounding a stoma (see Abstract and Col. 1, line 62 – Col. 2, line 11) comprising:
a skin barrier comprising the adhesive (11) (Col. 1, lines 63 – Col. 2, line 10);
an inlet opening (14) (see Col. 1, line 63 – Col. 2, line 11) defined in the skin barrier for receiving the stoma; and
the two-piece release liner system (13a, 13b) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19) attached to the skin barrier (see Fig. 2);
wherein the two-piece release liner system is configured to allow a user to expose the adhesive to the peristomal skin while the skin barrier is aligned with and surrounds the stoma (see Fig. 3, Col. 1, line 62 – Col. 2, line 11, and Col. 3, lines 20 – 32).
With regards to claim 3, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Cisko further teaches (Figs. 1 – 3) wherein the two-piece release liner system (13a, 13b) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19) is configured such that the first release liner (13a) covers about a half of the adhesive (see Fig. 1) and the second release liner (13b) covers the other half of the adhesive (see Fig. 1), wherein a split (16) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19) between the first and second release liners is defined near a center of the adhesive (see Fig. 1).
With regards to claim 4, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 2, and Cisko further teaches (Figs. 1 – 3) wherein the two-piece release liner system (13a, 13b) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19) includes a center opening (see at 14 in Fig. 2) aligned with the inlet opening (14) (see Col. 1, line 63 – Col. 2, line 11).
With regards to claim 5, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Cisko further teaches (Figs. 1 – 3) wherein at least one of the first and second release liners (13a, 13b) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19) is configured to extend past a periphery of the adhesive (11) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 18 “upper and lower sections 13a and 13b, respectively, meeting along midline 16. Each section may have at least one tab portion 17 that projects outwardly beyond the periphery adhesive layer 11 to facilitate removal of such section from adhesive surface 11a of adhesive layer 11.”).
With regards to claim 6, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein the second release liner overlaps the first release liner near a center of the adhesive.
Nonetheless Martz, which is within the analogous art of vapor permeable dressings (see abstract), teaches (Figs. 12 – 13) the second release liner (106A) (see Col. 12, lines 21 – 52) overlaps (see Col. 27, lines 6 – 30) the first release liner (106B) (see Col. 12, lines 21 – 52) near a center of the adhesive (26) (see Col. 12, lines 21 – 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second release liner of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a further teaching of Martz such that the second release liner overlaps the first release liner near a center of the adhesive. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Martz teaches that the overlapping of the two sections of the release sheet is a matter of convenience in manufacturing (see Col. 27, lines 6 – 30 of Martz). Therefore, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the two sections of the release sheet overlapping makes it more convenient for manufacturing purposes.
With regards to claim 7, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein the first release liner is configured such that the first grasping portion extends beyond an outer periphery of the adhesive device when the first grasping portion is unfolded away from the first mid-portion.
Nonetheless Martz, which is within the analogous art of vapor permeable dressings (see abstract), teaches (see Fig. 15) the first release liner (106B′) is configured such that the first grasping portion (116C) extends beyond an outer periphery of the adhesive device (26) (see Col. 12, lines 21 – 35) when the first grasping portion is unfolded away from the first mid-portion (116B′) (see Fig. 15 and Col. 13, line 49 – Col. 14, line 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the first release liner of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a further teaching of Martz such that the first release liner is configured such that the first grasping portion extends beyond an outer periphery of the adhesive device when the first grasping portion is unfolded away from the first mid-portion.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Martz teaches this structure stiffens the dressing when the release sheets are folded for storage of the dressing and for handling of the dressing prior to application of the dressing to a patient (see Col. 14, line 47 – Col. 15, line 2 of Martz). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find that having the two-piece release liner system in a folded configuration is advantageous because it provides structural stiffness for the dressing when being placed in storage. The two-piece release liner system can then easily be removed by the clinician to transition the adhesive device from its storage to use state by unfolding and subsequently removing the two-piece release liner system from the adhesive.
With regards to claim 8, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 7, and the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz further teaches wherein the first release liner (13a) (see Col. 3, liens 5 – 19 of Cisko) is configured to be removed from the adhesive (11) (see Col. 1, lines 63 – Col. 2, line 10 of Cisko) by a pulling motion of a user, wherein the at least one finger hole (see the rejection of Claim 1 above and the at least one finger hole 144 taught by Murray) is configured to receive the user's finger to facilitate grasping of the first grasping portion and pulling away the first contact portion towards the outer periphery of the adhesive device (see [0035] of Murray and Col. 14, lines 10 – 33 of Martz).
With regards to claim 9, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 7, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein the second release liner is configured as a mirror image of the first release liner and includes a second grasping portion, a second mid-portion, and a second contact portion, wherein the second grasping portion folds onto the second mid-portion at a third crease and the second mid-portion folds onto the second contact portion at a fourth crease, wherein the second release liner is configured such that the second grasping portion extends beyond the outer periphery of the adhesive device when the second grasping portion is unfolded away from the second mid-portion.
Nonetheless Martz, which is within the analogous art of vapor permeable dressings (see abstract), teaches (see Fig. 15) the second release liner (106A′) is configured as a mirror image of the first release liner (106B′) and includes a second grasping portion (112C′), a second mid-portion (112B′), and a second contact portion (112A′), wherein the second grasping portion folds onto the second mid-portion at a third crease (110) and the second mid-portion folds onto the second contact portion at a fourth crease (108), wherein the second release liner is configured such that the second grasping portion extends beyond the outer periphery of the adhesive device (26) (see Col. 12, lines 21 – 35) when the second grasping portion is unfolded away from the second mid-portion (see Fig. 15 and Col. 13, line 49 – Col. 14, line 46).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the second release liner of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a further teaching of Martz such that the second release liner is configured as a mirror image of the first release liner and includes a second grasping portion, a second mid-portion, and a second contact portion, wherein the second grasping portion folds onto the second mid-portion at a third crease and the second mid-portion folds onto the second contact portion at a fourth crease, wherein the second release liner is configured such that the second grasping portion extends beyond the outer periphery of the adhesive device when the second grasping portion is unfolded away from the second mid-portion.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Martz teaches this structure stiffens the dressing when the release sheets are folded for storage of the dressing and for handling of the dressing prior to application of the dressing to a patient (see Col. 14, line 47 – Col. 15, line 2 of Martz). Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art would find that having the two-piece release liner system in a folded configuration is advantageous because it provides structural stiffness for the dressing when being placed in storage. The two-piece release liner system can then easily be removed by the clinician to transition the adhesive device from its storage to use state by unfolding and subsequently removing the two-piece release liner system from the adhesive.
With regards to claim 10, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 9, and the adhesive device of Cisko, Murry, and Martz further teaches wherein the second release liner (13b) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19 of Cisko) is configured to be removed from the adhesive (11) (see Col. 1, lines 63 – Col. 2, line 10 of Cisko) by a pulling motion of a user, wherein the second grasping portion includes at least one finger hole (see the rejection of Claim 1 above and the at least one finger hole 144 taught by Murray) configured to receive the user's finger to facilitate grasping of the second grasping portion and pulling away the second contact portion towards the outer periphery of the adhesive device (see [0035] of Murray and Col. 14, lines 10 – 33 of Martz).
With regards to claim 14, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Cisko further discloses (Figs. 1 – 3) wherein the first and second release liners (13a, 13b) comprise a reinforced material for preventing tearing during removal (see Col. 2, line 51 – Col. 3, line 4).
With regards to claim 17, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, and Cisko further discloses (Figs. 1 – 3) the adhesive device further comprising a clamping mechanism (17) configured to facilitate grabbing and removing the first and second release liners (13a, 13b) (see Col. 3, lines 5 – 19).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kosaka et al. (US 2009/0258177 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Kosaka”).
Kosaka is cited in the Notice of References Cited dated 27 August 2025.
With regards to claim 11, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein the two-piece release liner system includes a strip of tape configured to hold the first and second grasping portions together.
Nonetheless Kosaka, which is within the analogous art of release liners (see [0028]), teaches (Figs. 4 – 5) wherein the two-piece release liner system (1a, 1b) (see [0028]) includes a strip of tape (3) (see [0028]) configured to hold the first and second grasping portions together (see Figs. 4 – 5 and [0028]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the two-piece release liner system of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a teaching of Kosaka such that the two-piece release liner system includes a strip of tape configured to hold the first and second grasping portions together. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Kosaka teaches that the release liners are fixed together thereby preventing the inadvertent removal of the release liner from the adhesive (see [0028], [0038], and [0042] of Kosaka).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Eaves et al. (US 2021/0298741 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Eaves”).
Eaves is cited in the Notice of References Cited dated 27 August 2025.
With regards to claim 12, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein an adhesive facing surface of the first contact portion and an adhesive facing surface of the second contact portion are coated with a release coating configured for releasable attachment of the first and second contact portions to the adhesive.
Nonetheless Eaves, which is within the analogous art of adhesive medical devices (see abstract and title), teaches (Fig. 1) release an adhesive facing surface (left 30 in Fig. 1) of the first contact portion and an adhesive facing surface (right 30 in Fig. 1) of the second contact portion are coated with a release coating configured for releasable attachment of the first and second contact portions to the adhesive (see [0238] “The partial removal of the release liners 32 can be aided by including in, or associating with, the release liners any one or more of tabs, loops, folds, varying-strength adhesive, textures, and/or release coatings.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the first and second contact portions of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz modified in view of a teaching of Eaves such that an adhesive facing surface of the first contact portion and an adhesive facing surface of the second contact portion are coated with a release coating configured for releasable attachment of the first and second contact portions to the adhesive. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Eaves teaches that the inclusion of release coating aids with the removal of release liners (see [0238] of Eaves).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Gibbins et al. (US 2010/0190004 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Gibbins”).
Gibbins is cited in the Notice of References Cited dated 27 August 2025.
With regards to claim 13, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 9, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein at least a portion of the first and second grasping portions and/or at least a portion of the first and second mid-portions is configured as a writeable surface to allow a user to write on the writeable surface using a marker or a pen.
Nonetheless Gibbins, which is within the analogous art of release liners (see [0056]), teaches the release liner can be configured to be written on (see [0056]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the first and second grasping portions and the first and second mid-portions of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a teaching of Gibbins such that wherein at least a portion of the first and second grasping portions and/or at least a portion of the first and second mid-portions is configured as a writeable surface to allow a user to write on the writeable surface using a marker or a pen. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Gibbins teaches that the release liner may have writing on it to differ it from other release liners (see [0056] of Gibbins).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Czaplewski et al. (US 2019/0254864 A1 hereinafter referred to as “Czaplewski”).
Czaplewski is cited in the Notice of References Cited dated 27 August 2025.
With regards to claim 15, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 2, however, Cisko is silent with regards to wherein the skin barrier is a convex barrier or a concave skin barrier.
Nonetheless Czaplewski, which is within the analogous art of convex ostomy barriers (see abstract and title), teaches (see Fig. 1) the skin barrier (18) (see [0035]) is a convex barrier (see [0036] “convex insert 18”) or a concave skin barrier.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the skin barrier of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a teaching of Czaplewski such that the skin barrier is a convex barrier. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because Czaplewski teaches that the convex shape facilitates engagement between the ostomy barrier and a pouch (see [0036] of Czaplewski).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Alden et al. (US 10,238,528 B1 hereinafter referred to as “Alden”).
Alden is cited in the Notice of References Cited dated 27 August 2025.
With regards to claim 16, the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz teaches the claimed invention of claim 1, however, Cisko is wherein the adhesive device is a medical adhesive device for attaching a suction tube, a drain tube, a vertical tube, a feeding tube, a horizontal tube, or an oral endotracheal tube to a user.
Nonetheless Alden, which is within the analogous art of method and device for the management of body fluids leaking from a surgical drain tube incision (see abstract and title), teaches (see Fig. 1) the adhesive device (120) (see Col. 3, lines 38 – 61) is a medical adhesive device (122) for attaching a suction tube, a drain tube (111) (see Col. 3, lines 38 – 61), a vertical tube, a feeding tube, a horizontal tube, or an oral endotracheal tube to a user.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to modify the ostomy appliance of the adhesive device of Cisko, Murray, Rosati, and Martz in view of a teaching of Alden such that the adhesive device is a medical adhesive device for attaching a suction tube, a drain tube, a vertical tube, a feeding tube, a horizontal tube, or an oral endotracheal tube to a user. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the surgical drain removes pus, blood or other fluid thereby preventing it from accumulating in the body (see Col. 1, lines 14 – 35 of Alden).
Conclusion
/ROBERT F ALLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3783
/WILLIAM R CARPENTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783
06/28/2026