DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. “at least two propellants” is indefinite because “one or more propellants” was previously defined. It is unclear if the “at least two propellants” are included in or different from the “one or more propellants”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 12, 16-19, 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by EP 3636908 (Roz).
Regarding claim 1, Roz teaches a rocket engine (Fig 2, page 1 of the translation) arranged to deliver one or more propellants to a combustion chamber of the rocket engine for generating motive thrust (propellants 111, 121 delivered to combustion chamber 141 of the rocket – see pages 4-5 of translation), the rocket engine comprising: an electrical transmission system (electrical transmission system coupling 112, 122, 118, 130, and 13); a turbine generator unit arranged to receive a propellant flow through the turbine generator unit (turbine generator 11, 13 or 118 receives propellant from 111), and to generate electrical power and to pass the generated electrical power to the electrical transmission system (see Fig 2, pages 4-5; electrical power supplied to 130, 112, 122); and a motor pump unit arranged to receive electrical power from the electrical transmission system and to use the received electrical power to pump a propellant flow though the motor pump unit (motor pump 112 or 122 for propellants – pages 4-5).
Regarding claim 23, Roz teaches a method of operating a rocket engine using one or more propellants (Fig 2, page 1 of the translation), the method comprising: using a turbine generator unit to generate electrical power from one or more of a propellant flow through the turbine generator unit and a flow through the turbine generator unit of combustion products of the one or more propellants (see pages 4-5 of translation; turbine generator 11, 13 or 118 receives propellant from 111 and generates electrical power to supply electrical transmission system coupling 112, 122, 118, 130, and 13); and using a motor pump unit to pump a propellant flow through the motor pump unit using the generated electrical power (motor pump 112 or 122 for propellants – pages 4-5; electrical power supplied to 130, 112, 122).
Regarding claims 2, 6, 12, 16-19, 24-26, Roz teaches the turbine generator unit is arranged to generate electrical power from one or more of: the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit; and a flow through the turbine generator unit of combustion products of the one or more propellants (Fig 2, pages 4-5; propellant/fuel flows through the turbine 11 and 118), the turbine generator unit comprises a turbine generator shaft, and the motor pump unit comprises a motor pump shaft (Fig 1-2; turbine generator shaft 14 coupling 11 and 13; motor pump shaft coupling the electric motor M and the pump), the electrical transmission system further comprises an electrical power store, such as a battery, arranged to provide additional electrical power for use by the motor pump unit to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit (page 4-5; electrical power store 130; “at least one electrical storage device 130”), and optionally to receive and store excess electrical power from the turbine generator unit (page 4-5; furthermore, “optionally to receive and store …” makes the limitation optional), wherein the electrical transmission system is arranged to control a rotational speed of the motor pump unit independently of a rotational speed of the turbine generator unit (pages 3-5; generation of electricity may occur at a different time than supplying the power to the motor pump unit; therefore, the turbine generator unit and the motor pump unit operate independently, at different rotational speeds; “the electrical energy generated by the electric motor generator of the turbopump in situations of excess mechanical energy from the turbopump can be stored for later use to power the electric motor generator of the turbopump”), some or all of the propellant flow pumped by the motor pump unit is subsequently received as the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit (Fig 2; fuel flows from pump 112, through heat exchanger 115 or 117, to the turbine generator unit 11 or 118), a heat exchanger arranged to receive and heat some or all of the propellant flow pumped by the motor pump unit, and to deliver some or all of the heated propellant flow on to the turbine generator unit for flow through the turbine generator unit, wherein the turbine generator unit is arranged to generate electrical power from the propellant flow (fuel flows from pump 112, through heat exchanger 115 or 117, to the turbine generator unit 11 or 118 – see pages 4-5), the engine arranged to deliver at least two propellants to the combustion chamber of the rocket engine for generating motive thrust, said motor pump unit being arranged to pump flow of a first of said at least two propellants though the motor pump unit (motor pump unit 112 for first propellant 111), the rocket engine comprising a further motor pump unit arranged to pump flow of a second of said at least two propellants through the further motor pump unit (further motor pump unit 122 for second propellant 121), wherein both the motor pump unit and the further motor pump unit are arranged to use the electrical power generated by the turbine generator unit (see pages 4-5, Fig 2), delivering the propellant flow pumped by the motor pump unit on to a heat exchanger for cooling a combustion chamber and/or nozzle of the rocket engine, then delivering at least a portion of the propellant flow from the heat exchanger to the turbine generator unit to provide the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit (heat exchanger 115 or 117 cool the combustion chamber 141 or nozzle 142; propellant flows from the heat exchangers to turbines 11, 118), using an electrical power store to store excess electrical power generated by the turbine generator unit and/or to deliver stored electrical power to the motor pump unit (electric power store 130 – pages 4-5), operating the turbine generator unit and the motor pump unit at different rotational speeds at the same time (pages 3-5; generation of electricity may occur at a different time than supplying the power to the motor pump unit; therefore, the turbine generator unit and the motor pump unit operate independently, at different rotational speeds; “the electrical energy generated by the electric motor generator of the turbopump in situations of excess mechanical energy from the turbopump can be stored for later use to power the electric motor generator of the turbopump”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 5, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 9964073 (Pinera) and US 2010/0237619 (Pozivil).
Regarding claim 3, 5, Roz teaches the turbine generator unit comprises a turbine having a rotor arranged to be driven by the propellant flow through the turbine generator and/or by the flow of propellant combustion products through the turbine generator unit (Fig 2; rotor of turbine 118 or 11 driven by propellant), and an electrical generator (generator 13 or generator of unit 118), the turbine and generator rotors being mounted on a shared turbine generator shaft (Fig 1; shaft 14 or shaft of 118); and the motor pump unit comprises an electrical motor (electric motor M of unit 112), and a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft (pump/impeller of 112 pumps propellant through the unit and is coupled to a motor rotor through a shaft – Fig 2).
Roz teaches the limitations as discussed above, but fails to teach the generator having a rotor mounted within a stator, and the pump unit motor having a rotor mounted within a stator or at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed between the generator stator and the generator rotor to provide cooling of the electrical generator, and/or a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the motor stator and the motor rotor to provide cooling of the electrical motor. However, Pinera teaches that the motor pump unit comprises an electrical motor and a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft, and a pump unit electric motor may have a rotor mounted within a stator and a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor to provide cooling of the electrical motor (Fig 6; impeller 51 coupled by a shared shaft – e.g. shaft within bearing 33 - to a motor rotor 32 inside stator 31; col 5 ll. 17-60; propellant flows through the impeller 51, towards discharge 54; some of the propellant is redirected between the rotor and stator 32, 31), and Pozivil teaches a generator having a rotor mounted within a stator (Fig 1; para 20; rotor 10, stator 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the motor pump unit comprising an electrical motor and a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft, and the generator having a rotor mounted within a stator, and the pump unit motor having a rotor mounted within a stator, a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor to provide cooling of the electrical motor in order to generate power and drive rotation, respectively, as taught by Pinera and Pozivil. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the motor pump unit comprising an electrical motor and a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft, the generator having a rotor mounted within a stator, and the pump unit motor having a rotor mounted within a stator, a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor to provide cooling of the electrical motor, in order to generate power and drive rotation, yields predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, Roz in view of Pinera and Pozivil teaches the motor pump shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the motor rotor distal from the pump and on second bearings at an end of the motor rotor proximal to the pump (Pinera Fig 6; first bearings 33 on the right side of the figure distal from pump 51; second bearings 33 on the left side proximal to the pump), wherein a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the motor stator and the motor rotor (see Fig 6; propellant flows through the impeller 51, towards discharge 54; some of the propellant is redirected to the first bearings 33 and then between the rotor and stator 32, 31), and/or a second portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed through a flow restrictor to the second bearings. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the motor pump shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the motor rotor distal from the pump and on second bearings at an end of the motor rotor proximal to the pump, wherein a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the motor stator and the motor rotor, as taught by Pinera. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the motor pump shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the motor rotor distal from the pump and on second bearings at an end of the motor rotor proximal to the pump, wherein a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the motor stator and the motor rotor, yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 9964073 (Pinera) and US 2010/0237619 (Pozivil), and further in view of US 2015/0288309 (Himmelmann).
Regarding claim 4, Roz in view of Pinera and Pozivil fails to teach the electrical generator is an induction generator and the generator rotor is a solid induction rotor, and/or wherein the electrical motor is an induction motor and the electrical motor rotor is a solid induction rotor. However, Himmelmann teaches that it was known in the art to make a generator an induction generator, the generator rotor a solid induction rotor, or the motor an induction motor and the motor rotor a solid induction rotor (para 12, 23, 26). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the generator an induction generator, the generator rotor a solid induction rotor, or the motor an induction motor and the motor rotor a solid induction rotor, as taught by Himmelmann. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the generator an induction generator and the generator rotor a solid induction rotor, or the motor an induction motor and the motor rotor a solid induction rotor, yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 9964073 (Pinera) and US 2010/0237619 (Pozivil), and further in view of US 5232333 (Girault).
Regarding claim 7-8, Roz in view of Pinera and Pozivil fails to teach the turbine generator shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, or the turbine generator shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit. However, Girault teaches that it was well known in the art to support a shaft on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit (Fig 8, col 7 ll. 36-39, col 10 ll. 24-38; hydrostatic bearing 128 uses a portion of the pump flow) or the turbine generator shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit (Fig 9; col 10 ll. 39-61; ball bearings 126 lubricated with a portion of pump flow from baffle 111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the turbine generator shaft supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit in order to support the shaft with a long lifetime; or the turbine generator shaft supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit in order to avoid any external pipework, minimizes in-line losses, and provides flow rate, boost pressure, and temperature operating conditions that are optimal for the bearing, as taught by Girault. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the turbine generator shaft supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, or the turbine generator shaft supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, yields predictable results.
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 9964073 (Pinera) and US 2010/0237619 (Pozivil), and further in view of US 5232333 (Girault) and CN 114221477 (Dong).
Regarding claim 9-11, Roz in view of Pinera and Pozivil teaches the turbine generator shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the generator rotor distal from the turbine and on second bearings at an end of the generator rotor proximal to the turbine (Pozivil Fig 1; first bearings 66 distal from turbine 40; second bearings 64 proximal to the turbine), the motor pump shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the motor rotor distal from the pump and on second bearings at an end of the motor rotor proximal to the pump (Pinera Fig 6; first bearings 33 on the right side of the figure distal from pump 51; second bearings 33 on the left side proximal to the pump), wherein a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor (see Fig 6; propellant flows through the impeller 51, towards discharge 54; some of the propellant is redirected to the first bearings 33 and then between the rotor and stator 32, 31). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the turbine generator shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical generator distal from the turbine and on second bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical generator proximal to the turbine, the motor pump shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical motor distal from the pump and on second bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical motor proximal to the pump, wherein a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor, as taught by Pinera and Pozivil. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the turbine generator shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical generator distal from the turbine and on second bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical generator proximal to the turbine, the motor pump shaft is supported on first bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical motor distal from the pump and on second bearings at an end of the rotor of the electrical motor proximal to the pump, wherein a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor, yields predictable results (support).
Roz in view of Pinera and Pozivil fails to teach wherein at least a first portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical generator, and/or at least a second portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed through a flow restrictor to the second bearings. However, Girault teaches propellant being directed to the bearings to lubricate the bearings (Fig 8, col 7 ll. 36-39, col 10 ll. 24-38; hydrostatic bearing 128 uses a portion of the pump flow or Fig 9; col 10 ll. 39-61; ball bearings 126 lubricated with a portion of pump flow from baffle 111) and Dong teaches that fuel may be directed between the stator and the rotor in order to provide cooling (page 4; “the narrow gap between the motor rotor shaft 10 and the motor stator 12 is filled with cooling fuel”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make at least a first portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical generator, or a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor in order to lubricate the bearings and cool the rotor/stator, as taught by Girault and Dong. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making at least a first portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical generator, or a first portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed to the first bearings before subsequently flowing between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor, yields predictable results (cooling and lubrication).
Regarding claim 11, Girault further teaches the first and second bearings comprise hydrostatic bearings, and the first and second portions of the propellant flow provide operating pressure to the hydrostatic bearings (Fig 8, col 7 ll. 36-39, col 10 ll. 24-38; hydrostatic bearing 128 uses a portion of the pump flow). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the first and second bearings comprise hydrostatic bearings, and the first and second portions of the propellant flow provide operating pressure to the hydrostatic bearings, as taught by Girault. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the first and second bearings comprise hydrostatic bearings, and the first and second portions of the propellant flow provide operating pressure to the hydrostatic bearings, yields predictable results (supporting the shaft).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 2020/0263545 (Palmer).
Regarding claim 13, Roz fails to teach the electrical transmission system comprises a DC power bus, a rectifier to transmit electrical power from the turbine generator unit to the DC power bus, and an inverter to transmit electrical power from the DC power bus to the motor pump unit. However, Palmer teaches that it was known in the art to provide an electrical transmission system with a DC power bus, a rectifier to transmit electrical power from the turbine generator unit to the DC power bus, and an inverter to transmit electrical power from the DC power bus to the motor pump unit (para 37, 57). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the electrical transmission system with a DC power bus, a rectifier to transmit electrical power from the turbine generator unit to the DC power bus, and an inverter to transmit electrical power from the DC power bus to the motor pump unit in order to transmit power from the turbine generator unit and to the motor pump unit, as taught by Palmer. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing the electrical transmission system with a DC power bus, a rectifier to transmit electrical power from the turbine generator unit to the DC power bus, and an inverter to transmit electrical power from the DC power bus to the motor pump unit, yields predictable results (power transmission).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 2024/0344163 (Noone) and RU 2760956 (Morozov).
Regarding claim 14, Roz fails to teach the turbine generator unit is arranged to deliver at least 100 kW of electrical power, and the motor pump unit is arranged to deliver at least 50 kW to the propellant flow through the motor pump unit. However, Noone teaches a motor pump unit arranged to deliver at least 50 kW to a propellant flow (para 128-131; each of the two motors can be configured to provide a power of about 440 horse power). Morozov teaches a turbine generator unit is arranged to deliver at least 100 kW of electrical power (page 3: “the production of an electric generator with an efficiency of 0.95 – 225 KW of electric power”; “the required electric power for feeding the ENO and ENG with an efficiency of 0.95 and recharging the batteries will amount to 138 kW (with a total required pump drive power of 280 kW)”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the turbine generator unit is arranged to deliver at least 100 kW of electrical power, and the motor pump unit is arranged to deliver at least 50 kW to the propellant flow through the motor pump unit in order to provide the required power to deliver propellant to the rocket, as taught by Noone and Morozov. Furthermore, it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation”. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955), MPEP 2144.05 IIA. In this case, the general conditions of the claim are taught – a motor pump unit, a turbine generator unit, etc; discovering the optimum or workable ranges of their power outputs in order to deliver the propellants as necessary to the rocket involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 1356934 (Macmillan).
Regarding claim 15, Roz fails to teach the turbine generator unit is arranged to generate six-phase electrical power to pass to the electrical transmission system, and the motor pump unit is arranged to receive six phase electrical power from the electrical transmission system for use in pumping the propellant flow though the motor pump unit. However, Macmillan teaches a generator arranged to generate six-phase electrical power to pass to the electrical transmission system, and a motor arranged to receive six phase electrical power from the electrical transmission system (page 3 ll. 58-96). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the turbine generator unit is arranged to generate six-phase electrical power to pass to the electrical transmission system, and the motor pump unit is arranged to receive six phase electrical power from the electrical transmission system for use in pumping the propellant flow though the motor pump unit, as taught by Macmillan. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the turbine generator unit arranged to generate six-phase electrical power to pass to the electrical transmission system, and the motor pump unit is arranged to receive six phase electrical power from the electrical transmission system for use in pumping the propellant flow though the motor pump unit yields predictable results (power transmission).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 2010/0237619 (Pozivil).
Regarding claim 20, Roz teaches a turbine generator unit for use in a rocket engine (Fig 2; turbine generator 11/13 or 118), comprising: a turbine rotor arranged to be driven by a propellant flow through the turbine generator (propellant through turbine rotor 11 or rotor of 118) and/or by a flow of propellant combustion products through the turbine generator unit; and an electrical generator having a generator rotor (rotor of 13 or rotor of generator of 118) the turbine rotor and the generator rotor being mounted on a turbine generator shaft (shaft 14 or shaft between turbine and generator of 118).
Roz fails to teach a rotor mounted within a stator, the turbine and generator rotors being mounted on a turbine generator shaft which does not extend through a casing of the turbine generator unit. However, Pozivil teaches a turbine generator unit, the turbine and generator rotors being mounted on a turbine generator shaft which does not extend through a casing of the turbine generator unit (Fig 1, para 21; turbine rotor 6, 40 and generator rotor 10 inside stator 12 are mounted on a shaft that does not extend through – construed as to the outside of – a casing 14 of the unit). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide a rotor mounted within a stator, the turbine and generator rotors being mounted on a turbine generator shaft which does not extend through a casing of the turbine generator unit, as taught by Pozivil. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing a rotor mounted within a stator, the turbine and generator rotors being mounted on a turbine generator shaft which does not extend through a casing of the turbine generator unit, yields predictable results (generating power).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 2010/0237619 (Pozivil) and further in view of CN 114221477 (Dong).
Regarding claim 21, Roz in view of Pozivil fails to teach one or more of: the turbine generator shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit; the turbine generator shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit; and at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical generator for cooling of the electrical generator. However, Dong teaches that fuel may be directed between the stator and the rotor in order to provide cooling (page 4; “the narrow gap between the motor rotor shaft 10 and the motor stator 12 is filled with cooling fuel”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical generator for cooling of the electrical generator in order to cool the generator, as taught by Dong. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical generator for cooling of the electrical generator, yields predictable results (cooling and lubrication).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 9964073 (Pinera).
Regarding claim 22, Roz teaches a motor pump unit for use in a rocket engine (Fig 2), comprising: an electrical motor (M of motor pump unit 112) having a rotor (rotor of M); and a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit (pump impeller of 112 pumping propellant 111), the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft (shaft connecting motor M and the pump)
Roz fails to teach a rotor mounted within a stator, and a shaft which does not extend through a casing of the motor pump unit, wherein one or more of: the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; and a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor. However, Pinera teaches a propellant motor pump unit comprising a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, a rotor mounted within a stator, and a shaft which does not extend through a casing of the motor pump unit, wherein one or more of: the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; and a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor (Fig 6; impeller 51 coupled by a shared shaft – e.g. shaft within bearing 33 - to a motor rotor 32 inside stator 31; col 5 ll. 17-60; propellant flows through the impeller 51, towards discharge 54; some of the propellant is redirected between the rotor and stator 32, 31; shaft connecting the impeller and motor does not extend “through” the casing surrounding the motor and pump). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to make the propellant motor pump unit comprising a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, a rotor mounted within a stator, and a shaft which does not extend through a casing of the motor pump unit, the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft, wherein one or more of: the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; and a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor, as taught by Pinera. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, making the propellant motor pump unit comprising a pump having an impeller arranged to pump the propellant flow through the motor pump unit, a rotor mounted within a stator, and a shaft which does not extend through a casing of the motor pump unit, the rotor and the impeller being mounted on a shared motor pump shaft, wherein one or more of: the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit; and a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit is directed between the stator and the rotor of the electrical motor, yields predictable results (construction and support of the motor pump).
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3636908 (Roz) in view of US 9964073 (Pinera) and US 5232333 (Girault).
Regarding claim 27, Roz fails to teach one or more of: using one of said one or more propellants at each of one or more hydrostatic bearings of the turbine generator unit and/or the motor pump unit to provide working pressure in the hydrostatic bearings; using one of said one or more propellants as a lubricant at each of one or more rolling element bearings of the turbine generator unit and/or the motor pump unit; and using one of said one or more propellants as a coolant for an electrical generator of the turbine generator unit and/or an electrical motor of the motor pump unit. However, Pinera teaches directing propellant to bearings in a motor pump unit (see Fig 6; propellant flows through the impeller 51, towards discharge 54; some of the propellant is redirected to the first bearings 33 and then between the rotor and stator 32, 31) and Girault teaches that it was well known in the art to support a shaft on hydrostatic bearings for which bearing pressure is supplied using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit (Fig 8, col 7 ll. 36-39, col 10 ll. 24-38; hydrostatic bearing 128 uses a portion of the pump flow) or the turbine generator shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using at least a portion of the propellant flow through the turbine generator unit, and/or the motor pump shaft is supported at least partly on rolling element bearings lubricated using a portion of the propellant flow through the motor pump unit (Fig 9; col 10 ll. 39-61; ball bearings 126 lubricated with a portion of pump flow from baffle 111). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide one or more of: using one of said one or more propellants at each of one or more hydrostatic bearings of the turbine generator unit and/or the motor pump unit to provide working pressure in the hydrostatic bearings; using one of said one or more propellants as a lubricant at each of one or more rolling element bearings of the turbine generator unit and/or the motor pump unit; and using one of said one or more propellants as a coolant for an electrical generator of the turbine generator unit and/or an electrical motor of the motor pump unit in order to avoid any external pipework, minimizes in-line losses, and provides flow rate, boost pressure, and temperature operating conditions that are optimal for the bearing, as taught by Pinera and Girault. It has been held that combining or simple substitution of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results renders the limitation obvious (see MPEP 2141 (III)). In this case, providing one or more of: using one of said one or more propellants at each of one or more hydrostatic bearings of the turbine generator unit and/or the motor pump unit to provide working pressure in the hydrostatic bearings; using one of said one or more propellants as a lubricant at each of one or more rolling element bearings of the turbine generator unit and/or the motor pump unit; and using one of said one or more propellants as a coolant for an electrical generator of the turbine generator unit and/or an electrical motor of the motor pump unit, yields predictable results (lubrication and cooling).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANDREW H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741