DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6 are cancelled
Claims 7, 13, 19 and 25-25 are rejected
Claims 8-12, 14-18, and 20-22 are objected to
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 19 and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jensen (US PUB 20130044889, hereinafter Jensen)
Regarding Claim 19, Jensen discloses a fitting method for hearing aids (see [0035]-[0037] and figure 4), comprising: determining an annoyance threshold Fn for a hearing-impaired person; setting an upper compression threshold THnup of a hearing aid for each of n frequency channels (e.g. different frequency bands) of the hearing aid based at least in part on the annoyance threshold Fn (e.g. an upper compression threshold at IN2), (see figures 4a-4c); setting a gain GupCn at the upper compression threshold THnup for each frequency channel of the hearing aid (e.g. a gain region III), (see figures 4a-4c); determining a compression ratio CRn for each frequency channel based at least in part on the upper compression threshold THnup and a lower compression threshold THnlow (e.g. a compression ratio is determined based on upper compression threshold and low compression ration), (see [0069]-[0071]), and figures 4a); and programming the hearing aid with the determined upper compression thresholds, gains, and compression ratios for each frequency channel (e.g. the hearing aid is adjust based on the upper threshold, gains and the compression ratios), (see [0075]-[0076], and figures 5a-5b).
Regarding Claim 24, Jensen discloses the fitting method of claim 19, wherein setting the upper compression threshold THnup (e.g. a compression threshold at IN2) comprises adding a parameter aα to the annoyance threshold Fn, where aα converts Fn from dB HL to dB SPL (see Jensen, [0069] and figure 4a).
Regarding Claim 25, Jensen discloses the fitting method of claim 19, wherein setting the gain GupCn at the upper compression threshold THnup comprises setting GupCn to 0 dB for each channel (e.g. 0dB is set for the maximum power output, MPO), (see Jensen, [0069] and figure 4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 13, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jensen (US PUB 20130044889, hereinafter Jensen) in view of Segovia-Martinez et al (US PUB 20160360325, hereinafter Segovia)
Regarding Claim 7, Jensen discloses a compression method for a hearing aid for use by a hearing-impaired person (see [0035]-[0037] and figure 4), comprising:
providing the hearing aid (e.g. a listening device 100), wherein the hearing aid comprises n frequency channels [C1, C2,…, Cn] (e.g. different frequency bands); each of the frequency channels being characterized by a linear gain [GC1, GC2,…, GCn)] (e.g. linear gain region I), and lower compression thresholds [(TH1low, TH2low,… THnlow], (e.g. level IN1), (see figures 4a-4c); determining compression parameters of each of the n frequency channels [C1, C2, Cn], the compression parameters comprising compression ratios (CR1, CR2, CRn), upper compression thresholds [(THlup, TH2up, THnup], and gains [GupC1, GupC2, GupCn] corresponding to the upper compression thresholds [(THlup, TH2up,…, THnup], (e.g. compression ratios are determined based on upper compression threshold, low compression ratio, and gains ), (see [0069]-[0071]), and figures 4a-4c), and for each channel Cn, setting the upper compression threshold THnup (e.g. a compression threshold at IN2) of the hearing aid to an annoyance threshold Fn for the hearing-impaired person (see figures 4a-4c); wherein, for each channel Cn, the gain GupCn at the upper compression threshold THnup is based at least in part on: GupCnTHnup = 0 dB (e.g. 0dB is set for the maximum power output, MPO), (see figure 4a); and wherein, for each channel Cn, the compression ratio CRn is based at least in part on:
(inherently, the CRn formula is standard for calculating Compression ratio when the thresholds values and corresponding gains are given; the hearing aid is adjust based on the upper threshold, gains and the compression ratios); (see Jensen, [0075]-[0076], also figures 5a-5b).
Jensen does not explicitly teach that setting the upper compression threshold THnup of the hearing aid is based at least in part on:
THnup = Fn + αn,
where αn is a parameter for converting Fn from dB HL to dB SPL.
However, Segovia in the same field of endeavor teaches a hearing aid compression method, comprising mapping a maximum comfortable level Lc corresponding to a user’s uncomfortable level (UCL) into the maximum comfortable charge C (see Segovia, [0039]-[0045], also figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate means of setting a maximum comfortable level corresponding to a user’s uncomfortable level in a maximum comfortable constant as taught by Segovia in the teachings of Jensen in order to enable the user to perceive the loudness of an acoustic signal similarly strong as a normal-hearing person, and thereby enhancing the listening experience of the user.
Regarding Claim 13, Jensen discloses a system for implementing a compression method in a hearing aid for a hearing-impaired person (see [0035]-[0037] and figure 4), comprising: a hearing aid (e.g. a listening device 100), comprising n frequency channels [C1, C2,…, Cn], (e.g. different frequency bands); each frequency channel being characterized by a linear gain [GC1, GC2,…, GCn)], (e.g. linear gain region I), and lower compression thresholds [(TH1low, TH2low,…, THnlow], (e.g. level IN1), (see figures 4a-4c); and a processor configured to: determine compression parameters for each of the n frequency channels, the compression parameters comprising compression ratios (CR1, CR2,…, CRn), upper compression thresholds [(TH1up, TH2up, …, THnup], and gains [GupC1, GupC2,…, GupCn] corresponding to the upper compression thresholds (see figures 5a-5b); for each channel Cn, set the upper compression threshold THnup (e.g. a compression threshold at IN2) to an annoyance threshold Fn for the hearing-impaired person (see figures 4a-4c); for each channel Cn, set the gain GupCn at the upper compression threshold THnup is based at least in part on: GupCnTHnup = 0 dB (e.g. 0dB is set for the maximum power output, MPO), (see figure 4a); and for each channel Cn, determine the compression ratio CRn based at least in part on:
(inherently, the CRn formula is standard for calculating Compression ratio when the thresholds values and corresponding gains are given); (see Jensen, [0069]-[0070]-[0071] and [0075]-[0076], also figures 1-5).
Jensen does not explicitly teach that setting the upper compression threshold THnup of the hearing aid is based at least in part on:
THnup = Fn + αn,
where αn is a parameter for converting Fn from dB HL to dB SPL.
However, Segovia in the same field of endeavor teaches a hearing aid compression method, comprising mapping a maximum comfortable level Lc corresponding to a user’s uncomfortable level (UCL) into the maximum comfortable charge C (see Segovia, [0039]-[0045], also figure 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to any person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to incorporate means of setting a maximum comfortable level corresponding to a user’s uncomfortable level in a maximum comfortable constant as taught by Segovia in the teachings of Jensen in order to enable the user to perceive the loudness of an acoustic signal similarly strong as a normal-hearing person, and thereby enhancing the listening experience of the user.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-12, 14-18, and 20-22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record provided on PTO 892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/OYESOLA C OJO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695