DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the concave-convex surfaces recited in claim 8 (see also the corresponding 112 rejections below) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 5, line 8, “gasket-to” should be changed to --gasket to-- (i.e. delete the hyphen in between the words).
In claim 5, line 12, “column-facing” should be changed to --column facing-- (i.e. delete the hyphen in between the words).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 7, 13, and 19, it is unclear how communication joints respectively located between the two chambers and the exterior of the valve body 1 connect to external pipelines. As understood, the exterior of the valve body 1 connects to external pipelines at the two chambers 8, respectively. In other words, the two chambers 8 connect to external pipelines via welding, respectively.
In claim 8, last line, it is unclear what are “concave-convex surfaces” for the O-shaped sealing rings. As understood, the recitation refers to what appears to be recesses/concaved surface in flanges at the inlet and outlet ports of the valve body, in which O-rings/sealing rings are disposed, as is well known in the prior art.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the cylinder" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. As understood, claim 17 is meant to depend on claim 11 and the cylinder refers to the cylinder-shaped sealing structure recited in claim 11, like claims 2 and 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang (CN 208816715) in view of Pfau (US 3,511,475).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang discloses in Fig. 1 a valve opening and closing member 7-9, 12, comprising a valve core sealing gasket 8, a valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12, and a valve flap 7, wherein the valve core sealing gasket 8 and the valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12 are sequentially arranged on a side of the valve flap 7, and the valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12 is configured to secure the valve core sealing gasket 8 to the valve flap 7; and wherein the valve flap 7 comprises:
a valve flap body 7 and an external threaded column (to which the securing ring/”lock nut” 12 is threaded to, as one having ordinary skill in the art would understand from the name “lock nut”) coaxially arranged below the valve flap body 7;
an internal threaded hole arranged on the valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12 (as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the structure being called a “lock nut” 12) and threadedly connected to the external threaded column.
Jiang lacks a sealing structure arranged on a side of the external threaded column facing away from the valve flap body and configured to prevent a medium from entering a clearance between the external threaded column and the internal threaded hole.
Pfau teaches in Figs. 1-3 a sealing structure (comprising the tip of the nut with internal threads that threads onto the outside of the threaded rod, as disclosed in col. 5, lines 25-35, like the applicant’s embodiment shown in Fig. 3 of the drawings) arranged on a side of the external threaded column facing away from the valve flap body 11/31 and configured to prevent a medium from entering a clearance between the external threaded column and the internal threaded hole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve disclosed by Jiang to include a sealing structure in the form of a tip of the valve core sealing gasket securing ring/lock nut to diverge flow for maximal flow conditions, as Pfau teaches (col. 3, lines 9-11 and col. 5, lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 4, Pfau teaches in Figs. 1-3 that the internal threaded hole 27 is configured as a blind hole 27 to seal an end of the internal threaded hole 27.
Regarding claim 5, Jiang discloses in Fig. 1 a straight-through globe valve comprising: a valve opening and closing member 7-9, 12 and a valve body 10, wherein the valve opening and closing member 7-9, 12 comprises a valve core sealing gasket 8, a valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12, and a valve flap 7; wherein the valve core sealing gasket 8 and the valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12 are sequentially arranged on a side of the valve flap 7, and the valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12 is configured to secure the valve core sealing gasket 8 to the valve flap 7; and wherein the valve flap 7 comprises: a valve flap body 7 and an external threaded column (to which the securing ring/”lock nut” 12 is threaded to, as one having ordinary skill in the art would understand from the name “lock nut”) coaxially arranged below the valve flap body 7; an internal threaded hole arranged on the valve core sealing gasket securing ring 12 and threadedly connected to the external threaded column (as one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize from the structure being called a “lock nut” 12); and wherein two chambers (comprising the two conduits comprising the main inlet and outlet of the valve body 10) communicating with an exterior are arranged within the valve body 10, branches 11 are arranged within the two chambers, a communication joint between the two chambers is provided with a globe chamber (comprising the central chamber in which the valve member 7-9, 12 reciprocates), a communication joint between the globe chamber and one of the two chambers is provided with a valve port (where the seat is located with which the valve opening and closing member 7-9, 12 selectively abuts to control flow therethrough), a valve shaft 6 extending to an exterior of the valve body 10 is configured to pass through and be slidably connected within the globe chamber, and an end of the valve shaft 6 located within the valve body 10 is securely connected to the valve flap body 7.
Jiang lacks a sealing structure arranged on a side of the external threaded column facing away from the valve flap body and configured to prevent a medium from entering a clearance between the external threaded column and the internal threaded hole.
Pfau teaches in Figs. 1-3 a sealing structure (comprising the tip of the nut with internal threads that threads onto the outside of the threaded rod, as disclosed in col. 5, lines 25-35, like the applicant’s embodiment shown in Fig. 3 of the drawings) arranged on a side of the external threaded column facing away from the valve flap body 11/31 and configured to prevent a medium from entering a clearance between the external threaded column and the internal threaded hole.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve disclosed by Jiang to include a sealing structure in the form of a tip of the valve core sealing gasket securing ring/lock nut to diverge flow for maximal flow conditions, as Pfau teaches (col. 3, lines 9-11 and col. 5, lines 30-35).
Regarding claim 20, Pfau teaches in Figs. 1-3 that the internal threaded hole 27 is configured as a blind hole 27 to seal an end of the internal threaded hole 27.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Pfau, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Yocum (US 3,438,391).
Regarding claim 6, Jiang and Pfau teach a valve as previously discussed, but lack a peripheral side of the valve port is provided with an annular inclined runner, and the annular inclined runner is configured to communicate with the globe chamber; whenever the valve flap body closes or opens the valve port, the one of the two chambers is configured to still stay in communication with the globe chamber and communicate with the annular inclined runner; the branches are configured to enable a medium to flow into or out of the two chambers, and an internal bottom of the annular inclined runner is inclined towards a side from high to low.
Yocum teaches in Figs. 1-3 a peripheral side of the valve port 9 is provided with an annular inclined runner (comprising the bottom surface of the globe chamber 5 around the valve seat 9 and inclined toward the outlet 4), and the annular inclined runner is configured to communicate with the globe chamber 5; whenever the valve flap body 12, 13 closes or opens the valve port 9, the one 4 of the two chambers 3, 4 is configured to still stay in communication with the globe chamber 5 and communicate with the annular inclined runner; and an internal bottom of the annular inclined runner is inclined towards a side from high to low.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the orientation of the valve port and reciprocation of the valve opening and closing member in the combination of Jiang and Pfau such that the periphery of the valve port comprises an annular included surface inclined towards the outlet, as Yocum teaches, so that fluid naturally wants to drain out of the globe chamber when the valve is closed, which helps prevent damage or disruption to the operation of the valve.
Claim 7 (as understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jian in view of Pfau as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jennings (US 2006/0249207).
Regarding claim 7, Jiang and Pfau teach a valve as previously discussed, but lacks communication joints between the two chambers and the exterior of the valve body are connected to external pipelines by welding respectively.
Jennings teaches in Fig. 13 communication joints between the two chambers 320 and the exterior of the valve body 302 are connected to external pipelines by welding respectively (on flanges 352 as disclosed in paragraph 91).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the inlet and outlet ports of the inlet and outlet chambers, respectively, in the combination of Jiang and Pfau to comprise welds to which external pipelines are respectively attached, as Jennings teaches, to provide conduits to supply and discharge fluid to and from the valve, and because Jiang is silent with regard to such details concerning the connection of external pipelines.
Claim 8 (as understood) is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang and Pfau as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ochiai et al. (US 2007/0131280).
Regarding claim 8, Jiang and Pfau teach a valve, as previously discussed, but lacks communication joints between the two chambers and the exterior of the valve body are connected to external pipelines by sanitary flanges respectively, and the sanitary flanges are configured to seal connection joints between the valve body
Ochiaj teaches in Fig. 3 communication joints between the two chambers (contiguous with ports 6, 7, respectively) and the exterior of the valve body 4 are connected to external pipelines (with flanges F, F1) by sanitary flanges 10, 11 respectively, and the sanitary flanges 10, 11 are configured to seal connection joints between the valve body 4 and the external pipelines through concave-convex surfaces and O-shaped sealing rings 13 respectively.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve body in the combination of Jiang and Pfau to include sanitary flanges with O-rings therein at the inlet and outlet ports to connect said ports to external pipelines to provide sealed connections to upstream and downstream fluid sources and destinations, respectively, as Ochiaj teaches, and because Jiang is silent with regard to such details concerning the connection of external pipelines.
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang in view of Pfau as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ji (CN 202451845).
Regarding claim 9, Jiang discloses in Fig. 1 that the valve body 10 is provided with an opening (covered by cover 5) communicating with the globe chamber, the opening is sealably connected to a valve cover 5 (obviously to avoid leakage so that fluid flows between the inlet and outlet without leakage), the valve cover 5 is provided with a valve neck (with packing 4) communicating with an interior of the globe chamber, and the valve shaft 6 is slidably and sealably connected (via packing 4) within the valve neck.
Jiang lacks teaching that the sealing between the valve body and valve cover is by a sealing gasket.
Ji teaches in Figs. 1-3 a sealing gasket 7 between a valve body 1 and a valve cover 8.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve in the combination of Jiang and Pfau to include a sealing gasket between the valve body and the valve cover to ensure sealing between the structures, as Ji teaches, so that fluid isn’t lost from the system and the system operates as intended, and because a sealing gasket provides a simple and replaceable solution.
Regarding claim 10, Jiang discloses in Fig. 1 that the sealing between the valve shaft 6 and the valve neck is performed by a combination filler 4.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 11-12, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 13 and 17-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter. The prior art fails to disclose or render obvious, in combination with the other limitations recited:
regarding claims 2 and 11, the sealing structure comprises a cylinder which is configured to be in interference fit with a cylindrical hole arranged below the internal threaded hole.
regarding claim 17, the cylinder and the external threaded column are formed integrally.
Conclusion
/J. W./
Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753