DETAILED ACTION
Non Final
Claim Status
Claims 1- 4, 8-15, 48, 51, 53, 55, 56, 60, 82 are pending. Claims 5, 7, 16-47, 49-50, 52, 54, 56, 58-59, 61-81, and 83-90 are canceled. Claims 1- 4, 8-15, 48, 51, 53, 55, 56, 60, 82 are currently amended to correct various punctuation and multiple dependencies.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
It is noted that upon review, no claim terminology was determined to be of sufficient means plus function nonce/style language so as to invoke 35 USC 112 6th paragraph. Any generic terms appeared to be sufficiently modified by their either prepository terms, modifiers or use in the art to take any generic terms out of potential scope of 112 6th. It is noted that during prosecution the claim language may change and thus there is no final disposition on such interpretation until time as the claims may issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 14, 15, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The following Claims recite limitations which have insufficient antecedent basis. The Claims and respective limitations include the following: Claims 9 and 60 each recite, "sealing elements" in line 2 (where the implied limitations have not been previously introduced); Claim 14 "the spring force" in line 1, "the resultant forces" in line 2, "the pressure areas and design pressures" in line 2; Claim 15, "the force which would act…" in line 2, “the presence of vacuum…and atmospheric pressure” in line 3; Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14 recites “the spring force is significantly less than he resultant force of the pressure areas and design pressure of the valve” where there is a lack of objective meaningful reference as to what the design pressures are, the actual pressure area sizes and resultant forces therebetween, and how or in what way the spring force is significantly less that those claimed;
Claim 15 recites “the spring provides a higher preload force than the force which would act to open the valve from the presence of vacuum within the valve and atmospheric pressure acting outside the valve” where there is a lack of objective meaningful reference as to how, or if ever the spring higher preload force is greater than these other claimed forces or pressures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 8-15, 48, 51, 53, 55, 56, 60, 82 is/are rejected (with claims 9, 14, 15 and 60 indefinitely understood) under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by De-Bourguignon (US 2725891);
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over De Bourguignon as applied to claim 1 above.
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 1: (see at least annotated figure 1 below)
A valve (Figures 1-2) to control flow of a fluid under pressure (Col 1 ln 19-23), comprising, a valve body (at 10) with a first port (at 11), and a second port (at 12), to, in part, define a duct (along 1000) therebetween, to duct the flow of the fluid between the first port and the second port, a valve bonnet (23/24/37) removably engaged (via threaded engagement) to the valve body between the first port and the second port (as shown), to further define the duct, a valve member (at 17) having an endless skirt (at 1001) supported by a central spindle (26 via 27) within the duct from the valve bonnet (as centrally and axially maintained), the endless skirt having an outer periphery (facing 18), which the valve body defines an annular chamber (18) about, and the endless skirt having an inner periphery (at 1002) which defines an inner chamber (at 1004), the valve member having a closed position (figure 1) to prevent flow of fluid, and an open position (figure 2) to allow flow of fluid, the endless skirt, when in the closed position, sealing (at 24) against the valve bonnet at a first sealing diameter (outer edge of 22.diam), the endless skirt in sliding and sealing engagement at, and between, the open position and the closed position, with an interior periphery of the annular chamber at a second sealing diameter (at 1006.diam), the first sealing diameter greater than the second sealing diameter (as shown to provide the thickness), a first pressure area (1008.pressure.area) defined between the first sealing diameter and the second sealing diameter, the first pressure area on receipt of fluid under pressure providing a bias toward the closed position (the pressure area at 1008 receives fluid pressure there at in the direction to close), the endless skirt when in the open position defining an opening (between 22 and 24) between the valve bonnet and endless skirt to allow fluid flow between the first port, via the opening and an interior diameter of the endless skirt, and the second port, the central spindle in sliding and sealing engagement (via sealed engagement at 31/32) with the valve bonnet at a third sealing diameter (26.diam), less than the second sealing diameter (as shown), the third sealing diameter defining a second pressure area (at 1010.pressure.area), the second pressure area on receipt of fluid under pressure providing a bias toward the closed position, such that a valve is provided that is biased towards the closed position when in either the open position or closed position (the combination of 1008.pressure.area, 1010.pressure.area as well as fluid pressure against 28a and the spring 46 all act to bias the valve closed.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 51: [An apparatus that results from…] A method of providing a valve (figures 1 and 2) to control flow of a fluid under pressure, comprising, providing a valve body (at 10) with a first port (at 11), and a second port (at 12), to, in part, define a duct (along 1000) therebetween, to duct the flow of the fluid between the first port and the second port, providing a valve bonnet (23/24/37) removably engaged (via threaded engagement at 1012) to the valve body between the first port and the second port, to further define the duct, providing a valve member (17) having an endless skirt (at 1001) supported by a central spindle (26) within the duct from the valve bonnet, the endless skirt having an outer periphery (facing 18), which the valve body defines an annular chamber (at 18) about, and the endless skirt having an inner periphery (at 1002) which defines an inner chamber (1004), the valve member having a closed position (figure 1) to prevent flow of fluid, and an open position (figure 2) to allow flow of fluid, configuring the endless skirt, when in the closed position, to seal against the valve bonnet at a first sealing diameter (outer edge of 22.diam), the endless skirt in sliding and sealing engagement at, and between, the open position and the closed position, with an interior periphery of the annular chamber at a second sealing diameter (at 1006.diam), the first sealing diameter greater than the second sealing diameter (as shown to provide the thickness), a first pressure area (1008.pressure.area) defined between the first sealing diameter and the second sealing diameter, the first pressure area on receipt of fluid under pressure providing a bias toward the closed position (the pressure area at 1008 receives fluid pressure there at in the direction to close), the endless skirt when in the open position defining an opening (between 22 and 24) between the valve bonnet and endless skirt to allow fluid flow between the first port, via the opening and an interior diameter of the endless skirt, and the second port, the central spindle in sliding and sealing engagement (via sealed engagement at 31/32) with the valve bonnet at a third sealing diameter (26.diam), less than the second sealing diameter (as shown), the third sealing diameter defining a second pressure area (at 1010.pressure.area), the second pressure area on receipt of fluid under pressure providing a bias toward the closed position, such that a valve is provided that is biased towards the closed position when in either the open position or closed position (the combination of 1008.pressure.area, 1010.pressure.area as well as fluid pressure against 28a and the spring 46 all act to bias the valve closed.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 2: The valve as claimed in claim 1 wherein the second pressure area [can be] larger than the first pressure area. De-Bourguignon does not explicitly disclose: the second pressure area is larger than the first pressure area, but considering one of ordinary skill in the art would consider: providing a thin walled reduced pressure receiving area at the end of the endless skirt for construction of the valve to reduce carrying weight of the valve and maintain enlarged fluid pressure area along the central axis at the tip end of the spindle;
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to provide a reduced pressure receiving area and thin walled construction of he endless skirt with the skirt pressure facing area less than an enlarged central axis spindle tip end, all for reducing carrying weight of the valve and maintaining centralized fluid pressure along the central axis, for the purpose of for example, efficient balancing of forces and valve operation; especially since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the form or shape of a component. A change in form or shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1976).
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 3: The valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the valve body has a valve bonnet aperture (at 1012) to which the valve bonnet is operatively connected to seal the duct, other than the first port and second port.
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claims 4 and 53: wherein the valve bonnet contains or holds an actuator (at actuator piston 41) for the central spindle (26 connected there) to move the valve member between the open position and closed position (and see operation Col 3 ln 7-25.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claims 6 and 55: wherein the actuator, or part thereof, is held or contained within the valve body (as shown) by the valve bonnet (as shown) and extends at least in part into the duct.
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claims 8 and 56: wherein the actuator, valve bonnet and valve member are a unitary subassembly that is removable from the valve body (they are all connected in a subassembly and removable by rotational threaded connection at threads at 1012.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claims 9 and 60: wherein the valve member and sealing elements alone separate the inlet and outlet volumes (for fluid flow control, where 22 and 24 along with o-rings 21 and 32 provide for fluid sealing when closed, so that no fluid can pass there through.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 10: The valve as claimed in claim 4 wherein the endless skirt extends in an axis parallel to a main axis of the central spindle and actuator (the three are coaxial and formed via parallel extensions thereof.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 11: The valve as claimed in claim 1 wherein the endless skirt is of constant cross section, at least on that part in sliding and sealing engagement with the interior periphery of the cavity (the outside diameter facing 18 is constant diameter for sliding engagement.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claims 12 and 82: wherein the valve is biased closed by the pressure of the fluid it is controlling (as discussed above.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 13: The valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein there is a spring (46) which biases the valve closed when no pressure is present.
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 14: The valve as claimed in claim 13, wherein the spring force is significantly less than the resultant forces of the pressure areas and design pressures of the valve (as discussed in Col 3 ln 7-25, the spring force pressure can be overcome via the actuator fluid as designed.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 15: The valve as claimed in claim 13 wherein the spring provides higher pre-load force than the force which would act to open the valve from the presence of vacuum within the valve, and atmospheric pressure acting outside the valve (the spring biased the valve closed when there is no fluid pressure as discussed in Col 3 ln 7-25.)
De-Bourguignon discloses in Claim 48: The valve as claimed in claim 1, wherein the endless skirt is supported from the central spindle by at least one vane (27.)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Schwaim (US 10001026) discloses an inline shutoff valve with annular skirt; Shalk (US 5826613) discloses a sleeve valve with flow guide and spring biased closing action for the piston actuator.
/Matthew W Jellett/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753